Air Asia X. July 2011.
Me, what I like is having free seats next to mine!

The Best Place to Sit on a Plane

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Between Two Journeys

Sometimes you can choose your seat on the plane. Dilemma : is it best to sit in the front, middle or rear of the plane ?

Which seat to choose?

I'm going to fly away soon, for another getaway to Southeast Asia !!! The airline I fly with allows you to pre-select online your seat in the aircraft. I looove it !

On the Emirates site, you can choose your seat on the plane.
On the website of some airlines, you can choose your place on the plane at the time of booking, or check-in online.

Just tick a small square in the online reservation manager for the desired seat. But here it is, despite my excitement, when I was ready to click, I had some doubts...

So, before making up my mind, I went to type on Google & #160 ;: & #160; best seat in plane & #160; It's smart & #8230; Now I do not know which seat to choose & #160; & #x1f914;

Window seat : my favorite place to sit on a plane

I mean, usually, I know. Whenever possible, I always grab a window seat. No doubt about that : I like to look outside, to keep an eye on the takeoff, the landing, I like to see the clouds, the lights of the cities at night, the mosaic of the fields, the blue expanse of the oceans.

And then the side corner makes it possible to put a cushion, a pillow, to support your head, to be more comfortable, to soothe your neck. I am a big fan of the window seat.

Lion Air. Indonesia. July 2012.
Unobstructed view & #8230; Long live the porthole & #160;

And when I need to get out of the row, I politely bother my neighbors with a big smile (telling myself, after all, that it's good for everyone to move a bit). If they are asleep, I sometimes dare (only when we are in the middle of the "night" on a long-haul flight and the whole cabin is in the dark) to step over their knees as I climb onto my seat to sneak past them weightlessly from arm to arm in socks... Oftentimes they don't even notice. At the very worst, they open their eyes and watch me do so, a little appalled but not displeased that they didn't have to get up.

Anyway. The window seat is my first choice, this goes without saying for me.

Of course, seats at emergency exits are the most popular, as there is legroom. But by the time I make my reservation, they're all already taken or pre-empted. Too bad.

View of the porthole in a Lion Air plane. Indonesia, March 2013.
I am a fan of the porthole, if only for the view ...

In the front, middle or rear of the plane?

In fact, what I'm wondering is which window seat to choose : front, middle or rear of the aircraft ?

It's strange that I'm concerned about this detail now, when I've already taken dozens and dozens of planes, especially since this is not the first time I've chosen my seat beforehand online. Usually I do it without any qualms. And I'm not prone to being scared in the air.

Though. I invite you to read again a few posts published on this blog :
→ Traffic jams of the sky
→ Effective prayers on Lion Air
Thirteen takeoffs and thirteen landings
The fright of flying (the only time I was really scared)
Do your prayers on Lion Air (bis)

😱

In the Air Asia plane.
Where are we best on the plane? Front, middle or back?

So, because of Google, I found a lot of links on the subject. I retain three things from this:

  • 1. We would be more likely to survive an air crash if we are placed in the back of the plane. This is stated in a statistical study of aircraft accidents in the United States since the 1970s...
  • 2. But the flight is less pleasant (or even more distressing) at the back of the plane, because there is more turbulence. And when landing, we are usually in the last to leave the aircraft. Not ideal, we end up at the end of an endless queue for transit checks or formalities on arrival. Better to sit at the front to save time.
  • 3. The flight is more comfortable in the middle of the plane, at the level of the wing. The shaking is less during turbulence. But it is also at this level that the reservoir is. In case of fire or explosion, the worst place, so (if we like to imagine the worst).

I'll give you some interesting links I found on this subject here:
→ Safest Seat on a Plane [Popular Mechanics] (the famous American statistical study, in English)
→ Plane crash: the best seats [Fluctuat.net] (the summary, in French)
→ How to choose the best seat by plane [LeFigaro.fr]
→ Find a place on the plane [VacancesPractices.info]
→ Forum "The fear of the plane" [Crash-aerien.com]
The safest seat on a plane [HuffPostQuebec]

Choose comfort

Morality & #160 ;: it's not a good idea to ask such questions to Google & #8230; & #x1f602;  

This story of a seat in the front, middle or back is a false dilemma. In reality, when it comes to choosing the best place on the plane, the real criteria, is your comfort.

Air Asia X. July 2011.
Me, what I like is having free seats next to mine!

Finally, I found another interesting link: SeatGuru.com.

It lists all types of aircraft in service on commercial flights, stating for each seat the disadvantages and advantages in terms of comfort & #160: leg room, proximity of toilets and kitchens, inclination of the files, situation by relative to the collective projection screen or the presence of individual screens, etc.

The SeatGuru site details the advantages and disadvantages of the seats according to the aircraft models, seat by seat.
The SeatGuru site details the advantages and disadvantages of the seats according to the aircraft models, seat by seat.

Finally, for the flight that will take me back to Paris from Dubai, I discovered that I was going to board the brand new A380 ! Unprecedented experience. I can't wait, though, to really try out this very large aircraft that has been the talk of the town. It will comfort me with the unhappiness of the return. And I even found there, thanks to SeatGuru.com I mentioned above, a seat near a window, where you can stretch your legs.

Conclusion

In short & #160: there is no wiggle, the best place in the plane is obviously the one that allows to spend the trip more pleasantly (in other words, more comfortably) possible & #8230;

Naturally, the most ideal thing is to be upgraded and enjoy the luxury of seats in First or Business Class. I secretly dream about it every time I book a flight.

Well... The most essential thing is to ensure there is a pilot on the plane!

😆

In the plane of Garuda. Flight Jakarta-Makassar. January 2015.
In a plane of Garuda, the Indonesian national airline.

Get upgraded

UPDATE # 1 → July 2013: It finally happened to me, to taste something else than the relative comfort of the economy class: in exchange for a surplus of miles, I was able to travel in Business Class, on an Emirates flight, between Dubai and Paris! ! ! The big foot. I'll tell you maybe that one day ...

UPDATE #2 → July 2016 & #160 ;: it ended up happening to me too, to benefit gracefully, without asking anything or trying anything special, an upgrade in Business, on a Qatar Airways flight, between Doha and Jakarta & #160;! & #160;! & #160; ! Even more pleasant, since it was really a surprise & #8230; Happiness in the air. I'm telling this here → How to get a flight upgrade for free.

UPDATE #3 → July 2018 & #160 ;: I again managed to upgrade to Qatar Airways, on the Doha-Jakarta stretch & #160;! & #160;! & #160; This time, as I had just acquired the higher status in the loyalty program, I was able to introduce myself to the #8217; boarding in the VIP priority queue & #8230; And while I had not even asked for the upgrade, the young woman at the ticket office did so immediately seeing me tend my boarding pass. She changed my Eco ticket again in Business & #160;! & #160;! & #160;! Yess & #160;! & #160;! & #160 ;!

UPDATE # 4 February-March 2019 & #160 ;: I became the queen of the upgrade, I benefited from TWO free upgrades, one to go, the other to return, on the section Paris-Doha. From now on, at boarding, I no longer hesitate to systematically ask if there is a possibility of upgrading graceful, always very politely, in case & #8230; We are never safe from a very good surprise.

🙃

" <yoastmark

  Between Two Journeys

298 Shares
Share260
Tweet36
Pine2
Share

Air Asia X. Juillet 2011.
Moi, ce que j'aime, c'est avoir des sièges libres à côté du mien !

La meilleure place dans l’avion

  Entre deux voyages

Parfois, on peut choisir son siège dans l’avion. Dilemme : vaut-il mieux s’asseoir à l’avant, au milieu ou à l’arrière de l’appareil ?

Quel siège choisir ?

Je vais m’envoler bientôt, pour une nouvelle escapade en Asie du Sud-Est  ! ! ! La compagnie sur laquelle j’embarque permet de sélectionner à l’avance, via leur site internet, sa place dans l’avion. J’adoooore ! ! !

Sur le site d'Emirates, on peut choisir sa place dans l'avion.
Sur le site de certaines compagnies aériennes, on peut choisir sa place dans l’avion au moment de la réservation, ou du check-in en ligne.

Il suffit de cocher un petit carré correspondant au siège voulu dans le gestionnaire de réservation en ligne . Seulement voilà, malgré mon enthousiasme, au moment de cliquer, j’ai eu comme un doute…

Du coup, avant de me décider, je suis allée taper sur Google : « meilleur siège en avion ». C’est malin… Maintenant je ne sais plus du tout quel siège choisir ! 🤔

Hublot : mon siège préféré en avion

Enfin si. Quand c’est possible, je prends toujours un hublot. Là-dessus, pas de doute : j’aime voir dehors, surveiller le décollage, l’atterrissage, j’aime regarder les nuages, les lumières des villes la nuit, la mosaïque des champs, l’étendue bleue des océans.

Et puis l’encoignure permet de placer un coussin, un oreiller, pour appuyer la tête, se caler plus confortablement, soulager les cervicales. Je suis une inconditionnelle du window seat.

Lion Air. Indonésie. Juillet 2012.
Vue imprenable… Vive le hublot !

Et quand j’ai besoin de m’extraire de la rangée, je dérange mes voisins poliment, avec un grand sourire (en me disant, après tout, que c’est bon pour tout le monde de bouger un peu). S’ils dorment, j’ose parfois (seulement quand on est au beau milieu de la « nuit » sur un vol long-courrier et que toute la cabine est plongée dans le noir) enjamber leurs genoux en montant sur mon siège pour passer discrètement et lestement, en chaussettes, d’accoudoir en accoudoir… Souvent ils ne voient rien. Au pire, ils ouvrent un œil et me regardent faire, un peu effarés mais pas fâchés de n’avoir pas été obligés de se lever.

Bref. Le siège sera côté hublot, cela va de soi pour moi.

Évidemment, les sièges au niveau des issues de secours sont les plus prisés, car on y a de la place pour les jambes. Mais pour ma réservation, là, ils sont déjà tous pris ou préemptés. Dommage.

Vue du hublot dans un avion Lion Air. Indonésie, mars 2013.
Je suis une inconditionnelle du hublot, ne serait-ce que pour la vue…

À l’avant, au milieu, à l’arrière de l’avion ?

En fait, ce qui me pose question, c’est quel hublot choisir : à l’avant, au milieu ou à l’arrière de l’appareil ?

Bizarre que ce détail me préoccupe maintenant, alors que j’ai déjà pris des dizaines et des dizaines d’avions, d’autant que ce n’est pas la première fois que je choisis ainsi à l’avance mon siège sur un site internet. D’habitude je le fais sans état d’âme. Et je ne suis pas sujette à la peur en avion.

Quoique. Je vous invite à relire quelques posts publiés sur ce blog :
→ Embouteillages du ciel
→ De l’efficacité des prières sur Lion Air
Treize décollages et treize atterrissages
La trouille en avion (la seule fois où j’ai eu peur pour de vrai)
Faites vos prières sur Lion Air (bis)

😱

Dans l'avion Air Asia.
Où est-on le mieux dans l’avion ? À l’avant, au milieu ou à l’arrière ?

Donc, à cause de Google, j’ai déniché des tas de liens sur le sujet. J’en retiens trois choses  :

  • 1. On aurait plus de chances de survivre à un crash aérien, si on est placé à l’arrière de l’avion. C’est une étude statistique, réalisée sur des accidents survenus depuis les années 1970 aux États-Unis, qui le dit…
  • 2. Mais le vol est moins agréable (voire plus angoissant) à l’arrière de l’avion, car on y sent davantage les turbulences. Et puis au moment de débarquer, on se retrouve en général dans les derniers à quitter l’appareil. Pas idéal, on finit tout au bout d’une interminable file d’attente pour les contrôles au transit ou les formalités à l’arrivée. Mieux vaut s’installer à l’avant pour gagner du temps.
  • 3. Le vol est plus confortable au milieu de l’avion, au niveau de l’aile. Les secousses y sont moindres lors de turbulences. Mais c’est aussi à ce niveau que se trouve le réservoir. En cas d’incendie ou d’explosion, la pire des places, donc (si on aime bien imaginer le pire).

Je vous mets quelques liens intéressants que j’ai trouvés à ce sujet  :
→ Safest Seat on a Plane [Popular Mechanics] (la fameuse étude statistique américaine, en anglais)
→ Crash d’avion : les meilleurs sièges [Fluctuat.net] (le résumé, en français)
→ Comment choisir le meilleur siège en avion [LeFigaro.fr]
→ Se faire une place dans l’avion [VacancesPratiques.info]
→ Forum « La peur de l’avion » [Crash-aerien.com]
Le siège le plus sûr dans un avion [HuffPostQuébec]

Choisir le confort

Moralité : ce n’est pas une bonne idée de poser ce genre de questions à Google… 😂  

Cette histoire de place à l’avant, au milieu, ou à l’arrière, est un faux dilemme. En réalité, quand il s’agit de choisir la meilleure place dans l’avion, le vrai critère, c’est le confort.

Air Asia X. Juillet 2011.
Moi, ce que j’aime, c’est avoir des sièges libres à côté du mien !

Pour finir, j’ai déniché un autre lien, bien intéressant  : le site SeatGuru.com.

Celui-ci recense tous les types d’appareil en service sur les vols commerciaux, en précisant pour chaque siège les désavantages et avantages en terme de confort : place pour les jambes, proximité des toilettes et des cuisines, inclinaison des dossiers, situation par rapport à l’écran de projection collectif ou présence d’écrans individuels, etc.

Le site SeatGuru détaille les avantages et inconvénients des places selons les modèles d'avion, siège par siège.
Le site SeatGuru détaille les avantages et inconvénients des places selons les modèles d’avion, siège par siège.

Enfin, pour le vol qui me ramènera à Paris, à partir de Dubaï, j’ai découvert que j’allais embarquer sur le tout nouvel A380 ! Expérience inédite. Je suis impatiente, tout de même, de tester en vrai ce très gros porteur dont on a tant parlé. Ça me consolera du spleen du retour. Et j’y ai même déniché, grâce à SeatGuru.com dont je parlais plus haut, un siège près d’un hublot, où l’on peut allonger les jambes.

Conclusion

Bref : il n’y a pas à tortiller, la meilleure place en avion est évidemment celle qui permet de passer le voyage le plus agréablement (autrement dit, le plus confortablement) possible…

Forcément, l’idéal est de se faire surclasser et de pouvoir goûter au luxe des sièges en Première ou en Business. J’en rêve secrètement à chaque réservation.

Bah… L’essentiel est qu’il y ait un pilote dans l’avion !

😆

Dans l'avion de la Garuda. Vol Jakarta-Makassar. Janvier 2015.
Dans un avion de la Garuda, la compagnie nationale indonésienne.

Se faire surclasser

MISE À JOUR #1 → Juillet 2013 : ça a fini par m’arriver, de goûter à autre chose qu’au confort relatif de la classe économique : en échange d’un surplus de miles, j’ai pu voyager en Business Class, sur un vol Emirates, entre Dubaï et Paris ! ! ! Le grand pied. Je vous raconterai peut-être ça un jour…

MISE À JOUR #2 → Juillet 2016 : ça a fini par m’arriver aussi, de bénéficier gracieusement, sans rien demander ni rien tenter de spécial, d’un surclassement en Business, sur un vol Qatar Airways, entre Doha et Jakarta ! ! ! Encore plus plaisant, puisque ce fut vraiment une surprise… Le bonheur dans les airs. Je raconte ça ici → Comment se faire surclasser en avion gratuitement.

MISE À JOUR #3 → Juillet 2018 : j’ai à nouveau réussi à me faire surclasser chez Qatar Airways, sur le tronçon Doha-Jakarta ! ! ! Cette fois-ci, comme je venais d’acquérir le statut supérieur dans le programme de fidélité, j’ai pu me présenter à l’embarquement dans la file prioritaire des VIP… Et alors que je n’avais même pas encore demandé le surclassement, la jeune femme au guichet l’a fait aussitôt en me voyant tendre mon boarding-pass. Elle a derechef changé mon billet Éco en Business ! ! ! Yess ! ! !

MISE À JOUR #4 Février-mars 2019 : je suis devenue la reine du surclassement, j’ai bénéficié de DEUX upgrades gratuits, l’un à l’aller, l’autre au retour, sur le tronçon Paris-Doha. Désormais, à l’embarquement, je n’hésite plus à demander systématiquement si il y a une possibilité de surclassement gracieux, toujours très poliment, au cas où… On n’est jamais à l’abri d’une très bonne surprise.

🙃

"<yoastmark

  Entre deux voyages

299 Partages
Partagez260
Tweetez36
Enregistrer3
Partagez