-

Dance with the moonfish

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation of an article originally written in French. I apologise for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have resulted. If you read French, click on the French flag below to access the original, correct text: 


I can not resist the pleasure of showing you on video the dance of the mola-mola (and, of course, the mola-mola), after having (finally) met this big moon fish in the waters of Nusa Penida.

Mola-mola in Nusa Penida

I've put together a little video sequence full of bubbles, so you can appreciate the style and grace of the big cosmic beast. I had the chance to admire this beautiful sunfish at the end of July 2008, in the waters of Crystal Bay, in Nusa Penida (This island is located southeast of Bali and accessible by boat from Sanur or from neighboring Nusa Lembongan, where I stayed).

As for the mola-mola dance, it is practiced by divers eager to share their enthusiasm of having met the beast... One hand above the head, the other under the buttocks, to imitate the fins of the sunfish. Check out my underwater choreography at the end of the video! 😂

A fabulous dive, which seems far away already ... I will not be able to do the mola-mola dance again soon.

A big danke for the final images to my buddy and benevolent accomplice Peter Modrow, who filmed my bubbles and my aquatic contortions.

????

Previous articles on my encounters with mola-molas:
→ I swam with a mola-mola
→ Mola-mola, the return

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Gee, that's a big one!!! 😯 I'm so glad I finally got a better idea of this mola-mola you've been telling us so much about!!!!
    Thank you!!!!

  2. @ Helen:

    Yes, it's very big, huge!!! 😯 😛 😮

    It's the first thing you think when you see one underwater for the first time. A sunfish is both beautiful and impressive. One of my strongest underwater emotions on this trip...

    Okay, I'll stop there with the molas-molas. I turn mono-maniac, with this bug!

    😆

  3. Impressive, I've heard a lot about the mola, I was even promised that I would see some and it never happened.
    You're irresistible imitating him though 😉

  4. @ Denis:

    Yes, there's nothing more frustrating than not seeing the promised mola-mola... So imagine my disappointment on the 2nd dive there, when I was the only one on the boat to miss the beast! Fortunately, I made up for it in the days that followed.
    😀

    Out of a total of five dives at Crystal Bay, I saw the sunfish three times (nothing on the 1st trip, missed on the 2nd and saw it on each of the following three). So that's a pretty good average... If you ever get the chance to get your fins wet there in the right season (July to September, unless I'm mistaken), you should still have a good chance of seeing one.
    🙄

    And then, the "mola-mola dance" at the landing, it's the new summer dance that makes you irresistible, it's well known!!!!
    😆

  5. I hope to say hello to this mola next July, I also have a great memory of a fresh coco on Crystal Bay beach!

  6. @Sonia: Ah... there was more than one mola-mola in Crystal Bay. I hope you get the chance, like me, to see them! They're a fabulous sight.
    😀

  7. May 13, 2010, 12 minutes of happiness ...

    Followed by an hour at Manta Point...

    And Monday, I work!
    I'm passing on the link to this great video to my new "boss"...also a diver!

  8. @ Blue shrimp: Chic! A new molas-mola worshipper!!! How I envy you for having been able to rub shoulders with these charming critters recently... Good luck with Monday's resumption, then. If you're ever feeling a little sluggish, don't hesitate to relaunch the video.
    😉

  9. Hello,
    I'm back from 10 days on Gili Air after a week in Bali. What a disappointment!! all the corals are dead, it's white everywhere, I dived on real white "highways". even in front of the 7seas resort where apparently there was supposed to be snorkeling for my wife: NOTHING in corals, compared to the fish.
    I regret the coral fields of Apo Island near Siguiyor.

    1. @Of the garden : thank you for your testimonial! Yes, the poor state of the coral on the Gili islands (Meno, Air and Trawangan) to the north-west of Lombok is well known and I don't advise divers to go there (I've never mentioned these Gili islands on this blog). These islands are accessible from Bali by speed-boat (or plane + boat) and attract a lot of tourists, but in my eyes as an underwater photographer diver, they are of little interest... 😉

      I set foot there once, way back in 2002, before the current tourist boom and before I started this blog (in 2006). Back then, there was nothing but dead coral everywhere (the result of dynamite fishing, which had long been practised in the area), but by way of consolation, there were plenty of turtles to be seen. What you say confirms what I knew from other accounts: unfortunately, things haven't improved at all in fifteen years...

      In Bali and nearby, it is better to dive elsewhere: Nusa Lembongan and Nusa Penida (islands located to the south-east of Bali and accessible by boat from Sanur) mentioned in the article above are much more interesting underwater, and in July, I was lucky enough to come across the famous mola-molas there, which I talk about here. Otherwise, other really interesting diving spots in Bali itself, which I can recommend: Amed and Tulamben (northeast, at the foot of Mount Agung) and Pemuteran and Menjengan (North West).

Share
Tweet
Share

Danse avec les poissons-lunes

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

Je ne résiste pas au plaisir de vous montrer en vidéo la danse du mola-mola (et, bien sûr, le mola-mola), après avoir (enfin) rencontré ce gros poisson-lune dans les eaux de Nusa Penida.

Mola-mola à Nusa Penida

J’ai monté fissa une petite séquence vidéo pleine de bulles, pour que vous puissiez apprécier le style et la grâce de la grosse bête cosmique. J’ai eu la chance d’admire ce beau poisson-lune fin juillet 2008, dans les eaux de Crystal Bay, à Nusa Penida (cette île est située au sud-est de Bali et accessible en bateau depuis Sanur ou depuis sa voisine Nusa Lembongan, où je séjournais).

Quant à la danse du mola-mola, elle est pratiquée par les plongeurs désireux de partager leur enthousiasme d’avoir rencontré la bête… Une main au-dessus de la tête, l’autre sous les fesses, pour imiter les nageoires du poisson-lune. Admirez ma chorégraphie subaquatique à la fin de la vidéo ! 😂

Une fabuleuse plongée, qui me paraît bien loin déjà… Je ne risque pas de refaire de sitôt la danse du mola-mola au palier.

Un grand danke pour les images finales à mon buddy et bienveillant complice Peter Modrow, qui a filmé mes bulles et mes contorsions aquatiques.

😁

Précédents articles sur mes rencontres avec les mola-molas :
→ J’ai nagé avec un mola-mola
→ Mola-mola, le retour

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

  1. Mince alors; c’est énorme cette bébête!!! 😯 Suis bien contente d’avoir enfin pu me faire une idée plus juste de ce mola-mola dont tu nous a tant parlé!!!
    Merci!!!!

  2. @ Hélène :

    Oui, c’est très gros, énorme!!! 😯 😛 😮

    C’est la première chose qu’on se dit, quand on en voit un pour la première fois, sous l’eau. C’est beau et impressionnant à la fois, un poisson-lune. Une de mes plus fortes émotions sous-marines, lors de ce voyage…

    Bon, je vais arrêter là avec les molas-molas. Je vire mono-maniaque, avec cette bestiole!

    😆

  3. Impressionant, j’en ai beaucoup entendu parlé du mola, on m’a même promis que j’en verrai et ça ne c’est jamais fait.
    Tu es irrésistible en l’imitant par contre 😉

  4. @ Denis :

    Oui, rien de plus frustrant que de ne pas voir le mola-mola promis… Alors, imagine ma déception, lors de la 2e plongée là-bas, quand j’étais la seule du bateau à avoir raté la bébête! Heureusement, je me suis rattrapée les jours suivants.
    😀

    Sur cinq plongées en tout à Crystal Bay, j’ai vu le poisson-lune à trois reprises (rien lors de la 1ère sortie, raté lors de la 2e, vu à chacune des trois suivantes). Ce qui fait donc une bonne moyenne quand même… Si jamais tu as l’occasion d’aller mouiller tes palmes par là-bas à la bonne saison (de juillet à septembre, sauf erreur de ma part), tu devrais tout de même avoir de bonnes chances d’en croiser un.
    🙄

    Et puis, la « mola-mola dance » au palier, c’est la nouvelle danse de l’été qui rend irrésistible, c’est bien connu!!!
    😆

  5. J’espère bien dire bonjour à ce mola en juillet prochain, j’ai aussi un superbe souvenir d’une coco fraiche sur la plage de Crystal Bay !

  6. @Sonia: Ah… il y avait plus d’un mola-mola à Crystal Bay. Je te souhaite d’avoir la chance, comme moi, de les croiser! C’est un spectacle fabuleux.
    😀

  7. 13 mai 2010, 12 minutes de bonheur…

    Suivi d’un heure à Manta Point…

    Et lundi, je travaille !
    Je passe le lien de cette super vidéo à ma nouvelle « patronne »…plongeuse aussi !

  8. @Krevette Bleue: Chic ! Une nouvelle adoratrice des molas-molas !!! Comme je t’envie d’avoir pu côtoyer ces charmantes bestioles récemment… Bon courage pour la reprise de lundi, alors. Si tu as un coup de mou, n’hésite pas à relancer la vidéo.
    😉

  9. Bonjour,
    Je reviens de 10 jours sur Gili Air après une semaine passée à Bali. Quelle déception !! tous les coraux sont morts, c’est blanc partout, j’ai plongé sur de véritables « autoroutes » blanches. même devant le resort de 7seas où apparemment il devait y avoir du snorkeling pour ma femme : RIEN en coraux, par con tre des poissons.
    Je regrette les champs de coraux de Apo Island près de Siguiyor.

    1. @Dujardin : merci de votre témoignage ! Oui, le piètre état du corail aux îles Gili (Meno, Air et Trawangan) situées au nord-ouest de Lombok est bien connu et je ne conseille pas aux plongeurs d’y aller (je n’ai d’ailleurs jamais évoqué ces Gili-là sur ce blog). Ces îles sont accessibles depuis Bali en speed-boat (ou en avion + bateau) et attirent beaucoup de touristes, mais à mes yeux de plongeuse photographe subaquatique, elles n’ont guère d’intérêt… 😉

      J’y ai mis les pieds une fois, il y a bien longtemps, en 2002, avant qu’elles ne connaissent le développement touristique actuel et avant que je ne démarre ce blog (en 2006). À l’époque, déjà, que du corail mort partout (résultat de la pêche à la dynamite, qui a longtemps été pratiquée dans la zone), mais en guise de consolation, on y voyait beaucoup de tortues. Ce que vous dites confirme ce que je savais par d’autres témoignages : ça ne s’est malheureusement pas du tout amélioré en quinze ans…

      À Bali et à proximité, mieux vaut plonger ailleurs : Nusa Lembongan et Nusa Penida (îles situées au sud-est de Bali et accessibles en bateau depuis Sanur) dont je parle dans l’article ci-dessus sont beaucoup plus intéressantes sous l’eau, et en juillet, j’avais eu la chance d’y croiser les fameux mola-molas, dont je parle ici, donc. Sinon, les autres spots de plongée vraiment intéressants à Bali même, que je peux recommander : Amed et Tulamben (nord-est, au pied du mont Agung) et Pemuteran et Menjengan (nord-ouest).

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez