Sunset on the beach of Kuta. Bali.
Sunset on the beach of Kuta. Bali.

Back to Kuta Beach

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

To fight against the spleen of the return, I walk again on the beach. That of Kuta-Legian-Seminyak. A huge and splendid tongue of gray sand, well packed, I love to travel in one direction, then in the other, until the time of the fabulous sunset.

Sunset on the beach

In the evening, when the last rays glow in the sky, families of Balinese come to dive, solitary surfers go to meet a last wave.

Sunset on the beach of Kuta. Bali.
Sunset on the beach of Kuta. Bali.

 

Games of wild football are organized between locals and tourists, while kids continue to challenge the wind with their kites.

It is also the time when one jogging, in the cool, along the waves. We see little girls who trotter valiantly and old beautiful burnt by the sun a little ridiculous.

Tourist, and so ...

Kuta Beach, with its street vendors, parade surfers and skewers of sun-baked tourists, is often decried by visitors seeking "authenticity". Still, I like it a lot, this beach.

It is so big that you never really get a feeling of crowds (if you do not stay sprawled on the sand among the clusters of other tourists). Surfing and surf schools are now fully part of the local "culture", and Balinese are the beginners.

Kuta Beach. Bali.
Kuta Beach. Bali.

 

In short, this very tourist beach is also a component of the "real" Bali, whatever you say. The huge rollers that break as far as the eye can see offer a superb show, which I never tire of.

Station with the rollers

On the sand, the atmosphere is relaxed, rather good child, very pleasant ... Just put his sarong at the edge of the wet sand and dry sand, or walk quietly foot in the water, not to be disturbed by the nice niggers who persist in wanting to sell you their trinkets.

Along Bali's Kuta Beach, red flags remind you that the sea is dangerous.
Along Bali's Kuta Beach, red flags remind you that the sea is dangerous.

 

Red flags, adorned with a beautiful skull, remind you of the moment when you run towards the waves, that the waves are treacherous by here. The best thing is to go for a swim in the supervised area.

Lifeguard lifeguard on Kuta Beach, Bali.
Lifeguard lifeguard on Kuta Beach, Bali.

Moreover, to be watched by lifeguards from here, frankly, it's not unpleasant ...

😉

Yes, I could not resist. Just for you, girls ... I went to ask him if he would lend himself to the photo-souvenir.

I have another, or I pose next to the gentleman (but this one, I keep it, because it will still make friends chatter). The actors ofBaywatch can go get dressed! He was rather flattered that I want to take a picture of him, the lifeguard.

As I asked him most seriously about the size of the waves, the strength of the currents, the layout of the reef, just to give me a countenance, he first thought I was working for a magazine ... I I almost failed to answer him that I was doing a report for a big French regional newspaper, but ...

Sea, surf and sun

In fact, a guy from the Australian TV, who I fell after, had just passed. For a real report, which will be aired in September, about Kuta's lifeguards job and a surfing competition taking place in the area these days.

I meet the Australian a little further, feet in the water, now somehow his big camera, his microphone and his tripod just above the foam. He is waiting there, in full sun, ready to melt on the first surfer in distress and the team of muscular lifeguards in action ... Hard job, I assure you.

I exchange a few words with him. It's funny, he too was still Lembongan the day before, to film the surfers from there.

Kuta Beach, Bali.
Kuta Beach, Bali.

Followers of Jesus

Later, while I polish my tan after a refreshing splash in the waves (in well-supervised zone), I am pulled out of my torpor by songs.

I lift my head, dismiss with a wave of the hand a "manucureuse" who redirects his trajectory to offer me his services, and discovers a group of people, the waves look like boyscouts with their shorts and their white socks in their sandals, accompanied by a very "Jesus returns" guitarist.

They sing in chorus, clap in their hands. It looks like a sect. The song finished, they close their eyes. They pray, visibly. Then they go together to the sea, surrounding a guy, that they help to advance in the waves. I jump on my device, twirl in my sarong, and rush to them. It's a baptism.

Baptism in the sea on the beach of Kuta in Bali, by the "Followers of Jesus".
Baptism in the sea on the beach of Kuta in Bali, by the Followers of Jesus.

 

I arrive a little late and have only time to make some shots from afar. A red guy with big teeth, noting my interest in the thing, tries to evangelize me by explaining to me the meaning of baptism. I thank him and pretend to be passionate about what he tells me, just to know who these people are.

I end up having my info: "We are the Followers of Jesus. We are from all over the world, America, Australia, New Zealand ... » I'm staying there. Mecretic I am, disbelieving I remain.

Balinese offerings

Frankly, to choose, I would rather be Hindu ... Just before, I also met three Balinese women in traditional costume, came to deposit their offerings. They knelt on the sand, right in front of the nightclub 66 and its bungee platform, which marks the border between Kuta and Legian.

Always these graceful gestures, this little ritual with incense sticks and flowers ... I love it!

Offerings on the beach of Kuta, Bali.
Offerings on the beach of Kuta, Bali.

 

Chic evening in Seminyak

I finish my afternoon beachesque at the rich, in Seminyak. And I offer myself at European prices a glass of Chardonnay and exquisite sushi, very chic Ku De Ta.

It is a vast restaurant-bar-disco on the beach, with rest beds to wallow in front of the sunset between people fried at the time of the aperitif. Evenings DJs on weekends. An army of waiters in big black aprons wait for the least of your gestures, ready to satisfy all your desires.

To console me for the end of the stay, I offer sushi and a glass of Chardonnay to the very chic Ku De Ta. (Seminyak, Bali)
To console me for the end of the stay, I offer sushi and a glass of Chardonnay to the very chic Ku De Ta. (Seminyak, Bali)

 

Ambient music, renowned chef in the kitchen, service and refined decor. It's good to be rich. Except that ... I'm a millionaire rupees, as I planned to hang out at the beach all afternoon, I left my money and my credit card at the hotel. And I have just enough money to pay the bill Ku De Ta... Argh. I almost dipped instead of watching the sunset!

Not serious. Before leaving, this Friday night, I'll come back. With sub. And give me an orgy of sushi to console me for having to fly back ...

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

  1. Hello,
    Do you think I'll be able to get out of the sluggishness in which your story settles me to go to work?

    You know, at Les Vieilles Charrues, you could have seen pretty boys too.
    My thing against the spleen of departure: I promise to come back and as I am a person of speech, it's all good ... if the little pigs do not eat me.
    It makes me think that I have to go to Brazil one of these days.
    Finally, with your p'tites bull ', we travel well and without sunburn.
    Bizzzzzzzzzzz
    Nono

  2. We too, little spleen, because tonight, we say goodbye at the cafe Nikos ... ..We were there every night, and we loved it! Moreover, he gave us a mini bottle of ouzo for thank you for our assiduity ... Anyway, last night in Folegandros, island we really liked !!! Tomorrow, Milos !!!!!
    Have a nice trip back !! I kiss you very much !!!!
    I do not know if I will find an internet connection to Milos ... ..So, I tell you soon, Milos, or Geneva ... ..
    Lots of love!!!!

  3. @ Nono:
    Too many people for me at Les Vieilles Charrues ... And not that we serve sushi at sunset time! In any case, I am very happy to be able to make you travel well with my Little Bubbles Elsewhere. Who knows, after Asia, maybe one of those days I'll be heading to South America? Full of kisses. Have a nice trip to Pondichery.
    🙂

    @ Marie-Julie:
    I am now stuck at Singapore airport, where I am waiting for my next flight. The concentration of lifeguards on the square meter has been singularly reduced, alas ... But there is what you need in restaurants to taste some last comforting sushi!
    😆

    @ Helene:
    I remember the name of this island, Folegandros ... It seems to me to be a very nice destination for a small vacation not too far. See you soon!
    8)

  4. Hello
    Rather cruel lifeguards there, it reminds me of a lifegard in Cuba where I have simulated a drowning! 😉
    well done joking, have to work! 🙁
    @ more

  5. Well, I see that the lifeguard in red shorts has cheered you up ... That was the goal!

    Come on, courage Laurence! And above all, do not drown yourself in the job (unless there is a pretty lifeguard in the area?).
    😆

  6. Hi Corinne,

    I just read your post carefully and I must admit that you made a very beautiful description (Kuta - Legian - Seminyak) ... For having spent 2 months in Indonesia in April and May this year (and follower also scuba diving) I found all your posts very nice !!!
    And ahhhhhh, the Ku De Ta ... I love this place ... even if a bit expensive ... You could have pushed to the Living Room (resto bar / indo box / Southeast Asian), held by a French very nice ...

    Good luck for your blog and hoping that we can exchange the future on these different topics!

  7. Hello Franoiss,

    The atmosphere on the sand of Kuta-Legian-Seminyak inspired me. This beautiful beach is a huge theater, a permanent stage.
    🙄

    As for the "Ku De Ta", I too liked this place. But I slammed it into rupees, compared to my usual daily backpacker budget for the rest of the trip. That said, it does not displease me, to vary the pleasures, to go from one atmosphere to another. Often, at the end of the trip, after spending several weeks rather "roots", the economy, I give myself a night in a more chic hotel or a meal in a more refined restaurant. There, I opted for the restaurant (I was really fed up with nasi goreng !!!).
    😡

    I did not stay long in Kuta and I am far from knowing everything. It would have taken me a few more days to test other restaurants and discover good places. But I take note of the "Living Room" for next time!
    😉

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Coucher de soleil sur la plage de Kuta. Bali.
Coucher de soleil sur la plage de Kuta. Bali.

Retour à Kuta Beach

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

Pour lutter contre le spleen du retour, je marche à nouveau sur la plage. Celle de Kuta-Legian-Seminyak. Une immense et splendide langue de sable gris, bien tassé comme il faut, que j’adore parcourir dans un sens, puis dans l’autre, jusqu’à l’heure du fabuleux coucher du soleil.

Sunset on the beach

Le soir venu, quand les derniers rayons embrasent le ciel, les familles de Balinais viennent faire trempette, les surfeurs solitaires partent à la rencontre d’une dernière vague.

Coucher de soleil sur la plage de Kuta. Bali.
Coucher de soleil sur la plage de Kuta. Bali.

 

Des parties de foot endiablées s’organisent entre gens du coin et touristes, tandis que les gamins continuent de défier le vent avec leurs cerfs-volants.

C’est aussi l’heure où l’on fait son jogging, à la fraîche, le long des flots. On voit passer des petites nanas qui trottinent vaillamment et des vieux beaux cramés par le soleil un peu ridicules.

Touristique, et alors…

Kuta Beach, avec ses marchands ambulants, ses surfeurs à la parade et ses brochettes de touristes cuisant au soleil, est souvent decriée par les visiteurs en quête « d’authenticité ». Pourtant, je l’aime beaucoup, cette plage.

Elle est si grande, qu’on n’y a jamais vraiment une impression de foule (si l’on ne reste pas vautré sur le sable parmi les grappes d’autres touristes). Le surf et les écoles de surf font désormais pleinement partie de la « culture » locale, et ce sont des Balinais qui forment les débutants.

Kuta Beach. Bali.
Kuta Beach. Bali.

 

Bref, cette plage très touristique est aussi une composante de la « vraie » Bali, quoi qu’on en dise. Les énormes rouleaux qui déferlent à perte de vue offrent un spectacle superbe, dont je ne me lasse pas.

Gare aux rouleaux

Sur le sable, l’ambiance est décontractée, plutot bon enfant, très plaisante… Il suffit de poser son sarong à la lisière du sable humide et du sable sec, ou de marcher tranquillement les pied dans l’eau, pour ne pas être dérangé par les gentils enquiquineurs qui s’obstinent à vouloir vous vendre leurs babioles.

Le long de la plage de Kuta, à Bali, des drapeaux rouges vous rappellent que la mer est dangereuse.
Le long de la plage de Kuta, à Bali, des drapeaux rouges vous rappellent que la mer est dangereuse.

 

Des drapeaux rouges, ornés d’une belle tête de mort, vous rappellent au moment ou vous vous élancez vers les vagues, que les flots sont traîtres par ici. Le mieux, c’est d’aller se baigner dans la zone surveillée.

Maître nageur sauveteur sur la plage de Kuta, à Bali.
Maître nageur sauveteur sur la plage de Kuta, à Bali.

D’ailleurs, se faire surveiller par les lifeguards d’ici, franchement, ça n’a rien de désagréable…

😉

Oui, je n’ai pas pu résister. Rien que pour vous, les filles… Je suis allee lui demander s’il voulait bien se prêter a la photo-souvenir.

J’en ai une autre, ou je pose à côté du monsieur (mais celle-là, je me la garde, parce que ça va encore faire jaser les copines). Les acteurs d’Alerte a Malibu peuvent aller se rhabiller ! Il était d’ailleurs plutot flatté que je veuille le prendre en photo, le maître-nageur.

Comme je lui demandais le plus sérieusement du monde des infos sur la taille des vagues, la force des courants, la disposition du récif, histoire de me donner une contenance, il a d’abord cru que je travaillais pour un magazine… J’ai bien failli lui répondre que je faisais un reportage pour un grand quotidien régional français, mais bon…

Sea, surf and sun

En fait, un gars de la télé australienne, sur qui je suis tombée ensuite, venait de passer. Pour un vrai reportage, qui sera diffusé en septembre, sur le boulot des maîtres-nageurs de Kuta et une compétition de surf qui a lieu dans le coin ces jours-ci.

Je rencontre un peu plus loin l’Australien, les pieds dans l’eau, maintenant tant bien que mal sa grosse caméra, son micro et son trépied juste au-dessus de l’écume. Il attend là, en plein cagnard, prêt à fondre sur le premier surfeur en détresse et l’équipe de musculeux lifeguards en action… Dur métier, je vous assure.

J’échange quelques mots avec lui. C’est rigolo, lui aussi était encore à Lembongan la veille, pour filmer les surfeurs de là-bas.

Kuta Beach, Bali.
Kuta Beach, Bali.

Les  Followers of Jesus

Plus tard, alors que je peaufine mon bronzage après un plouf rafraîchissant dans les vagues (en zone bien surveillée), je suis tirée de ma torpeur par des chants.

Je lève la tête, écarte d’un geste de la main une « manucureuse » qui réoriente sa trajectoire pour me proposer ses services, et découvre un groupe de gens, aux vagues allures de boyscouts avec leurs shorts et leurs chaussettes blanches dans leurs sandales, accompagnés d’un guitariste très « Jesus revient ».

Il chantent en chœur, frappent dans leurs mains. On dirait une secte. Le chant fini, ils ferment les yeux. Ils prient, visiblement. Puis ils vont ensemble jusqu’à la mer, entourant un gars, qu’ils aident à avancer dans les vagues. Je bondis sur mon appareil, m’entortille dans mon sarong, et me précipite vers eux. C’est un baptême.

Baptême dans la mer sur la plage de Kuta à Bali, par les "Followers of Jesus".
Baptême dans la mer sur la plage de Kuta à Bali, par les « Followers of Jesus ».

 

J’arrive un peu tard et n’ai que le temps de faire quelques clichés de loin. Un type roux à grandes dents, notant mon intérêt pour la chose, tente de m’évangéliser en m’expliquant la signification du baptême. Je le remercie et fais semblant d’être passionnée par ce qu’il me dit, histoire de savoir qui sont ces gens.

Je finis par avoir mon info : « We are the Followers of Jesus. We are from all over the world, America, Australia, New Zealand… » J’en reste là. Mécréante je suis, mécréante je reste.

Offrandes balinaises

Franchement, à choisir, je me ferais plutôt hindoue… Juste avant, j’ai aussi croisé trois Balinaises en costume traditionnel, venues déposer leurs offrandes. Elles se sont agenouillées sur le sable, juste devant la discothèque 66 et sa plateforme de saut à l’élastique, qui marque la lisière entre Kuta et Legian.

Toujours ces gestes gracieux, ce petit rituel avec les bâtons d’encens et les fleurs… J’adore !

Offrandes sur la plage de Kuta, à Bali.
Offrandes sur la plage de Kuta, à Bali.

 

Soirée chic à Seminyak

J’achève mon après-midi plagesque chez les riches, à Seminyak. Et je m’offre à des prix européens un verre de chardonnay et d’exquis sushis, au très chic Ku De Ta.

C’est un vaste resto-bar-discothèque en bord de plage, avec lits de repos pour se vautrer face au coucher du soleil entre gens friqués à l’heure de l’apéro. Soirées DJs le week-end. Une armée de serveurs en grands tabliers noirs guettent le moindre de vos gestes, prêts à satisfaire tous vos désirs.

Pour me consoler de la fin du séjour, je m'offre des sushis et un verre de chardonnay au très chic Ku De Ta. (Seminyak, Bali)
Pour me consoler de la fin du séjour, je m’offre des sushis et un verre de chardonnay au très chic Ku De Ta. (Seminyak, Bali)

 

Ambient music, chef réputé en cuisine, service et décor raffinés. C’est bon, d’être riche. Sauf que… j’ai beau être millionnaire en roupies, comme j’avais prévu de traîner à la plage tout l’après-midi, j’ai laissé mon fric et ma carte bleue à l’hôtel. Et j’ai tout juste de quoi payer l’addition du Ku De Ta… Argh. J’ai bien failli faire la plonge au lieu d’admirer le coucher du soleil !

Pas grave. Avant de partir, ce vendredi soir, je vais revenir. Avec des sous. Et m’offrir une orgie de sushis pour me consoler de devoir prendre l’avion du retour…

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

  1. Coucou,
    Tu crois que je vais pouvoir sortir de la torpeur dans laquelle ton récit m’installe pour aller au boulot?

    Tu sais, aux Vieilles Charrues, tu aurais pu voir aussi de jolis garçons.
    Mon truc contre le spleen du départ: je me promets de revenir et comme je suis une personne de parole, c’est tout bon… si les petits cochons ne me mangent pas.
    Ça me fait penser que je dois aller au Brésil un de ces jours.
    Finalement, avec tes p’tites bull’, on voyage bien et sans coup de soleil.
    Bizzzzzzzzzzz
    Nono

  2. Nous aussi,petit spleen,car ce soir,on dit au revoir au café Nikos…..On y était tous les soirs,et on a adoré!!!!D’ailleurs,il nous a offert une mini bouteille d’ouzo pour nous remercier de notre assiduité…Bref,dernière soirée à Folegandros,île qu’on a vraiment beaucoup aimé!!!Demain,Milos!!!!!
    Bon voyage retour!!Je t’embrasse fort!!!!
    Je ne sais pas si je vais trouver une connexion internet à Milos…..Alors,je te dis à bientôt,de Milos,ou de Genève…..
    Gros bisous!!!!

  3. @ Nono :
    Trop de monde pour moi aux Vieilles Charrues… Et pas sur qu’on y serve des sushis a l’heure du sunset! En tout cas, je suis bien contente de reussir a te faire voyager ainsi avec mes Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs. Qui sait, apres l’Asie, je mettrai peut-etre le cap, un de ces jours, sur l’Amerique du Sud ? Tout plein de bises. Bon voyage a Pondichery.
    🙂

    @ Marie-Julie :
    Je suis maintenant coincee a l’aeroport de Singapour, ou j’attends mon prochain vol. La concentration de maitres-nageurs au metre carre s’est singulierement reduite, helas… Mais il y a ce qu’il faut en restos pour deguster quelques derniers sushis consolateurs!
    😆

    @ Helene :
    Je retiens le nom de cette ile, Folegandros… Ca m’a tout l’air d’etre une destination bien sympathique pour de petites vacances pas trop loin. A bientot!
    8)

  4. salut
    plutot craquants les lifeguards là bas, ça me rappèle un lifegard à cuba où j’aurai bien simulé une noyade! 😉
    bon fini de plaisanter, faut bosser! 🙁
    @ plus

  5. Bon, je vois que le lifeguard en short rouge t’a regonflé le moral… C’était le but!

    Allez, courage Laurence! Et surtout, ne te noie pas dans le boulot (à moins qu’il n’y ait un joli lifeguard dans les parages?).
    😆

  6. Salut Corinne,

    je viens de lire ton post avec attention et je dois reconnaître que tu en as fait une très belle description (de Kuta – Legian – Seminyak)… Pour avoir passé 2 mois en Indonésie aux mois d’avril et mai de cette année (et adepte de la plongée sous marine également) j’ai trouvé tous tes posts très sympathiques!!!
    Et ahhhhhh, le Ku De Ta… j’adore cet endroit… même si un peu cher… Tu aurais pu pousser jusqu’au Living Room (restau bar/boite indo/sud-est asiatique), tenu par un Français hyper sympa…

    Bonne continuation pour ton blog et en espérant que l’on puisse échanger par le futur sur ces différents sujets!

  7. Bonjour Franoiss,

    L’ambiance qui règne sur le sable de Kuta-Legian-Seminyak m’a inspirée. Cette superbe plage est un immense théâtre, une scène permanente.
    🙄

    Quant au « Ku De Ta », j’ai moi aussi beaucoup aimé cet endroit. Mais j’y ai claqué des fortunes en roupies, comparé à mon budget quotidien habituel de « backpackeuse » pendant le reste du voyage. Ceci dit, ça ne me déplaît pas, de varier les plaisirs, de passer d’une ambiance à une autre. Souvent, en fin de voyage, après avoir passé plusieurs semaines plutôt « roots », à l’économie, je m’accorde une nuit dans un hôtel plus chic ou une bouffe dans un resto plus raffiné. Là, j’ai opté pour le resto (j’en avais vraiment ras-le-bol du nasi goreng!!!).
    😡

    Je ne suis pas resté longtemps à Kuta et je suis loin de tout bien y connaître. Il m’aurait fallu quelques jours de plus pour tester d’autres restos et découvrir de bonnes adresses. Mais je prends bonne note du « Living Room », pour la prochaine fois!
    😉

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez