Long Beach, in Perhentian Kecil. (Malaysia, July 2006)
Long Beach, in Perhentian Kecil. (Malaysia, July 2006)

Head to Perhentian Kecil!

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

I leave Kota Bahruand its women buried and concrete for the Perhentian Islands. Perhentian Besar the great, and Perhentian Kecil the small, renowned for their crystal-clear waters and coral reefs .

I share the taxi to Kuala Besut, from where the boats for the islands leave, with two young English girls. Afterwards, everything is very easy. The driver drops us off in front of the small agency he works for, which collects the tickets for the crossing.

The Perhentian Islands will be my first island stop on this trip to Malaysia. I plan to spend five to seven days there, alternating days of laze and dives. You can also dive at Redanganother island famous for its seabed, located not far from there, from the Perhentians. Next, I plan to discover the island of Tiomanand I plan to end this trip to Malaysia on a high note: Sipadan...in Borneo...

(Small addition, years after the publication of this post: I don't know yet, during this July 2006 trip to Malaysia, that this first passage in Sipadan will be followed by two others, because I won't resist the pleasure to go back diving on this really exceptional spot, in 2009 and in 2013.)

But right now, I'm in the early stages, in the Perhentian Islands, so...

Transparent water and white sand

Long Beach, the aptly named, main beach of Perhentian Kecil Island. (Malaysia, July 2006)
Long Beach, the aptly named, main beach of Perhentian Kecil Island. (Malaysia, July 2006)

We are a dozen young people backpackers (travellers with backpacks) to cram us into a large boat, equipped with two powerful engines: 45 minutes of jumping in the waves and we're there!

We all go down to Perhentian Kecil, the Little Perhentian (pronounced "ké-tchil"). This is typically the island of young budget travellers with backpacks... The accommodation is more rustic and a little cheaper than on the neighbouring island of Perhentian Besar (the Big one), and there are a lot of bars along the beach.

My first impression of the islands is in any case consistent with the information gleaned here and there on the internet : transparent water, white sand, coconut trees, deep green forest behind. Really a very nice scenery, very postcard. The sun is banging, it's terribly hot.

The water is incredibly transparent on Long Beach in Perhentian Kecil. (Malaysia, July 2006)
The water is incredibly transparent on Long Beach in Perhentian Kecil. (Malaysia, July 2006)
Long Beach, in Perhentian Kecil. (Malaysia, July 2006)
Long Beach, in Perhentian Kecil. (Malaysia, July 2006)

Just deposited on the beach, I head for the big red sign of Coral Sky Divers...clearly visible. This is the diving club I contacted by e-mail before leaving.

WARNING : This trip dates back to 2006, and Coral Sky Divers has not existed for several years. But there are a lot of other dive centers on the Perhentian Islands, it's quite easy to find it via a small Google search.

Cottages in Malaysia

Perhentian Kecil being crowded in July-August, it's a bit hard to find accommodation without having booked anything, especially when you arrive for the weekend, like me.

So the club took it upon themselves to get me a bungalow from their neighbors. Here in Malaysia, the tourism industry uses the term "bungalow" instead. chalets (sic!) for the bungalows.

I am therefore housed in Matahari Chalets, which adjoin the diving club (mata-hari means "sun" in Malay, literally "the eye of the day"). Very practical.

The Matahari Chalets. (Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia, July 2006)
The Matahari Chalets. (Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia, July 2006)

I'm not going to have a long way to go in the morning, jumping out of bed, to gear up before the first dive of the day. So my only concern may be the difficult choice of which swimsuit to put on. The start of the holiday is looking pretty good...

😎

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. In addition to the interest of your chronicles, that of the day does not lack of flavor, I explain: the chalets out of alpine context, it is already not banal, but that they are called Matahari, it gives you a small air of seduction and intrigue of the past century; As for the island of Perhentian Besar, I can not help thinking that "besar" in Spanish means "kissing"; here are some ingredients that may inspire many novelists ...

    Hello to the underwater world, tell me to transmit fish from the aquarium ...
    😉

  2. Ben quoi, des chalets, y en a plein ici!!! 😆

    This description of the islands made me crazy ... a little exotic ... ah ...
    Here in Switzerland, always so hot, but there is not the sea and the beach next ... sniff, sniff !! Still 3 weeks to hold !!!! Tonight, the Blues go to the final, they will play against Italy. You have not finished hearing about Zidane there ...

    Big kisses, and hello fish, remain cautious !!!!

  3. Hi !
    I am doing research to spend our padi in Asia and why not in Malaysia. Do you have another address for Coral Sky Divers because your link does not work anymore?
    On voudrait un centre de plongée familial et francophone. 😉
    thank you

    1. @Christelle: This trip to Malaysia and this stay on Perhentian Kecil date from ... 2006. Everything changes very quickly in Asia, and Coral Sky Divers has closed several years ago, now (I will specify in the article). I do not know what is the name of the center that took over the structure ...

      Otherwise, I returned to the Perhentian Islands three years later, it was in 2009. I was this time on Perhentian Besar, really very nice, that I prefer, with hindsight, to Perhentian Kecil. And I had dive with the Watercolors center, very well, which will fit your criteria, I think. They are still active, and I have since received feedback from other travelers that they are very happy with their services. I think they also have an annex, a bit isolated, on Perhentian Kecil too. I advise you to visit their site and write them for more info:
      http://www.watercoloursworld.com

      To learn more about Perhentian Besar and Watercolours, all the posts about my 2009 trip are here:
      -> http://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/voyage-borneo-malaisie-indonesie-2009/

      Good preparations !!!
      🙄

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Long Beach, à Perhentian Kecil. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)
Long Beach, à Perhentian Kecil. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)

Cap sur Perhentian Kecil !

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Je quitte Kota Bahru, ses femmes enfoulardées et son béton pour les îles Perhentian. Perhentian Besar la grande, et Perhentian Kecil la petite, réputées pour leurs eaux cristallines et leurs récifs coralliens…

Je partage le taxi pour Kuala Besut, d’où partent les bateaux pour les îles, avec deux jeunes Anglaises. Après, tout se fait très facilement. Le chauffeur nous dépose devant la petite agence pour laquelle il bosse, et qui collecte les billets pour la traversée.

Les îles Perhentian seront ma première étape insulaire, lors de ce périple en Malaisie. J’ai prévu d’y passer cinq à sept jours, pour alterner journée de farniente et plongées. On peut aussi plonger à Redang, une autre île réputée pour ses fonds marins, située non loin de là, depuis les Perhentian. Ensuite, je compte découvrir l’île de Tioman, et je prévois de conclure ce voyage en Malaisie par le top du top : Sipadan, à Bornéo…

(Petit ajout, des années après la publication de ce post : je ne sais pas encore, lors de ce voyage de juillet 2006 en Malaisie, que ce premier passage à Sipadan sera suivi de deux autres, car je ne résisterai pas au plaisir de retourner plonger sur ce spot réellement exceptionnel, en 2009 et en 2013.)

Mais pour l’instant, j’en suis au début, aux îles Perhentian, donc…

Eau transparente et sable blanc

Long Beach, la bien nommée, plage principale de l'île de Perhentian Kecil. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)
Long Beach, la bien nommée, plage principale de l’île de Perhentian Kecil. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)

Nous sommes une douzaine de jeunes backpackers (voyageurs avec sac à dos) à nous entasser dans une grande barque, pourvue de deux puissants moteurs : 45 minutes de sauts dans les vagues et nous y sommes !

On descend tous à Perhentian Kecil, la Petite Perhentian (prononcez « ké-tchil »). C’est typiquement l’île des jeunes voyageurs à petit budget lestés de sacs à dos… L’hébergement y est plus rustique et un peu moins cher qu’à l’île voisine de Perhentian Besar (la Grande), et pas mal de bars s’alignent le long de la plage.

Ma première impression des îles est en tout cas conforme aux infos glanées çà et là sur internet : eau transparente, sable blanc, cocotiers, vert profond de la forêt derrière. Vraiment un très joli décor, très carte postale. Le soleil cogne, il fait une chaleur terrible.

L'eau est incroyablement transparente sur la plage de Long Beach, à Perhentian Kecil. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)
L’eau est incroyablement transparente sur la plage de Long Beach, à Perhentian Kecil. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)
Long Beach, à Perhentian Kecil. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)
Long Beach, à Perhentian Kecil. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)

À peine déposée sur la plage, je me dirige vers le grand panneau rouge de Coral Sky Divers, bien visible. C’est le club de plongée avec lequel j’ai pris contact par e-mail avant de partir.

AVERTISSEMENT : ce voyage date de 2006, et Coral Sky Divers n’existe plus depuis plusieurs années. Mais il y a quantité d’autres centres de plongée sur les îles Perhentian, ça se trouve assez facilement via une petite recherche Google.

Des chalets en Malaisie

Perhentian Kecil étant bondée en juillet-août, il est un peu ardu d’y trouver à se loger sans rien avoir réservé, surtout quand on arrive pour le week-end, comme moi.

Du coup, le club s’est chargé de me retenir un bungalow chez leurs voisins. Ici, en Malaisie, l’industrie du tourisme utilise plutôt le terme de chalets (sic !) pour les bungalows.

Je suis donc logée aux Matahari Chalets, qui jouxtent le club de plongée (mata-hari signifie « soleil » en malais, littéralement « l’œil du jour »). Bien pratique.

Les Matahari Chalets. (Perhentian Kecil, Malaisie, juillet 2006)
Les Matahari Chalets. (Perhentian Kecil, Malaisie, juillet 2006)

Je ne vais pas avoir beaucoup de chemin à faire le matin, au saut du lit, pour m’équiper avant la première plongée du jour. Ma seule préoccupation risque donc d’être le difficile choix du maillot de bain à enfiler. Ce début de vacances s’annonce plutôt bien…

😎

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

  1. Outre l’intérêt de tes chroniques, celle du jour ne manque pas de saveur, je m’explique: des chalets hors contexte alpin, c’est déjà pas banal, mais qu’ils s’appellent Matahari, ça vous a un petit air de séduction et d’intrigue du siècle passé; quant à l’île de Perhentian Besar, je ne peux m’empêcher de penser que « besar » en espagnol signifie « embrasser »; voilà quelques ingrédients qui pourraint inspirer bien des romanciers…

    Bonjour au monde sous-marin, me disent de transmettre les poissons de l’aquarium…
    😉

  2. Ben quoi, des chalets, y en a plein ici!!! 😆

    Cette description des îles m’a fait un bien fou… un peu d’exotisme… ah…
    Ici, en Suisse, toujours aussi chaud, mais y’a pas la mer et la plage à côté…. snif,snif!! Encore 3 semaines à tenir!!!! Ce soir, les Bleus passent en finale, ils joueront contre l’Italie. Tu n’as pas fini d’entendre parler de Zidane là-bas…

    Gros bisous, et bonjour aux poissons, reste prudente!!!!

  3. Salut !
    Je fais des recherches pour passer notre padi en asie et pourquoi pas en Malaisie. As-tu une autre adresse pour Coral Sky Divers car ton lien ne fonctionne plus ?
    On voudrait un centre de plongée familial et francophone. 😉
    merci

    1. @Christelle: Ce voyage en Malaisie et ce séjour sur Perhentian Kecil datent de… 2006. Tout change très vite en Asie, et Coral Sky Divers a fermé il y a plusieurs années, maintenant (je vais le préciser dans l’article). Je ne sais plus quel est le nom du centre qui a repris la structure…

      Sinon, je suis retournée aux îles Perhentian trois ans après, c’était en 2009. J’étais cette fois allée sur Perhentian Besar, vraiment très chouette, que je préfère, avec le recul, à Perhentian Kecil. Et j’avais plongé avec avec le centre Watercolours, très bien, qui correspondra à vos critères, je pense. Ils sont toujours en activité, et j’ai parfois eu, depuis, des retours d’autres voyageurs me disant qu’ils étaient très contents de leurs services. Je crois qu’ils ont aussi une annexe, un peu isolée, sur Perhentian Kecil aussi. Je te conseille de visiter leur site et de leur écrire pour plus d’infos :
      http://www.watercoloursworld.com

      Pour en savoir plus sur Perhentian Besar et Watercolours, tous les posts concernant mon voyage de 2009 sont ici :
      -> http://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/voyage-borneo-malaisie-indonesie-2009/

      Bons préparatifs !!!
      🙄

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez