Mola mola-. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.

The agony of mola-mola

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2010

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

It's just a fish, I know. No misery moved. Still, it's sad to see, a mola-mola in agony ...

The mola-mola, that's the big moonfish that I met at Nusa Penida, near Bali, in 2008. This summer, near Bangka Island, in Sulawesi, I saw one again ... in less pleasant circumstances.

An unusual catch

They are fishermen from the area who came to find us, between two dives.

Mola mola-. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Hookah fishermen, Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.

We were all a small group on the boat from Mimpi Indah. On the Indonesian side: our guide Jemi and a friend of his, Rocky, who is also a dive guide, but who just accompanied us that day; our captain and his sailor.

Side tourists: four Italians on vacation; Clare, a young Scottish girl passing her dive-master; and then me, the French girl who takes pictures underwater.

Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.

On the little swing boat that approaches ours, hookah fishermen. I spot the regulators and the small compressor. I have not been too successful in knowing if they just pick up pots, or what they usually catch, and under what conditions ...

Still, that day, they made an unusual catch: a mola mola, !

Mola mola-. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Mola mola-. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.

A sick or injured moonfish

Clare can not believe it. She has never seen one. Italians either. We all open round eyes. Very excited, the guides and the captain get on the small fishing boat, to see the animal more closely. And take pictures with their cell phones!

The big fish has a glassy eye, and the other half bloody. Sick, hurt? He is still alive, but not very lively. He stirs his big dorsal fin a little, around which the fishermen have wrapped a rope.

From the explanations I got, it turns out that the fishermen found this mola-mola on the surface. The fish was already in bad shape, they had no trouble catching it and attaching it to the hull of their boat.

They do not want to keep it, just show it to us. Moreover, after having chatted with our guys, they undo the ropes and release him.

The fish floats on the flank first, instead of straightening up. He seems unable to swim. Then he regains some strength, sinks under the surface, shakes his dorsal fin, moves a little away from the boat. But he's struggling.

Mola mola-. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Mola mola-. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.

Two swimmers to the rescue

As a result, Jemi and Rocky slip fins and mask and get into the water. They join the mola-mola and swim next to him, on both sides.

They are a bit far. Difficult, from the boat, to see if they push it or drag it, to help it go further offshore. After a long time, they turn around and come back to us. The captain raises the engine of the boat to recover them.

Mola mola-. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Mola mola-. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.

Once on board, they shake their heads. Their efforts did not change the case. The mola-mola was struggling to swim. He is unlikely to survive.

The animal returned to the sea, the two "rescuers" hurry around my photos, made with my little backup camera that I had the good idea to carry (my 7D was in the box for underwater photos, with the macro lens, so unusable for taking "normal" pictures). Everyone goes for their comment. I tell the molas-molas of Nusa Lembongan.

I do not know if the Bangka Moonfish survived. I doubt it, given its condition. It seemed rather dying. But who knows? Nature sometimes has amazing resources.

The mola-mola dance

Small addition below, to console the saddest: the video of mola-mola, well alive that one, crossed in the waters of Nusa Penida, near Bali, in 2008 (and I then timidly performing the famous dance mola-mola, underwater choreography very popular at World Diving, excellent dive-shop on Nusa Lembongan) ...

????

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2010

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Sad story ... it's so beautiful and so rare a fish moon ... especially over there. It only remains to hope that the harsh law of nature will save him ...

  2. Beautiful story, who would have interested Hemingway!

    What is the origin of this strange name mola-mola? I prefer him to moon fish, more poetic.

  3. @Manta: Beautiful and rare, certainly ... And when you are a diver / dive, you also feel more concerned. I have also seen some carcasses of sharks with cut fins floating on the surface in the Togian, as well as turtles and small dead sharks caught in underwater nets in other places ... Men finally make more than damage that the "hard" law of nature.
    😳

    @Ysbilia: I foolishly believed that "mola-mola" was the local, Indonesian name for the moon fish. In fact, it's his Latin scientific name (for want of being able to ask Hemingway, I inquired with Wikipedia: http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/M%C3%B4le_%28poisson%29 ). In everyday language, it is also called "mole" or "fish-mole".
    And this is the binomial nomenclature (thanks again Wikipedia: http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nom_binominal ) which earned him the repetition of the name: mola-mola. "Finally, the mole was classified with the" Mola ramsayi "in a specific genus - Mola - of which she is the type species. "
    😀

  4. More info for Ysbilia:

    The term "mole" probably derives from the Latin mola which means a "grindstone" or a big stone. This species should therefore be named for its gray color, rough texture and round body. Another common name for the pier is "moon fish", a term found in Italian (pesce luna), Spanish (pez luna), Portuguese (Peixe-lua), German (Mondfisch). This name is due to its round shape reminiscent of that of the moon.

    😉

  5. Superbe, ta vidéo du poisson-lune… de beaux instants… souvent vu en surface, je n’ai pas encore eu l’occasion de croiser le poisson-lune sous l’eau 🙁

  6. Histoire tres triste 😥
    Fortunately we come across more live moon fish than dead ... Hoping that they do not become a miracle cure for imaginary diseases like other rare species!

22 Shares
Share22
Tweet
Pine
Share

Mola-mola. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

L’agonie du mola-mola

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2010

Ce n’est qu’un poisson, je sais bien. Pas de sensiblerie déplacée. N’empêche, c’est triste à voir, un mola-mola à l’agonie…

Le mola-mola, c’est ce gros poisson-lune que j’avais rencontré à Nusa Penida, près de Bali, en 2008. Cet été, près de l’île de Bangka, à Sulawesi, j’en ai revu un… dans des circonstances moins plaisantes.

Une prise inhabituelle

Ce sont des pêcheurs du coin qui sont venus nous trouver, entre deux plongées.

Mola-mola. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Pêcheurs au narguilé, Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Nous étions tout un petit groupe sur le bateau du Mimpi Indah. Côté Indonésiens : notre guide Jemi et un pote à lui, Rocky, qui est aussi guide de plongée, mais qui nous accompagnait simplement ce jour-là ; notre capitaine et son matelot.

Côté touristes : quatre Italiens en vacances ; Clare, une jeune Écossaise en train de passer son dive-master ; et puis moi, la Française qui fait des photos sous l’eau.

Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Sur le petit bateau à balancier qui s’approche du nôtre, des pêcheurs au narguilé. Je repère les détendeurs et le petit compresseur. Je n’ai pas trop réussi à savoir s’ils se contentent de relever des casiers, ni ce qu’ils pêchent habituellement, ni dans quelles conditions…

Toujours est-il que ce jour-là, ils ont fait une prise inhabituelle : un mola-mola !

Mola-mola. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Mola-mola. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Un poisson-lune malade ou blessé

Clare n’en revient pas. Elle n’en a jamais vu. Les Italiens non plus. On ouvre tous des yeux ronds. Très excités, les guides et le capitaine montent sur le petit bateau des pêcheurs, pour voir la bête de plus près. Et prendre des photos avec leurs téléphones portables !

Le gros poisson a un œil vitreux, et l’autre à moitié sanglant. Malade, blessé ? Il est encore vivant, mais plus très vif. Il remue un peu sa grosse nageoire dorsale, autour de laquelle les pêcheurs ont enroulé une corde.

Des explications que j’ai pu obtenir, il en ressort que les pêcheurs ont trouvé ce mola-mola en surface. Le poisson était déjà mal en point, ils n’ont eu aucun mal à l’attraper et l’attacher à la coque de leur embarcation.

Ils ne veulent pas le garder, juste nous le montrer. D’ailleurs, après avoir papoté avec nos gars, ils défont les cordes et le relâchent.

Le poisson flotte d’abord sur le flanc, au lieu de se redresser. Il semble incapable de nager. Puis il reprend un peu de vigueur, s’enfonce sous la surface, agite sa nageoire dorsale, s’éloigne un peu du bateau. Mais il peine.

Mola-mola. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Mola-mola. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Deux nageurs à la rescousse

Du coup, Jemi et Rocky renfilent palmes et masque et se mettent à l’eau. Ils rejoignent le mola-mola et nagent à côté de lui, de part et d’autre.

Ils sont un peu loin. Difficile, depuis le bateau, de voir s’ils le poussent ou le traînent, pour l’aider à aller plus vers le large. Au bout d’un long moment, ils font demi-tour et reviennent vers nous. Le capitaine relance le moteur du bateau pour les récupérer.

Mola-mola. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Mola-mola. Bangka Island, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Une fois à bord, ils secouent la tête. Leurs efforts n’ont rien changé à l’affaire. Le mola-mola avait du mal à nager. Il est peu probable qu’il survive.

L’animal rendu à la mer, les deux « sauveteurs » se pressent autour de mes photos, faites avec mon petit APN de secours que j’avais eu la bonne idée d’emporter (mon 7D était dans le caisson pour les photos subaquatiques, avec l’objectif macro, donc inutilisable pour prendre des photos « normales »). Chacun y va de son commentaire. Je raconte les molas-molas de Nusa Lembongan.

Je ne sais pas si le poisson-lune de Bangka a survécu. J’en doute, vu son état. Il me semblait plutôt agonisant. Mais qui sait ? La nature a parfois des ressources étonnantes.

La danse du mola-mola

Petit ajout ci-dessous, pour consoler les plus tristes : la vidéo du mola-mola, bien vivant celui-là, croisé dans les eaux de Nusa Penida, près de Bali, en 2008 (et moi accomplissant ensuite timidement la fameuse danse du mola-mola, chorégraphie subaquatique très populaire chez World Diving, excellent dive-shop sur Nusa Lembongan)…

😂

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2010

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

  1. Triste récit… c’est si beau et si rare un poisson lune… surtout par là bas. Il ne reste qu’à espérer que la dure loi de la nature le sauvera…

  2. Beau récit, qui aurait intéressé Hemingway!

    Quel est l’ origine de ce nom étrange mola-mola ? je lui préfère celui de poisson-lune, plus poétique .

  3. @Manta: Beau et rare, assurément… Et quand on est plongeur / plongeuse, on se sent aussi plus concerné(e). J’ai par le passé aperçu aussi quelques carcasses de requins aux ailerons coupés flottant en surface aux Togian, ainsi que des tortues et des petits requins morts pris dans des filets sous l’eau en d’autres lieux… Les hommes font finalement plus de dégâts que la « dure » loi de la nature.
    😳

    @Ysbilia: Je croyais bêtement que « mola-mola » était le nom local, indonésien, du poisson-lune. En fait, c’est son nom scientifique latin (faute de pouvoir demander à Hemingway, je me suis renseignée auprès de Wikipédia: http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/M%C3%B4le_%28poisson%29 ). En langage courant, on l’appelle aussi « môle », ou « poisson-môle ».
    Et c’est la nomenclature binomale (merci encore Wikipédia: http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nom_binominal ) qui lui vaut le redoublement du nom : mola-mola. « Finalement, la môle a été classée avec la « Mola ramsayi » dans un genre propre — Mola — dont elle est l’espèce type. »
    😀

  4. Complément d’info pour Ysbilia :

    Le terme « môle » dérive probablement du latin mola qui désigne une « meule » ou une grosse pierre. Cette espèce devrait donc son nom à sa couleur grise, sa texture rugueuse et son corps rond. Un autre nom courant de la môle est « poisson lune », terme que l’on retrouve en italien (pesce luna), espagnol (pez luna), en portugais (Peixe-lua), en allemand (Mondfisch). Ce nom est dû à sa forme ronde rappelant celle de la lune.

    😉

  5. Superbe, ta vidéo du poisson-lune… de beaux instants… souvent vu en surface, je n’ai pas encore eu l’occasion de croiser le poisson-lune sous l’eau 🙁

  6. Histoire tres triste 😥
    Heureusement qu’on croise plus de poissons lune vivants que morts… En esperant qu’ils ne deviennent pas un remede miracle pour maladies imaginaires comme d’autres especes rares!

22 Partages
Partagez22
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez