Paris-Beijing by the Trans-Siberian. Agnes and Pierre Rosenstiehl. Gallimard, 1981.

Paris-Beijing by the Trans-Siberian

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Books that make traveling, I love. I just found an illustrated album that was part of my favorite books as a kid: Paris-Beijing by the Trans-Siberian.

The authors are Agnes Rosenstiehl (the mischievous Mimi Cracra) and her husband Pierre, at Gallimard. An exhausted edition, from 1981!

Paris-Beijing by the Trans-Siberian. Agnes and Pierre Rosenstiehl. Gallimard, 1981.

I go back in with delight. And understand better, with my adult eyes, why this book exerted such a fascination on my mind as a dreamy little girl. It's a true travelogue, teeming with encounters, details, anecdotes, a story filled with humor, illustrated by small boxes of comics featuring the journey of two young travelers, Marco and Pierrot. It starts like this:

The Nord-Express
Fire! We left for 10,834 kilometers. Paris-Beijing is simple: just a train change in Moscow. From the Gare du Nord, every day at 17:13, platform 3, the Nord-Express is spreading its wagons all over northern Europe, in Münster, Bremen, Cologne, Hamburg, Copenhage ...
We board a car very noticed: Russian, with Russian insignia, the only car for Moscow! The car driver asks you in Russian for your passports and tickets. And "Niet, niet! No visitors in the Russian wagon at the Gare du Nord.

I have never taken the Trans-Siberian. But to reach Asia without flying, by land, is an old dream that I intend to achieve one day.

I remembered this book thanks to a message posted a few days ago on Facebook by my fellow Quebecois Marie-Julie Gagnon: his little girl asked for his suitcase Dora, to "play home travel, mom! "

So, I saw myself playing "Trans-Siberian", in my train compartment homemadewith my favorite book on my knees, absorbed in the contemplation of the imaginary landscapes parading through the imaginary window, preparing me seriously for the announced stops: Moscow, Olan-Bator, Beijing ... And then, there was this incredible rise of the spindles slow train schedule.

I then started a search on the Internet, to find "my" book, obviously exhausted. I ended up finding it on the site of used books Abebooks. It was the first time I ordered online at home. Super fast and efficient. Immediately ordered, immediately received! And the book is in good condition, as they indicated.

Paris-Beijing by the Trans-Siberian

It is in this book, too, that I learned how to handle chopsticks ... and I continue today to give this advice, very judicious, to those who have trouble to get used to it: "It stands like two pencils! "

For those who, like me, love to travel virtually through the Internet, know that you can take the Trans-Siberian without leaving your living room: on Google.ru/transsib (a project associating the Russian Railways and Google), there are videos and interactive maps, to complete the journey, step by step, from Moscow to Vladivostok. You have to click on the names in the block located at the bottom right to go from one video to the other.

Finally, because the trip can also be immobile, nourished by readings and dreams, I'm here to pay homage to the poet Baudelaire, always inspiring ...

For the child in love with cards and prints,
The universe is equal to his vast appetite.
Ah! how big the world is to the light of the lamps!
[…]
But the real travelers are those who leave
to go ; light hearts, similar to balloons,
From their inevitability they never depart,
And, without knowing why, always say: Come on!
[…]
Baudelaire - The trip

????

  Between Two Journeys

17 Shares
Share11
Tweet3
Pine3
Share

Paris-Pékin par le Transsibérien. Agnès et Pierre Rosenstiehl. Gallimard, 1981.

Paris-Pékin par le Transsibérien

  Entre deux voyages

Les livres qui font voyager, j’adore. Je viens de retrouver un album illustré qui faisait partie de mes livres préférés quand j’étais enfant : Paris-Pékin par le Transsibérien.

Les auteurs sont Agnès Rosenstiehl (la dessinatrice de l’espiègle Mimi Cracra) et son mari Pierre, chez Gallimard. Une édition épuisée, de 1981 !

Paris-Pékin par le Transsibérien. Agnès et Pierre Rosenstiehl. Gallimard, 1981.

Je me replonge dedans avec délice. Et comprends mieux, avec mon regard d’adulte, pourquoi ce bouquin exerçait une telle fascination sur mon esprit de petite fille rêveuse. C’est un vrai récit de voyage, fourmillant de rencontres, de détails, d’anecdotes, un récit bourré d’humour, illustré par de petites cases de BD mettant en scène le périple des deux jeunes voyageurs, Marco et Pierrot. Ça démarre comme ça :

Le Nord-Express
Feu ! On est partis pour 10 834 kilomètres. Paris-Pékin, c’est simple : juste un changement de train à Moscou. De la gare du Nord, tous les jours à 17 h 13, quai 3, le Nord-Express part éparpiller ses wagons un peu partout en Europe du Nord, à Münster, Brême, Cologne, Hambourg, Copenhage…
On embarque dans un wagon très remarqué : russe, avec des insignes russes, le seul wagon pour Moscou ! Le chef de wagon vous demande en russe vos passeports et vos billets. Et « Niet, niet ! », pas de visiteurs dans le wagon russe de la gare du Nord.

Je n’ai encore jamais pris le Transsibérien. Mais rallier l’Asie sans prendre l’avion, par voie terrestre, est un vieux rêve que je compte bien réaliser un jour.

Je me suis rappelé ce livre grâce à un message posté il y a quelques jours sur Facebook par ma consœur québécoise Marie-Julie Gagnon : sa petite fille lui réclamait sa valise Dora, pour « jouer à voyager à la maison, maman ! »

Du coup, je me suis revue « jouant au Transsibérien », dans mon compartiment de train home-made, avec mon livre favori sur les genoux, absorbée par la contemplation des paysages imaginaires qui défilaient par la fenêtre imaginaire, me préparant avec sérieux aux arrêts annoncés : Moscou, Olan-Bator, Pékin… Et puis, il y avait cette incroyable remontée des fuseaux horaires au rythme lent du train.

Je me suis alors lancée dans une recherche sur Internet, pour retrouver « mon » livre, évidemment épuisé. J’ai fini par le dénicher sur le site de livres d’occasion Abebooks. C’était la première fois que je commandais en ligne chez eux. Super rapide et efficace. Aussitôt commandé, aussitôt reçu ! Et le bouquin est en bon état, comme ils l’indiquaient.

Paris-Pékin par le Transsibérien

C’est dans ce livre, aussi, que j’ai appris comment manier les baguettes chinoises… et je continue, aujourd’hui, à donner ce conseil, très judicieux, à ceux qui ont du mal à s’y faire : « Ça se tient comme deux crayons ! »

Pour ceux qui, comme moi, adorent voyager virtuellement grâce à Internet, sachez qu’on peut prendre le Transsibérien sans quitter son salon : sur Google.ru/transsib (projet associant les Chemins de fer russes et Google), il y a des vidéos et des cartes interactives, pour accomplir le trajet, étape par étape, de Moscou à Vladivostok. Il faut cliquer sur les noms dans le bloc situé en bas à droite pour passer d’une vidéo à l’autre.

Enfin, parce que le voyage peut aussi être immobile, nourri de lectures et de rêves, je me fends ici d’un hommage au poète Baudelaire, toujours inspirant…

Pour l’enfant amoureux de cartes et d’estampes,
L’univers est égal à son vaste appétit.
Ah ! que le monde est grand à la clarté des lampes !
[…]
Mais les vrais voyageurs sont ceux-là seuls qui partent
pour partir ; cœurs légers, semblables aux ballons,
De leur fatalité jamais ils ne s’écartent,
Et, sans savoir pourquoi, disent toujours : Allons !
[…]
Baudelaire  – Le voyage

😉

  Entre deux voyages

17 Partages
Partagez11
Tweetez3
Enregistrer3
Partagez