Traffic jams of the sky

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

That's it, I've got my e-ticket for Thailand! This new escape bubble is getting real. It will be the end of February! But while continuing to browse the web, I came across this: an animation showing the air traffic on the planet for 24 hours.

????

I'm not afraid of flying (although... it can happen, read the article I've linked below). I'm usually pretty amazed like a kid. I can't believe seeing something like that rip off the ground and be in it. When I was little, I wanted to be an astronaut, that's for sure!

Now that I'm grown up, I'm fascinated by landscapes that become miniature, the lights of the cities that pierce the earth's darkness, the ocean of clouds on which the sun always shines, the deep blue of the sky full of stars, the chase with day and night ... Between two films, I watch with feverish flight map, time zones, altitude, speed and progress of the machine, updated live on the small screen.

My only anxiety came in the final phase of the landing, when the plane still rolls on the track and began to brake. I'm always afraid of the uncontrolled slip.

Nevertheless, this small animated map full of yellow, made by engineers of the University ZHAW in Switzerland, left me thinking. I know that the scale of the map and the simulation of 24 hours in 72 seconds distorts the thing. But then again, even the Falcon 900 of our Prime Minister narrowly avoided, Sunday evening, the collision with a small plane of tourism ... Bah! I will not fly over the American territory full of yellow on the map and I will take off in the evening when the sky will be less crowded over Europe.

But I have a better picture of the scale of air traffic all at once. One day, I will free myself from time, a lot of time, long months, to fulfill an old dream: to go to Asia by land...

  Between Two Journeys

11 Shares
Share11
Tweet
Pine
Share

Embouteillages du ciel

  Entre deux voyages

Ça y est, j’ai mon billet électronique pour la Thaïlande ! Cette nouvelle bulle d’évasion devient concrète. Ce sera fin février ! Mais en continuant à me balader sur le web, je suis tombée sur ça : Une animation montrant le trafic aérien sur la planète pendant 24h.

😯

Je n’ai pas peur en avion. D’habitude, je suis plutôt émerveillée comme une gosse. Je n’en reviens pas de voir un truc pareil s’arracher au sol et d’être dedans. Quand j’étais petite, je voulais devenir astronaute… c’est dire !

Maintenant que je suis grande, je suis fascinée par les paysages qui deviennent miniatures, les lumières des villes qui trouent l’obscurité terrestre, l’océan de nuages sur lequel le soleil brille toujours, le bleu profond du ciel plein d’étoiles, la course-poursuite avec le jour et la nuit… Entre deux films, je surveille avec fébrilité la carte du vol, les fuseaux horaires, l’altitude, la vitesse et la progression de l’engin, actualisés en direct sur le petit écran.

Ma seule petite angoisse surgit à la phase finale de l’atterrissage, quand l’avion roule encore à fond sur la piste et se met à freiner. J’ai toujours peur de la glissade incontrôlée.

N’empêche, cette petite carte animée pleine de jaune, réalisée par des ingénieurs de l’Université ZHAW en Suisse, m’a laissée pensive. Je sais bien que l’échelle de la carte et la simulation de 24 heures en 72 secondes fausse le truc. Mais bon, même le Falcon 900 de notre Premier ministre a évité de justesse, dimanche soir, la collision avec un petit avion de tourisme… Bah ! Je ne survolerai pas le territoire américain tout plein de jaune sur la carte et je décollerai en soirée quand le ciel sera moins encombré au-dessus de l’Europe.

Mais je me représente mieux, d’un coup d’un seul, l’ampleur du trafic aérien. Un jour, je me dégagerai du temps, beaucoup de temps, de longs mois, pour accomplir un vieux rêve : aller en Asie par voie terrestre.

😀

  Entre deux voyages

11 Partages
Partagez11
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez