We must start when we see his flamboyant dress orange and blue patterns, because the second after, it has disappeared into the depths of the coral substrate. (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2010)
We must start when we see his flamboyant dress orange and blue patterns, because the second after, it has disappeared into the depths of the coral substrate. (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2010)

A mandarin at dusk

#Bangka #Sulawesi # Indonesia

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2010

It's a rarity. A shy little fish that shows up only at the end of the day. It's on the house-reef of the resort Mimpi Indahat Bangka Island I found the Mandarin fish. It was during my stay in Sulawesi (Indonesia), in July 2010.

Elusive

Flamboyant tangerine dress, electric blue stripes, waving flippers ... So early glimpse, so soon disappeared. The Mandarin fish is lively, elusive. Almost impossible to photograph.

Mandarin is a very small fish and a big shy, who prefers to stay hidden in the intertwined coral debris. (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2010)
Mandarin is a very small fish and a big shy, who prefers to stay hidden in the intertwined coral debris. (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2010)

He prefers to stay hidden under the protective interlacing of the coral, of course. Where the lens of my Canon Eos 7D has a hard time making the focus.

Especially under water the light declines even faster, as the night falls.

Night dive

But Jemi, my Indonesian guide, promised me a Mandarin to finish the stay. And I, the chilly one who usually is reluctant to return to the water after dusk, so I agreed to a night dive!

I do not regret.

We spent an infinite time at shallow depth, hanging over the reef, motionless, on the lookout, eyes wide, lulled by a light surf.

At regular intervals, Jemi sweeps the pile of coral branches with the brush of his flashlight. He took care to alleviate the too bright light with a red plastic bag. He proceeds without a sudden gesture, taking dark pauses.

Our patience ends up paying. We see several.

Patience game

Without too much effort, I try to draw them the portrait, to these small mandarin fish frightened by our presence.

Result: a lot of failures and a single picture vaguely showable. Which hardly translates the enchantment of this long waiting in weightlessness, of this game of patience in a subaqueous twilight atmosphere.

We must start when we see his flamboyant dress orange and blue patterns, because the second after, it has disappeared into the depths of the coral substrate. (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2010)
We must start when we see his flamboyant dress orange and blue patterns, because the second after, it has disappeared into the depths of the coral substrate. (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2010)

This is the second time, in my life as a diver, that I have the chance to meet mandarin fishes: there had been, in 2008, this other dive in the Philippines, on the reef of the island of Siquijor, which I had loved so much.

But I'm sure there will be others!

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2010

  1. Last summer in bunaken I had the chance to go watch these little mandarins, twice I was treated to a magical show. During the second dive there is even a cute little drier who came to make his girlfriend in front of my goal! All this to say that day and night the underwater world is fairy even for a cloister who is afraid of black like me!
    In any case thank you for sharing these stories and photos (too rare for my taste !!), continue! And it gives me ideas to prepare the next vacation!

  2. Simply beautiful, I met a small family not too shy this year on the island of Bantayan in the Philippines ... A memorable dive I invite you to take a look at the clichés on my blog 8)

  3. Ah, mandarins ... still a miniature beauty like nudibranchs ... but so much more difficult to photograph!
    I love them so much that I have dedicated to them a photo gallery: http://www.mantaleau.fr/galeries/2006_oct_bunaken_mandarins/N4_Galerie_2006_oct_bunaken_mandarins.html
    It was in Bunaken, not far away ...
    In Bangka, I was surprised to see one day ... but even more stealthily and hidden than the night! Lembeh was also a nice place to see them, like on the Reef House of various lodge

  4. Besides the beauty of this little fish, his name is full of seduction; it is inevitably reminiscent of Chinese mandarins, and if moreover, it is a shy, what a beautiful underwater tale you could imagine! 💡 🙂

    Thank you for these photos! 😉

  5. @nani: This night dive was fantastic. After the mandarins, we stayed a long time under water, and like you, we crossed a lot of other critters ...
    I'm going to buy new tickets, promised!
    😉

    @fabrice: They are not easy to see, a guide has to take you to the right place, and then it's a matter of patience ...
    🙄

    @OLeev: I come back your blog: your photos of the little family of mandarins (and others) are beautiful! Thank you for the link. This Filipino trip reminds me of good memories ...
    🙂

    @manta: Thank you for the link, and congratulations for all these pictures of the mandarins. They deserved a whole gallery! I did not dive on the housereef of Divers Lodge in Lembeh ... Next time!
    🙄

    @ysbilia: I discovered that it is also called cashmere fish, which is just as elegant.
    🙂

  6. I enjoyed the Filipino trip this year a really very open people !!!
    Regarding the photos thank you for the compliment in passing 8) but I really think that I invest in a box for my SLR !!! the photo of the mandarins were taken with the small Olympus MJU 8000 of my girlfriend who hold the 10m but I think I drowned after this descent between 8 and 9m, he began to take the fleet thereafter 🙁 but good photos are here 🙂 in the meantime I let you take a look at my gallery Underwater Photography on my photo blog.
    The photos are shot with the gear that you want to lend me on the road 😀 good and bad at last I leave you alone judge!
    hoping to be able to read you again and again and then maybe we can meet you next day during our joint wanderings, this year we met you very little you had the good weather on Sulawesi and me the fleet 😀 but what a country! !!

    Ps: I went through the island retreat this year and pulled my buddies from Fadilah Cottage to see Bomba's side too but what a disappointment the kitchen has apparently changed drastically, I remembered your pics of pizza and other pretty put we arrived on a completely abandoned corner and a fairly average basic kitchen! but good nearly 3 years have passed since! So finally short, that's what we say.
    Happy new year and long life the little bubble 😉
    see you soon

  7. @OLeev: I had good weather in the beginning, but at the end of my stay in Sulawesi, it was pretty good too ... The locals told me that they did not understand anything, that it was not the season of rains, normally, that the climate was broken, etc. etc.

    About your PS: yes, everything can change very quickly in Asia. I do not know if Sylvie Manley is still there, supervise the bungalows and the kitchen as she did at the time ... During my stay, thanks to her, the place was charming and the food great.

    Good trips in Asia!
    8)

  8. Wow, I'm going to Bangka and Siladen next March (Coral Eyes and Bobocha), do you think we can see mandarins in snorkeling? (I do not dive)
    Catherine (Rennes too)

    1. @Catherine: not practicing snorkeling, I do not realize how easy it is to approach the mandarins just in fins-mask-tuba at dusk. It is certainly doable if there is a shallow mandarins corner and I imagine that a swimmer is less noisy than a bottle diver who makes bubbles. Ask once on the spot ...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

17 Shares
Share17
Tweet
Pine
Share

Il faut déclencher dès qu'on aperçoit sa robe flamboyante aux motifs orange et bleus, car la seconde d'après, il a disparu dans les profondeurs du substrat corallien . (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2010)
Il faut déclencher dès qu'on aperçoit sa robe flamboyante aux motifs orange et bleus, car la seconde d'après, il a disparu dans les profondeurs du substrat corallien . (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2010)

Un mandarin au crépuscule

#Bangka #Sulawesi #Indonésie

Édité le

C’est une rareté. Un petit poisson timide qui ne se montre qu’à la fin du jour. C’est sur le house-reef du resort Mimpi Indah, à Bangka Island, que j’ai retrouvé le poisson-mandarin. C’était lors de mon séjour à Sulawesi (Indonésie), en juillet 2010.

Insaisissable

Robe mandarine flamboyante, rayures bleu électrique, nageoires ondoyantes… Si tôt aperçu, si tôt disparu. Le poisson-mandarin est vif, insaisissable. Quasi impossible à photographier.

Le mandarin est un tout petit poisson et un grand timide, qui préfère rester caché dans les entrelacs des débris coralliens. (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2010)
Le mandarin est un tout petit poisson et un grand timide, qui préfère rester caché dans les entrelacs des débris coralliens. (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2010)

Il préfère rester planqué sous les entrelacs protecteurs du corail, bien sûr. Là où l’objectif de mon Canon Eos 7D a bien du mal à faire la mise au point.

D’autant que sous l’eau la lumière décline encore plus vite, au fur et à mesure que la nuit tombe.

Plongée de nuit

Mais Jemi, mon guide indonésien, m’a promis un mandarin pour finir le séjour. Et moi, la frileuse qui rechigne habituellement à retourner dans l’eau après le crépuscule, j’ai donc consenti à une plongée de nuit !

Je ne regrette pas.

Nous avons passé un temps infini à faible profondeur, suspendus au-dessus du récif, immobiles, à l’affût, les yeux écarquillés, bercés par un léger ressac.

À intervalles réguliers, Jemi balaye l’amas de branches de corail  avec le pinceau de sa lampe-torche. Il a pris soin d’en atténuer la trop vive lumière avec un sac plastique rouge. Il procède sans geste brusque, en ménageant des pauses obscures.

Notre patience finit par payer. Nous en apercevons plusieurs.

Jeu de patience

Sans trop m’acharner, je tente de leur tirer le portrait, à ces petits poissons-mandarins effarouchés par notre présence.

Résultat : pas mal de ratages et une seule photo vaguement montrable. Qui ne traduit guère l’enchantement de cette longue attente en apesanteur, de ce jeu de patience dans une ambiance subaquatique crépusculaire.

Il faut déclencher dès qu'on aperçoit sa robe flamboyante aux motifs orange et bleus, car la seconde d'après, il a disparu dans les profondeurs du substrat corallien . (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2010)
Il faut déclencher dès qu’on aperçoit sa robe flamboyante aux motifs orange et bleus, car la seconde d’après, il a disparu dans les profondeurs du substrat corallien . (Pulau Bangka, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2010)

C’est la deuxième fois, dans ma vie de plongeuse, que j’ai la chance de rencontrer des poissons-mandarins : il y avait eu, en 2008, cette autre plongée aux Philippines, sur le récif de l’île de Siquijor, que j’avais tant aimée.

Mais je suis sûre qu’il y en aura d’autres !

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2010

  1. L’été dernier à bunaken j’ai eu la chance d’aller observer ces petits mandarins, par deux fois j’ai eu droit à un spectacle magique. Lors de la deuxième plongée il y a même une petite sèche toute mignonne qui est venue faire sa coquette devant mon objectif ! Tout ça pour dire que de jour comme de nuit le monde sous marin est féerique même pour une claustro qui a peur du noir comme moi !!
    En tout cas merci de nous faire partager ces récits et photos (trop rares à mon goût !!), continue !! Et puis ça me donne des idées pour préparer les prochaines vacances !!N.

  2. Tout simplement magnifique, j’ai croisé une petite famille pas trop timide cette année sur l’ile de Bantayan aux Philippines … Une plongée mémorable je vous invite à jeter un oeil aux clichés presents sur mon blog 8)

  3. Ah, les mandarins… encore une beauté miniature comme les nudibranches… mais tellement plus difficile à photographier!
    Je les aime tellement que je leur ai dédié une galerie de photos: http://www.mantaleau.fr/galeries/2006_oct_bunaken_mandarins/N4_Galerie_2006_oct_bunaken_mandarins.html
    C’était à Bunaken, pas très loin…
    A Bangka, j’ai eu la surprise d’en voir de jour… mais encore plus furtivement et cachés que la nuit! Lembeh était aussi un endroit sympa pour les voir, comme sur le house Reef de divers Lodge

  4. Outre la beauté ce ce petit poisson, son nom est plein de séduction; il fait inévitablement penser aux mandarins chinois, et si de surcroît, c’ est un timide, quel beau conte subaquatique on pourrait imaginer! 💡 🙂

    Merci pour ces photos! 😉

  5. @nani: Cette plongée de nuit a été fantastique. Après les mandarins, nous sommes encore restés très longtemps sous l’eau, et comme toi, nous avons croisé tout un tas d’autres bestioles…
    Je vais m’atteler à de nouveaux billets, promis !
    😉

    @fabrice: Ils ne sont pas faciles à voir, il faut qu’un guide t’emmène au bon endroit, et ensuite, c’est une question de patience…
    🙄

    @OLeev: Je reviens ton blog : tes photos de la petite famille de mandarins (et les autres) sont magnifiques !!! Merci pour le lien. Ce trip philippin me rappelle de bons souvenirs…
    🙂

    @manta: Merci pour le lien, et bravo pour toutes ces photos des mandarins. Ils méritaient bien une galerie entière ! Je n’ai pas plongé sur le housereef de Divers Lodge à Lembeh… La prochaine fois !
    🙄

    @ysbilia: J’ai découvert qu’on l’appelle aussi poisson-cachemire, ce qui est tout aussi élégant.
    🙂

  6. J’ai bien aimé le trip philippines cette année un peuple vraiment très ouvert !!!
    Concernant les photos merci du compliment au passage 8) mais il faut vraiment que je pense à investir dans un caisson pour mon reflex !!! les photo des mandarins ont été prises avec le petit Olympus MJU 8000 de ma copine qui tiens les 10m mais je pense l’avoir noyé après cette descente entre 8 et 9m, il à commencé à prendre la flotte par la suite 🙁 mais bon les photos sont là 🙂 en attendant je te laisse jeter un œil à ma galerie Underwater Photography sur mon blog photo.
    Les photos sont shootées avec le matos que l’on veux bien me prêter sur la route 😀 du bon et du moins bon enfin je te laisse seule juge !
    en espérant pouvoir te lire encore et encore et puis peut être qui sait te croiser un jour prochain lors de nos pérégrinations communes, cette année nous nous sommes croisés de peu tu as eu le beau temps sur Sulawesi et moi la flotte 😀 mais quel pays !!!

    Ps: Je suis passé par l’island retreat cette année et ai tiré mes potes de chez Fadilah Cottage pour aller voir du coté de Bomba aussi mais quelle déception la cuisine a apparemment radicalement changée, je me rappelai de tes photos de pizza et autres jolis mets nous sommes arrivés sur un coin complètement laissé à l’abandon et une cuisine de base assez moyenne !!! mais bon prés de 3 ans sont passés depuis !!! Donc enfin bref voilà histoire de dire quoi.
    Bonne année et longue vie la p’tite bulle 😉
    à très bientôt

  7. @OLeev: J’ai eu beau temps au début, mais à la fin de mon séjour à Sulawesi, il a pas mal plu aussi… Les gens du coin me disaient qu’ils n’y comprenait rien, que ce n’était pas la saison des pluies, normalement, que le climat était détraqué, etc. etc.

    À propos de ton PS : oui, tout peut changer très vite en Asie. Je ne sais pas si Sylvie Manley est toujours là, à superviser les bungalows et la cuisine comme elle le faisait à l’époque… Lors de mon passage, grâce à elle, l’endroit était charmant et la bouffe grandiose.

    Bons périples en Asie !
    8)

  8. Wahou, je vais à Bangka et à Siladen en mars prochain (au Coral Eyes et au Bobocha), pensez-vous que l’on peut voir des mandarins en snorkeling ? (je ne plonge pas).
    Catherine (Rennes aussi)

    1. @Catherine : ne pratiquant guère le snorkeling, je ne me rends pas bien compte s’il est facile d’approcher les mandarins juste en palmes-masque-tuba à l’heure du crépuscule. C’est sûrement faisable s’il y a un coin à mandarins peu profond et j’imagine qu’un nageur est moins bruyant qu’un plongeur-bouteille qui fait des bulles. Demandez une fois sur place…

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

17 Partages
Partagez17
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez