Crocodile fish. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Crocodile fish. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).

Derawan under the water

# Borneo # Indonesia

  Borneo [Malaysia and Indonesia] - July 2009

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Back to Derawan ... under the surface. The reef of the island, even if it is not the most spectacular of the sites of the corner, deserves some dives. The little creatures that I adore abound.

Muck-dive near the pontoon

I regret, moreover, not to have been able to enjoy the site more, during my stay there in July. Because of this damn stingray stingI had to spend three days in the dry to heal properly... No dives! Rageing.

I have to just watch the turtles from the dock ... Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.
I have to just watch the turtles from the dock ... Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.

That said, I would still have managed to cumulate three dives in Derawan itself (in addition to the dives at Sangalaki and Kakaban). Contrary to what one might think looking at the azure sea from the pontoons, the visibility under the water is rather bad around the island, because of the sediments carried by the river basin of Berau, on Borneo. The archipelago is not so far from the mouth.

Houses on stilts in Derawan. (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Houses on stilts in Derawan. (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).

In diving, we move a few meters from the pontoons of the village. Rather "muck-dive" atmosphere, therefore. Personally, I love it. For the uninitiated, the "Muck-dive" (literally "plunged in the mud", understand: in not clear water at the level of the substrate) it often means... that you can't see much! There is like fog in the water. The interest of diving lies in all the little things that are hidden in the sand, the coral, under the pontoon pillars...

If you're content to just palm down on your eyes, you're bound to be disappointed: you get the impression that there's nothing special to see. But if you move slowly, taking the time to scrutinize the bottom, you discover wonders. Gobies, nudibranchs, shrimps, crocodile-fish, cuttlefish, octopus... I enjoyed tracking down all these little people with my objective...

Flat worm. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Flat worm. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Crocodile fish. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Crocodile fish. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Nudibranch. Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.
Nudibranch. Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.
Cuttlefish. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Cuttlefish. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Shrimp. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Shrimp. Derawan Island (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).

Watch out for the current!

The dives here delighted me. Especially since we almost certainly cross one or more turtles underwater. They are everywhere and even swim under pontoons, where islanders put banana leaves to attract them.

Just hang a banana leaf under the pontoon to attract turtles! (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).
Just hang a banana leaf under the pontoon to attract the turtles! (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009).

Caution, however. Depending on the time, the current can become quite strong and surprising ... The tides on these shoals are important and powerful.

Even for those who are satisfied with palm-masque-tuba rides to the area where there is a nice coral garden close to the surface, be careful: during our stay, two very good swimmers of our small group of tourists, at the losmen Danakan, had a hard time to get back to the pontoons.

The children of Derawan play in the water near the pontoons. (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
The children of Derawan play in the water near the pontoons. (Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)

During my very first dive in Derawan, I was with a couple of Spanish, very great beginners. The current has risen suddenly.

They were trained and our guide Oslan had a good run behind them to catch up, they remained a few moments separated from him, without seeing him anymore, which gave them long minutes of stress. Fortunately, we were at the end of the dive and already in the 5-6 meters zone for a while ...

Emergency lift ...

Close to the island, the bottom is about 20 meters away, which makes exploration rather comfortable. But be careful not to get caught up in the weather: as busy as we are with small animals, we reach the no-decompression limits without even realizing it... It's better to keep an eye on your dive computer! Finally, visibility being what it is, I can't really recommend staying close to your buddy. An incident happens so quickly.

Come on, I tell you ...

During a dive there, my duo of the day, a Frenchman, Guilhem, had a problem with his rental regulator. Fortunately we were close to each other.

Absorbed as I was by a nudibranch I was trying to immortalize, I saw nothing. It wasn't until a sand cloud rose up in front of my camera that I looked up. First I weighed in... see the kind: "But it's not true, he screwed up my picture! »

Because he actually rushed at me to grab my emergency regulator.

He rips it off, puts it in his mouth and waves at me, his eyes wide open behind his mask, which he wants to pull up. 😯

Okay, okay, not so fast. Easy, easy, easy, easy. Look at me, look at me, look at me, look at me. Just breathe. How are you breathing right now? How are you doing? You okay? I'm okay. I'm okay. I'm okay. I'm okay. I'm okay. He's responding okay to my sign. Whew.

Unlike the Spanish, it is a diver of good level. He controls himself quickly and his panic is flowing, now that he has air. I let it suck greedily a few bars.

Then we start the recovery, face to face. I control the climb. I see in his eyes that everything is fine now. He confirms it to me several times by sign. We resurfaced well as it should, at the right speed.

I must admit, in retrospect, that I am very very very happy to have followed these damn lessons of Rescue a few months earlier! And for repeating, dozens of times, this kind of comeback...

Selfie underwater with my Legend Expander. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
Selfie underwater with my Legend Expander. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)

We'd only been in the water about eight minutes. We were 50 feet away. Oslan, our guide had disappeared, caught in the underwater "fog." He wasn't far away, though. As we started to climb, we heard him banging on his boulder, I answered him on mine, but we were already a few meters higher, out of sight, he couldn't spot us anymore. So we waited for him on the surface. The boat, moored at the nearby pontoon, took a while to come and get us.

Guilhem explained that he had a problem with his rental regulator that made him swallow water instead of air ... In the panic of the moment, he did not even think about his own regulator rescue (the octopus, hanging on the side) and so rushed on mine under water.

Back at the dock, not discouraged, Guilhem simply changed the regulator. Then we went back to the water, he did not want to stop there.

We then did a very nice dive. I took lots of nice pictures. But here, I guarantee you that we stayed all well together, this time, to admire the nudists.

Nudibranch. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
Nudibranch. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
Nudibranch. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
Nudibranch. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
Nudibranch. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
Nudibranch. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)

Diving and safety in Derawan

Moral: Derawan is a great place to blow bubbles, but it's better to have your own stuff. After this kind of incident, which could have ended very badly, I know why I bother. with the little extra pounds of my darling Legend.

Finally, even if I enjoyed my dives with the small "center" of the Danakan lozmen, I would have many reservations about its organization. Better to be autonomous and able to take care of yourself while diving, I would not recommend the place to beginners divers who need to be supervised... The boss was not there during my stay. This may explain this.

Dive equipment on the pontoon of losmen Danakan. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
Dive equipment on the pontoon of losmen Danakan. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)

The other option on the island is the Derawan Dive Resort at the other end of the beach, which seems more serious and better equipped (with boats and equipment in good condition). But during my stay, no "walk-in" possible. They only work with packages, much more expensive (accommodation + diving), to be booked on their site or via tour operators (with the inevitable "single" supplement).

To find all my articles on this 2009 trip to Borneo, click on the link below :

→ Trip Borneo [Malaysia+Indonesia] : July 2009

????

Update: return to Derawan in 2013

After this stay that goes back to July 2009, I returned to Derawan in July 2013. This time I was diving with a new structure, which had just opened. Derawan Dive Lodge (created by the Tasik Divers Center of Manado).

They have trained guides who are used to driving hoist boats, modern and fast boats, with engines that go well. In short, much better conditions, question of safety, to dive around Derawan, Sangalaki and Kakaban... You can find my articles for this 2013 trip at the end of the link below:

→ Travel Indonesia and Malaysia: Borneo - July 2013

  Borneo [Malaysia and Indonesia] - July 2009

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Hi Corinne,

    you make really nice underwater pictures, a real pleasure for my eyes... When will be your next visit in Thailand ? Good day 🙂

  2. 🙄 mmm... I feel like I would like that!
    I love your nude pictures ... and the crocodile is beautiful, beautiful angle of view!

  3. But how not to adore nudibranchs ??? In any case, it works, I am always delighted and fascinated to see these little creatures with incredible colors.
    Thank you 😀

  4. So cool your nudibranchs pictures 🙂
    I became quite a fan and it decided to equip me with a small Nikon L20 to try to flash the nudity during my next dives in the Red Sea in early November.
    Do you have some basic tips for this type of photos?
    Thank you in advance and above all continues to amaze us.

  5. Hello Corinne!

    I'm always stunned by what you can do with an A95 gun? You confirm me that it is always this camera that you use?

    Your photo of the crocodile fish is superb! Not to mention nude photos.

    Thank you for this story "rescue divers". It may seem odd, but since I did my Rescue, I hope that a situation like this will happen to me just to see how I will react. With all these lay-en-situation that I can not wait to put my knowledge into practice! But since it is flat calm ... No cramps under water, no people "narcotics" to calm, no "unconscious diver at the surface" that I could tow ... NOTHING! At the mall the other day, I saw an old lady who seemed to be breathing badly ... I'm going from my best: "I'm a first responder, may I help you ??? False alert, everything was fine! She was a little out of breath but that's it! I want people in trouble and nothing happens.

    I say congratulations, you seem to have reacted like a champion! It's very good that the diver wanted to come down again right away! Did you know what the problem was with his regulator? O-ring problem?

    Let's go with your articles ... I love it!

    Guillaume

  6. Thank you for all these beautiful colorful photos, it's like, and better because I'm sitting in the open air, without any worries regulator! Biz!

  7. @PhilippeB: Thank you!!! I do not know when I will come back to Thailand, where I went very often. I think to devote my next trips to explore the Philippines and Indonesia, to discover new diving spots ...
    8)

    @Manta: Oh yes! I think you would like. For crocodile fish, I start to know how to highlight them. I now know what is the angle that makes the best, and when I find one that is ideally positioned for this kind of photo a little against-dive, I give myself to my heart. I am particularly pleased with it, with the piers of the pontoon in the blue in the background. Delighted that you like it too!
    🙂

    @Malene: Ah, me the same, the nudists, I would never get tired!
    😉

    @ Jean-Luc: Delighted that the nudis have conquered you too !!! You'll see, the picture under water, when we start, we take a liking and we can not stop. I give some basic tips on this page:
    »Underwater photo
    🙄

    @Will: Yes, I confirm: it's always with my child Canon Powershot A95 I flash under the water (and I confess that I'm dreaming now to move on, but I'll have to wait to put a few pennies aside).
    : Mrgreen:
    As for this incident underwater, I think I would have preferred that nothing happens, unlike you! (I laughed with your story of old lady breathless ...) But hey, everything went well, I managed well, and my partner too (a N3 who knows all too well the emergency procedures in diving, so that helps). What surprised me most, in fact, was that I felt no fear. I think it's the benefit of training beforehand. I was cold and lucid, I knew what to do, and I did it, that's all ... as if the brain was triggering the procedure.
    As for the regulator, I do not really know what the problem was. My partner was sucking water instead of air, which suffocated him, and so he did not even try to take his relief and ran directly on mine . He did well, I think. The dive-master inspected the regulator afterwards, without being able to tell us what was wrong. I do not know much, but a regulator invaded fleet and no longer delivers air, it's suspicious, it suggests that the first floor has a problem ...
    😕
    Otherwise, for the articles, do not worry, I continue, of course. I have a lot of fun keeping this blog. And even more when I receive enthusiastic comments like yours! Thank you!!!
    🙂

    @ Helen: Yes, I know you enjoy being able to admire all these charming critters without having to put your head under water, comfortably installed in front of your computer!
    😀

  8. They are very beautiful photos, also seen the small device that you use! For Dummies in macro like me, you could not also display the EXIF data. Maybe I'll learn something ...

  9. great photos I love !!
    for the equipment I agree with you to have his well revised that limits the risks, we are there in vacations so much to benefit from it at most not 😉

  10. @Max: Thank you!!!! 🙂
    I'm not sure that the Exif data would bring you much. When I'm under water and I trigger, I do not have accurate data in my little head, especially as conditions change all the time during a dive. Simply, with the usual, I "see" quickly what speed and torque to use and the dose of flash to send. If this is not satisfactory, I reshoot by readjusting the parameters. In general, on my little camera, for the integrated flash macro, a nudi for example, I attack on f / 8 so that everything is clean (horns to the nudi's forelock) and I test first to 1 / 500th, by dosing the flash or not at -1/3 or -2/3 depending on the color of the thing to photograph, the light environment or not, etc. I take my time for the focus, because the autofocus is far from perfect, and especially especially, I think the angle of view.
    Some basic tips for the photo sub here:
    http://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/photo-subaquatique/
    Finally, it would be tedious to indicate the Exif data for each photo on this blog (even if the export function of my photo software should allow that). As I want them to weigh as little as possible for the web display, I do not include any additional data in the image file.
    🙄

    @Laurence: Exactly, it would be high time that he goes into revision, my Legend ... Security first!
    😉

  11. Hello,
    thank you for what you make us discover, I discovered diving at an advanced age! ... life your dreams, bravo for the rescue

  12. @Anne Marie: Thank you for that little word! The good thing about "recreational" or "recreational" diving is that it can be practiced at any age. Good bubbles!
    😉

  13. "It's five, Paris wakes up! ". I send you an e-mail; it will allow you to expand a little your article!

    The swimmer who was caught by the current ... it's me ^^
    The guy who had a leak on the second floor of his regulator... that's me too ^^ By the way, at the end of the nudi video, you'll be able to see that the picture gets a little crazy. That was my first sip... 😀

    I do not wish anyone, sea water, it really bad taste! 8)

  14. @Guilhem: You're out of the shadows ... Fortunately, all is well who finished well! I saw the video, indeed, we see the camera dive to the nudi ...
    😉

Share
Tweet
Share

Poisson-crocodile. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Poisson-crocodile. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).

Derawan sous l’eau

#Bornéo #Indonésie

  Bornéo [Malaisie et Indonésie] - juillet 2009

Retour à Derawan… sous la surface. Le récif de l’île, même si ce n’est pas le plus spectaculaire des sites du coin, mérite quelques plongées. Les petites créatures que j’adore y abondent.

Muck-dive près du ponton

Je regrette bien, d’ailleurs, de n’avoir pas pu profiter davantage du site, lors de mon petit séjour là-bas, en juillet. À cause de cette fichue piqûre de stingray, il m’a fallu passer trois jours au sec le temps de cicatriser proprement… Privée de plongées ! Rageant.

Je dois me contenter de regarder les tortues depuis le ponton... Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.
Je dois me contenter de regarder les tortues depuis le ponton… Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.

Ceci dit, j’aurais tout de même réussi à cumuler trois plongées à Derawan même (en plus des plongées à Sangalaki et Kakaban). Contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire en regardant la mer azur depuis les pontons, la visibilité sous l’eau est plutôt mauvaise autour de l’île, à cause des sédiments charriés par le bassin fluvial de Berau, sur Bornéo. L’archipel n’est pas si loin de l’embouchure.

Les habitations sur pilotis à Derawan. (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Les habitations sur pilotis à Derawan. (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).

En plongée, on évolue à quelques mètres des pontons du village. Ambiance plutôt « muck-dive », donc. Personnellement, j’adore. Pour les non-initiés, la « muck-dive » (littéralement « plongée dans la boue », comprendre : dans une eau pas claire au ras du substrat) ça veut dire bien souvent… qu’on n’y voit pas grand-chose ! Il y a comme du brouillard dans l’eau. L’intérêt de la plongée réside dans tous les petits trucs qui se planquent dans le sable, le corail, sous les piliers des pontons…

Si on se contente de palmer en balayant l’ensemble du regard, on est forcément déçu : on a l’impression qu’il n’y a rien de spécial à voir. Mais si on évolue tout doucement, en prenant le temps de scruter le fond, on découvre des merveilles. Gobies, nudibranches, crevettes, poissons-crocodiles, seiches, poulpes… Je me suis régalée à traquer tout ce petit monde avec mon objectif…

Ver plat. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Ver plat. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Poisson-crocodile. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Poisson-crocodile. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Nudibranche. Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.
Nudibranche. Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.
Seiche. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Seiche. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Crevette. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Crevette. Derawan Island (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).

Attention au courant !

Les plongées ici m’ont ravie. D’autant qu’on croise quasi à coup sûr une ou plusieurs tortues sous l’eau. Elles sont partout et viennent même nager sous les pontons, où les îliens mettent des feuilles de bananiers pour les attirer.

Il suffit d'accrocher une feuille de bananier sous le ponton pour attirer les tortues ! (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).
Il suffit d’accrocher une feuille de bananier sous le ponton pour attirer les tortues ! (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009).

Prudence cependant. En fonction de l’heure, le courant peut devenir assez fort et surprendre… Les marées, sur ces hauts-fonds, sont importantes et puissantes.

Y compris pour ceux qui se contentent de balades en palmes-masque-tuba, jusqu’à la zone où il y a un joli jardin de corail tout près de la surface, méfiance : durant notre séjour, deux très bons nageurs de notre petit groupe de touristes, au losmen Danakan, ont eu un mal fou à revenir jusqu’aux pontons.

Les enfants de Derawan jouent dans l'eau, près des pontons. (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Les enfants de Derawan jouent dans l’eau, près des pontons. (Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)

Lors de ma toute première plongée à Derawan, j’étais avec un couple d’Espagnols, très grands débutants. Le courant s’est levé d’un coup.

Ils ont été entraînés et notre guide Oslan a eu beau filer derrière eux pour les rattraper, ils sont restés quelques instants séparés de lui, sans plus le voir, ce qui leur a valu de longues minutes de stress. Heureusement, on était en fin de plongée et déjà dans la zone des 5-6 mètres depuis un petit moment…

Remontée d’urgence…

Près de l’île, le fond est à environ une vingtaine de mètres, ce qui rend l’exploration plutôt confortable. Mais gaffe quand même à ne pas se laisser happer par le temps : accaparé comme on l’est par les petites bêtes, on arrive sans même s’en rendre compte aux limites de non-décompression… Mieux vaut surveiller son ordi de plongée ! Enfin, la visibilité étant ce qu’elle est, je ne saurais trop recommander de rester vraiment à proximité de son binôme. Un incident est si vite arrivé.

Allez, je vous raconte…

Lors d’une plongée là-bas, mon binôme du jour, un Français, Guilhem, a eu un souci avec son détendeur de location. Heureusement que nous étions tout près l’un de l’autre.

Absorbée comme je l’étais par un nudibranche que j’essayais d’immortaliser, je n’ai rien vu. Ce n’est que lorsqu’un nuage de sable s’est soulevé devant mon appareil-photo que j’ai levé le nez. J’ai d’abord pesté intérieurement… voyez le genre : « Mais c’est pas vrai, il m’a foiré la photo ! »

Parce qu’en fait, il s’est rué sur moi pour agripper mon détendeur de secours ! ! !

Il l’arrache, le met en bouche et me fait signe, les yeux grand écarquillés derrière son masque, qu’il veut remonter.  😯

OK, OK, pas si vite. Du calme. Regarde-moi. Respire. Tu respires comment, là ? Ça va ? Ça va. Il répond OK à mon signe. Ouf.

Contrairement aux Espagnols, c’est un plongeur de bon niveau. Il se maîtrise vite et sa panique reflue, maintenant qu’il a de l’air. Je le laisse téter goulument quelques bars.

Puis on entame la remontée, face à face. Je contrôle l’ascension. Je vois, dans ses yeux, que tout va bien maintenant. Il me le confirme plusieurs fois par signe. On refait surface bien comme il faut, à la bonne vitesse.

Je dois avouer, rétrospectivement, que je suis très très très heureuse d’avoir suivi ces fichus cours de Rescue quelques mois plus tôt ! Et d’avoir répété, des dizaines de fois, ce genre de remontée…

Selfie sous l'eau avec mon détendeur Legend. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Selfie sous l’eau avec mon détendeur Legend. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)

Ça faisait à peine 8 minutes qu’on était dans l’eau. On était à 20 mètres. Oslan, notre guide avait disparu, happé par le « brouillard » subaquatique. Il n’était pas loin, pourtant. En amorçant l’ascension, on l’a entendu cogner sur son bloc, je lui ai répondu sur le mien, mais nous étions déjà quelques mètres plus haut, hors de vue, il ne pouvait plus nous repérer. On l’a donc attendu à la surface. Le bateau, amarré au ponton tout proche, a mis un peu de temps à venir nous chercher.

Guilhem m’a expliqué qu’il avait eu un problème avec son détendeur de location qui lui a fait avaler de l’eau au lieu d’air… Dans la panique du moment, il n’a même pas songé à son propre détendeur de secours (l’octopus, accroché sur le côté) et s’est donc rué sur le mien sous l’eau.

De retour au ponton, pas découragé, Guilhem a simplement changé de détendeur. Puis, on est retourné à l’eau, il n’avait pas envie d’en rester là.

On a ensuite fait une très chouette plongée. J’ai pris tout plein de chouettes photos. Mais là, je vous garantis qu’on est restés tous bien collés ensemble, ce coup-ci, pour admirer les nudis.

Nudibranche. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Nudibranche. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Nudibranche. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Nudibranche. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Nudibranche. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Nudibranche. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)

Plongée et sécurité à Derawan

Moralité : Derawan est un coin super pour faire des bulles, mais mieux vaut avoir son propre matos. Après ce genre d’incident, qui aurait pu très mal finir, je sais pourquoi je m’encombre avec les petits kilos supplémentaires de mon Legend chéri.

Enfin, même si j’ai bien apprécié mes plongées avec le petit « centre » du losmen Danakan, j’aurais bien des réserves à émettre sur son organisation. Mieux vaut être autonome et capable de se prendre en charge en plongée, je ne recommanderais pas l’endroit aux plongeurs débutants qui ont besoin d’être encadrés… Le boss n’était pas sur place durant mon séjour. Ceci expliquant peut-être cela.

Équipements de plongée sur le ponton du losmen Danakan. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Équipements de plongée sur le ponton du losmen Danakan. (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)

L’autre option sur l’île, c’est le Derawan Dive Resort à l’autre bout de la plage, qui semble plus sérieux et mieux équipé (en bateaux, en matériel en bon état). Mais lors de mon séjour, pas de « walk-in » possible. Ils ne fonctionnent qu’avec des packages, beaucoup plus onéreux (hébergement+plongée), à réserver sur leur site ou via des tour-opérateurs (avec l’inévitable supplément « single »).

Pour retrouver tous mes articles sur ce voyage de 2009 à Bornéo, cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous :

→ Voyage Bornéo [Malaisie+Indonésie] : juillet 2009

🙄

Mise à jour : retour à Derawan en 2013

Après ce séjour qui remonte à juillet 2009, je suis retournée à Derawan en juillet 2013. J’ai cette fois plongée avec une nouvelle structure, qui venait d’ouvrir, le Derawan Dive Lodge (créé par le centre Tasik Divers de Manado).

Ils ont des guides formés et habitués à conduire des palanquées, des bateaux modernes et rapides, avec les moteurs qui vont bien. Bref, de bien meilleures conditions, question sécurité, pour plonger autour de Derawan, à Sangalaki et Kakaban… Vous pouvez retrouver mes articles pour ce voyage de 2013 au bout du lien ci-dessous :

→ Voyage Indonésie et Malaisie : Bornéo – juillet 2013

  Bornéo [Malaisie et Indonésie] - juillet 2009

  1. Salut Corinne,

    tu fais vraiment de tres jolies photos sous-marines, un vrai plaisir pour mes yeux… A quand ton prochain passage en Thailande ? Bonne journee 🙂

  2. 🙄 mmm… je sens que ça me plairait!
    J’adore tes photos de nudis… et celle du crocodile est superbe, magnifique angle de vue!

  3. Mais comment ne pas adorer les nudibranches ??? A tous les cas, ça marche, je suis toujours ravie et fascinée de voir ces petites bestioles aux couleurs incroyables.
    Merci 😀

  4. Trop top tes photos de nudibranches ! 🙂
    Je suis devenu tout à fait fan et cela m’a décidé à m’équiper avec un petit Nikon L20 pour m’essayer à la flashouille des nudis lors de mes prochaines plongées en Mer Rouge début novembre.
    Aurais-tu quelques conseils de base pour ce type de photos ❓
    Merci d’avance et surtout continue à nous émerveiller.

  5. Bonjour Corinne !

    Je suis à chaque fois abasourdi de ce que tu peux faire avec une canon A95 ? Tu me confirmes que c’est toujours cette caméra que tu utilises ?

    Ta photo du crocodile fish est superbe! Sans parler des photos de nudis.

    Merci pour ce récit « rescue divers ». Ça va peut-être te sembler bizarre, mais depuis que j’ai fait mon Rescue, j’espère qu’une situation du genre va m’arriver simplement pour voir comment je vais réagir. Avec tous ces mises-en-situation qu’on se tape j’ai hâte de mettre mes connaissances en pratique ! Mais depuis c’est le calme plat… Pas de crampes sous l’eau, pas de gens « narcosés » à calmer, pas de « unconscious diver at the surface » que je pourrais remorquer… RIEN ! Au centre commercial l’autre jour, j’ai appercu une vieille dame qui semblait mal respirer… J’y vais de mon plus beau : « I’m a emergency first responder, may I help you ??? » Fausse alerte, tout allait bien ! Elle était un peu essoufflée mais c’est tout ! Je veux des gens en problème et rien n’arrive.

    Je te dis félicitation, tu sembles avoir réagi comme une championne ! C’est très bien que le plongeur ait voulu redescendre tout de suite ! Vous avez su quel était le problème avec son détendeur ? Problème d’o-ring ?

    Lâche-nous pas avec tes articles… J’adore !

    Guillaume

  6. Merci pour toutes ces magnifiques photos colorées;on s’y croirait, et en mieux car je suis bien assise à l’air libre, sans aucun soucis de détendeur!!!Biz!

  7. @PhilippeB: Merci!!! Je ne sais pas quand je reviendrai en Thaïlande, où je suis allée bien souvent. Je pense consacrer mes prochains voyages à explorer encore les Philippines et l’Indonésie, pour découvrir de nouveaux spots de plongée…
    8)

    @Manta: Oh, oui! Je pense que tu aimerais. Pour les poissons-crocodiles, je commence à bien savoir les mettre en valeur. Je sais maintenant quel est l’angle qui rend le mieux, et quand j’en trouve un qui est idéalement positionné pour ce genre de photo un peu en contre-plongée, je m’en donne à cœur joie. Je suis particulièrement satisfaite de celle-ci, avec les piliers du ponton dans le bleu en arrière-plan. Ravie qu’elle te plaise aussi!
    🙂

    @Malene: Ah, moi pareil, les nudis, je ne m’en lasserais jamais!!!
    😉

    @Jean-Luc: Ravie que les nudis t’aient conquis, toi aussi!!! Tu vas voir, la photo sous l’eau, quand on commence, on y prend goût et on ne peut plus s’arrêter. Je donne quelques conseils de base sur cette page:
    » Photo subaquatique
    🙄

    @Will: Eh oui, je confirme: c’est toujours avec mon petit Powershot A95 de Canon que je flashouille sous l’eau (et j’avoue que je rêve maintenant de passer à autre chose, mais je vais devoir attendre d’avoir mis quelques sous de côté).
    :mrgreen:
    Pour ce qui est de cet incident sous l’eau, je pense que j’aurais préféré qu’il n’arrive rien, contrairement à toi!!! (J’ai bien ri avec ton histoire de vieille dame essoufflée…) Mais bon, tout s’est bien passé, j’ai bien géré, et mon binôme aussi (un N3 qui connait bien lui aussi toutes les procédures d’urgence en plongée, donc ça aide). Ce qui m’a le plus étonnée, en fait, c’est que je n’ai ressenti aucune peur. Je pense que c’est le bénéfice de l’entraînement au préalable. J’étais froide et lucide, je savais quoi faire, et je l’ai fait, c’est tout… Comme si le cerveau enclenchait direct la procédure.
    Quant au détendeur, je ne sais pas trop quel était le problème. Mon binôme s’est trouvé à téter de l’eau au lieu d’air, ce qui l’a suffoqué, et du coup il n’a même pas tenté de prendre son dét de secours et s’est direct rué sur le mien. Il a bien fait, je pense. Le dive-master a inspecté le détendeur après, sans pouvoir nous dire ce qui clochait. Je n’y connais pas grand-chose, mais un détendeur envahi de flotte et qui ne délivre plus d’air, c’est louche, ça laisse penser que le premier étage a un problème…
    😕
    Sinon, pour les articles, ne t’inquiète pas, je continue, bien sûr. J’ai beaucoup de plaisir à tenir ce blog. Et encore plus quand je reçois des commentaires enthousiastes comme le tien! Merci!!!
    🙂

    @Hélène: Oui, je sais bien que tu apprécies de pouvoir admirer toutes ces charmantes bestioles sans avoir besoin de mettre la tête sous l’eau, confortablement installée devant ton ordi!
    😀

  8. Elles sont de photos très belles, vu aussi le petit appareil que tu utilises! Pour les nuls en macro comme moi, tu pourrais pas aussi afficher les données EXIF. Peut-être j’apprendrai quelque chose….

  9. super photos j’adore!!
    pour le matos je suis d’accord avec toi avoir le sien bien révisé cela limite les risques, on es là en vacances autant en profiter au maximum non 😉

  10. @Max: Merci!!! 🙂
    Je ne suis pas sûre que les données Exif t’apporteraient grand-chose. Quand je suis sous l’eau et que je déclenche, je n’ai pas des données exactes dans ma petite tête, d’autant que les conditions changent tout le temps au cours d’une plongée. Simplement, avec l’habitude, je « vois » vite à peu près quel couple ouverture/vitesse utiliser et la dose de flash à envoyer. Si ce n’est pas satisfaisant, je reshoote en réajustant les paramètres. En général, sur mon petit APN, pour la macro au flash intégré, d’un nudi par exemple, j’attaque sur du f/8 pour que tout soit net (des cornes au toupet du nudi) et je teste d’abord à 1/500e, en dosant le flash ou pas à -1/3 ou -2/3 selon la couleur du truc à photographier, l’environnement clair ou pas, etc. Je prends bien mon temps pour la mise au point, car l’autofocus est loin d’être parfait, et surtout surtout, je pense à l’angle de prise de vue.
    Quelques conseils de base pour la photo sub ici:
    http://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/photo-subaquatique/
    Enfin, ce serait fastidieux d’indiquer les données Exif pour chaque photo sur ce blog (même si la fonction export de mon logiciel de photo doit permettre ça). Comme je veux qu’elles pèsent le moins lourd possible pour l’affichage web, je n’intègre aucune donnée supplémentaire dans le fichier image.
    🙄

    @Laurence: Justement, il serait grand grand temps qu’il aille en révision, mon Legend… Security first!
    😉

  11. bonjour,
    merci pour ce que tu nous fais decouvrir, j’ai decouvert la plongée a un age avancé!…vie tes reves, bravo pour le rescue

  12. @Anne-Marie: Merci de ce petit mot! Ce qu’il y a de bien avec la plongée dite « de loisir » ou « récréative », c’est qu’on peut la pratiquer à tout âge. Bonnes bulles!
    😉

  13. « Il est 5h, Paris s’éveille ! ». Je t’ai envoyé un mail; ça te permettra d’étoffer un peu ton article !

    Le nageur qui s’est fait prendre par le courant… c’est moi ^^
    Le mec qui a eu une fuite au premier étage de son détendeur… c’est moi aussi ^^ D’ailleurs, à la fin de la vidéo des nudi, tu pourras voir que l’image s’affole un peu. C’était ma première gorgée… 😀

    Je ne le souhaite à personne, l’eau de mer, ça a vraiment mauvais goût ! 8)

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez