The Wayag Archipelago in Raja Ampat. West Papua, Indonesia.
The Wayag Archipelago in Raja Ampat. West Papua, Indonesia.

Make bubbles in Papuans

  Indonesia: Raja Ampat + Bali - March 2012

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

"Where are you going this time? " To put it simply, I answer: "In Indonesia. " In fact, I'm leaving the end of Indonesia: in West Papua! I am going to dive in the archipelago bearing the beautiful name of Raja Ampat, "the four kings".

The Wayag Archipelago in Raja Ampat. West Papua, Indonesia.
The Wayag Archipelago in Raja Ampat. West Papua, Indonesia.

Raja Ampat

Raja Ampat is one of the most famous diving spots in South East Asia. It's been a long time since I dreamed ... And the dream is about to materialize. Eh yes ! I'm going to make bubbles at Papuans! ! !

????

The Wikipedia page about Raja Ampat will enlighten you a little, on this destination at the end of the world ... As for those of you who followed the 2011 season game show reality TV Koh Lanta on TF1they already have an idea of the fabulous landscapes that I will soon discover.

A small sample to dream? follow this link Google Images.

In transit to Makassar

Well, I'm not quite there yet. Papua is at the very end of the Indonesian archipelago, to the east, on the island of New Guinea. We are already in Oceania, or almost! On the other side of the border, which divides the island in two, is Papua New Guinea. (I'm sparing you for now the history of the conflict between Papuans and Indonesians.)

In short, the Indonesians of Bali and Sulawesi open their eyes when I tell them that I am going to Papua. "Papua? " Even for them, it's very far ...

Yes, I am already in Indonesia! I write this post from Makassar (also called Ujung Pandang), capital of Sulawesi Island (Celebes Island). I'm in transit, halfway through my goal ...

Makassar is pretty ugly, I've already been there several times, especially to go to the Toraja country, in previous trips, in 2007 and in 2010. Not much interest in hanging out in this city. What's more, in this season, it is a terrible wetness. Tonight, the sky is low, heavy clouds stuffed with lukewarm rain. I love as much, for the few hours that I have to spend here, enjoy the comfort of my hotel room, the air conditioning, the internet ... (Not a fighter for two sous, today!)

I came from France by Bali, taking advantage of Ultimate Air Asia X flights. I left Bali this morning and go to Makassar only one night, very short, between two planes. Earlier, at dawn, I fly to Sorong, capital of West Papua!

Ten days away from everything ...

Once in Sorong, I will embark on a cruise ship for divers. We will sail from island to island, in Raja Ampat. Then I will extend the stay in a resort, on an island of the archipelago.

In short, ten days away from everything. I'll have to disconnect ... Hard.

????

I am a little longer suspense, I do not tell you more. But I'll come back to tell you all about it, with photos, on land and underwater, as soon as I can connect to the internet again ...

Sampai jumpah lagi!

😎

ADD. If you are looking for practical information about Raja Ampat, visit the link below, I have compiled lots of information:
Raja Ampat: practical information to organize your trip

You can now find all the articles I published on this trip by clicking on the image below:

Indonesia Travel: Raja Ampat + Bali - March 2012

  Indonesia: Raja Ampat + Bali - March 2012

47 Shares
Share23
Tweet11
Pine12
Share1

L'archipel de Wayag à Raja Ampat. Papouasie occidentale, Indonésie.
L'archipel de Wayag à Raja Ampat. Papouasie occidentale, Indonésie.

Faire des bulles chez les Papous

  Indonésie : Raja Ampat + Bali - mars 2012

« Et tu vas où, cette fois ? » Pour faire simple, je réponds : « En Indonésie. » En fait, je pars au bout du bout de l’Indonésie : en Papouasie occidentale ! Je vais plonger dans l’archipel portant le beau nom de Raja Ampat, « les quatre rois ».

L'archipel de Wayag à Raja Ampat. Papouasie occidentale, Indonésie.
L’archipel de Wayag à Raja Ampat. Papouasie occidentale, Indonésie.

Raja Ampat

Raja Ampat, c’est un des spots de plongée les plus réputés en Asie du Sud-Est. Ça fait longtemps que j’en rêve… Et le rêve est sur le point de se concrétiser. Eh oui ! Je vais faire des bulles chez les Papous ! ! !

😃

La fiche Wikipédia sur Raja Ampat vous éclairera un peu, sur cette destination du bout du monde… Quant à ceux d’entre vous qui ont suivi la saison 2011 du jeu télévisé de téléréalité Koh Lanta sur TF1, ils ont déjà une idée des paysages fabuleux que je vais bientôt découvrir.

Un petit échantillon pour rêver ?  Suivez ce lien Google Images.

En transit à Makassar

Bon, je ne suis pas encore tout à fait rendue là-bas. La Papouasie est tout au bout du bout de l’archipel indonésien, vers l’est, sur l’île de Nouvelle Guinée. On est déjà en Océanie, ou presque ! De l’autre côté de la frontière, qui divise l’île en deux, c’est la Papouasie Nouvelle Guinée. (Je vous épargne pour l’instant l’historique du conflit entre Papous et Indonésiens.)

Bref, les Indonésiens de Bali et de Sulawesi ouvrent des yeux ronds, quand je leur dis que je pars en Papouasie. « Papua ? » Même pour eux, c’est très loin…

Oui, je suis déjà en Indonésie ! J’écris ce post depuis Makassar (appelée aussi Ujung Pandang), capitale de l’île de Sulawesi (l’île de Célèbes). Je suis en transit, à mi-parcours de mon but…

Makassar est plutôt moche, j’y suis déjà passée plusieurs fois, notamment pour me rendre dans le pays Toraja, lors de précédents périples, en 2007 et en 2010. Pas grand intérêt à traîner dans cette ville. Qui plus est, en cette saison, il fait une moiteur terrible. Ce soir, le ciel est bas, lourd de nuages gorgés de pluie tiède. J’aime autant, pour les quelques heures que je dois passer ici, profiter du confort de ma chambre d’hôtel, de la clim, de l’internet… (Pas baroudeuse pour deux sous, aujourd’hui !)

Je suis arrivée de France par Bali, profitant des ultimes vols Air Asia X. J’ai quitté Bali ce matin et je ne passe à Makassar qu’une nuit, très courte, entre deux avions. Tout à l’heure, à l’aube, je m’envole pour Sorong, capitale de la Papouasie occidentale !

Dix jours loin de tout…

Une fois à Sorong, je vais embarquer sur un bateau de croisière pour plongeurs. Nous naviguerons d’île en île, dans les Raja Ampat. Ensuite, je prolongerai le séjour dans un resort, sur une île de l’archipel.

Bref, une dizaine de jours loin de tout. Je vais devoir déconnecter… Dur.

😂

Je fais un peu durer le suspense, je ne vous en dis pas plus. Mais je reviens tout vous raconter ensuite, avec des photos, sur terre et sous l’eau, dès qu’il me sera à nouveau possible de me connecter à internet…

Sampai jumpah lagi !

😎

AJOUT. Si vous êtes en quête d’infos pratiques sur Raja Ampat, visitez le lien ci-dessous, j’y ai compilé plein de renseignements :
Raja Ampat : infos pratiques pour organiser son voyage

Vous pouvez désormais retrouver tous les articles que j’ai publiés sur ce voyage en cliquant sur l’image ci-dessous :

Voyage Indonésie : Raja Ampat + Bali - mars 2012

  Indonésie : Raja Ampat + Bali - mars 2012

47 Partages
Partagez23
Tweetez11
Enregistrer12
Partagez1