Oceans, a film by Jacques Perrin and Jacques Cluzaud, 2010. (Photo: Roberto Rinaldi / Pathé)
Photo: Roberto Rinaldi / Pathé Films

Oceans, the movie

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

The new feature film by Jacques Perrin and Jacques Cluzaud is released this Wednesday, January 27, 2010. I could see Oceans in December, well before the official release, and meet the film crew.

All this, for work ... I love when my professional obligations join my personal passions!

The anthem to the sea

Diving friends and lovers of the sea, go see Oceans. The images, made by the greatest underwater filmmakers, are to die for.

New sophisticated shooting techniques (Thetys girostabilized head, underwater torpedoes and mini-helicopter, equipped with camera) immerse you as ever in the heart of the oceans. We become fish among the fish ...

This is not really a documentary, but rather a "& #160; hymn to the sea & #160;", as my colleague Yvon Lechevestrier rightly writes in the paper that I co-sign with him this Monday, January 25, 2010, in Ouest-France. Here is the PDF page, titled Perrin and Cluzaud play the anthem at the sea (or click on the image below to see the full article) & #160 ;:

Perrin and Cluzaud play the hymn to the sea (article from 25/01/2010 published in Ouest-France for the release of the film Océans)
Perrin and Cluzaud play the hymn to the sea (article from 25/01/2010 published in Ouest-France for the release of the film Oceans)

The madness of Sardine Run

The time given to the film (four years of filming) allowed, during the expeditions, to seize rare and fabulous moments. The sequence of the famous Sardine Run, this annual migration of millions of sardines off the eastern coast of South Africa (a giant feast that attracts birds, dolphins and sharks), is truly hallucinating.

You have never seen birds under your palms & #160 ;? I give you below a video excerpt of my interview with François Sarano for Ouest-France. Professional diver and doctor in oceanography, former Cousteau team, co-founder of the association Longitude 181, he worked as a script guide for Oceans. I love his way of telling the Sardine Run:

And I add below, by editing this article in January 2017, almost seven years after the interview above, this excerpt from People of the oceans, showing the same spectacular scene of the birds diving under the surface, extract diffused by France 2 via Twitter:


I stay each time taped in front of these fascinating images ...

The trombinoscope of species

Difficult for me, who is a diver and particularly sensitive to the wonders of the underwater world, to be impartial. I adooooré the film Oceans !

But another colleague of the newspaper, less fan of poiscaille than me, found, him, the time a little long in the company of the whales. And he regretted the lack of explanations "& #160; documentaries & #160;", precisely. He would have liked to know what species were shown, where in the world the scenes had been shot, and so on.

I, of course, did not have too much trouble with the identification of most fish and other representatives of the underwater fauna. And I admit that I was not a little proud to have personally met and photographed a number of mola mola, at nudibranch

All the "documentary" information (species, localization) were in fact to discover after or before the projection, on the website ofOceans, set up during the release, very well done (the site now returns on the Pathé page of the DVD). There are lots of videos to see, animals, the making-of ... Again, fascinating.

For true marine biology buffs (and I know them!), There was even the trombinoscope of the species shown in the film.

Oceans Trombinoscope

Optimistic look

Personally, I really appreciate Jacques Perrin's and Jacques Cluzaud's, the co-directors': they offer us a real movie, not a large-format documentary.

→ See the movie Oceans on AlloCiné

Of course, it's an eco-friendly film, in tune with the times. But ecology is not a fad. And Perrin did not wait for the environmental vogue to pay tribute to the beauty of nature (we remember the Migrating people and of Microcosmos, for the best known films).

And then, especially, unlike other ecologists high-profile and sometimes giving lessons, the two Jacques remain optimistic. They avoid hammering a message or making us feel guilty. "The sea is sick, but there are plenty of possibilities for her to be saved," concludes Jacques Perrin at the end of our interview for Ouest-France.

There is a real elegance in their directors' eyes, a huge requirement in their production choices. And in terms of awareness of the protection of the oceans, the film is accompanied by an educational operation, with children and their teachers. Still a smart choice, I find.

In short, with this film, they decided to amaze us, letting the oceans speak for themselves ... Mission accomplished!

Finally, I give you the trailer below, just wait, by Wednesday. You will tell me your impressions.

????

  Between Two Journeys

35 Shares
Share32
Tweet2
Pine1
Share

Océans, un film de Jacques Perrin et Jacques Cluzaud, 2010. (Photo : Roberto Rinaldi / Pathé)
Photo : Roberto Rinaldi / Pathé Films

Océans, le film

  Entre deux voyages

Le nouveau long-métrage de Jacques Perrin et Jacques Cluzaud sort ce mercredi 27 janvier 2010. J’ai pu voir Océans en décembre, bien avant la sortie officielle, et rencontrer l’équipe du film.

Tout ça, pour le boulot… J’adore quand mes obligations professionnelles rejoignent mes passions personnelles !

L’hymne à la mer

Amis plongeurs et amoureux de la mer, foncez voir Océans. Les images, réalisées par les plus grands cinéastes subaquatiques, sont à tomber.

De nouvelles techniques de tournage sophistiquées (tête girostabilisée Thetys, torpilles sous-marines et mini-hélico, équipés de caméra) vous immergent comme jamais au cœur des océans. On devient poisson parmi les poissons…

Ce n’est pas vraiment un documentaire, mais plutôt un « hymne à la mer », comme l’écrit avec justesse mon confrère Yvon Lechevestrier dans le papier que je co-signe avec lui ce lundi 25 janvier 2010, dans Ouest-France. Voici la page en PDF, intitulée Perrin et Cluzaud jouent l’hymne à la mer (ou cliquez sur l’image ci-dessous pour voir l’article en grand) :

Perrin et Cluzaud jouent l'hymne à la mer (article du 25/01/2010 paru dans Ouest-France pour la sortie du film Océans)
Perrin et Cluzaud jouent l’hymne à la mer (article du 25/01/2010 paru dans Ouest-France pour la sortie du film Océans)

La folie du Sardine Run

Le temps accordé au film (quatre années de tournage) a permis, au fil des expéditions, de saisir des instants rares et fabuleux. La séquence du fameux Sardine Run, cette migration annuelle de millions de sardines au large des côtes orientales d’Afrique du Sud (un festin géant qui attire oiseaux, dauphins et requins), est proprement hallucinante.

Vous n’avez jamais vu passer d’oiseaux sous vos palmes ? Je vous livre ci-dessous un extrait vidéo de mon entretien avec François Sarano pour Ouest-France. Plongeur professionnel et docteur en océanographie, ancien de l’équipe Cousteau, cofondateur de l’association Longitude 181, il a travaillé comme guide scénaristique pour Océans. J’adore sa façon de raconter le Sardine Run :

Et j’ajoute ci-dessous, en éditant cet article en janvier 2017, près de sept ans après l’interview ci-dessus, cet extrait du Peuple des océans, montrant la même scène spectaculaire des oiseaux plongeant sous la surface, extrait diffusé par France 2 via Twitter :


Je reste chaque fois scotchée devant ces images fascinantes…

Le trombinoscope des espèces

Difficile pour moi, qui suis plongeuse et particulièrement sensible aux merveilles du monde sous-marin, d’être impartiale. J’ai adooooré le film Océans !

Mais un autre collègue du journal, moins fan de poiscaille que moi, a trouvé, lui, le temps un peu long en compagnie des baleines. Et il a regretté le manque d’explications « documentaires », justement. Il aurait bien aimé savoir quelles étaient les espèces montrées, en quel lieu de la planète les scènes avaient été tournées, etc.

Moi, évidemment, je n’ai pas eu trop de mal avec l’identification de la plupart des poissons et autres représentants de la faune sous-marine. Et j’avoue que je n’étais pas peu fière d’en avoir personnellement rencontré et photographié un certain nombre, du mola-mola au nudibranche

Toutes les infos « documentaires » (espèces, localisation) étaient en fait à découvrir après ou avant la projection, sur le site internet d’Océans, mis en place lors de la sortie, très bien fait (le site renvoie désormais sur la page Pathé du DVD). Il y a des tas de vidéos à voir, sur les animaux, sur le making-of… Là encore, fascinant.

Pour les vrais mordus de biologie marine (et j’en connais ! ), il y avait même le trombinoscope des espèces montrées dans le film.

Trombinoscope Océans

Regard optimiste

Pour ma part, j’apprécie beaucoup ce parti pris de Jacques Perrin et Jacques Cluzaud, les coréalisateurs : ils nous offrent là un vrai film de cinéma, pas un documentaire grand format.

→ Voir la fiche du film Océans sur AlloCiné

Bien sûr, c’est un film « écolo », dans l’air du temps. Mais l’écologie n’est pas un phénomène de mode. Et Perrin n’a pas attendu la vogue environnementale pour rendre hommage à la beauté de la nature (on se souvient du Peuple migrateur et de Microcosmos, pour les films les plus connus).

Et puis, surtout, contrairement à d’autres écologistes très médiatisés et parfois donneurs de leçons, les deux Jacques restent optimistes. Ils évitent de marteler un message ou de nous culpabiliser. « La mer est malade, mais il y a des tas de possibilités pour qu’elle soit sauvée », conclut Jacques Perrin à la fin de notre interview pour Ouest-France.

Il y a une vraie élégance dans leur regard de réalisateurs, une immense exigence dans leurs choix de production. Et pour ce qui est de la sensibilisation à la protection des océans, le film s’accompagne d’une opération pédagogique, auprès des enfants et de leurs enseignants. Encore un choix intelligent, je trouve.

Bref, avec ce film, ils ont décidé de nous émerveiller, en laissant les océans parler pour eux-mêmes… Mission accomplie !

Pour finir, je vous remets la bande-annonce ci-dessous, histoire de patienter, d’ici mercredi. Vous me direz vos impressions.

😮

  Entre deux voyages

35 Partages
Partagez32
Tweetez2
Enregistrer1
Partagez