Tara at anchor at Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)
Tara at anchor at Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)

Coral mission in the Philippines with Tara and the Sulubaaï Foundation

#Philippines #Palawan #Tara #Sulubaaï #Philippines #Palawan #Tara #Tara #Sulubaaï

  Tara Pacific Expedition - February 2018

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation of an article originally written in French. I apologise for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have resulted. If you read French, click on the French flag below to access the original, correct text: 


Tara. Two syllables that roll from one side to the other... This is the name of an extraordinary boat, an oceanographic sailboat that is crisscrossing the waters of the Pacific in early 2018. On board, passionate sailors and researchers who are trying to unlock the secrets of coral reefs.

Tara Pacific Expedition

Launched in 2016, this expedition, named Tara Pacific, will be completed in the fall of 2018. With my journalist hat on, I was lucky enough to be able to board with a team of scientists and spend a week on board with them for a report, in February 2018.

I flew to the Philippines, where I joined them near Palawan, in the waters of the small island of Pangatalan. In the heart of the Shark Fin Bay, we discovered the work of restoration of the coral reefs led by the Sulubaai Foundationcreated by a French couple, before crossing the China Sea to Vietnam on board Tara...an unforgettable adventure.

Tara at anchor at Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)
Tara at anchor in Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)

My 2018 articles on Tara and the Sulubaai Foundation

Upon my return, I wrote a series of articles in Ouest-France, the newspaper I work for, which were published in February and March 2018. I also published a long-form feature in the magazine n ° 15 Dive! (May-June 2018) which has just been released on newsstands.

Here are links to all of these articles that appeared in 2018:

→ Tara Pacific examines the coral to protect the ocean and humans
(Ouest-France supplement "La mer notre avenir", March 13, 2018)

→ Live aboard Tara : a great human and scientific adventure
(Sunday West-France, February 25, 2018)

→ They bought an island to save the coral
(Ouest-France evening edition, March 15, 2018)

→ Tara Pacific, an extraordinary expedition for coral
(Magazine Dive! No. 15May-June 2018, on newsstands or in digital format).

Article on the island of Pangatalan published in the evening edition (Ouest-France)
Article on Pangatalan Island and the Sulubaai Foundation, published on March 15, 2018 in the evening edition d'Ouest-France.
Article published in the supplement La Mer Notre Avenir (West-France)
Article published in the supplement La Mer Notre Avenir (Ouest-France)
Article published in Sunday Ouest-France.
Story printed in dimanche Ouest-France.
My report on Tara Pacific in the magazine Plonge! (No. 15, May-June 2018)
My report on the Tara Pacific mission, in the magazine Dive! (No. 15, May-June 2018).

To discover above, my report for the magazine Dive! Eight pages in issue 15 of May-June 2018.

Sulubaai: they bought an island to save the coral

Frédéric Tardieu summed up the birth of his environmental project in Pangatalan, which was to become the Sulubaai Foundation : "At the beginning, we had the dream of erasing the damage caused by man on this island. Today it has become a struggle, to make this tiny place on Earth a lung of biodiversity."

Originally from Marseille, he and his wife Chris created this foundation in the Philippines in 2012, a year after they set their sights on this small island of Pangatalan, near Palawan. At an age when others are starting to think about retirement, the couple left everything in France to dedicate themselves to the restoration of the island, whose reef and vegetation had been devastated.

In 2016, the Tardieu's and the Sulubaai Foundation team managed to turn an area of about 40 hectares around the island into a marine protected area (MPA), where fishing is prohibited. They reconstituted an artificial reef with coral cuttings. They have surrounded themselves with marine biologists, hosted scientific missions, and educated the inhabitants of the villages of Shark Fin Bay about the protection of mangroves and the coastline, both on land and underwater...

I tell the whole story in an article published on March 15, 2018 in the evening edition digitalOuest-FranceI'll give you the link here:

They bought an island to save the coral

Below are some photos brought back from my 2018 stay in Pangatalan :

The Sulubaai Foundation team. From left to right: marine biologist Thomas Pavy, founders Fred and Chris Tardieu, manager Michèle Wey (Philippines, February 2018)
The Sulubaai Foundation team. From left to right: marine biologist Thomas Pavy, founders Fred and Chris Tardieu, manager Michèle Wey (Philippines, February 2018)
The Pangatalan reef and the surrounding waters are now a marine protected area (MPA) thanks to the Sulubaaï Foundation. (Philippines, February 2018)
In the heart of Shark Fin Bay, off the coast of Palawan, Pangatalan Reef and the surrounding waters are now a Marine Protected Area (MPA) thanks to the Sulubaai Foundation. (Philippines, February 2018)
The coral cutting project of the Sulubaaï Foundation in Pangatalan: the coral is fixed on special concrete supports, without plastic or chemical, called SRP modules. The main objective is to reconstruct the reef damaged or destroyed by dynamite fishing. (Philippines, February 2018)
The Sulubaai Foundation's coral cutting project in Pangatalan: the coral is fixed on special concrete supports, made on site, without chemicals, called SRP (Sulu Reef Prothesis) modules. The main objective is to rebuild the reef damaged or destroyed by dynamite fishing. (Philippines, February 2018)
At the end of the pontoon, in Pangatalan, underwater life is gradually regaining its rights, thanks to the efforts of the Sulubaaï foundation. (Philippines, March 2018)
At the end of the pontoon, in Pangatalan, underwater life is gradually taking back its rights, thanks to the efforts of the Sulubaaï Foundation. (Philippines, March 2018)
Tara scientists discover in snorkeling the coral cuttings project of the Sulubaaï Foundation in Pangatalan. (Philippines, February 2018)
Tara scientists discover in snorkeling the coral cuttings project of the Sulubaaï Foundation in Pangatalan. (Philippines, February 2018)
Marine biologist Thomas Pavy, from the Sulubaaï Foundation, inspects the coral cuttings attached to the SRP modules. (Philippines, February 2018)
Marine biologist Thomas Pavy, from the Sulubaaï Foundation, inspects the coral cuttings attached to the SRP modules. (Philippines, February 2018)
Pangatalan Island, near Palawan, has become a small tropical gem again, thanks to the efforts of the Sulubaai Foundation (Philippines, February 2018)
Pangatalan Island, near Palawan, has become a small tropical gem again. (Philippines, February 2018)

Discover below, in addition, the video report on Pangatalan and the Sulubaai Foundation, made during our stopover by my sister Noëlie Pansiot, correspondent on board for Tara :

2020: return to Pangatalan for the Sea Academy project

UPDATE, SEPTEMBER 2020. Two years after the story I mentioned above, I returned to Pangatalan in March 2020, just before the borders closed due to the Covid-19 pandemic. I was able to dive again around the island in the Shark Fin Bay and to discuss with Frédéric Tardieu the current and future missions of the Sulubaaï Foundation, including the new Sea Academy projectwhich is scheduled to last three years until 2024.

Objective: to develop several small MPAs (marine protected areas) on a human scale, to restore the coral and mangroves and, above all, to bring back the fish thanks to innovative methods...

In September 2020, the French Global Environment Facility (FFEM) has officially validated its financial support for the Sea Academy project. This news has allowed me to dedicate a new article in the evening edition digitalOuest-France to this wonderful initiative, which brings hope to marine ecosystems. The link is here:

Sea Academy, a sea academy for Philippine fishing villages

My article on the Sea Academy project appeared in September 2021 in the evening edition of Ouest-France.
My article on the Sea Academy project published in September 2021 in the evening edition d'Ouest-France.

More about the Sulubaai Foundation

UPDATE, MAY 2019. I also invite you to listen this May 22, 2019 episode of the excellent podcast On the roads of Asia by Romain Lazzarotto, who gives the floor to Fred Tardieu (player below). He tells with an infectious enthusiasm the incredible adventure in which he and his wife Chris embarked, helped by the young diver and marine biologist Thomas Pavy, to transform the island and obtain the status of marine protected area (MPA) around Pangatalan:

UPDATE, FEBRUARY 2020. The 20 Hours TF1 broadcasted, on Sunday February 16, 2020, a report on Pangatalan and the ongoing environmental missions promoted by the Sulubaaï Foundation, in particular the repopulation of the reefs thanks to fish post-larvae. I put you below the video of the report published on Facebook by the company ECOCEANbased in Montpellier and specialized in this field:

UPDATE, MARCH 2021. Three years after my first report in Pangatalan, Paris-Match devoted a report to Fred Tardieu and the Sulubaai Foundation, followed by a column in partnership on Europe 1. I put below the short video of Paris-Match A social networking site (with a few photos taken by me in it), where Fred Tardieu sums up everything that has been accomplished on the island since his arrival:

More pictures of the adventure

This fantastic February 2018 experience in the Philippines took me a little further, to Vietnam. Because after the stopover in Pangatalan, the schooner Tara crossed the South China Sea earlier than expected and I stayed on board... Which was not in the program, initially!

I discovered what it was like to spend several days on the high seas, on a round-hulled sailboat, when you are not used to sailing at all. I never thought I was prone to seasickness, but I became very humble again in front of the open sea...

🤮 😂

And I now have a boundless admiration for the sailors and scientists on board who live this way every day, or almost every day, because it is their job. Maybe I'll tell you about it one day... 

😎

The oceanographic sailboat Tara seen from above, in the middle of the coral reefs of the archipelago of Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)
The oceanographic sailboat Tara seen from above, in the middle of the coral reefs of the Palawan archipelago. (Philippines, February 2018)
Tara at anchor at Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)
The schooner at anchor in Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)
Tara's team, always ready to get wet! (Philippines, February 2018)
The team of Taraalways ready to get wet ! (Philippines, February 2018)
Snorkelling session to observe the coral tables in the waters of Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)
Snorkelling session to observe the coral tables in the waters of Palawan. (Philippines, February 2018)
End of the Philippines crossing in Vietnam. (February 2018)
End of the Philippines crossing in Vietnam. (February 2018)

  Tara Pacific Expedition - February 2018

148 Shares
Share143
Tweet5
Share

Tara au mouillage à Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)
Tara au mouillage à Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)

Mission corail aux Philippines avec Tara et la Fondation Sulubaaï

#Philippines #Palawan #Tara #Sulubaaï

  Tara Pacific - février 2018

Tara. Deux syllabes qui roulent d’un bord sur l’autre… C’est le nom d’un bateau extraordinaire, un voilier océanographique qui sillonne en ce début 2018 les eaux du Pacifique. À bord, des marins et des chercheurs passionnés qui tentent de percer les secrets des récifs coralliens.

Expédition Tara Pacific

Lancée en 2016, cette expédition, baptisée Tara Pacific, s’achèvera à l’automne 2018. Avec ma casquette de journaliste, j’ai eu la chance de pouvoir embarquer avec une équipe de scientifiques et de passer une semaine à bord avec eux pour un reportage, en février 2018.

J’ai pris un vol pour les Philippines, où je les ai rejoints près de Palawan, dans les eaux de la petite île de Pangatalan. Au cœur de la Shark Fin Bay (la baie des Ailerons de requins), nous avons découvert le travail de restauration des récifs coralliens mené par la Fondation Sulubaaï, créée par un couple de Français, avant de traverser la mer de Chine jusqu’au Vietnam à bord de Tara… Une aventure inoubliable.

Tara au mouillage à Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)
Tara au mouillage à Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)

Mes articles de 2018 sur Tara et la Fondation Sulubaaï

À mon retour, j’ai rédigé une série d’articles dans Ouest-France, le journal pour lequel je travaille, qui sont parus en février et en mars 2018. J’ai aussi publié un reportage long format dans le n°15 du magazine Plongez ! (mai-juin 2018) qui vient de sortir en kiosque.

Voici les liens vers l’ensemble de ces articles parus en 2018 :

→ Tara Pacific ausculte le corail pour protéger l’océan et les hommes
(supplément Ouest-France « La mer notre avenir », 13 mars 2018)

→ Vivre à bord de Tara : une formidable aventure humaine et scientifique
(dimanche Ouest-France, 25 février 2018)

→ Ils ont acheté une île pour sauver le corail
(l’édition du soir d’Ouest-France, 15 mars 2018)

→ Tara Pacific, une expédition hors norme pour le corail
(Magazine Plongez ! n°15, mai-juin 2018, en kiosque ou en version numérique)

Article sur l'île de Pangatalan paru dans l'édition du soir (Ouest-France)
Article sur l’île de Pangatalan et la Fondation Sulubaaï, paru le 15 mars 2018 dans l’édition du soir d’Ouest-France.
Article paru dans le supplément La Mer Notre Avenir (Ouest-France)
Article paru dans le supplément La Mer Notre Avenir (Ouest-France)
Article paru dans dimanche Ouest-France.
Article paru dans dimanche Ouest-France.
Mon reportage sur Tara Pacific dans le magazine Plongez ! (n°15, mai-juin 2018)
Mon reportage sur la mission Tara Pacific, dans le magazine Plongez ! (n°15, mai-juin 2018).

À découvrir ci-dessus, mon reportage pour le magazine Plongez ! Huit pages dans le n°15 de mai-juin 2018.

Sulubaaï : ils ont acheté une île pour sauver le corail

Frédéric Tardieu résume ainsi la naissance de son projet environnemental à Pangatalan, qui allait devenir la Fondation Sulubaaï : « Au départ, on avait le rêve de gommer les dégâts causés par l’homme sur cette île. Aujourd’hui c’est devenu un combat, pour faire de ce tout petit endroit sur Terre un poumon de biodiversité. »

Originaires de Marseille, lui et son épouse Chris ont créé cette fondation aux Philippines en 2012, un an après avoir jeté leur dévolu sur cette petite île de Pangatalan, près de Palawan. À l’âge où d’autres commencent à penser à leur retraite, le couple a tout quitté en France pour se consacrer à la restauration de l’île, dont le récif et la végétation étaient dévastées.

En 2016, les Tardieu et l’équipe de la Fondation Sulubaaï sont parvenus à transformer une zone d’une quarantaine d’hectares autour de l’île en aire maritime protégée (AMP), où il est interdit de pêcher. Ils ont reconstitué un récif artificiel, avec des boutures de corail. Ils se sont entourés de biologistes marins, ont accueilli des missions scientifiques, sensibilisé les habitants des villages de la Shark Fin Bay à la protection des mangroves et du littoral, sur terre et sous l’eau…

Je raconte toute l’histoire dans un article publié le 15 mars 2018 dans l’édition du soir numérique d’Ouest-France, je vous remets le lien ici :

Ils ont acheté une île pour sauver le corail

Ci-dessous, quelques photos ramenées de mon séjour de 2018 à Pangatalan :

L'équipe de la Fondation Sulubaaï. De gauche à droite : le biologiste marin Thomas Pavy, les fondateurs Fred et Chris Tardieu, la manager Michèle Wey. (Philippines, février 2018)
L’équipe de la Fondation Sulubaaï. De gauche à droite : le biologiste marin Thomas Pavy, les fondateurs Fred et Chris Tardieu, la manager Michèle Wey. (Philippines, février 2018)
Le récif de Pangatalan et les eaux environnantes sont désormais une aire marine protégée (AMP) grâce à la Fondation Sulubaaï. (Philippines, février 2018)
Au cœur de la Shark Fin Bay, au large de Palawan, le récif de Pangatalan et les eaux environnantes sont désormais une aire marine protégée (AMP) grâce à la Fondation Sulubaaï. (Philippines, février 2018)
Le projet de bouturage de corail de la Fondation Sulubaaï à Pangatalan : le corail est fixé sur des supports en béton spécial, sans plastique ni produit chimique, appelés Les modules SRP. L’objectif principal est de reconstituer le récif endommagé ou détruit par la pêche à la dynamite. (Philippines, février 2018)
Le projet de bouturage de corail de la Fondation Sulubaaï à Pangatalan : le corail est fixé sur des supports en béton spécial, fabriqués sur place, sans produit chimique, appelés modules SRP (Sulu Reef Prothesis). L’objectif principal est de reconstituer le récif endommagé ou détruit par la pêche à la dynamite. (Philippines, février 2018)
Au bout du ponton, à Pangatalan, la vie sous-marine reprend peu à peu ses droits, grâce aux efforts de la fondation Sulubaaï. (Philippines, mars 2018)
Au bout du ponton, à Pangatalan, la vie sous-marine reprend peu à peu ses droits, grâce aux efforts de la Fondation Sulubaaï. (Philippines, mars 2018)
Les scientifiques de Tara découvrent en snorkeling le projet de bouturage de corail de la Fondation Sulubaaï à Pangatalan. (Philippines, février 2018)
Les scientifiques de Tara découvrent en snorkeling le projet de bouturage de corail de la Fondation Sulubaaï à Pangatalan. (Philippines, février 2018)
Le biologiste marin Thomas Pavy, de la Fondation Sulubaaï, inspecte les boutures de corail fixées sur les modules SRP. (Philippines, février 2018)
Le biologiste marin Thomas Pavy, de la Fondation Sulubaaï, inspecte les boutures de corail fixées sur les modules SRP. (Philippines, février 2018)
L'île de Pangatalan, près de Palawan, est redevenu un petit joyau tropical, grâce aux efforts de la Fondation Sulubaaï. (Philippines, février 2018)
L’île de Pangatalan, près de Palawan, est redevenue un petit joyau tropical. (Philippines, février 2018)

À découvrir ci-dessous, en complément, le reportage vidéo sur Pangatalan et la Fondation Sulubaaï, réalisé lors de notre escale par ma consœur Noëlie Pansiot, correspondante de bord pour Tara :

2020 : retour à Pangatalan pour le projet Sea Academy

MISE À JOUR, SEPTEMBRE 2020. Deux ans après le reportage dont je parle ci-dessus, je suis retournée à Pangatalan en mars 2020, juste avant la fermeture des frontières à cause de la pandémie de Covid-19. J’ai pu à nouveau plonger autour de l’île dans la Shark Fin Bay et évoquer avec Frédéric Tardieu les missions en cours et à venir de la Fondation Sulubaaï, dont le nouveau projet Sea Academy, qui doit durer trois ans jusqu’en 2024.

Objectif : développer plusieurs petites AMP (aires maritimes protégées) à taille humaine, restaurer le corail et les mangroves et, surtout, faire revenir les poissons grâce à des méthodes innovantes…

En septembre 2020, le Fonds français pour l’environnement mondial (FFEM) a officiellement validé son soutien financier au projet Sea Academy. Cette actualité m’a permis de consacrer un nouvel article dans l’édition du soir numérique d’Ouest-France à cette formidable initiative, porteuse d’espoir pour les écosystèmes marins. Le lien est ici :

Sea Academy, une académie de la mer pour des villages de pêcheurs philippins

Mon article sur le projet Sea Academy paru en septembre 2021 dans l'édition du soir d'Ouest-France.
Mon article sur le projet Sea Academy paru en septembre 2021 dans l’édition du soir d’Ouest-France.

Pour en savoir plus sur la Fondation Sulubaaï

MISE À JOUR, MAI 2019. Je vous invite aussi à écouter cet épisode du 22 mai 2019 de l’excellent podcast Sur les routes de l’Asie, qui donne la parole à Fred Tardieu (player ci-dessous). Il raconte avec un enthousiasme communicatif l’incroyable aventure dans laquelle lui et son épouse Chris se sont lancés, aidés par le jeune plongeur et biologiste marin Thomas Pavy, pour transformer l’île et obtenir le statut d’aire marine protégée (AMP) autour de Pangatalan :

MISE À JOUR, FÉVRIER 2020. Le 20 Heures de TF1 a diffusé, dimanche 16 février 2020, un reportage sur Pangatalan et les missions environnementales en cours impulsées par la Fondation Sulubaaï, notamment le repeuplement des récifs grâce aux post-larves de poissons. Je vous mets ci-dessous la vidéo du reportage publiée sur Facebook par l’entreprise ECOCEAN, basée à Montpellier et spécialisée dans ce domaine :

MISE À JOUR, MARS 2021. Trois ans après mon premier reportage à Pangatalan, Paris-Match a consacré à son tour un reportage à Fred Tardieu et la Fondation Sulubaaï, suivi par une chronique en partenariat sur Europe 1. Je vous mets ci-dessous la courte vidéo de Paris-Match montée pour les réseaux sociaux (avec quelques photos faites par moi dedans), où Fred Tardieu résume bien tout ce qui a été accompli sur l’île depuis son arrivée :

D’autres images de l’aventure

Cette fantastique expérience de février 2018 aux Philippines m’a menée un peu plus loin, jusqu’au Vietnam. Car après l’escale à Pangatalan, la goélette Tara a traversé plus tôt que prévu la mer de Chine méridionale et moi, je suis restée à bord… Ce qui n’était pas au programme, initialement !

J’ai ainsi découvert ce que c’était que de passer plusieurs jours en haute mer, sur un voilier à coque ronde, quand on n’a pas du tout l’habitude de naviguer. Moi qui ne croyais pas être sujette au mal de mer, je suis redevenue très humble face aux eaux du grand large…

🤮 😂

Et je voue désormais une admiration sans bornes aux marins et aux scientifiques embarqués qui vivent pareil tangage au quotidien ou presque parce que c’est leur métier. Je vous raconterai peut-être ça un jour… 

😎

Le voilier océanographique Tara vu d‘en haut, au milieu des récifs coralliens de l’archipel de Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)
Le voilier océanographique Tara vu d‘en haut, au milieu des récifs coralliens de l’archipel de Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)
Tara au mouillage à Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)
La goélette au mouillage à Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)
L’équipe de Tara, toujours prête à se mouiller ! (Philippines, février 2018)
L’équipe de Tara, toujours prête à se mouiller ! (Philippines, février 2018)
Séance snorkelling pour observer les tables de corail dans les eaux de Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)
Séance snorkelling pour observer les tables de corail dans les eaux de Palawan. (Philippines, février 2018)
Fin de la traversée des Philippines au Vietnam. (Février 2018)
Fin de la traversée des Philippines au Vietnam. (Février 2018)

  Tara Pacific - février 2018

148 Partages
Partagez143
Tweetez5
Enregistrer
Partagez