Longimane shark came close, sticking to my goal! (Red Sea, Egypt, November 2017)
Longimane shark came close, sticking to my goal! (Red Sea, Egypt, November 2017)

A Wink from The Longimanus Shark

#Egypt

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Egypt: Red Sea - November 2017

Those who follow me on Facebook have already seen the video in preview... 🦈 Having the chance to observe a shark (or several), during a dive, it always makes the heart beat a little stronger. But film him the back of the eye, because he decided to stick to the dome of your lens photo ... how to say ... It's an experience that I'm not about to forget! ! !

A meeting as intense as unexpected

I let you admire this meeting totally unexpected, intense, such as I lived, with this longiman shark... It was November 13, 2017, at the very end of the dive, at the Habili Ali (Saint John's Reef) site in the southern Red Sea, Egypt.

After an hour of immersion with my pairs of the day Anu and Alain, I discover, at the time of the security stop, a long-legged shark is there, to turn flush with the surface.

There are other divers around us, from another cruise ship than ours. Everyone is fascinated by the show. The shark passes and goes under the boats, more interested than scared by the divers.

A very curious shark

In this month of November 2017, I embarked, as in 2016 at the same time, for a "diving-photo-apnea" cruise, organized by my friends Phil Simha and Rémy Dubern, aboard theExocet. Thanks to them, in 2016, I had already been able to observe the behavior of longimans, in the Brothers Islands:

See article → Under the sea with long-legged sharks

Longimans do not hesitate to go up to shallow depths, they often come to run under the boats. (Small Brother, Red Sea, Egypt, October 2016)
Longimans do not hesitate to go up to shallow depths, they often come to run under the boats. (Small Brother, Red Sea, Egypt, October 2016)

With this first experience, I'm not particularly worried this time around. On the contrary. I look forward to our luck because the site where we are, Habili Ali, one of the reefs of the marine reserve that make up the famous St. John's Reefs, does not have the reputation of being a "corner of longis".

I am therefore very enthusiastic, but also very vigilant: I know the very (very) curious nature of these sharks, and their propensity, especially here in the Red Sea, to come and inspect the webbed human beings very closely.

But I do not know yet, at the moment when all these thoughts cross my mind in the face of this solitary shark, how much I just see ... 👌

Funny wink

Short. I do not let go of the eyes longimane and decide not to turn on my flashes, which I just put on off during our ascent (the sharks are, it seems, very sensitive to electrical impulses from this type of batteries that launch regular recharge cycles).

I just switch from photo mode to video mode and decided to wait a few minutes to 3-5 meters deep, to observe the whereabouts of this unexpected shark, hoping to capture some images.

See as well → Photo and diving: my equipment

The longimane, him, continues to patrol quietly, until (finally!) He decides to come to meet me. Yes ! This time, no doubt, he is really approaching, the back and forth side of his caudal propels him right on me ...

There, no doubt, it's me he comes to see! (Red Sea, Egypt, November 2017)
There, no doubt, it's me he comes to see! (Red Sea, Egypt, November 2017)

It's a moment of grace. Magnificent ! ! ! 😍

I remain well in front of him, the dome of my device stretched at arm's length. I do not move, do not let too many bubbles burst in order not to frighten him. I do not leave the eyes over the top of my box and I wait for the moment when the shark will turn around and go back the other way (as I saw his fellow do it in the past) .

But he does not leave. Not immediately. 😱

For a few seconds (which seems very long), the longimane remains the eye and the "snout" glued to my dome. Fascinated by her own reflection? Hypnotized by the mineral luster of glass? Attracted by the electrical pulse of the camera in video mode?

It ends up coming to the contact! This triggers the reflex movement of a special eyelid, which comes to protect his eye. Never again, other than in documentaries, I had observed this eyelid or "nictitante" membrane in action. Well, well, that's it, it's done.

Screenshots taken from the video. The eyelid is distinctly closed. (Red Sea, Egypt, November 2017)
Screenshots taken from the video. The eyelid is distinctly closed. (Red Sea, Egypt, November 2017)

I discover and I learn, doing some research, that this protective membrane of the eye is common to some 270 species of sharks belonging to the order of Carcharhiniformes (the kind of word not easy to recast in a conversation).

In any case, this brief contact with the dome of my caisson sufficed for it, it immediately gave me company. After his departure, I do not insist and goes back quickly on the Zodiac. But I still do not come back from this funny wink that made me the shark longimane!

😉

See as well → All my dives with sharks

I add below the educational sheet, designed by Steven Surina de Shark Education, on the right attitude to adopt in the water, when one is in the presence of a shark. Note that I have not managed to maintain a distance, except by interposing my camera between the animal and me ...

(Source: Steven Surina / Shark Education)
(Source: Steven Surina / Shark Education)

  Egypt: Red Sea - November 2017

175 Shares
Share160
Tweet8
Pine1
Share6

Le requin longimane est venu tout près, se coller à mon objectif ! (Mer Rouge, Égypte, novembre 2017)
Le requin longimane est venu tout près, se coller à mon objectif ! (Mer Rouge, Égypte, novembre 2017)

Le clin d’œil du requin longimane

#Égypte

  Égypte : Mer Rouge - novembre 2017

Ceux qui me suivent sur Facebook ont déjà vu la vidéo en avant-première… 🦈 Avoir la chance d’observer un requin (ou plusieurs), lors d’une plongée, ça fait toujours battre le cœur un peu plus fort. Mais lui filmer le fond de l’œil, parce qu’il a décidé de venir se coller au dôme de ton objectif photo… comment dire… C’est une expérience que je ne suis pas près d’oublier ! ! !

Une rencontre aussi intense qu’inattendue

Je vous laisse admirer cette rencontre totalement inattendue, intense, telle que je l’ai vécue, avec ce requin longimane… C’était le 13 novembre 2017, en toute fin de plongée, au site de Habili Ali (Saint-John’s Reef) dans le sud de la Mer Rouge, en Égypte.

Au terme d’une heure d’immersion avec mes binômes du jour Anu et Alain, je découvre, au moment du palier de sécurité, qu’un requin longimane est là, à tourner au ras de la surface.

Il y a autour de nous d’autres plongeurs, d’un autre bateau de croisière que le nôtre. Tout le monde est fasciné par le spectacle. Le requin passe et repasse sous les bateaux, plus intéressé qu’effrayé par les plongeurs.

Un requin très curieux

En ce mois de novembre 2017, j’ai embarqué, comme en 2016 à la même époque, pour une croisière « plongée-photo-apnée », organisée par mes amis Phil Simha et Rémy Dubern, à bord de l’Exocet. Grâce à eux, en 2016, j’avais déjà pu observer le comportement des longimanes, aux îles Brothers :

Voir l’article → Sous la mer avec les requins longimanes

Les longimanes n'hésitent pas à remonter à faible profondeur, ils viennent souvent roder sous les bateaux. (Small Brother, Mer Rouge, Égypte, octobre 2016)
Les longimanes n’hésitent pas à remonter à faible profondeur, ils viennent souvent roder sous les bateaux. (Small Brother, Mer Rouge, Égypte, octobre 2016)

Forte de cette première expérience, je ne suis donc pas spécialement inquiète cette fois-ci. Au contraire. Je me réjouis de notre chance, car le site où nous sommes, Habili Ali, l’un des récifs de la réserve marine qui composent les fameux Saint-John’s Reefs, n’a pas la réputation d’être « un coin à longis ».

Je suis donc très enthousiaste, mais aussi très vigilante : je connais le naturel très (trop) curieux de ces requins, et leur propension, en particulier ici en Mer Rouge, à venir inspecter les êtres humains palmés de très près.

Mais je ne sais pas encore, au moment où toutes ces pensées me traversent l’esprit face à ce requin solitaire, à quel point je vois juste… 👌

Drôle de clin d’œil

Bref. Je ne lâche donc pas le longimane des yeux et décide de ne pas rallumer mes flashes, que je viens de mettre sur off lors de notre remontée (les squales sont, semble-t-il, très sensibles aux impulsions électriques provenant de ce type de batteries qui lancent des cycles de recharge réguliers).

Je me contente de basculer du mode photo au mode vidéo et décide de patienter quelques minutes à 3-5 mètres de profondeur, pour observer les allées et venues de ce requin inattendu, en espérant bien en capturer quelques images.

Voir aussi → Photo et plongée : mon matériel

Le longimane, lui, continue à patrouiller tranquillement, jusqu’au moment où (enfin !) il se décide à venir à ma rencontre. Oui ! Cette  fois, pas de doute, il approche vraiment, le va-et-vient latéral de sa caudale le propulse droit sur moi… 

Là, pas de doute, c'est moi qu'il vient voir ! (Mer Rouge, Égypte, novembre 2017)
Là, pas de doute, c’est moi qu’il vient voir ! (Mer Rouge, Égypte, novembre 2017)

C’est un instant de grâce. Ma-gni-fi-que ! ! ! 😍

Je reste bien face à lui, le dôme de mon appareil tendu à bout de bras. Je ne bouge pas, ne laisse pas fuser trop de bulles pour ne pas l’effrayer. Je ne le quitte pas des yeux par-dessus le sommet de mon caisson et j’attends le moment où le squale va faire volte-face et repartir dans l’autre sens (comme j’ai vu ses congénères le faire par le passé).

Mais il ne repart pas. Pas tout de suite. 😱

Durant quelques secondes (qui me paraissent très longues), le longimane reste l’œil et le « museau » collés à mon dôme. Fasciné par son propre reflet ? Hypnotisé par l’éclat minéral du verre ? Attiré par l’impulsion électrique de l’appareil en mode vidéo ?

Il finit alors par venir carrément au contact ! Ce qui déclenche le mouvement réflexe d’une paupière spéciale, qui vient protéger son œil. Jamais encore, ailleurs que dans des documentaires, je n’avais observé cette paupière ou membrane « nictitante » en action. Bon, ben, voilà, ça, c’est fait.

Captures d'écran extraites de la vidéo. On voit distinctement la paupière se refermer. (Mer Rouge, Égypte, novembre 2017)
Captures d’écran extraites de la vidéo. On voit distinctement la paupière se refermer. (Mer Rouge, Égypte, novembre 2017)

Je découvre et j’apprends, en faisant quelques recherches, que cette membrane protectrice de l’œil est commune à quelque 270 espèces de requins appartenant à l’ordre des Carcharhiniformes (le genre de mot pas facile à recaser dans une conversation).

En tout cas, ce bref contact avec le dôme de mon caisson lui a suffi, il m’a aussitôt faussé compagnie. Après son départ, je n’insiste pas et remonte rapidement sur le Zodiac. Mais je n’en reviens toujours pas de ce drôle de clin d’œil que m’a fait le requin longimane !

😉

Voir aussi → Toutes mes plongées avec des requins

Je rajoute ci-dessous la fiche pédagogique, conçue par Steven Surina de Shark Education, sur la bonne attitude à adopter dans l’eau, quand on est en présence d’un requin. Notez que je n’ai pas réussi à maintenir une distance, si ce n’est en interposant mon caisson photographique entre l’animal et moi…

(Source : Steven Surina / Shark Education)
(Source : Steven Surina / Shark Education)

  Égypte : Mer Rouge - novembre 2017

176 Partages
Partagez160
Tweetez8
Enregistrer2
Partagez6