-

Earth Hour around the world

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


One hour in the dark to save the planet ... This is the operation Earth HourSaturday night, in several thousand cities and more than 60 countries, by the World Wildlife Fund (WWF).

Here, the famous Petronas Towers of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, without light.

Petronas Towers. Photo: Lai Seng Sin / AP. Source: Freep.com.

Other beautiful pictures of this Earth Hour all over the world, here:
" picture gallery on The Detroit Free Press (Freep.com)

Sydney kicked off with the opera house and the bridge over the bay suddenly plunged into darkness. All over the world, the lights on more than 370 monuments, including the Eiffel Tower, the Pyramids of Giza, the Acropolis and the Empire State Building, were turned off. For only a few minutes for some, instead of the promised 60 minutes.

The gesture was symbolic. The aim was to raise awareness worldwide about energy saving and global warming, nine months before the Copenhagen summit on this theme. The impact in France is estimated at a drop of just over 1% in electricity consumption.

I admit, I did not do anything special for the planet between 8:30 pm and 9:30 pm, Saturday night. I was sending an email to a colleague to complete an article, for the job ...

But this media and symbolic eclipse of electricity reminded me of night flights, during my travels to the East (not green at all, when one thinks of kerosene consumed by long haul). Seen from the sky, rich countries and poor countries are easily recognized. The first shine brightly, drawing sumptuous luminous mosaics on the ground. In comparison, the second ones seem to have only loupiottes ...

💡

  Between Two Journeys

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Hey, nice tours of Kuala ... I hope to see them in July ....
    For my part, I did not do much for the planet either ... shame on me !!!! Biz!

  2. @ Helen: I'm so glad you left a little comment. I chose this image with you and your holiday plans in mind... 😉
    The key is to do small things on a daily basis, not just the day the WWF has decreed it. Every day, sorting his garbage, taking care not to waste water, gas, electricity, use his car less, etc.

    @Nono: Yes. Such is the paradox of the self-righteous Westerners that we are. We want a greener world, but you, like me, are not ready to give up on far-off journeys. As for the carbon offset so much media, I do not believe too much. It seems to me to be just a new marketing concept to buy a good conscience. I try to pay attention to everyday life, as I said above to Helen. A drop of water in the ocean, I know ... If in addition the election of Miss Maine we grill thousands of kilowatts, it is not won ...
    😡

  3. Me, I was lucky to attend the election of Miss Maine (yes, if) and question lights, we were far from the night lights. I had some difficulties to photograph because of the huge spots that sputtered tons of lights. As I travel more than average, I feel guilty regularly about all the kerosene swallowed and my participation in the damage of the planet. But I continue to fly. Beside that I put out the loupiotes who consume three times nothing ... As logical in my approach as the ecologists who chose to live in the countryside and who eat diesel to go to work, shopping or cinema. Not every day easy to agree with his ideas.

Share
Tweet
Share

Earth Hour à travers le monde

  Entre deux voyages

Une heure dans le noir pour sauver la planète… C’est l’opération Earth Hour, organisée samedi soir, dans plusieurs milliers de villes et plus de 60 pays, par le Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF).

Ici, les célèbres Petronas Towers de Kuala Lumpur, en Malaisie, sans lumière.

Petronas Towers. Photo: Lai Seng Sin / AP. Source: Freep.com.

D’autres superbes images de cette Earth Hour à travers le monde, ici :
 » galerie-photos sur The Detroit Free Press (Freep.com)

Sydney a donné le coup d’envoi : l’opéra et le pont enjambant la baie ont été soudain plongés dans le noir. Sur toute la planète, les éclairages de plus de 370 monuments, parmi lesquels la Tour Eiffel, les pyramides  de Gizeh, l’Acropole ou l’Empire State Building, ont été éteints. Durant quelques minutes seulement pour certains, au lieu des 60 minutes promises.

Le geste était symbolique. L’objectif étant de sensibiliser le monde entier aux économies d’énergie et au réchauffement climatique, à neuf mois du sommet de Copenhague sur ce thème. L’impact, en France, est estimé à une baisse d’un peu plus de 1 % de la consommation d’électricité.

J’avoue, je n’ai rien fait de spécial pour la planète entre 20h30 et 21h30, samedi soir. J’étais en train d’envoyer un mail à une consœur pour compléter un article, pour le boulot…

Mais cette médiatique et symbolique éclipse d’électricité m’a rappelé les vols de nuit, lors de mes voyages vers l’Orient (pas écolos du tout, quand on songe au kérozène consommé par les longs courriers). Vus du ciel, pays riches et pays pauvres se reconnaissent facilement. Les premiers brillent de tout leurs feux, dessinant de somptueuses mosaïques lumineuses au sol. En comparaison, les seconds ne semblent disposer que de loupiottes…

:idea :

  Entre deux voyages

  1. Eh, sympa les tours de Kuala…j’espère bien pouvoir les voir en juillet….
    De mon côté, je n’ai pas fait grand chose pour la planète non plus….honte à moi!!!!Biz!

  2. @Hélène: Je suis bien contente que tu aies laissé un petit commentaire. J’ai choisi cette image en pensant à toi et à tes projets de vacances… 😉
    L’essentiel est de faire au quotidien des petits gestes, et pas seulement le jour où le WWF l’a décrété. Chaque jour, trier ses déchets, veiller à ne pas gaspiller l’eau, le gaz, l’électricité, utiliser moins sa voiture, etc.

    @Nono: Oui. Tel est le paradoxe des Occidentaux bien-pensants que nous sommes. On veut un monde plus écolo, mais toi comme moi, on n’est pas prête à renoncer aux voyages lointains. Quant à la compensation carbone tant médiatisée, je n’y crois pas trop. Ça me semble être juste un nouveau concept marketing pour s’acheter une bonne conscience. J’essaie de faire attention au quotidien, comme je disais plus haut à Hélène. Une goutte d’eau dans l’océan, je sais… Si en plus l’élection de Miss Maine nous grille des milliers de kilowatts, c’est pas gagné…
    😡

  3. Moi, j’avais la chance d’assister à l’élection de miss Maine (si, si) et question lumières, on était bien loin des veilleuses. J’avais d’ailleurs quelques difficultés à photographier à cause des spots énormes qui giclaient des tonnes de lumières. Comme je voyage quand même plus que la moyenne, je culpabilise régulièrement sur tout le kérozène avalé et ma participation à la mise à mal de la planète. Mais je continue de prendre l’avion. A côté de ça j’éteins les loupiotes qui consomment trois fois rien… Aussi logique dans ma démarche que les écolos qui ont choisi de vivre à la campagne et qui bouffent du gazole pour aller au travail, faire des courses ou au ciné. Pas tous les jours facile d’être en accord avec ses idées.

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez