The pontoon of Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

Divers under supervision in Sipadan

#MALAISIE

  Borneo: Indonesia + Malaysia - July 2013

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Sipadan. An island explored by Cousteau. A dream of divers. But a dream under military surveillance, for the safety of tourists and the preservation of the reef.

For crazy diving

Sipadan, a small island off Borneo, in eastern Malaysia, is one of the most famous diving spots in Asia. Reputation not usurped.

Of course, it is better to love the fish to appreciate the place as it deserves ... ????

School of jacks in Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

I am irresistibly addicted to bubbles and fish, I returned to Sipadan, for the third time, in July 2013, after two first trips in 2006 and 2009.

I have already posted some articles on this new journey of 2013:

For the atmosphere under water → Sipadan underwater in pictures
To see a shark up close → Sipadan: a video, a shark, a minute
For details my July 2013 trip to Borneo → Diving in the blue of Borneo

Sipadan, where and how are we going?

A few small practical and geographical details to start, because I am inundated with emails asking me for information about Sipadan ... ????

Sipadan is a tiny island, located in eastern Malaysia, in northeastern Borneo, near the border with Indonesia. The island is part of the Malaysian state of Sabah.

A great advantage of this fabulous diving spot is its ease of access, via Tawau airport: there are direct connections with Kuala Lumpur in Peninsular Malaysia, or Kota Kinabalu in East Malaysia on Borneo (see the sites ofAir Asia and Malaysia Airlines).

Kuala Lumpur - Tawau.

Aircraft MAS Wings, a subsidiary of Malaysia Airlines for domestic flights. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

Once in Tawau, you have to go to Semporna, the port from which boats leave for Sipadan and Mabul, the neighboring island. The journey by road takes about an hour. There are many taxis waiting for the client at the airport.

It takes about an hour to cross Semporna to Mabul by boat. Then, since Mabul it takes another twenty minutes to reach the island of Sipadan itself (be careful, as long as there are waves, the crossing time is easily doubled).

An oceanic island explored by Cousteau

Sipadan, when we approach, it looks like this:

Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

The pontoon of Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

The pontoon of Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

Turquoise water and white sand ... "Wow" effect guaranteed when it's sunny.

Sipadan is a very particular island. It is the only oceanic island in Malaysia. This means that it is not just an emergent zone in the extension of a continent, but an island of volcanic origin, created by the activity of the earth's crust at the seafloor.

Sipadan herself is very small. The island is perched on a vast coral reef, atop an ancient volcano.

This forms a vertiginous underwater cliff, which sinks to about 600 m below the surface. These particular geological conditions have favored an incredible abundance of life and underwater biodiversity. (Click on the pictures to see them big.)

Malaysians Clement Lee and Samson Shak, Britain's Ronald Holland and American Randy Davis are considered "discoverers" of the underwater riches of the island and the "pioneers" of diving in Sipadan. In 1984, they started the first commercial diving operation, which still exists, Borneo Divers.

But it is the Frenchman Jacques-Yves Cousteau who made the island famous, after his passage with the Calypso, in 1988. Amazed, he would have said, in essence: "I've seen places like Sipadan, but it was 45 years ago. What we have here is an intact work of art. "

In Sipadan, Cousteau shot a documentary entitled The specter of the turtle (1989), whose spectacular images of the cave sheltering a turtle cemetery, with whitish skulls and carapaces on a sandy bottom, have made their mark. There is a rational explanation to this tomb of turtles: lost in the guts of the cave, they would have perished there suffocated, for lack of having been able to return to the surface to breathe.

Turtle Tomb Cave. Sipadan, Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

My name is not Cousteau and I only visited the entrance to the Turtle Tomb Cave, a vast room in the dark intimidating. I still brought a small video, which I will post in a future article ... (EDIT: the video is online, to see here.)

An island under high surveillance

Sipadan is also known outside the small world of diving because of the dramatic history of hostages of Jolo, in 2000.

About 20 people - a group of foreign divers and Malaysians - were kidnapped in Sipadan by Filipinos of the Islamist separatist group Abu Sayyaf, then taken away and sequestered on the nearby island of Jolo. extreme south of the Philippine archipelago.

Since then, the Malaysian army has deployed men to Sipadan and the surrounding islands. They are there permanently, patrols plow the waters of the region. The security of the tourists is thus (in principle) assured, but it is always a little odd to see guys with weapons and trellises on the white sand beaches ... I already talked about it during my first stay in 2006.

UPDATE: Security at Semporna / Mabul / Sipadan. I receive many questions on this subject, I remind you that this article, published initially in December 2013, concerns my stay there in July 2013. I added in comments new information, in answer to readers ...  

June 15, 2014, after new tourist kidnappings occurred in November 2013 and April 2014, in two isolated resorts of the region, I published a first long commentary under this article, compiling several infos and updates on this subject, which you can read at the end of this link:
https://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/plongeurs-securite-sipadan-20131215/comment-page-1/#comment-6754

August 26, 2017, I published a new comment, in response to a reader, compiling the latest information I found on the situation at that date, to see by clicking on this links:
→ https://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/plongeurs-securite-sipadan-20131215/comment-page-1/#comment-7960

A soldier on duty on the small island of Sibuan, off Semporna. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2006.
A soldier on duty on the small island of Sibuan, off Semporna. (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2006.)

Various measures were also taken for the environmental protection of Sipadan and its reef, after the island, litigated with neighboring Indonesia, was officially attributed to Malaysia in 2002 & #160: closing of the few hotels built on Sipadan same in 2004 & #160; introduction of a quota of divers and snorkelers limited to 120 per day, and now increased to 176 per day [info from 2019].

Inside the Sipadan registration desk, the list of authorized dive operators, with the number of permits for the day for each. Total: 120. (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.)
Inside the Sipadan registration desk, the list of authorized dive operators, with the number of permits for the day for each. Total & #160 ;: 120. It was in 2013. The quota has increased to 176 now. (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.)

Today, most of the tourists-divers stay on Mabul, the neighboring island of Sipadan - where the accommodations, from the cheapest to the most chic, pile up around the village. Others make the day trip from Semporna, the port on the mainland in Borneo.

Read also → A brief history of Pulau Sipadan

Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

The only permanent residents of Sipadan are now military rangers and some lizards and not fierce lizards ...

The military-rangers' post at Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

Varan in Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

These measures seem to be paying off - as far as I can judge from my three visits, a few years apart (2006, 2009, 2013) ...

In terms of safety, the tourists came back - and an impressive business developed around diving, in Mabul and Semporna.

On the environmental front, the underwater life on the Sipadan reef has remained spectacular! It comforts after my disappointment in Maratua and Sangalaki, Indonesian side of Borneo.

Signs on the Sipadan pontoon remind us of the rules to observe in the island's marine reserve. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.
Signs on the Sipadan pontoon remind us of the rules to observe in the island's marine reserve. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

Controlled freedom

In Sipadan, each visitor must first land and sign the permit register before diving, swimming or strolling. Each boat receives a pennant for the day, identifying it as being allowed to sail around the island.

Signature of the register at Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.

It is forbidden to travel on the island beyond a restricted area to the large beach near the pontoon and to the area provided for divers under the trees - with tables, wooden awnings and sanitary facilities. As much to ensure the tranquility of the turtles that lay on the sand all around the island, as to keep tourists within sight.

The atmosphere is more unusual than heavy. We return to the island between dives to eat, rest, take souvenir photos ...

Beach portion allowed to tourists, in Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.
Beach portion allowed to tourists, in Sipadan. (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013)
Lunch break between two dives on Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.
Lunch break between two dives on Sipadan. (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013)

On site, the military rangers, often in flip flops but with weapons at hand, monitor the comings and goings of tourists between two naps.

Sometimes the siren sounds when an intrepid or daze ventures beyond the limit. Better not to laugh with this, warn the guides before landing a group. An offense and it is the whole boat that finds itself not only expelled but prohibited from diving ...

????

Admit that it was a pity ...

A white tip shark in Sipadan. Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013.
A white tip shark in Sipadan. (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2013)

(Thanks to one of my diving companions, Vicente Garcia, for the photo above, where I am seen filming a white tip shark! And the video that goes with it is here.)

  Borneo: Indonesia + Malaysia - July 2013

192 Shares
Share157
Tweet23
Pine6
Share6

Le ponton de Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Plongeurs sous haute surveillance à Sipadan

#MALAISIE

  Bornéo : Indonésie + Malaisie - juillet 2013

Sipadan. Une île explorée par Cousteau. Un rêve de plongeurs. Mais un rêve sous surveillance militaire, pour la sécurité des touristes et la sauvegarde du récif.

Pour les fous de plongée

Sipadan, petite île au large de Bornéo, en Malaisie orientale, est l’un des spots de plongée les plus réputés en Asie. Réputation pas usurpée.

Bien sûr, mieux vaut aimer les poissons pour apprécier l’endroit comme il le mérite…  👌

Banc de carangues à Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Moi qui suis irrémédiablement accro aux bulles et aux poissons, je suis retournée à Sipadan, pour la 3e fois, en juillet 2013, après deux premiers voyages en 2006 et 2009.

J’ai déjà mis en ligne quelques articles sur ce nouveau périple de 2013 :

Pour l’ambiance sous l’eau → Sipadan sous l’eau en images
Pour voir un requin de près → Sipadan : une vidéo, un requin, une minute
Pour le détail mon périple de juillet 2013 à Bornéo → Plonger dans le bleu de Bornéo

Sipadan, c’est où et comment on y va ?

Quelques petites précisions pratiques et géographiques pour commencer, car je suis inondée d’e-mails me demandant des informations sur Sipadan… 😉

Sipadan est une île minuscule, située en Malaisie orientale, dans le nord-est de Bornéo, tout près de la frontière avec l’Indonésie. L’île fait partie de l’État malaisien du Sabah.

Avantage non négligeable de ce spot de plongée fabuleux, c’est sa facilité d’accès, via l’aéroport de Tawau : il y a notamment des connexions directes avec Kuala Lumpur en Malaisie péninsulaire, ou Kota Kinabalu en Malaisie orientale sur Bornéo (voir les sites d’Air Asia et Malaysia Airlines).

Kuala Lumpur - Tawau.

Avion MAS Wings, filiale de Malaysia Airlines pour les vols domestiques. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Une fois à Tawau, il faut se rendre à Semporna, le port d’où partent les bateaux pour Sipadan et Mabul, l’île voisine. Le trajet par la route prend environ une heure. Il y a quantité de taxis qui attendent le client à l’aéroport.

La traversée de Semporna à Mabul en bateau prend à peu près une heure aussi. Ensuite, depuis Mabul il faut compter encore une vingtaine de minutes pour rejoindre l’île de Sipadan même (attention, pour peu qu’il y ait des vagues, le temps des traversées est facilement doublé).

Une île océanique explorée par Cousteau

Sipadan, quand on approche, ça ressemble à ça :

Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Le ponton de Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Le ponton de Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Eau turquoise et sable blanc… Effet « wow » garanti quand il fait grand soleil.

Sipadan est une île bien particulière. C’est la seule île océanique de Malaisie. Cela signifie que ce n’est pas juste une zone émergée dans le prolongement d’un continent, mais une île d’origine volcanique, créée par l’activité de la croûte terrestre au niveau du plancher océanique.

Sipadan elle-même est toute petite. L’île est juchée sur un vaste récif corallien, au sommet d’un ancien volcan.

Celui-ci forme un à-pic sous-marin vertigineux, qui s’enfonce à environ 600 m sous la surface. Ces conditions géologiques particulières ont favorisé un foisonnement de vie et une biodiversité sous-marine incroyables. (Cliquez sur les images pour les voir en grand.)

Les Malaisiens Clement Lee et Samson Shak, le Britannique Ronald Holland et l’Américain Randy Davis sont considérés comme les « découvreurs » des richesses subaquatiques de l’île et les « pionniers » de la plongée à Sipadan. En 1984, ils y ont démarré la toute première opération commerciale de plongée, qui existe toujours, Borneo Divers.

Mais c’est le Français Jacques-Yves Cousteau qui a fait la célébrité de l’île, après son passage avec la Calypso, en 1988. Émerveillé, il aurait dit, en substance : « J’ai déjà vu des endroits comme Sipadan, mais c’était il y a 45 ans. Ce que nous avons là, c’est une œuvre d’art intacte. »

À Sipadan, Cousteau a notamment tourné un documentaire intitulé Le spectre de la tortue (1989), dont les images spectaculaires de la grotte abritant un cimetière de tortues, avec crânes et carapaces blanchâtres sur fond sablonneux, ont marqué les esprits. Il y a une explication rationnelle, à cette tombe de tortues : égarées dans les boyaux de la grotte, elles y auraient péri asphyxiées, faute d’avoir pu retourner à la surface respirer.

Turtle Tomb Cave. Sipadan, Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Je ne m’appelle pas Cousteau et je n’ai visité que l’entrée de la Turtle Tomb Cave, une vaste salle à l’obscurité intimidante. J’en ai tout de même ramené une petite vidéo, que je posterai dans un prochain article… (EDIT : la vidéo est en ligne, à voir ici.)

Une île sous haute surveillance

Sipadan est aussi connue hors du petit monde de la plongée à cause de la dramatique histoire des otages de Jolo, en 2000.

Une vingtaine de personnes – un groupe de plongeurs étrangers et des Malaisiens – avaient été kidnappées à Sipadan, par des Philippins du groupe séparatiste islamiste Abu Sayyaf, puis emmenées et séquestrées sur l’île de Jolo, située non loin de là, dans l’extrême sud de l’archipel des Philippines.

Depuis, l’armée malaisienne a déployé des hommes à Sipadan et dans les îles alentour. Ils sont là en permanence, des patrouilles sillonnent les eaux de la région. La sécurité des touristes est ainsi (en principe) assurée, mais ça fait toujours un peu bizarre de voir des gars avec armes et treillis sur les plages de sable blanc… J’en parlais déjà lors de mon premier séjour en 2006.

MISE À JOUR : la sécurité à Semporna / Mabul / Sipadan. Je reçois beaucoup de questions sur ce sujet, je rappelle que cet article, publié initialement en décembre 2013, concerne mon séjour là-bas en juillet 2013. J’ai rajouté en commentaires de nouvelles informations, en réponse à des lecteurs…  

Le 15 juin 2014, après de nouveaux enlèvements de touristes survenus en novembre 2013 et avril 2014, dans deux resorts isolés de la région, j’ai publié un premier long commentaire sous cet article, compilant plusieurs infos et mises à jour sur ce sujet, que vous pouvez lire au bout de ce lien :
https://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/2013/12/15/plongeurs-securite-sipadan/comment-page-1/#comment-6754

Le 26 août 2017, j’ai publié un nouveau commentaire, en réponse à un lecteur, compilant les dernières informations que j’ai trouvées sur la situation à cette date, à voir en cliquant sur ce liens :
→ https://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/2013/12/15/plongeurs-securite-sipadan/comment-page-1/#comment-7960

Un soldat en faction sur la petite île de Sibuan, au large de Semporna. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2006.
Un soldat en faction sur la petite île de Sibuan, au large de Semporna. (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2006.)

Diverses mesures ont été prises aussi pour la protection environnementale de Sipadan et de son récif, après que l’île, objet d’un litige avec l’Indonésie voisine, a été officiellement attribuée à la Malaisie en 2002 : fermeture des quelques hôtels construits sur Sipadan même en 2004 ; instauration d’un quota de plongeurs et snorkelers (nageurs en palmes-masque-tuba) limité à 120 par jour, et désormais passé à 176 par jour [info de 2019].

À l'intérieur du bureau d'enregistrement de Sipadan, la liste des opérateurs de plongée autorisés, avec, pour chacun, le nombre de permis accordés pour la journée. Total : 120. (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.)
À l’intérieur du bureau d’enregistrement de Sipadan, la liste des opérateurs de plongée autorisés, avec, pour chacun, le nombre de permis accordés pour la journée. Total : 120. C’était en 2013. Le quota est passé à 176 désormais. (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.)

Aujourd’hui, la plupart des touristes-plongeurs logent sur Mabul, l’île voisine de Sipadan – où les hébergements, du plus cheap au plus chic, s’entassent autour du village. D’autres font la sortie à la journée, depuis Semporna, le port sur la terre ferme à Bornéo.

Lire aussi → A brief history of Pulau Sipadan

Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Les seuls résidents permanents de Sipadan sont désormais des militaires-rangers et quelques varans et lézards pas farouches…

Le poste des militaires-rangers à Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Varan à Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Ces mesures semblent porter leurs fruits – pour autant que je puisse en juger à l’échelle de mes trois visites, à quelques années d’intervalle (2006, 2009, 2013)…

Sur le plan de la sécurité, les touristes sont revenus – et un impressionnant business s’est développé autour de la plongée, à Mabul et Semporna.

Sur le plan environnemental, la vie sous-marine sur le récif de Sipadan est restée spectaculaire ! Ça réconforte, après ma déception à Maratua et Sangalaki, côté indonésien de Bornéo.

Des panneaux sur le ponton de Sipadan rappellent les règles à observer dans la réserve marine de l'île. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.
Des panneaux sur le ponton de Sipadan rappellent les règles à observer dans la réserve marine de l’île. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Liberté contrôlée

À Sipadan, chaque visiteur doit d’abord débarquer et signer le registre des permis, avant de pouvoir plonger, nager ou se balader. Chaque bateau reçoit un fanion pour la journée, permettant de l’identifier comme étant autorisé à naviguer autour de l’île.

Signature du registre à Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.

Il est interdit de circuler sur l’île au-delà d’un périmètre restreint à la grande plage près du ponton et à l’aire aménagée pour les plongeurs sous les arbres – avec tables, auvents en bois et sanitaires. Autant pour assurer la tranquillité des tortues qui pondent sur le sable tout autour de l’île, que pour garder les touristes à portée de vue.

L’ambiance est plus insolite que pesante. On revient sur l’île entre les plongées pour manger, se reposer, prendre des photos souvenirs…

La portion de plage autorisée aux touristes, à Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.
La portion de plage autorisée aux touristes, à Sipadan. (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013)
Pause-déjeuner entre deux plongées, sur Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.
Pause-déjeuner entre deux plongées, sur Sipadan. (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013)

Sur place, les militaires-rangers, souvent en tongs mais avec des armes à portée de main, surveillent les allées et venues des touristes, entre deux siestes.

Parfois la sirène retentit, quand un intrépide ou un étourdi s’aventure au-delà de la limite. Mieux vaut ne pas rigoler avec ça, avertissent les guides avant de débarquer un groupe. Une infraction et c’est tout le bateau qui se retrouve non seulement expulsé mais interdit de plongées…

😠

Avouez que ç’eût été dommage…

Un requin pointe blanche à Sipadan. Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013.
Un requin pointe blanche à Sipadan. (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2013)

(Merci à l’un de mes compagnons de plongée, Vicente Garcia, pour la photo ci-dessus, où on me voit filmant un requin pointe blanche ! Et la vidéo qui va avec est ici.)

  Bornéo : Indonésie + Malaisie - juillet 2013

192 Partages
Partagez157
Tweetez23
Enregistrer6
Partagez6