Lion Air Invocation Card. Indonésie, mars 2013.

Do your prayers on Lion Air (bis)

  Indonesia: Weda [Halmahera] + Bangka [Sulawesi] - March 2013

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

The Indonesian company Lion Air has a unique trick. In the seat pocket, with safety instructions, there is a special prayer booklet for the plane.

Invocation Card

It may surprise. The low-cost Indonesian company Lion Air no matter how modernized and equipped with brand new planes, it continues to offer passengers, in the seat pocket, a booklet that seems to me out of another age. Entitled Doa-Doa Perjalanan / Invocation Card, it contains prayers, for all religions.

Comforting for some, surely… But praying that the sky will be favorable for us, that the aircraft will work well and that the crew will take the plane and all its passengers safely, I doubt very much that it will have any impact on the flight. Anyway, it can't hurt ...

Lion Air Invocation Card. Indonésie, mars 2013.
Lion Air Invocation Card. Indonésie, mars 2013.
Lion Air Invocation Card. Indonésie, mars 2013.

I had already talked about it on this blog, during my very first trip to Sulawesi in 2007:

→ Effective prayers on Lion Air

Each time, I am amused to discover this booklet of prayers. This does not prevent me from respecting the beliefs of others, whatever they are, as long as no one is imposed on me.

Lion Air, the company that goes up

With Air AsiaLion Air is the company that I have most often taken for my travels in the huge Indonesian archipelago.

Lion Air. Aéroport de Jakarta. Java, Indonésie. Mars 2013.
Air Lion aircraft at Jakarta airport. Java, Indonesia, March 2013.

Lion Air begins to seriously compete with Air Asia in Indonesia, both in terms of price, proposed links (In June 2013, they posted 36 destinations and 226 daily flights on their site).

The company has grown significantly in recent years and continues to expand and renew its fleet (including buying Airbus to France).

Lion Air Routes. Mars 2013.

During my March 2013 trip to IndonesiaSo, I flew on Lion Air again, as almost every time I went there! One way to reach Halmahera (Jakarta-Ternate flight), then to join Sulawesi (Ternate-Manado flight), where my final destination was the island of Bangka.

But ... the blacklist?

I was often asked the question ... At the time I published this article (2013), all Indonesian companies were blacklisted, with the exception of Garuda (the national airline) and Air Asia Indonesia. (the Malaysian lowcost that spreads throughout Asia). But in a few years, things have happily moved in the right direction. I made two updates recently:

UPDATE 2018: On June 14, 2018, ALL Indonesian companies were removed from the EU blacklist. You can consult the list directly on the website of the French government here → June 2018: the blacklist of banned airlines in the EU, as well as on the website of the European Commission → Aviation safety: press release.

UPDATE 2017: Lion Air is no longer blacklisted by companies banned by the European Union (the complete list is available in PDF to download on the website of the European Commission). The first publication of this post dates from 2013 and since then, security has improved, in the Indonesian sky! Among the commercial passenger transport companies that comply with EU safety standards, therefore, are now:
→ Garuda Indonesia and its low-cost subsidiary Citilink
→ Air Asia Indonesia

→ Lion Air and its subsidiary Batik Air

When I travel to Indonesia, I try as much as possible to fly on the most reputable companies. But to reach certain corners of the archipelago, we do not always have the choice, Garuda does not fly everywhere. So yes, I have been in the past flying with companies that were blacklisted.

I add to the passage this link of Slate, very interesting, signed in 2013 by the journalist "Breton-Indonesian" Gurvan Kristanadjaja, which offers a good summary of the development of Lion Air and the aviation market in Indonesia:
→ Indonesia, the country of low-cost aviation

Batavia, which was one of the few not to be blacklisted, went bankrupt early 2013: I had to take one of their flights, precisely, for this journey of March 2013 ... Too bad for me, I had already bought my ticket. With the "Bangkrut" Overall, I just had to sit on it and buy another plane ticket. Only Lion Air operated the connection to the day and time that suited me, so I opted, again, for a flight with prayer book included.

Too bad for Lion Air that there was this failed landing in Bali, in April 2013. I confess, I trembled retrospectively, on my return from Indonesia ... But to believe the testimony of a French passenger, row 26 brings luck

UPDATE OCTOBER 2018: a Lion Air aircraft crashed at sea shortly after taking off from Jakarta on October 29, 2018. It's cold in the back ... He had 189 people on board. Lion Air had previously had only one fatal accident in 2004: an MD-82 crashed on landing in Solo City, Java, killing 25 people out of 163 people on board , according to the network of aviation safety of the Flight Safety Foundation.

In any case, my flight Ternate-Manado went perfectly well. I was a bit sad to leave Weda, but Bangka did not disappoint me ... The sequel in the next post!

😎

  Indonesia: Weda [Halmahera] + Bangka [Sulawesi] - March 2013

50 Shares
Share46
Tweet
Pine1
Share3

Lion Air Invocation Card. Indonésie, mars 2013.

Faites vos prières sur Lion Air (bis)

  Indonésie : Weda [Halmahera] + Bangka [Sulawesi] - mars 2013

La compagnie indonésienne Lion Air a un truc unique. Dans la pochette du siège, avec les consignes de sécurité, il y a un fascicule de prières spéciales pour l’avion.

Invocation Card

C’est une chose qui peut surprendre, chez Lion Air. La compagnie low-cost indonésienne a beau se moderniser et s’équiper en avions flambant neufs, elle continue de proposer aux passagers, avec la fiche des consignes de sécurité, glissé dans la pochette du siège, un document intitulé Doa-Doa Perjalanan / Invocation Card. C’est un petit fascicule contenant des prières, pour toutes les religions.

Faire une petite prière pour que le ciel nous soit favorable, que l’appareil fonctionne bien et que l’équipage mène l’avion et tous ses passagers à bon port, je doute que ça ait un impact réel sur le vol mais après tout, ça ne peut pas faire de mal…

Lion Air Invocation Card. Indonésie, mars 2013.

Lion Air Invocation Card. Indonésie, mars 2013.

Lion Air Invocation Card. Indonésie, mars 2013.

J’en avais déjà parlé sur ce blog, lors de mon tout premier voyage à Sulawesi en 2007 :

→ De l’efficacité des prières sur Lion Air

(Je précise, afin d’éviter tout malentendu, que je respecte totalement les croyances des autres, quelles qu’elles soient, du moment qu’on ne m’en impose aucune.)

Lion Air, la compagnie qui monte

Avec Air Asia, Lion Air est la compagnie que j’ai le plus souvent prise, pour mes déplacements dans l’immense archipel indonésien.

Lion Air. Aéroport de Jakarta. Java, Indonésie. Mars 2013.
Avions de Lion Air à l’aéroport de Jakarta. Java, Indonésie, mars 2013.

Lion Air commence à sérieusement concurrencer Air Asia en Indonésie, tant au niveau des prix, que des liaisons proposées (en juin 2013, ils affichaient 36 destinations et 226 vols quotidiens sur leur site).

La compagnie s’est beaucoup développée ces dernières années et elle continue d’élargir et renouveler sa flotte (en achetant notamment des Airbus à la France).

Lion Air Routes. Mars 2013.

Lors de mon voyage de mars 2013 en Indonésie, j’ai donc volé sur Lion Air à nouveau, comme presque à chacun de mes séjours là-bas ! À l’aller, pour rejoindre Halmahera (vol Jakarta-Ternate), puis pour rallier Sulawesi (vol Ternate-Manado), où ma destination finale était l’île de Bangka.

Mais… la liste noire ?

On m’a souvent posé la question… À l’époque où j’ai publié cet article (2013), toutes les compagnies indonésiennes étaient sur liste noire, à l’exception de Garuda (la compagnie nationale) et d’Air Asia Indonesia (la lowcost malaisienne qui s’étend partout en Asie). Mais en quelques années, les choses ont heureusement évolué dans le bon sens. J’ai fait deux mises à jour récemment :

MISE À JOUR 2018 : le 14 juin 2018, TOUTES les compagnies indonésiennes ont été RETIRÉES de la liste noire de l’Union européenne. Vous pouvez consulter la liste directement sur le site du gouvernement français ici → Juin 2018 : la liste noire des compagnies aériennes interdites dans l’UE, ainsi que sur le site de la Commission européenne → Sécurité aérienne : communiqué de presse.

MISE À JOUR  2017 : Lion Air n’est plus sur la liste noire des compagnies bannies par l’Union européenne (la liste complète est disponible en PDF à télécharger sur le site de la Commission européenne). La première publication de ce post date de 2013 et, depuis, la sécurité s’est améliorée, dans le ciel indonésien ! Parmi les compagnies commerciales de transport de passagers conformes aux normes de sécurité de l’UE, figurent donc désormais :
→ Garuda Indonesia et sa filiale à bas coûts Citilink
→ Air Asia Indonesia

→ Lion Air et sa filiale Batik Air

Quand je voyage en Indonésie, j’essaie autant que possible de voler sur les compagnies réputées les plus fiables. Mais pour rallier certains coins de l’archipel, on n’a pas toujours le choix, Garuda ne vole pas partout. Alors oui, il m’est arrivé par le passé de voler avec des compagnies qui étaient sur liste noire.

J’ajoute au passage ce lien de Slate, très intéressant, signé en 2013 par le journaliste « breton-indonésien » Gurvan Kristanadjaja, qui offre une bonne synthèse sur le développement de Lion Air et le marché de l’aérien en Indonésie :
→ L’Indonésie, le pays de l’aviation low-cost

Batavia, qui était l’une des rares à ne pas être sur liste  noire, a fait faillite début 2013 : je devais prendre un de leurs vols, justement, pour ce périple de mars 2013… Dommage pour moi, j’avais déjà acheté mon billet. Avec la « bangkrut » générale, je n’ai plus eu qu’à m’asseoir dessus et racheter un autre billet d’avion. Seule Lion Air opérait la liaison au jour et à l’heure qui me convenaient, j’ai donc opté, à nouveau, pour un vol avec livret de prières inclus.

Dommage pour Lion Air qu’il y ait eu cet atterrissage raté à Bali, en avril 2013. J’avoue, j’en ai frémi rétrospectivement, à mon retour d’Indonésie… Mais à en croire le témoignage d’un passager français, la rangée 26 porte chance

MISE À JOUR OCTOBRE 2018 : un appareil de Lion Air s’est crashé en mer peu après son décollage de Jakarta, ce 29 octobre 2018. Ça fait froid dans le dos… Il avait 189 personnes à bord. Lion Air n’avait connu auparavant qu’un seul accident mortel, en 2004 : un MD-82 s’était écrasé à l’atterrissage, à Solo City, sur l’île de Java, faisant 25 morts sur les 163 personnes à bord, selon le réseau de la sécurité aérienne de la Flight Safety Foundation.

En tout cas, mon vol Ternate-Manado s’est parfaitement bien déroulé. J’étais un peu triste de quitter Weda, mais Bangka ne m’a pas déçue… La suite dans le prochain post !

😎

  Indonésie : Weda [Halmahera] + Bangka [Sulawesi] - mars 2013

50 Partages
Partagez46
Tweetez
Enregistrer1
Partagez3