Black sand beach, in the Amed region. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
Black sand beach, in the Amed region. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)

Return to Bali

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Indonesia: Flores + Komodo + Bali - July 2011

I often go back to Bali while traveling in Indonesia. The island is a magician, who always brings me back to her. The more I go back, the more I love it.

Bali, my favorite air hub

Well, there are practical reasons, of course: Bali airport is a big hub both international and domestic. Convenient to get to Indonesia and leave, especially for connections, when you must then take a flight to another destination in Indonesia or a neighboring country.

And then, we do not land in Denpasar (name of the capital of the island, given, by extension, at the airport), but right next to Kuta, the big seaside resort of the southwest. The airstrip is at the far end of the beach, to the south.

In Bali, the airstrip is at the end of the beach. (Indonesia, July 2011)
In Bali, the airstrip is at the end of the beach. (Indonesia, July 2011)

I do not like Kuta, terribly touristy. But it's a nice stop anyway, between two flights, two pieces of travel, when you arrive exhausted from a long-haul flight from Europe, or just before taking the flight back.

I like every time to walk long hours on Kuta BeachBeautiful black sand beach, which stretches endlessly to the north, along Legian, Seminyak, Kerobokan. From one year to the next, I return to admire the sunset.

Beautiful sunset on Kuta Beach, Bali. (Indonesia, July 2011)
Beautiful sunset on Kuta Beach, Bali. (Indonesia, July 2011)

There, facing the waves, it's an immense euphoria that invades me at the beginning of the journey; or, on the contrary, a sweet and tenacious melancholy, when I'm about to fly back home ...

July 2011

In July 2011, most of my trip to Indonesia was Flores and Komodo, in the Small Islands of Sunda. An extraordinary journey! Again, I arrived by Bali. I already talked about it, quickly, at the end of this article dedicated to Air Asia X's long-haul flight from Paris.

But I still have not told the following: after Flores and my cruise-dive in the archipelago of Komodo, I returned to spend a few days in Bali!

I chose to land in the northeast of the island. I was in Tulamben, near Amed, where I had stayed in 2008.

I love the area and can not recommend staying a few days in the area for those visiting Bali for the first time. There are cute coves of black sand and fishing villages along the coast, beautiful rice terraces in the interior of the country, temples and palaces full of spirituality, and especially the volcano that dominates everything, the magnificent and imposing Gunung Agung.

Jemeluk-Bunutan Bay, near Amed. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
Jemeluk-Bunutan Bay, near Amed. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
View of Gunung Agung from Tulamben. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
View of Gunung Agung from Tulamben. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
Black sand beach, in the Amed region. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
Black sand beach, in the Amed region. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)

In addition, it is a renowned dive spot. Tulamben is where the fabulous wreck of the Liberty, in front of a beach of black pebbles.

For several years, I go back to dive, without getting tired ... And for those who do not dive, there is something to marvel too, simply snorkeling (palms-mask-snorkel), on the coral trays and the top of the wreck.

A parrot fish glides over a gorgon on the wreck of the Liberty. (Tulamben, Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
A parrot fish glides over a gorgon on the wreck of the Liberty. (Tulamben, Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
A turtle moves away, indifferent to our presence. (Liberty wreck, Tulamben, Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
A turtle moves away, indifferent to our presence. (Liberty wreck, Tulamben, Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
The wreck of Liberty is huge, it takes several dives to explore. (Tulamben, Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
The wreck of Liberty is gigantic, it takes several dives to explore. (Tulamben, Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)

Good plan for accommodation and diving in Tulamben

July 2012. Small addition: I'll let you know this real good plan of resort to divers (we have a guide for ourselves and we dive at the times we want, preferably outside the busy times), which is also an excellent address , especially if you are a sub photographer, and you want to discover the wreck in the best possible conditions →  Liberty Dive Resort

→ See all my articles on the wreck of Liberty

The mesmerizing island

Bali is often decried by travelers who swear by the "authentic". That's right, Bali has changed. It has modernized, developed. And there is no need to be a specialist to see and understand the damage that mass tourism can cause.

Bali has nevertheless remained captivating. For those who want to take the trouble, it's easy not to meet only Australian surfers. Take a step aside to escape the crowds, including in famous tourist spots. To soak up the beauty of the island, its special atmosphere, linked to Hindu traditions and beliefs of the population, for whom spirits and gods are everywhere.

Balinese in traditional costume. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
Balinese in traditional costume. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
Rice fields near Amed and Tulamben. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)
Rice fields near Amed and Tulamben. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2011)

The island is neither too big nor too small. It can be easily crossed during the day, to change region, atmosphere. And I am always touched by the incredible welcome of the Balinese. By their tolerance, their availability, their openness, their contagious good humor.

In Bali, it is easy to be invaded by an incredible SENIENCE, which we no longer believed capable. To rediscover yourself a little. To savor the time that passes, the pleasure of living.

How lucky I am. I'm going back soon!

Bali will be a stopover, again, in a wider Indonesian journey ... But I'll tell you more in a few days.

😎

  Indonesia: Flores + Komodo + Bali - July 2011

  1. ahhh me too much like Bali. I met him in 2006 shortly after an attack and thus discovered this island while the tourists had deserted it. I returned a few years later to stop for a few days in Ubud before going to Flores. It was August ... A hell with a number of tourists to the incalculable km2!
    I dream of returning like you out of season and find the tranquility, traditions and smiles of this island that remains despite mass tourism, an island of zenitude.
    Have a nice trip to Indonesia Corinne. I can not wait to read your next adventures!

    1. I traveled to Bali in high season and high season, just before and after the attacks of October 2002. But I have not been in Ubud for a while. I think I will not recognize the place !!! I keep the memory of a peaceful village (yet it was July) ...
      😀

  2. I had planned to stay only 5 weeks on Bali and I finally never took my flight back, I spent more than 7 months diving there every day! Magnificent! Menjangan to the North with these magnificent drop-offs, these giant gorgognes! Tulamben of course and the liberty! More than 50 dives on wrecks and always surprises on every dive. Amazing night dive and top, morning dive at 6:00 am! The humpback parrots leaving the wreck in a group! Amed not to neglect. The gillis near padang bai and Nusa penida for the big mola mola! I left almost 3 months ago and I miss the island a lot! I will return there too, there is no doubt! Can not wait to read your articles!

    1. I would like to stay for the winter 2012-2013 in Bali, Flores Komodo. We are going with a baby of eight months, I'm looking for a lot of advice and know if it is possible to stay 2 to 3 months for not too expensive, like rent a bungalow feet in the water and eat fruits and vegetables. fish, enjoy the sweetness of life away from our sometimes stressful daily life of the city. 🙂 I am an apneist and I would like to know if there are sites to practice, without necessarily taking a boat full of divers. Thank you all.

    1. I have not guessed at all, I do not hear voices and I do not have a crystal ball. These are "safe source" news obtained through my informant network that covers the whole of Southeast Asia and that the CIA, MOSSAD and KGB want to buy me at a golden price 🙄
      For teasing, I know you'll bounce and you'll notice that I did not mention the host structure 😀
      By the way, you're fine next week ❓ 😆 😆

    2. Your fortune is made, then !!! You can sell your informants to others ... 😛 They are not so reliable. Well inspired, but, how to say, a little imprecise ...
      The date of departure is a hair closer than that. As for the structure, my faith ... It would be more accurate to talk about structures.
      😀 8) 😈

  3. yay! Bali is where I wanted to go this year!
    But because of the finances I'm going to Koh Lanta ❗
    So I will make 2 trips, mine and another virtual with you! A foretaste for a trip to Bali next year? 😉

    1. Oh, I hope that this Balinese travel project will materialize for you next year !!! Already, you should have fun in Thailand. But Bali is a different atmosphere and very different dives. Nice to transport you in advance there virtually!
      8)

  4. Hello and thank you for this article and these beautiful photos. I fell in love with the island too. I went there for 7 weeks last summer and can not wait to go back. However, we must quickly leave Kuta and visit the interior of the land to find the Balinese soul.
    Here is my selection of photos: http://www.onedayonetravel.com/20-photos-de-bali-lile-des-dieux/
    I am currently preparing a series of articles about Bali on my blog: An itinerary in 8 stages to discover Bali, Lombok and Gilis on http://www.onedayonetravel.com
    A nice journey to all of you !
    Richard

  5. What a coincidence, you publish this message the day I reserve air tickets .... for Bali! It's been 2 years since I returned, it misses quickly!
    So, you found a good plan for Raja Ampat ??? 😉

    1. Crazy !!!!! 😀 Madam is also a connoisseur, I see ...

      For R4, in fact, the "good shots" that I could spot are really root roots, as far as I could judge ... And as I'm embarrassed, that I have a limited time and I lug a little too fragile electronic gear, I preferred to play it "comfort". And I discovered that the comfort has a sacred price, in these lands still not won by the mass tourism ... So: big big piggy bank breaking (and again, I am well below the category "luxury" ... j have hallucinated by discovering the rates of some resorts and cruises).

      In short, I have a dream, that I drag for so long! It will be fantastic !!!
      8)

  6. I really like your "title": Return to Bali and not Return to Bali ....
    As far as I'm concerned, I dream of going back .... ❓

    1. The nuance is subtle. We use rather "come back" when it comes to the place where we are. And "go back" when it comes to a place other than where one is. One refers to the context in which one is, the other to the context in which one projects oneself. So it's a question of situation, from a point of view: which one may be concrete, geographical; or imaginary, dreamed ...

      In short, by saying so, finally, I go back to Bali, a little as if I was still there, as if I had not left the island. I also suggest a notion of going back and forth to this landmark that is Bali. Interesting…
      🙄

  7. Thank you Corinne for confirming that Bali still has some corners preserved!
    I missed an appointment with the island of Gods two years ago, the next, I will not let go!

  8. It's true that Bali is a great island. I did not really like Kuta even though I admit that the beach is very beautiful and ideal for surfing. By cons, Amed is beautiful is very calm. The small fishing villages are very nice and we do not see so many tourists.
    The Ubud area is also great.
    I only went once but I would like to go back ...

    1. I'll have to go back to Ubud one day ... I'll be surprised by the change, I think.

      I love the region of Amed-Tulamben too. The coast is beautiful, and atmosphere question, it is rather quiet, indeed ...
      8)

  9. Bali, this timeless island! Finally, I went there more than 10 years ago already ... I'd like to go back but I'm so afraid of being disappointed with what I keep in mind: Kuta, the Australian surf spot, the beautiful rice terraces, the north and its volcano, and Ubud, the city of artists. I also remember the kindness of the Balinese and their great serenity, their sweet smile, the flowers they know so well arrange in pretty little bouquets they lay in front of the altars at the foot of their house, the smell of incense omni-present in the streets ...
    I can not wait to read your stories for your return to Bali and discover what face Bali offers now! 🙄

  10. Hello Corinne,

    It's decided, I'm going to Bali this year!
    I have 2 practical questions:

    1. What period do you recommend? whenpartir.com recommends from June to September.

    2. Do you have an airline or a flight to advise?

    Thank you 😉

    1. Bali can be visited all year, the seasons are not very marked. June to September is indeed the most pleasant period, it is there that it rains the least.

      For airlines, no, I do not have one to advise. For my part, I monitor rates regularly, specials, etc.

  11. Hello, I would like to go to Bali, in a club with breakfast. I was told that eating out was cheap. Can you give me more information? Thank you in advance.

    1. Yes, eating out is not expensive at all, from a few cents to a few euros, depending on whether you eat on the street, in a warung (local restaurant) or a tourist restaurant. Take the time to leaf through a travel guide (Lonely Planet or Routard) on Indonesia and Bali, you will easily find this kind of information ...
      😉

  12. Hello,

    First of all, it's simple, I love to browse your site, we dream about it slowly and we find so much useful information. The problem is that suddenly I have a deep dilemma that I must solve and I can not decide.

    I leave this summer 20 days between July and August with my 13 year old daughter and I prepared 2 courses, one on Bali and one on Sulawesi, and there I do not know which to choose: a traditional Bali / Flores but the number I'm a little scared of tourists, and another authentic and profound from Makassar to Manado via Bira, Toraja and the Togians, there are the distances that worry me a bit.
    Do you have a word that would allow me to decide. 💡
    Thank you in advance.
    And keep us dreaming 🙄

    1. @ Stéphane: thank you for this little word! I can hardly solve the dilemma for you ...

      However Bali + Flores seems feasible to me in 20 days. Spend time on Flores, much less touristy than Bali, especially as transport, by the only road that crosses the island, are particularly slow.

      As for Sulawesi, want to investigate Makassar + Bira + Toraja + Togian + Manado in 20 days, it seems a little presumptuous. It is not only a question of distances, but road infrastructure in bad condition (we advance very slowly), random schedules with boats, possible air links to combine ... The Togian Islands are not easy to join. If you want to enjoy Sulawesi in 20 days, I would suggest you do less.

      Good preparations!
      8)

  13. Thank you for his beautiful photos and stories of this magical island. We went a little longer than 3 weeks in October 2011. Motie Bali in Padangbay and half Flores, the little Képa at Cédric. I can not wait to come back, stay a little longer, dive in again, discover its riches and people. But I would like to try Papua too ..

  14. Hello Corinne,

    I'll be back to you a few years later!
    Following our fabulous honeymoon in Polynesia in 2009, you helped us a lot for our trip to Derawan-Sipadan in 2010 !!! In preparation for a stay Bali-Komodo-Flores, our first piece of cabbage arrived followed the 2nd 18 months later !!!
    Our dives have remained Mediterranean since ... And the call of the tropics is urgent!
    We would like to go 4/5 weeks in Bali-Komodo-Flores in July 2019 for our 10 years of marriage. We do it early but we already think very hard, especially since we will take our caps which will be 7-1 / 2 and 6 years.
    Could you guide us a little? Knowing that we would like to dive anyway (so keep the little ones) and pmt with them because they are already very fond of the underwater world !!!
    I thank you in advance for your help and also for your blog which is always a mine of information and a perpetual journey ...
    Eric

    1. @COSTANZO Eric: I tried to answer you in private by e-mail, but there must be an error of entry in the address which you entered ... So I do it in brief here:

      - Bali: to dive, aim at Tulamben / Amed (wreck of Liberty), Pemuteran, Nusa Lembongan

      - Komodo: as you are with your family, I recommend you to book a small boat just for you for 5-6 days a la carte cruise in the archipelago, for example the awesome Duyung Baru on which I was this summer 2016 (I'm in my posts, I have not talked much about it yet), but there are other possibilities and other boats ...

      - Flores: rent a car with driver to cross the island and explore at your own pace as I did in 2011 .

      Good preparations!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

22 Shares
Share8
Tweet13
Pine
Share1

Plage de sable noir, dans la région d'Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Plage de sable noir, dans la région d'Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)

Revenir à Bali

  Indonésie : Flores + Komodo + Bali - juillet 2011

Souvent je repasse par Bali, lors de mes voyages en Indonésie. L’île est une magicienne, qui me ramène toujours à elle. Plus j’y retourne, plus je l’aime.

Bali, mon « hub » aérien favori

Bon, il y a des raisons pratiques, bien sûr : l’aéroport de Bali est un gros « hub » à la fois international et domestique. Bien commode pour arriver en Indonésie et en repartir, et surtout pour les correspondances, quand on doit prendre ensuite un vol vers une autre destination en Indonésie ou un pays voisin.

Et puis, on n’atterrit pas à Denpasar (nom de la capitale de l’île, donné, par extension, à l’aéroport), mais juste à côté de Kuta, la grosse station balnéaire du sud-ouest. La piste d’atterrissage est tout au bout de la plage, vers le sud.

À Bali, la piste d'atterrissage est au bout de la plage. (Indonésie, juillet 2011)
À Bali, la piste d’atterrissage est au bout de la plage. (Indonésie, juillet 2011)

Je ne raffole pas de Kuta, terriblement touristique. Mais c’est une halte bien plaisante tout de même, entre deux vols, deux bouts de voyage, quand on débarque épuisé d’un vol long-courrier depuis l’Europe, ou bien juste avant de prendre le vol retour.

J’aime chaque fois marcher de longues heures sur Kuta Beach, magnifique plage de sable noir, qui s’étire à n’en plus finir vers le nord, le long de Legian, Seminyak, Kerobokan. D’une année sur l’autre, je retourne y admirer le coucher du soleil.

Magnifique coucher de soleil sur Kuta Beach, à Bali. (Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Magnifique coucher de soleil sur Kuta Beach, à Bali. (Indonésie, juillet 2011)

Là, face aux vagues, c’est une euphorie immense qui m’envahit en début de voyage ; ou bien, au contraire, une douce et tenace mélancolie, quand je m’apprête à prendre l’avion pour rentrer…

Juillet 2011

En juillet 2011, l’essentiel de mon périple indonésien s’est fait à Flores et Komodo, dans les Petites Îles de la Sonde. Un voyage extraordinaire ! Là encore, je suis arrivée par Bali. J’en ai déjà parlé, rapidement, à la fin de cet article consacré au vol long-courrier d’Air Asia X depuis Paris.

Mais je n’ai toujours pas raconté la suite : après Flores et ma croisière-plongée dans l’archipel de Komodo, je suis retournée passer quelques jours à Bali !

J’ai choisi de me poser dans le nord-est de l’île. J’étais à Tulamben, tout près d’Amed, où j’avais déjà séjourné en 2008.

J’adore la région et je ne saurais trop recommander une halte de quelques jours dans le coin à ceux qui visitent Bali pour la première fois. Il y a les mignonnes criques de sable noir et les villages de pêcheurs le long de la côte, de superbes rizières en terrasses à l’intérieur du pays, des temples et des palais pleins de spiritualité, et surtout le volcan qui domine tout, le magnifique et imposant Gunung Agung.

La baie de Jemeluk-Bunutan, près d'Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
La baie de Jemeluk-Bunutan, près d’Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Vue sur le Gunung Agung, depuis Tulamben. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Vue sur le Gunung Agung, depuis Tulamben. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Plage de sable noir, dans la région d'Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Plage de sable noir, dans la région d’Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)

En plus, c’est un spot de plongée renommé. C’est à Tulamben que se trouve la fabuleuse épave du Liberty, devant une plage de galets noirs.

Depuis plusieurs années, je retourne y plonger, sans me lasser… Et pour ceux qui ne plongent pas, il y a de quoi s’émerveiller aussi, simplement en snorkeling (palmes-masque-tuba), sur les plateaux de corail et le sommet de l’épave.

Un poisson-perroquet glisse au-dessus d'une gorgone, sur l'épave du Liberty. (Tulamben, Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Un poisson-perroquet glisse au-dessus d’une gorgone, sur l’épave du Liberty. (Tulamben, Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Une tortue s'éloigne, indifférente à notre présence. (Liberty wreck, Tulamben, Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Une tortue s’éloigne, indifférente à notre présence. (Liberty wreck, Tulamben, Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
L'épave du Liberty est gigantesque, il faut plusieurs plongées pour l'explorer. (Tulamben, Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
L’épave du Liberty est gigantesque, il faut plusieurs plongées pour l’explorer. (Tulamben, Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)

Bon plan pour se loger et plonger à Tulamben

Juillet 2012. Petit ajout : je vous signale ce vrai bon plan de resort à plongeurs (on a un guide pour soi tout seul et on plonge aux heures qu’on veut, de préférence hors des plages horaires d’affluence), qui est aussi une excellente adresse, en particulier si vous êtes photographe sub, et que vous avez envie de découvrir l’épave dans les meilleures conditions possibles →  Liberty Dive Resort

→ Voir tous mes articles sur l’épave du Liberty

L’île envoûtante

Bali est souvent décriée par les voyageurs qui ne jurent que par « l’authentique ». C’est vrai, Bali a changé. Elle s’est modernisée, développée. Et il n’est pas besoin d’être un spécialiste pour voir et comprendre les dégâts que peut causer le tourisme de masse.

Bali a malgré tout su rester envoûtante. Pour qui veut s’en donner la peine, il est facile de ne pas y rencontrer que des surfeurs australiens. De faire un pas de côté pour échapper à la foule, y compris dans les lieux réputés touristiques. De s’imprégner de la beauté de l’île, de son atmosphère si particulière, liée aux traditions et croyances hindoues de la population, pour qui les esprits et les dieux sont partout.

Balinaise en costume traditionnel. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Balinaise en costume traditionnel. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Rizières près entre Amed et Tulamben. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)
Rizières près entre Amed et Tulamben. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2011)

L’île n’est ni trop grande ni trop petite. On peut facilement la traverser dans la journée, pour changer de région, d’ambiance. Et je suis toujours touchée par l’incroyable accueil des Balinais. Par leur tolérance, leur disponibilité, leur ouverture d’esprit, leur bonne humeur contagieuse.

À Bali, il est facile de se laisser envahir par une incroyable sénérité, dont on ne se croyait plus capable. De se redécouvrir un peu soi-même. De savourer le temps qui passe, le plaisir de vivre.

Comme j’ai de la chance. J’y retourne bientôt !

Bali sera une escale, encore, au sein d’un périple indonésien plus vaste… Mais je vous en dirai plus dans quelques jours.

😎

  Indonésie : Flores + Komodo + Bali - juillet 2011

  1. ahhh moi aussi j’aime beaucoup Bali. J’ai fait sa connaissance en 2006 peu de temps après un attentat et donc découvert cette île alors que les touristes l’avaient désertée. J’y suis retournée quelques années après pour faire une halte de quelques jours à Ubud avant d’aller vers Flores. C’était en août… Un enfer avec un nombre de touriste au km2 incalculable !
    Je rêve d’y retourner comme toi hors saison et retrouver la quiétude, les traditions et les sourires de cette île qui reste malgré le tourisme de masse, un îlot de zenitude.
    Bon voyage en Indonésie Corinne. J’ai hâte de lire tes prochaines aventures !

    1. J’ai voyagé à Bali en pleine saison comme en haute saison, juste avant et aussi après les attentats d’octobre 2002. Mais ça fait un bail que je n’ai pas remis les pieds à Ubud. Je pense que je ne reconnaîtrai pas l’endroit !!! Je garde le souvenir d’une bourgade paisible (pourtant on était en juillet)…
      😀

  2. J’avais planifié rester que 5 semaines sur Bali et j’ai finalement jamais pris mon vol de retour , j’y ai passé plus de 7 mois à plonger a tous les jours ! Magnifique! Menjangan au Nord avec ces magnifiques tombants, ces gorgognes géantes ! Tulamben bien sur et le liberty ! Plus de 50 plongées sur l’épaves et toujours des surprises à chaque plongée . Plongée de nuit incroyable et le top, morning dive à 6h00 du matin ! Les perroquets à bosse qui quittent l’épave en groupe ! Amed a ne pas négliger. Les gillis près de padang bai et Nusa penida pour le gros mola mola ! J’ai quitté il y a près de 3 mois et l’île me manque déjà beaucoup ! J’y retournerai moi aussi il n’y a aucun doute ! Bien hâte de lire tes articles !

    1. J’aimerais séjourner pour l’hiver 2012-2013 à Bali, Flores Komodo. Nous partons en couple avec un bébé de huit mois, je cherche plein de conseils et savoir s’il est possible de rester 2 à 3 mois pour pas trop cher, genre louer un bungalow les pieds dans l’eau et manger des fruits et du poisson, profiter de la douceur de la vie loin de notre quotidien parfois stressant de la ville. 🙂 Je suis apnéiste et j aimerai savoir s’il y a des sites où pratiquer, sans forcément prendre un bateau rempli de plongeurs. Merci à tous.

    1. Je n’ai rien deviné du tout, je n’entends pas de voix et je n’ai pas de boule de cristal. Ce sont des infos de « source sûre » obtenues grâce à mon réseau d’informateurs qui couvre toute l’Asie du sud-est et que la CIA, le MOSSAD et KGB veulent me racheter à prix d’or 🙄
      Pour le teasing, je sais que tu vas rebondir et tu remarqueras que je n’ai pas cité la structure d’accueil 😀
      Au fait, tu pars bien la semaine prochaine ❓ 😆 😆

    2. Ta fortune est faite, alors !!! Tu peux vendre tes informateurs aux autres… 😛 Ils ne sont pas si fiables que ça. Bien inspirés, mais, comment dire, un peu imprécis…
      La date du départ est un poil plus proche que ça. Quant à la structure, ma foi… Il serait plus juste de parler plutôt de structures.
      😀 8) 😈

  3. youpi! Bali c’est là que je voulais aller cette année!
    Mais à cause des finances je vais à Koh Lanta ❗
    Je vais donc faire 2 voyages , le mien et un autre virtuel avec toi! Un avant goût pour un voyage à Bali l’an prochain? 😉

    1. Oh, j’espère bien que ce projet de voyage balinais se concrétisera pour toi l’an prochain !!! Déjà, tu devrais bien t’amuser en Thaïlande. Mais Bali, c’est une tout autre atmosphère et des plongées très différentes. Ravie de te transporter par avance là-bas virtuellement !!!
      8)

  4. Bonjour et merci pour cet article et ces belles photos. Je suis tombé amoureux de l’île aussi. Je m’y suis rendu pendant 7 semaines l’été dernier et j’ai hâte d’y retourner. Il faut cependant vite quitter Kuta et visiter l’interieur des terres pour trouver l’âme balinaise.
    Voici ma selection de photos : http://www.onedayonetravel.com/20-photos-de-bali-lile-des-dieux/
    Je prépare actuellement une série d’articles concernant Bali sur mon blog : Un itinéraire en 8 étapes pour découvrir Bali, Lombok et les Gilis sur http://www.onedayonetravel.com
    Bon voyage à tous !
    Richard

  5. Quel coïncidence, tu publies ce message le jour où je réserve des billets d’avion…. pour Bali! Cela fait 2 ans que je n’y suis pas retournée, ça manque vite!
    Alors, tu as trouvé un bon plan pour Raja Ampat??? 😉

    1. Dingue !!!!! 😀 Madame aussi est une connaisseuse, je vois…

      Pour R4, en fait, les « bons plans » que j’ai pu repérer sont vraiment roots de chez roots, pour autant que j’aie pu en juger… Et comme je m’embourgeoise, que je dispose d’un temps limité et que je trimballe un peu trop de matos électronique fragile, j’ai préféré me la jouer « confort ». Et j’ai découvert que le confort a un sacré prix, dans ces contrées encore pas gagnées par le tourisme de masse… Donc : gros gros cassage de tirelire (et encore, je suis bien en-deçà de la catégorie « luxe »… j’ai halluciné en découvrant les tarifs de certains resorts et croisières).

      Bref, je m’offre un rêve, que je traîne depuis tellement longtemps!!! Ça va être fantastique!!!
      8)

  6. J’aime beaucoup ton « titre »:Revenir à Bali et non pas Retourner à Bali….
    En ce qui me concerne, je rêve d’y retourner…. ❓

    1. La nuance est subtile. On utilise plutôt « revenir » quand il s’agit du lieu où l’on se trouve. Et « retourner » quand il s’agit d’un endroit autre que celui où l’on est. L’un renvoie au contexte dans lequel on est, l’autre au contexte dans lequel on se projette. C’est donc une question de situation, de point de vue : lequel peut-être concret, géographique ; ou bien imaginaire, rêvé…

      Bref, en titrant ainsi, finalement, je me replace à Bali, un peu comme si j’y étais encore, comme si je n’avais pas quitté l’île. Je suggère aussi une notion de va et vient, vers ce point de repère qu’est Bali. Intéressant…
      🙄

  7. Merci Corinne pour confirmer que Bali a encore quelques coins préservés!
    J’ai loupé un rendez-vous avec l’île des Dieux il y a deux ans, le prochain, je ne lâcherai pas!

  8. C’est vrai que Bali est une super île. Je n’avais pas trop aimé Kuta même si j’avoue que la plage est très belle et idéale pour surfer. Par contre, Amed est splendide est très calme. Les petits villages de pêcheurs sont très agréables et on n’y voit pas tant de touristes que ça.
    La région d’Ubud est également super appréciable.
    Je n’y suis allé qu’une fois mais j’aimerais y retourner…

    1. Il faudra que je retourne à Ubud, un jour… Je serai surprise du changement, je pense.

      J’adore moi aussi la région d’Amed-Tulamben. La côte est magnifique, et question ambiance, ça reste plutôt tranquille, en effet…
      8)

  9. Bali, cette île hors du temps ! Enfin, j’y suis allée il y a plus de 10 ans déjà… J’aimerais y retourner mais j’ai si peur d’être déçue par rapport à ce que je garde en mémoire: Kuta, le spot de surf des Australiens, les belles rizières en escalier, le nord et son volcan, et puis Ubud, la ville des artistes. Je me souviens aussi de la gentillesse des balinais et leur grande sérénité, leur sourire doux, les fleurs qu’ils savent si bien arranger en jolis petits bouquets qu’ils déposent devant les autels au pied de leur maison, l’odeur d’encens omni-présente dans les rues…
    J’ai hâte de lire tes récits pour ton retour à Bali et découvrir quel visage Bali offre désormais ! 🙄

    1. Ce visage de Bali existe toujours. Mais évidemment, les endroits qui étaient déjà touristiques le sont encore plus.

  10. Bonjour Corinne,

    C’est decidé, je pars à Bali cette année !
    J’ai 2 questions d’ordre pratique :

    1. Quelle période conseilles-tu ? quandpartir.com recommande de Juin à Septembre.

    2. As-tu une compagnie aérienne ou un vol à conseiller ?

    Merci 😉

    1. Bali peut se visiter toute l’année, les saisons ne pas très marquées. Juin à septembre est effectivement la période la plus agréable, c’est là qu’il pleut le moins.

      Pour les compagnies aériennes, non, je n’en ai pas une à conseiller. Pour ma part, je surveille les tarifs régulièrement, les promos, etc.

  11. Bonjour, je voudrais partir à Bali, dans un club en petit-déjeuner. On m’a dit que manger à l’extérieur ne coûtait pas cher. Vous pouvez me donner plus de renseignements ? Merci d’avance.

    1. Oui, manger à l’extérieur n’est pas cher du tout, de quelques centimes d’euros à quelques euros, selon que vous mangiez dans la rue, dans un warung (resto local) ou un resto à touristes. Prenez le temps de feuilleter un guide de voyage (Lonely Planet ou Routard) sur l’Indonésie et Bali, vous y trouverez facilement ce genre d’infos…
      😉

  12. Bonjour,

    Tout d’abord, c’est simple, j’adore parcourir votre site, on y rêve doucement et on y trouve tellement d’informations utiles. Le problème c’est que du coup j’ai un profond dilemme que je dois résoudre et je n’arrive pas à trancher.

    Je pars cet été 20 jours entre juillet et août avec ma fille de 13 ans et j’ai préparé 2 parcours, un sur Bali et un sur Sulawesi, et là je ne sais plus lequel choisir: un traditionnel sur Bali/Flores mais le nombre de touristes me fait un peu peur, et un autre authentique et profond de Makassar à Manado via Bira, Toraja et les îles Togians, là ce sont les distances qui m’inquiètent un peu.
    Auriez-vous un mot qui me peremettrait de trancher…. 💡
    Merci d’avance.
    Et continuez de nous faire rêver 🙄

    1. @Stéphane: merci de ce petit mot ! Je peux difficilement trancher le dilemme à votre place…

      Cependant Bali + Flores me semble réalisable en 20 jours. Consacrez du temps à Flores, beaucoup moins touristique que Bali, d’autant que les transports, par l’unique route qui traverse l’île, sont particulièrement lents.

      Quant à Sulawesi, vouloir enquiller Makassar + Bira + Toraja + Togian + Manado en 20 jours, cela me semble un peu présomptueux. Ce n’est pas seulement une question de distances, mais d’infrastructures routières en mauvais état (on avance très lentement), d’horaires aléatoires avec les bateaux, d’éventuelles liaisons d’avion à combiner… Les îles Togian ne sont pas faciles à rallier. Si vous voulez profiter de Sulawesi en 20 jours, je vous suggérerais plutôt d’en faire moins.

      Bons préparatifs !
      8)

  13. Merci pour ses belles photos et ces récits de cette ile magique. Nous y sommes allés un peu plu sde 3 semaines en octobre 2011. Motié Bali à Padangbay et moitié Flores,la petite Képa chez Cédric. Il me tarde d’y revenir, d’y rester un peu plus longtemps, d’y plonger de nouveau, d’y découvrir encore ses richesses et ces gens. Mais je voudrai bien essayer la Papouasie aussi..

  14. Bonjour Corinne,

    Je reviens vers toi quelques années plus tard !
    Suite à notre voyage de noces fabuleux en Polynésie en 2009, tu nous avais grandement aidé pour notre périple à Derawan-Sipadan en 2010 !!! En pleine préparation pour un séjour Bali-Komodo-Flores, notre premier bout de chou est arrivé suivi du 2ème 18 mois plus tard !!!
    Nos immersions sont restées méditerranéennes depuis… Et l’appel des tropiques se fait pressant !
    On voudrait donc partir 4/5 semaines à Bali-Komodo-Flores en juillet 2019 pour nos 10 ans de mariage. On s’y prend tôt mais on y pense déjà très fort, d’autant plus qu’on prendra nos bouchons qui auront 7-1/2 et 6 ans.
    Pourrais tu nous aiguiller un peu ? Sachant que nous voudrions plonger quand même (donc faire garder les petits) et pmt avec eux car ils sont déjà bien mordus du monde sous marin !!!
    Je te remercie par avance pour ton aide et aussi pour ton blog qui est toujours une mine d’informations et un voyage perpétuel…
    Eric

    1. @COSTANZO Eric : J’ai essayé de te répondre en privé par e-mail, mais il doit y avoir une erreur de saisie dans l’adresse que tu as saisie… Alors je le fais en bref ici :

      – Bali : pour plonger, visez Tulamben/Amed (épave du Liberty), Pemuteran, Nusa Lembongan

      – Komodo : comme vous êtes en famille, je vous recommande de réserver un petit bateau rien que pour vous pour 5-6 jours de croisière à la carte dans l’archipel, par exemple le génial Duyung Baru sur lequel j’étais cet été 2016 (je suis à la bourre dans mes posts, je n’en ai pas encore beaucoup parlé), mais il y a d’autres possibilités et d’autres bateaux…

      – Flores : louez une voiture avec chauffeur pour traverser l’île et l’explorer à votre rythme comme j’avais fait en 2011 .

      Bons préparatifs !

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

22 Partages
Partagez8
Tweetez13
Enregistrer
Partagez1