In the lagoon of Maupiti, Polynesia, October 2012. (Photo by Marie Toumit)
In the lagoon of Maupiti, Polynesia, October 2012. (Photo by Marie Toumit)

But who is behind this blog? About Corinne Bourbeillon

  Between Two Journeys

I am Corinne Bourbeillon and you are here on my personal blog, a diving blog called Bubbles Underwater & Beyond. I put online my underwater photos and videos, I tell my adventures under the surface of the ocean. I hope to make divers (but also people who never put their head under water) aware of the beauty and fragility of marine life, so little known...

Bubbles Underwater & Beyond in a Nutshell
Start of the blog : 2006
Author: Corinne Bourbeillon
Subject: scuba diving and travel
Contact: corinne@petitesbullesdailleurs.fr

1. Who I am in "real life"

I live in Rennes (Ille-et-Vilaine) in Brittany, where I am a journalist for Ouest-France. I am currently working at the digital evening editionone of the newspaper's internet services. Before that, I also worked for various magazines and publishing houses in Paris. I have also been literary translator (English → French).

When I'm not working, I take pictures underwater... Some colleagues have nicknamed me "the Palm Coco" or, more elegantly, "the naiad". It is this double passion for diving and underwater photography that I share here.

Bubbles Underwater & Beyond is my personal websiteI have a small piece of web that I cultivate for pleasure, in all independence, on my free time. What I publish here has most of the time nothing to do with my "real job" and my "real life" of every day. Note that I look much better in the water than in the office...

Corinne Bourbeillon, journalist, West France
In my office at the newsroom of Ouest-France in Rennes in 2012. (Photo by Jean-Michel Niester)
Corinne Bourbeillon, Maupiti lagoon, French Polynesia
In the lagoon of Maupiti, Polynesia (October 2012). (Photo by Marie Toumit)

2. How I became a dive blogger

I started publishing my first blog posts in 2006, as a holiday hobbyto give news to my family and friends, during my travels and dives at the end of the world. Over the years, this blog has become my logbook, and its audience has grown beyond the private circle and has taken an incredible size!

I keep this blog for fun, I don't make a living with it. However, it has become a kind of "showcase" of my underwater adventures, which is why I am regularly solicited by the media, books and magazines, for reports and underwater photos, in addition to the newspaper Ouest-France for which I work.

Not a little proud... My photo of a freediver facing the mantas of Komodo in Indonesia (above left) has been published in this National Geographic book, entitled 100 Dives of A Lifetime (2019).

Report by Corinne Bourbeillon on the Tara Pacific expedition in the magazine Plongez ! (n°15, May-June 2018)
My story on the Tara Pacific expedition in Plongez ! (a French dive magazine) (n°15, May-June 2018)
In the name of sharks: interview of François Sarano by Corinne Bourbeillon in the evening edition of Ouest-France
My interview with François Sarano in the digital evening edition ofOuest-Franceon January 21, 2022, for the release of his new book: In the name of the sharks (Actes Sud).

Above: in 4 columns on the front page in Ouest-FranceOn June 8, 2022, for the World Ocean Day, one of my pictures, taken in the "blue mangrove" of Raja Ampat. The occasion to evoke in an article the work of the association The Sea People.

3. My experience as a diver (with bubbles and sometimes without)

I have been scuba diving (with a tank) for more than twenty years. I made my very first bubbles underwater during a vacation in Thailand... A revelation. Every time I go back under the surface, I feel the same immense and intense happiness!

To date, I have more than 1,000 scuba dives and my level is that of a PA40 (autonomous diver to a depth of 40 meters). I did my recreational diving training a little bit with the FFESSM and a lot with PADI up to the Rescue Diver level with the Deep Diver + Enriched Air Diver (Nitrox) specialties. On the professional level I am a holder of a Certificate of Aptitude for Hyperbaric Activities (CAH) Class 1 mention B (to 30 meters deep). I have also learned a little bit about freediving (level AIDA 2).

I am a great chiller and prefer warm intertropical seas to cool Breton waters... But in 2020 (thank you Covid), I got into wetsuits, which inspired me to go back and explore the sea bed in France near my home. Long live the little bubbles here!!! 😂 Quite a change of atmosphere from the Indo-Pacific archipelagos (Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines), in the heart of the fabulous Coral Trianglewhere I had the chance to dive often.

Corinne Bourbeillon, underwater photographer
Me trying to look cool and relaxed with my balaclava and my waterproof suit in the Breton waters, much too cool for my taste... (Caves of Cape Fréhel, Saint-Cast, Côtes-d'Armor, July 2021, photo by Olivier Delorieux)

4. My passion, underwater photography

The beauty of the aquatic world never ceases to amaze me and underwater photography has become my great passion. I started in 2005, as a self-taught, during my trips as a backpacker in Southeast Asia, equipped at the time with a basic digital compact camera.

In 2010, I switched to DSLR, with the Canon Eos 7D which I take underwater in an appropriate waterproof housing. It now accompanies me on all my dives! I also talk about it here on my other website:

→ About Corinne Bourbeillon, underwater photographer

Corinne Bourbeillon, underwater photographer
Yeah, I don't really look like a mermaid with all my underwater photographic junk! (Philippines, May 2018, photo by Steven Weinberg)

5. Protecting the ocean

I strive to encourage as responsible a practice of scuba diving as possible. I have been diving regularly for a long time, and I tell myself that I am lucky to have been able to observe so many species in their natural environment... This may not be the case for the next generations, who may only see coral and live fish. than in an aquarium.

I am already seeing the impact of overfishing, pollution and climate changeThe impact on fish density and coral ecosystems has changed in only a few years. The impact of tourism, too...

More to read → Diving and protecting the ocean

This brings me back to my own contradictions. I am much more aware than I used to be of the huge carbon footprint of my air travel. Today, after years of travel, I'm questioning myself, a little helped by the Covid pandemicI'm not sure if I'll be able to do it again, but I'm sure I'll be able to do it in France, and I'm sure I'll be able to do it again. I will certainly not take the plane as often as before. On this topic, I refer you to this very complete post published by Louise Ascher, diving instructor and author of the blog SeaWonderfulwhich is in line with my concerns: Traveling to dive, or how to destroy what we all want to preserve

Acropora, Tubbataha, Philippines, May 2018
The splendor of Tubbataha Reefs. (Philippines, May 2018, photo by Corinne Bourbeillon)

6. Travelling solo

When I travel, I love to go alone, it's really freedom. Those who have never tried it before don't realize it, but a solo trip is rarely synonymous with loneliness. You never meet as many people as when you are unaccompanied. This is even more true when you practice an activity like diving, which allows you to "socialize" easily around a common passion. I have already talked about it at length in this post → Travelling solo.

I like my independence and the internet makes it easy. If I don't travel anymore in "backpacking" mode like when I was 20 years old, I still organize most of my small diving expeditions by myself, without necessarily going through an agency or a tour operator. In general, a few e-mails are enough to book my accommodations and dives. And then, preparing a trip is already traveling...

Ondoliang, the perfect beach ... (Center-Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2017)
Ondoliang, the perfect beach ... (Center-Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2017)

7. A bubble of freedom and escape

This blog is my bubble of freedom, my bubble of escape!  I feed it on my free time, without constraint, according to my inspiration, my desires, my destinations... I enjoy telling here my escapades for scuba diving, live or recorded. To discuss with those of you who leave me a comment. But I can go long periods without publishing anything too, and the site continues to live its life!

As I often published articles between two tripsEven under the Breton drizzle, some people mistook me for a full-time globe-trotting diver. I confess, I would have loved to be able to travel all the time, but quietly, staying for a long time in some places, without going back and forth by plane at the beginning and at the end of the vacations, and without a huge carbon footprint...

Between dives, somewhere off Sumbawa, Indonesia (July 2018).
Between dives, somewhere off Sumbawa, Indonesia (July 2018).

8. Photos and copyright

Unless otherwise stated, I am the author of the photos published on Bubbles Underwater & Beyond. These images are not free of rights and it is forbidden to use them without my consent.

I generally authorize the use of one image for a mention or a short quoteI will use the photos as long as my name, Corinne Bourbeillon, appears as a credit, with a link to the source. For any other request of use of photos, do not hesitate to contact me!

→ Contact page

  Between Two Journeys

326 Shares
Share
Tweet3
Share323

Dans le lagon de Maupiti, Polynésie, octobre 2012. (Photo par Marie Toumit)
Dans le lagon de Maupiti, Polynésie, octobre 2012. (Photo par Marie Toumit)

Mais qui est derrière ce blog ? À propos de Corinne Bourbeillon

  Entre deux voyages

Je suis Corinne Bourbeillon et vous êtes ici sur mon blog personnel, un blog de plongée intitulé Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs. J’y mets en ligne mes photos et vidéos sous-marines, je raconte mes aventures sous la surface de l’océan. J’espère ainsi sensibiliser les plongeurs (mais aussi les gens qui ne mettent jamais la tête sous l’eau) à la beauté et à la fragilité de la vie marine, tellement méconnue…

Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs en bref
Création du blog : 2006
Autrice : Corinne Bourbeillon
Thématique : plongée sous-marine et voyage
Contact : corinne@petitesbullesdailleurs.fr

1. Qui je suis dans « la vraie vie »

Je vis à Rennes (Ille-et-Vilaine) en Bretagne, où je suis journaliste pour le quotidien Ouest-France. Je suis actuellement en poste à l’édition du soir, l’un des services internet du journal. Avant cela, j’ai aussi travaillé pour divers magazines et des maisons d’édition à Paris. J’ai également été traductrice littéraire (anglais → français).

Quand je ne bosse pas, je fais de la photo sous l’eau… Certains collègues m’ont surnommée « la Coco palmée » ou, plus élégamment, « la naïade ». C’est cette double passion pour la plongée et la photographie sous-marines que je partage ici.

Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs est mon site personnel, un petit lopin de web que je cultive pour le plaisir, en toute indépendance, sur mon temps libre. Ce que je publie ici n’a donc le plus souvent rien à voir avec mon « vrai boulot » et ma « vraie vie » de tous les jours. Notez d’ailleurs que j’ai bien meilleure mine dans l’eau qu’au bureau…

Corinne Bourbeillon, journaliste, Ouest-France
À mon bureau à la rédaction d’Ouest-France à Rennes en 2012. (Photo par Jean-Michel Niester)
Corinne Bourbeillon, lagon de Maupiti, Polynésie française
Dans le lagon de Maupiti, en Polynésie (octobre 2012). (Photo par Marie Toumit)

2. Comment je suis devenue blogueuse plongée

J’ai commencé à publier mes premiers articles de blog en 2006, comme un hobby de vacances, pour donner des nouvelles à ma famille et mes amis, pendant mes voyages et mes plongées au bout du monde. Au fil des ans, ce blog est un peu devenu mon carnet de bord, puis son audience s’est élargie au-delà du cercle privé et a pris une ampleur incroyable !

Je tiens ce blog pour le plaisir, je ne gagne pas ma vie avec. Il est cependant devenu une sorte de « vitrine » de mes aventures sous l’eau, ce qui me vaut d’être régulièrement sollicitée par des médias, livres et magazines, pour des reportages et des photos sous-marines, en plus du journal Ouest-France pour lequel je travaille.

Pas peu fière… Ma photo d’un apnéiste face aux mantas de Komodo en Indonésie (ci-dessus à gauche) a été publiée dans ce livre National Geographic, intitulé 100 Dives of A Lifetime (2019).

Reportage de Corinne Bourbeillon sur l'expédition Tara Pacific dans le magazine Plongez ! (n°15, mai-juin 2018)
Mon reportage sur l’expédition Tara Pacific dans le magazine Plongez ! (n°15, mai-juin 2018)
Au nom des requins : interview de François Sarano par Corinne Bourbeillon dans l'édition du soir d'Ouest-France
Mon interview de François Sarano dans l’édition du soir d’Ouest-France, le 21 janvier 2022, pour la parution de son nouveau livre : Au nom des requins (Actes Sud).

Ci-dessus : en 4 colonnes à la une dans Ouest-France, le 8 juin 2022, pour la Journée mondiale de l’océan, une de mes images, prise dans la « mangrove bleue » de Raja Ampat. L’occasion d’évoquer dans un article le travail de l’association The Sea People.

3. Mon expérience de plongeuse (avec des bulles et parfois sans)

Je pratique la plongée sous-marine (avec bouteille) depuis plus de vingt ans. J’ai fait mes toutes premières bulles sous l’eau lors de vacances en Thaïlande… Une révélation. Chaque fois que je repasse sous la surface, je ressens le même bonheur immense, intense !

À ce jour, j’ai plus de 1 000 plongées bouteille au compteur et mon niveau est celui d’un PA40 (plongeur autonome jusqu’à 40 mètres de profondeur). J’ai fait ma formation de « plongée loisir » un peu à la FFESSM et beaucoup chez PADI jusqu’au niveau Rescue Diver avec les spécialités Deep Diver + Enriched Air Diver (Nitrox). Sur le plan professionnel je suis titulaire d’un Certificat d’aptitude à l’hyperbarie (CAH) Classe 1 mention B (jusqu’à 30 mètres). Je me suis aussi un peu initiée à l’apnée (niveau AIDA 2).

Grande frileuse, je préfère nettement les mers chaudes intertropicales aux eaux fraîches bretonnes… Mais en 2020 (merci le Covid), je me suis mise à la combinaison étanche, ce qui m’a incitée à retourner explorer les fonds marins en France près de chez moi. Vive les petites bulles d’ici !!! 😂 Un sacré changement d’ambiance par rapport aux archipels de l’Indo-Pacifique (Indonésie, Malaisie, Philippines), au cœur du fabuleux Triangle de Corail, où j’ai eu la chance de plonger souvent.

Corinne Bourbeillon, photographe sous-marine
Moi essayant d’avoir l’air cool et détendue avec ma cagoule et ma combi étanche dans les eaux bretonnes, beaucoup trop fraîches à mon goût… (Grottes du cap Fréhel, Saint-Cast, Côtes-d’Armor, juillet 2021, photo par Olivier Delorieux)

4. Ma passion, l’image sous-marine

La beauté du monde aquatique ne cesse de m’émerveiller et la photographie sous-marine est devenue ma grande passion. J’ai commencé en 2005, en autodidacte, lors de mes périples avec sac à dos en Asie du Sud-Est, équipée à l’époque d’un modeste appareil compact numérique.

En 2010, je suis passée au reflex, avec le Canon Eos 7D que j’emmène sous l’eau dans un caisson étanche adapté. Il m’accompagne désormais dans toutes mes plongées ! J’en parle aussi ici sur mon autre site :

→ À propos de Corinne Bourbeillon, photographe subaquatique

Corinne Bourbeillon, photographe sous-marine
Oui, je ne ressemble pas vraiment à une sirène avec tout mon bazar photographique sous l’eau ! (Philippines, mai 2018, photo par Steven Weinberg)

5. Protéger l’océan

Je m’efforce d’encourager une pratique de la plongée sous-marine aussi responsable que possible. Je plonge régulièrement en mer, depuis longtemps, et je me dis que j’ai bien de la chance d’avoir pu observer tant d’espèces dans leur milieu naturel… Ce ne sera peut-être pas le cas des prochaines générations, qui risquent de ne voir du corail et des poissons vivants qu’en aquarium.

J’observe déjà l’impact de la surpêche, de la pollution et du changement climatique, en quelques années seulement, sur la densité des poissons et les écosystèmes coralliens. L’impact du tourisme, aussi…

Voir aussi → Plonger et protéger l’océan

Cela me renvoie à mes propres contradictions. Je suis beaucoup plus consciente qu’auparavant de l’énorme empreinte carbone de mes trajets en avion. Aujourd’hui, après des années de voyage, je me remets en question, un peu aidée par la pandémie de Covid, qui a mis un gros stop aux déplacements à l’étranger, et surtout par les nouveaux rapports du Giec (le Groupement international d’experts sur le climat) qui n’envoient pas du rêve… Alors pour continuer à faire des bulles, j’ai recommencé à plonger en France. Je ne prendrai certainement plus l’avion aussi souvent qu’avant. Sur ce thème, je vous renvoie sur ce post très complet publié par Louise Ascher, instructrice de plongée et autrice du blog SeaMerveilleuse, qui rejoint mes préoccupations : Voyager pour plonger, ou comment détruire ce qu’on veut tous préserver

Acropora, Tubbataha, Philippines, mai 2018
La splendeur des récifs de Tubbataha. (Philippines, mai 2018, photo par Corinne Bourbeillon)

6. Voyager en solo

Quand je voyage, j’adore partir seule, c’est vraiment la liberté. Ceux qui n’ont jamais tenté l’expérience ne s’en rendent pas compte, mais le voyage en solo est rarement synonyme de solitude. On ne fait jamais autant de rencontres que lorsqu’on n’est pas accompagné(e). C’est encore plus vrai quand on pratique une activité comme la plongée, qui permet de « socialiser » facilement autour d’une passion commune. J’en ai déjà longuement parlé dans ce post → Voyager en solo.

J’aime mon indépendance et internet facilite bien les choses. Si je ne voyage plus en mode « sac à dos » comme quand j’avais 20 ans, je continue d’organiser la plupart de mes petites expéditions plongée tout seule, sans forcément passer par une agence ni un tour-opérateur. En général, quelques échanges d’e-mails suffisent pour caler mes réservations d’hébergements et de plongées. Et puis, préparer un voyage, c’est déjà voyager…

Ondoliang, la plage parfaite... (Centre-Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2017)
Ondoliang, la plage parfaite… (Centre-Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2017)

7. Une bulle de liberté et d’évasion

Ce blog, c’est ma bulle de liberté, ma bulle d’évasion !  Je l’alimente sur mon temps libre, sans contrainte, au gré de mon inspiration, de mes envies, de mes destinations… J’ai plaisir à raconter ici mes escapades pour faire de la plongée sous-marine, en direct ou en différé. À discuter avec ceux d’entre vous qui me laissent un commentaire. Mais je peux passer de longues périodes sans rien publier aussi, et le site continue de vivre sa vie !

Comme j’ai souvent publié des articles entre deux voyages, même sous le crachin breton, certains m’ont prise à tort pour une plongeuse globe-trotteuse à temps plein. J’avoue, j’aurais adoré pouvoir voyager en permanence, mais tranquillement, en me posant longuement à certains endroits, sans aller-retour en avion au début et à la fin des vacances ni empreinte carbone démentielle…

Entre deux plongées, quelque part au large de Sumbawa, en Indonésie (juillet 2018).
Entre deux plongées, quelque part au large de Sumbawa, en Indonésie (juillet 2018).

8. Photos et droits d’auteur

Sauf indication contraire, je suis l’autrice des photos publiées sur Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs. Ces images ne sont pas libres de droits et il est interdit de les utiliser sans mon accord.

J’autorise généralement la reprise d’une image pour une mention ou une courte citation, à condition que mon nom, Corinne Bourbeillon, apparaisse en crédit, avec un lien vers la source. Pour toute autre demande d’utilisation de photos, n’hésitez pas à me contacter !

→ Page de contact

  Entre deux voyages

326 Partages
Partagez
Tweetez3
Partagez323