On the ferry back to Phuket ... I regret Koh Lipe behind me.

I'm farting in Phuket

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Thailand: Islands - February 2009

Here I am back in Brittany, after these three weeks Thai. Sunday night, I finally pushed the door from home, and I collapsed directly. Fourteen hours of dodo in a row, to recover from this long journey from Phuket ...

I did not manage to close my eyes on planes (Air Asia + Emirates) nor in the TGV.

At the Air Asia counter at Phuket Airport.
At the Air Asia counter at Phuket Airport.

It may surprise: for my last night in Phuket, I chose to stay in Patong Beach.

Patong is ugly, with plastic loungers and noisy jet skis, Mac Do's and Burger King's, souvenir shops, and girls' bars. And then the place is stuffed with a kind of tourists who does not inspire sympathy.

In short, not at all the style of beach or atmosphere that I love in Thailand ...

Gray sky fitting with my mood this Saturday on Patong Beach.
Gray sky fitting with my mood this Saturday on Patong Beach.
Patong Beach, Thailand. The bar stools girls, without girls ...
Patong Beach, Thailand. The bar stools girls, without girls ...
Souvenir shop in Patong.
Souvenir shop in Patong.

But here, I opted for the facility: minibus connections, taxis for the airport, shops for shopping, wifi connections everywhere, choice of accommodation and restaurants ...

I dug an address that changes my rustic backpacker plans: the hotel Baipho-Baithong. Recommended by both the Lonely Planet and by Mark, an Australian who was with me on the Eden Divers boat for the Similan dive cruise.

Very good choice. Close to everything, refined decor, impeccable cleanliness, warm welcome and cheerful. The cheapest rooms are from 1800 baht (about 40 €), including breakfast. An excellent deal. For 2600 baht (less than 60 €), I got the luxury of a quasi-suite with mega king-size bed wider than long and jacuzzi ... Argh.

My king-size bed at Baipho-Baithong Hotel (Patong Beach, Thailand).
My king-size bed at Baipho-Baithong Hotel (Patong Beach, Thailand).

Needless to say, I have savored this supreme comfort as it should, after my long recovery from Koh Lipe.

Two and a half hours ferry crossing to Hat Yao Pier, Trang pier, then five hours by minibus ... I got slammed.

Finally, and above all, this stop in Phuket allowed me to meet, in truth, Valerie and Olivier, with whom I had previously exchanged only e-mails and phone calls. It's thanks to their site Asiaqua.com and their advice that I opted for the boat of Eden Divers, one of the few to offer cabins single for the Similan. It was the essential criterion for me, but everything else was up to the task: comfort, crew, supervision, atmosphere, food. And the nitrox was free ... Really a very good choice, again.

I was right to trust Valérie and Olivier on this one. Both divers, they have been on site for a long time, know each of the cruise ships they offer on their site and effectively play the intermediaries when it comes to adjusting various practical details.

We stayed in touch after the cruise, and they came to see me Saturday at the hotel, before my departure, to chat and drink.

With Valérie and Olivier from Asiaqua.com.
With Valérie and Olivier from Asiaqua.com.

It is always a great pleasure, on a trip, to concretize virtual exchanges through a real encounter. Nice epilogue to my Thai stay!

😎

  Thailand: Islands - February 2009

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Sur le ferry du retour vers Phuket... Je laisse à regret Koh Lipe derrière moi.

Je me la pète à Phuket

  Thaïlande : îles - février 2009

Me voici rentrée en Bretagne, après ces trois semaines thaïlandaises. Dimanche soir, j’ai enfin poussé la porte de chez moi, et je me suis écroulée direct. Quatorze heures de dodo d’affilée, pour récupérer de ce long long voyage depuis Phuket…

Je n’ai pas réussi à fermer l’œil dans les avions (Air Asia + Emirates) ni dans le TGV.

Au comptoir d'Air Asia, à l'aéroport de Phuket.
Au comptoir d’Air Asia, à l’aéroport de Phuket.

Ça peut surprendre : pour mon ultime nuit à Phuket, j’ai choisi de me poser à Patong Beach.

Patong est laide, avec ses transats en plastique et ses jet-skis bruyants, ses Mac Do et ses Burger King, ses boutiques de souvenirs et ses bars à filles. Et puis l’endroit est gavé d’un genre de touristes qui n’inspire guère la sympathie.

Bref, pas du tout le style de plage ni d’ambiance que j’aime en Thaïlande…

Ciel gris raccord avec mon humeur, ce samedi, sur Patong Beach.
Ciel gris raccord avec mon humeur, ce samedi, sur Patong Beach.
Patong Beach, Thaïlande. Les tabourets des bars à filles, sans les filles...
Patong Beach, Thaïlande. Les tabourets des bars à filles, sans les filles…
Boutique de souvenirs à Patong.
Boutique de souvenirs à Patong.

Mais voilà, j’ai opté pour la facilité : liaisons des minibus, taxis pour l’aéroport, magasins pour le shopping, connexions wifi partout, choix d’hébergements et restos…

Je me suis dégotté une adresse qui change de mes plans rustiques de routarde : l’hôtel Baipho-Baithong. Recommandé à la fois par le Lonely Planet et par Mark, un Australien qui se trouvait avec moi sur le bateau d’Eden Divers pour la croisière-plongée aux Similan.

Très bon choix. À deux pas de tout, déco raffinée, propreté irréprochable, accueil chaleureux et gai. Les chambres les moins chères sont à partir de 1800 bahts (environ 40€), petit-déj compris. Une excellente affaire. Pour 2600 bahts (moins de 60€), je me suis offert le luxe d’une quasi-suite avec méga king-size bed plus large que long et jacuzzi… Argh.

Mon king-size bed à l'hôtel Baipho-Baithong (Patong beach, Thaïlande).
Mon king-size bed à l’hôtel Baipho-Baithong (Patong beach, Thaïlande).

Inutile de vous dire que j’ai savouré comme il se doit ce confort suprême, après ma longue remontée depuis Koh Lipe.

Deux heures et demie de traversée en ferry jusqu’à Hat Yao Pier, l’embarcadère de Trang, puis près de cinq heures de route en minibus… Je suis arrivée claquée.

Enfin, et surtout, cette halte à Phuket m’a permis de rencontrer, en vrai, Valérie et Olivier, avec qui je n’avais jusqu’alors échangé que des e-mails et coups de fil. C’est grâce à leur site Asiaqua.com et à leurs conseils que j’ai opté pour le bateau d’Eden Divers, l’un des rares à proposer des cabines single pour les Similan. C’était le critère essentiel pour moi, mais tout le reste était à la hauteur : le confort, l’équipage, l’encadrement, l’ambiance, la bouffe. Et le nitrox était gratuit… Vraiment un très bon choix, là encore.

J’ai eu raison de faire confiance à Valérie et Olivier sur ce coup-là. Tous deux plongeurs, ils sont sur place depuis longtemps, connaissent chacun des bateaux de croisière qu’ils proposent sur leur site et jouent efficacement les intermédiaires quand il s’agit de régler divers détails pratiques.

Nous sommes restés en contact après la croisière, et ils sont passés me voir samedi à l’hôtel, avant mon départ, pour papoter et boire un coup.

Avec Valérie et Olivier d'Asiaqua.com.
Avec Valérie et Olivier d’Asiaqua.com.

C’est toujours un grand plaisir, en voyage, de concrétiser des échanges virtuels par une rencontre réelle. Sympathique épilogue à mon séjour thaïlandais !

😎

  Thaïlande : îles - février 2009

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez