Sunset over Agung volcano and Jemeluk bay, near Amed. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Sunset over Agung volcano and Jemeluk bay, near Amed. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)

Bali, it's over

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Among my most beautiful memories of Bali: the sunsets over the Agung volcano in Amed and the molas-molas, those gigantic moon-fish crossed off Nusa Penida...

Back to Brittany

That's right. I'm back from this wonderful trip to Bali. Long way back, with endless stopovers in Singapore and Colombo... The hardest part was the last three hours of the TGV from Charles-de-Gaulle airport, on Sunday morning, to get back to Rennes.

Fortunately, the weather is nice and warm when I arrive. No thermal shock to take, I keep my flip-flops on my feet! From this one month trip to Bali, I brought back more than 3400 photos and videos, on land and underwater, stored on my iPod.

Among my most beautiful memories, the sunsets on Agung volcano to Amed, and the encounter withes molas-molas, these gigantic moonfish, off Nusa Lembongan and Nusa Penida. And then the smiles of the children, the soft green of the rice fields, the fury of the waves ...

The incredible green of the rice fields, at the entrance of Amed. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Rice fields, at the entrance of Amed (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
On the beach of Pemuteran, little girls play after their traditional dance class. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008)
On the beach of Pemuteran, little girls play after their traditional dance class. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Sunset over Agung volcano and Jemeluk bay, near Amed. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Sunset over Agung volcano and Jemeluk Bay, near Amed (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Another sunset on the Agung volcano and the Jemeluk bay... I never get tired of it! (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Another sunset on the Agung volcano and the Jemeluk bay... I never get tired of it! (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)

Dive itinerary

I made a journey more maritime than terrestrial, turned towards diving, with three major stages: Pemuteran, Amed, Nusa Lembongan.

I therefore avoided the destinations often considered "must-see" in Bali, such as Ubud, Mount Batur, or the Gili Islands of Lombok, places I had already visited during my previous stays.

I don't regret this choice, which allowed me to spend almost ten days in each place. I like to take my time, to settle down.

Itinerary of one month in Bali: Kuta-Legian-Seminyak > Lovina > Pemuteran > Amed > Nusa Lembongan.

And then Pemuteran, Amed and Nusa Lembongan are still (in this year 2008) peaceful places - certainly touristy but not too much - that do not necessarily look like the exotic postcard that some have in mind when we pronounce the name of Bali ... Three seaside locations that suit my traveler's temper not frantic.

Fields and small farms in Amed. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Fields and small farms in Amed. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Mount Agung seen from the sea. (Amed, Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Mount Agung seen from the sea. (Amed, Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)

My only small regret, perhaps, is that I did not book at least a day or two to explore the natural park on the land side around Pemuteran. A German couple I met there gave me an enticing description of their expedition into the jungle and mountains.

Similarly, I would have liked to stay a few more days in Amed to walk around a bit in the mountainous area. There are, starting from Bunutan or Jemeluk, some nice treks to do... It will be for another time!

On the diving side, I was attracted by the wreck of the Liberty in Amed, where I had already dipped my fins in 2002. The wreck is certainly spectacular, but I am also very impressed by the profusion of life on the walls of Menjangan (Pemuteran), as well as by the richness and variety of the fauna at Bunutan (Amed), in spite of a rather poor visibility the day I dived there.

Last but not least, I owe my strongest and most beautiful emotions under water to mantas and mola-molas encountered in Nusa Penida, off Lembongan, although the outings there are rather sporty.

Mola-mola or moon fish. (Crystal Bay, Nusa Penida, Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Mola-mola or moon fish. (Crystal Bay, Nusa Penida, Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)

The Bréquigny swimming pool in Rennes having finally reopened after the works, I made a firm resolution: to go back regularly, and to swim, swim, swim, just to be able, next time, to approach more easily the big creatures that like to swim in the current.

😉

I still have a lot of things to tell you! So I will continue, in the next few days, the story of my Balinese journey.

Coming soon: new underwater pictures, with, among others, a nice collection of nudibranchs, those little colored sea slugs I love so much; but also land pictures, with the work of the salt workers in Amed, and the seaweed farmers in Lembongan, without forgetting the kite games on the beach... I also have lots of videos, on land and underwater, to show you!

Just to continue to share, again, the joys of this journey. And to counteract the spleen of the return!

😎

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. You are right to take time on vacation!
    Funny your picture of the mola from the front, we are more used to see them from the side!

  2. @ Marie-Net:
    Yes, I run all the rest of the time... I'd have to do the same on vacation, wouldn't I! And then, it's nice, when you stay longer than average somewhere, you start to be part of the neighborhood, you make friends, you take your habits to the local restaurants, you see molas-molas...
    This time I wanted to show the sunfish from the front, so that you can see its "surprised" face, its round eye and its open mouth.
    🙄

    @ A World Elsewhere:
    Yes, Marie-Ange, you are the voice of wisdom ... Thank you for reminding me of this wise advice. Come on, hop! That's it, the spleen is gone!
    😀

  3. Corinne
    Do you know what has changed? You have found all the accents of France.
    And you make me want to leave... you'll tell me it's not hard to push myself to meet the smiles of children, the soft green of rice fields and the colorful and noisy markets. As for the water, you are perfect. No need to get wet, to train, to get out of breath, just read you, look at your pictures and that's enough for me. Congratulations again and keep on posting, it's so refreshing.
    🙂

  4. Hi XMas!

    Yes, I found the Azerty keyboard and the French accentuation... As a result, I'm still readjusting: I sometimes type Q instead of A and vice-versa.

    Many thanks for your kind comment: "to make you want to leave" is precisely the purpose of this blog! As far as you are concerned, I know that you didn't wait to read Bubbles Underwater & Beyond to discover the wide world! But I am delighted to have shared with you my underwater wonders!

    I promise, I will continue in the coming days to publish new articles, as "refreshing" as possible.

    Bizzz
    🙂

  5. They are beautiful your photos! ...

    At this time, at work, while the air-conditioning is humming like an ocean liner, it's relaxing, it's taking you away, thank you (I love the palm tree that goes off on a tangent, leaving the big clouds on the other side).

    Kisses.

  6. Hi Isa (but iz I like it too)!

    Nice to take you on a little trip while you're on call... And thanks for your nice comment!

    I am currently sorting out the more than 3000 photos and videos brought back, in order to propose new "relaxing" articles very quickly!
    🙄

    The palm tree in question is a coconut tree, if I'm not mistaken, which survived in the middle of fields and small farms located at the end of a small transversal road, at the entrance of Amed, which leads to the beach. A nice place, filled with a beautiful light at the end of the day, around five o'clock. I would go back there, I must say. I'm also on call this weekend...
    8)

    Full of kisses!
    🙂

  7. A real treat to read your experiences, your dives, your walks, your emotions and make your shots.
    As a late diver (60 years old and 48 dives, the last ones in Mauritius at the beginning of the month), I discovered through your lines the need to improve my palming in the currents in order not to waste my energy, my air and especially to be able to stay longer in these sporting circumstances.
    Thank you for your journey in Bali which already fascinates me and I will also put on my flippers as soon as possible to enjoy your sites.
    I made a note to visit the place that Germans described you so well.
    Francilien who regularly goes down in the Gulf of Morbihan, I give up dive there to settle for sailing.
    I will introduce the son to diving in September and in Corsica, while waiting for distant horizons.

    I will continue your other stories but I wanted to congratulate you and thank you for sharing this passion.
    Your dives will be doubly useful
    Kisses and kisses and kisses.
    Philippe

    1. Thank you for the very nice note, Philippe!!! I'm really happy, every time someone tells me that I managed to get some of my enthusiasm across through this blog. That's the goal!!! Happy bubbles!!!
      🙄

Share
Tweet
Share

Coucher de soleil sur le volcan Agung et la baie de Jemeluk, près d'Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Coucher de soleil sur le volcan Agung et la baie de Jemeluk, près d'Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)

Bali, c’est fini

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

Parmi mes plus beaux souvenirs de Bali : les couchers de soleil sur le volcan Agung à Amed et les molas-molas, ces gigantesques poissons-lunes croisés au large de Nusa Penida…

Retour en Bretagne

Eh oui. Me voici rentrée de ce magnifique périple à Bali. Long long trajet retour, avec interminables escales à Singapour puis Colombo… Le plus dur ont été les trois dernières heures de TGV au départ de l’aéroport Charles-de-Gaulle, dimanche matin, pour rentrer à Rennes.

Heureusement, il fait beau et chaud quand j’arrive. Pas de choc thermique à encaisser, je garde mes tongs aux pieds ! De ce périple d’un mois à Bali, je ramène plus de 3400 photos et vidéos, terrestres et sous-marines, stockées au fur et à mesure sur mon iPod.

Parmi mes plus beaux souvenirs, les couchers de soleil sur le volcan Agung à Amed, et la rencontre avec les molas-molas, ces gigantesque poissons-lunes, au large de Nusa Lembongan et Nusa Penida. Et puis les sourires des enfants, le vert tendre des rizières, la furie des vagues…

Le vert incroyable des rizières, à l'entrée d'Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Les rizières, à l’entrée d’Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Sur la plage de Pemuteran, des petites filles jouent après leur cours de danse traditionnelle. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008)
Sur la plage de Pemuteran, des petites filles jouent après leur cours de danse traditionnelle. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Coucher de soleil sur le volcan Agung et la baie de Jemeluk, près d'Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Coucher de soleil sur le volcan Agung et la baie de Jemeluk, près d’Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Encore un coucher de soleil sur le volcan Agung et la baie de Jemeluk... Je ne m'en lasse pas ! (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Encore un coucher de soleil sur le volcan Agung et la baie de Jemeluk… Je ne m’en lasse pas ! (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)

Itinéraire dédié à la plongée

J’ai accompli un trajet plus maritime que terrestre, tourné vers la plongée, avec trois étapes majeures : Pemuteran, Amed, Nusa Lembongan.

J’ai donc évité les destinations souvent jugées « incontournables » à Bali, comme Ubud, le mont Batur, ou les îles Gili de Lombok, lieux que j’avais déjà visités lors de mes séjours précédents.

Je ne regrette pas ce choix, qui m’a permis de traîner presque une dizaine de jours à chaque endroit. J’aime bien prendre mon temps, me poser.

Itinéraire d'un mois à Bali : Kuta-Legian-Seminyak > Lovina > Pemuteran > Amed > Nusa Lembongan.

Et puis Pemuteran, Amed et Nusa Lembongan sont encore (en cette année 2008) des endroits paisibles – certes touristiques mais pas trop – qui ne ressemblent pas nécessairement à la carte postale exotique que certains ont dans la tête quand on prononce le nom de Bali… Trois lieux de bord de mer qui conviennent bien à mon tempérament de voyageuse pas frénétique.

Champs et petites fermes à Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Champs et petites fermes à Amed. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Le mont Agung vu depuis le large. (Amed, Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Le mont Agung vu depuis le large. (Amed, Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)

Mon seul petit regret, peut-être, est de n’avoir pas réservé au moins une journée ou deux pour explorer le parc naturel, côté terre, autour de Pemuteran. Un couple d’Allemands rencontrés là-bas m’a fait une description alléchante de leur expédition dans la jungle et les montagnes.

De même, je serais bien restée quelques jours supplémentaires à Amed pour me balader un peu dans la zone montagneuse. Il y a, au départ de Bunutan ou Jemeluk, des treks sympas à faire… Ce sera pour une autre fois !

Côté plongées, j’étais venue alléchée par l’épave du Liberty à Amed, où j’avais déjà trempé mes palmes en 2002. L’épave est certes spectaculaire, mais je reste aussi très impressionnée par la profusion de vie sur les tombants de l’île de Menjangan (Pemuteran), ainsi que par la richesse et la variété de la faune à Bunutan (Amed), en dépit d’une visibilité assez médiocre le jour où j’y ai plongé.

Enfin, et surtout, je dois mes plus fortes et plus belles émotions sous l’eau aux mantas et molas-molas rencontrés à Nusa Penida, au large de Lembongan, même si les sorties là-bas sont plutôt sportives.

Mola-mola ou poisson-lune. (Crystal Bay, Nusa Penida. Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Mola-mola ou poisson-lune. (Crystal Bay, Nusa Penida. Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)

La piscine de Bréquigny à Rennes ayant enfin rouvert après les travaux, j’ai pris une ferme résolution : y retourner régulièrement, et palmer, palmer, palmer, histoire d’être capable, la prochaine fois, d’approcher plus facilement les grosses bébêtes qui aiment nager dans le courant.

😉

Il me reste encore plein de choses à vous raconter ! Je vais donc poursuivre, dans les prochains jours, le récit de mon périple balinais.

À venir : de nouvelles images sous-marines, avec, entre autres, une jolie collec’ de nudibranches, ces petites limaces de mer colorées que j’aime tant ; mais aussi des photos terrestres, avec le travail des paludiers à Amed, et celui des cultivateurs d’algues à Lembongan, sans oublier les jeux de cerfs-volants sur la plage… J’ai aussi des tas de vidéos, sur terre et sous l’eau, à vous montrer !

Histoire de continuer à partager, encore, les bonheurs de ce voyage. Et de contrecarrer le spleen du retour !

😎

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

  1. Tu as bien raison de prendre du temps en vacances !
    Marrante ta photo du mola de face, on a plutôt l’habitude de les voir de côté !

  2. @ Marie-Net :
    Eh oui, je cours tout le reste du temps… Il ne manquerait plus que je fasse pareil en vacances, non mais! Et puis, c’est sympa, quand on reste plus longtemps que la moyenne quelque part, on commence à faire un peu partie du voisinage, on se fait des amis, on prend ses petites habitudes aux restos du coin, on voit des molas-molas…
    J’ai eu cette fois envie de montrer le poisson-lune de face, pour qu’on voie bien sa bouille « étonnée », son œil rond et sa bouche ouverte.
    🙄

    @ Un Monde Ailleurs :
    Oui, Marie-Ange, tu es la voix de la sagesse… Merci de me rappeler ce judicieux conseil. Allez, hop! Voilà, le spleen est parti!
    😀

  3. Corinne,
    Tu sais ce qui a changé? Tu as retrouvé tous les accents de la France.
    Et tu donnes envie de partir… tu me diras que ce n’est pas difficile de me pousser à la rencontre des sourires des enfants, du vert tendre des rizières et des marchés colorés et bruyants. Pour ce qui est dans l’eau, tu es parfaite. Pas besoin de se mouiller, de s’entraîner, de s’essoufler, il suffit de te lire, de regarder tes images et ça me suffit. Encore bravo et continue de mettre enligne, c’est trop rafraîchissant.
    🙂

  4. Coucou XMas!

    Eh oui, j’ai retrouvé le clavier Azerty et l’accentuation à la française… Résultat, je suis encore dans la réadaptation: je tape parfois des Q à la place des A et vice-versa.

    Mille mercis pour ce gentil commentaire: « donner envie de partir », c’est précisément le but de ce blog! En ce qui te concerne, je sais bien que tu n’as pas attendu de lire Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs pour partir à la découverte du vaste monde! Mais je suis ravie de t’avoir fait partager mes émerveillements sous l’eau!

    Promis, je continue dans les jours qui viennent à publier de nouveaux articles, aussi « rafraîchissants » que possible.

    Bizzz
    🙂

  5. Elles sont belles tes photos !…

    À c’t’heure, au taf, alors que la clim fait des ronflements de machines façon paquebot, ça délasse, ça emmène, merci (j’adore le palmier qui prend la tangente, laissant les gros nuages de l’autre côté).

    Des bises.

  6. Coucou Isa (mais iz j’aime bien aussi)!

    Ravie de te faire voyager un peu alors que tu es d’astreinte… Et merci de ton gentil commentaire!

    Je suis en train de trier les plus de 3000 photos et vidéos ramenées, afin de proposer de nouveaux articles « délassants » très vite!
    🙄

    Le palmier en question, c’est un cocotier, si je ne m’abuse, qui a survécu au milieu des champs et petites fermes situés tout au bout d’une petite route transversale, à l’entrée d’Amed, qui mène à la plage. Un joli coin, empli d’une lumière magnifique en fin de journée, vers cinq heures. J’y retournerais bien, je dois dire. Moi aussi je suis d’astreinte ce week-end…
    8)

    Tout plein de bises!
    🙂

  7. Un vrai régal de lire tes expériences, tes plongées, tes balades, tes émotions et comptempler tes clichés.
    Plongeur sur le tard ( 60 ans et 48 plongées dont les dernières à Maurice en début de mois ), j’ai découvert à travers tes lignes les besoins de mieux palmer dans les courants afin de ne pas gaspiller mon énergie, mon air et surtout pouvoir rester + longtemps dans ces circonstances sportives.
    Merci de ton parcours à Bali qui me passionne déjà et je vais aussi enfiler au plus tôt mes palmes afin d’apprécier tes sites.
    J’ai noté de visiter l’endroit que des allemands t’ont si bien décri.
    Francilien qui descend régulièrement dans le Golfe du Morbihan, je renonce à plonger là-bas pour me contenter de la voile.
    J’irai initier à la plongée le fiston en septembre et en Corse, en attendant des horizons lointains.

    Je vais poursuivre tes autres récits mais je voulais te féliciter et te remercier de partager cette passion.
    Tes plongées me seront doublement utiles
    Bises et bises et bises.
    Philippe

    1. Merci de ce petit mot très sympa, Philippe !!! Je suis vraiment très contente, chaque fois qu’on me dit que j’ai réussi à faire passer un peu de mon enthousiasme à travers ce blog. C’est le but !!! Bonnes bulles !!!
      🙄

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

10 Partages
Partagez3
Tweetez
Enregistrer7
Partagez