The cruise makes bubbles at Similan

  Thailand: Islands - February 2009

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, click on the French flag below to access the original text:

I have just returned from this four-day dive cruise to the Similan Islands. I'm not going to have the time tonight to post a long bill, but here are some photos. Photos on the water, under the water ...

Similan Islands

And here are some pictures of this fabulous beach of the island called "number 8" Similan, where we made a stop, between two ploufs.

Island No. 8 of the Similan Archipelago. white sand from white and azure water ...

Nothing has changed since my passage from three years ago.

The same white sand, fine as flour, the same translucent floods, the same azure bay that can be admired from above, from the large round rocks on which we climb by clinging to ropes, with footbridges in wood between two blocks of granite.

Similan Island No. 8.

For the rest, comfortable boat and great atmosphere. I have my single cabin and my dive companions are nice, easy-going people. No contingent of Germans, but on the contrary a squarely international clientele.

Thirteen divers, three guides, a videographer, six crew members and a manager of Eden Divers. In all thirteen nationalities: three French, including myself, one Canadian, two Japanese, two Australians, one American, two Slovaks, two Swedes, one Turkish, one German, one Israeli, one South African, one Swiss and the Thais, of course .

UPDATE - October 2014: the story I made here dates from July 2009, do not go book at Eden Divers today, the company no longer exists ... She went bankrupt in the hands of a German, now sued in Austria for fraud who was arrested in Thailand in May 2014. See the articles in English of ThePhuketNews and ChiangRaiTimes.

Dam and Medic are on the diving platform of Eden Divers boat.

Nice atmosphere, no ball, that charming people! For everything to be perfect, it would have been necessary that mantas and whale sharks were at the rendezvous. We hoped for them. But none of the big bugs appeared in the blue ... I'll have to come back to see them!

😀

I realize how lucky I was, three years ago, to meet both underwater ...

Photos under the water

Whatever. The dives were excellent anyway, and I consoled myself with a bunch of other critters, including the inevitable nudibranchs that I love so much ...

My small Canon (Powershot A95)who had been quaking for some time, let me go for good on the second day. I tried everything to revive him: hot, cold, pats, prayers to Buddha, disassembly with a rusty screwdriver ... In vain.

But I was lucky in my misfortune. The Turkish dive-master kindly lent me his little Powershot S30 with his subwoofer.

Not terrible, less powerful than my A95. But it was better than nothing. And I still managed to make some nice little pictures.

I come back delighted with these four days of plots, sea and sun.

Tomorrow Sunday, I have to get up very early, again. The pick-up for the ferry to Koh Lipe is between 6:15 and 6:45 ... Ah, the joys of Thai pick-ups at uncertain times! Until the last minute, we are never too sure that the taxi / bus / minivan expected will arrive ... In general, it always ends up pointing. Never quite on time.

Go. Tomorrow, go to Koh Lipe! And I will find the way to take photos anyway. Promised!

 ;-)

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
Added on 13/04/2009:
Below, two links to complete this post.
»My photos of the Similan
Video of the turtle cross at East of Eden
 :-)

  Thailand: Islands - February 2009

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

La croisière fait des bulles aux Similan

  Thaïlande : îles - février 2009

Je viens de rentrer de cette croisière-plongée de quatre jours aux îles Similan. Je ne vais guère avoir le temps, ce soir, de poster un bien long billet, mais voici déjà quelques photos. Des photos sur l’eau, sous l’eau…

Similan Islands

Et voici quelques images de cette fabuleuse plage de l’île dite « numéro 8 » des Similan, où nous avons fait escale, entre deux ploufs.

L'île n°8 de l'archipel des Similan. sable blanc de chez blanc et eau azur...

Rien n’a changé depuis mon passage d’il y a trois ans.

Le même sable blanc, fin comme de la farine, les mêmes flots translucides, la même baie azur que l’on peut admirer d’en haut, depuis les gros rochers ronds sur lesquels on grimpe en s’agrippant à des cordes, avec passerelles en bois entre deux blocs de granite.

Similan Island n°8.

Pour le reste, bateau confortable et super ambiance. J’ai ma cabine single et mes compagnons de plongées sont des gens sympas, faciles à vivre. Pas de contingent d’Allemands, mais au contraire une clientèle carrément internationale.

Treize plongeurs, trois guides, un vidéaste, six membres d’équipages et un responsable d’Eden Divers. En tout treize nationalités : trois Français dont moi, une Canadienne, deux Japonais, deux Australiens, un Américain, deux Slovaques, deux Suédois, une Turque, un Allemand, un Israélien, un Sud-Africain, un Suisse et les Thaïlandais, bien sûr.

MISE À JOUR – octobre 2014 : le récit que je fait ici date de juillet 2009, n’allez pas réserver chez Eden Divers aujourd’hui, la compagnie n’existe plus… Elle a fait faillite entre les mains d’un Allemand, aujourd’hui poursuivi en Autriche pour escroquerie, qui a été arrêté en Thaïlande en mai 2014. Voir les articles en anglais de ThePhuketNews et ChiangRaiTimes.

Dam et Medic font les malins sur la plateforme de plongée du bateau d'Eden Divers.

Chouette ambiance, pas de boulet, que des gens charmants ! Pour que tout soit parfait, il aurait fallu que les mantas et les requins-baleines soient au rendez-vous. On les a espérés. Mais aucune des grosses bébêtes n’a surgi dans le bleu… Je vais être obligée de revenir pour les voir !

😀

Je me rends compte à quel point j’avais eu de la chance, il y a trois ans, de croiser les deux sous l’eau…

Photos sous l’eau

Qu’importe. Les plongées étaient excellentes quand même, et je me suis consolée avec un paquet d’autres bestioles, dont les inévitables nudibranches que j’aime tant…

Mon petit Canon (Powershot A95), qui faisait des caprices depuis quelque temps, m’a lâché pour de bon dès le deuxième jour. J’ai tout tenté pour le ranimer : le chaud, le froid, les tapes, les prières à Bouddha, le démontage avec un tournevis rouillé… En vain.

Mais j’ai eu de la chance dans mon malheur. La dive-master turque m’a gentiment prêté son petit Powershot S30 avec son caisson.

Pas terrible, moins performant que mon A95. Mais c’était mieux que rien. Et je suis malgré tout arrivée à faire quelques petites images sympathiques.

Je reviens enchantée de ces quatre jours de ploufs, de mer et de soleil.

Demain dimanche, je dois me lever très tôt, encore. Le pick-up pour le ferry à destination de Koh Lipe est entre 6h15-6h45… Ah, les joies des « pick-up » thaïlandais aux horaires incertains ! Jusqu’à la dernière minute, on n’est jamais trop sûr que le taxi/bus/minivan attendu va bien arriver… En général, il finit toujours par se pointer. Jamais tout à fait à l’heure annoncée.

Allez. Demain, rendez-vous à Koh Lipe ! Et je trouverai bien le moyen de faire des photos quand même. Promis !

 ;-)

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
Ajout du 13/04/2009 :
Ci-dessous, deux liens pour compléter ce billet.
 » Mes photos des Similan
 » Vidéo de la tortue croisée à East of Eden
 :-)

  Thaïlande : îles - février 2009

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez