Bangkok underwater in 2030?

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Between Two Journeys

Bangkok, built on a marshy ground, sinks. With rising sea levels due to global warming, the capital of Thailand could be swallowed up under 1.50 meters of water by 2030.

Bangkok flows ...

Bangkok vignetteThe author of this pessimistic prediction (at the time I wrote this article in February 2009) is the Thai meteorologist Smith Dharmasaroja. It is reported in this article of 3 February 2009 of Global Post, entitled Bangkok is sinking (Bangkok flows).

In the late 1990s, Smith Dharmasaroja predicted the imminence of a deadly tsunami and was not taken very seriously in his country. And then there was the terrible wave of December 2004 ...

The animation that I presented at the beginning opposite, showing the depression of Bangkok, does not work anymore. I put you in the place another diagram, below, which summarizes well the situation, found on the site hist-cron.com :

Sinking Bangkok

The complex phenomenon is linked to several factors: constructions, clay soil, groundwater pumping, filling of canals, erosion of the coast and mangrove, etc.

To learn more about the measures taken to stem the rising waters, I invite you to read this excellent article, very complete, dated May 2008, on the site Newsboy, subtitle… Bangkok does not want to sink !

The Venice of Asia

There was a time when Bangkok was nicknamed "the Venice of Asia" because of its many canals (Khlongs). There are not many of them left, but we can still have some nice walks along the water, boarding one of the many boats that crisscross the Chao Praya River. A very nice way to discover Bangkok differently.

Update. New articles on the recession of Bangkok and its recurring floods are published, year after year ... Almost ten years after the first publication of this post, the situation has not really improved ... I refer you below on a recent article from 2018:

→ Bangkok sinks and could be partially submerged by 2030 (out of 20Minutes)

Finally, for an overview, which helps to understand why Bangkok is so exposed, nothing beats a Google Map. Below, a screenshot quite speaking, that I made when the first publication of this post, on the site eBangkok.org (which does not exist any more). Yes, we can see that the sea is close, very close ...

Google map

😱

  Between Two Journeys

21 Shares
Share20
Tweet
Pine
Share1

Bangkok sous l’eau en 2030 ?

Édité le

Bangkok, bâtie sur un sol marécageux, s’enfonce. Avec la montée du niveau de la mer, due au réchauffement climatique, la capitale de la Thaïlande pourrait être engloutie sous 1,50 mètre d’eau dès 2030.

Bangkok coule…

Bangkok vignetteL’auteur de cette prédiction pessimiste (à l’époque où j’ai écrit cet article, en février 2009) est le météorologiste thaïlandais Smith Dharmasaroja. Elle est rapportée dans cet article du 3 février 2009 du Global Post, intitulé Bangkok is sinking (Bangkok coule).

À la fin des années 1990, Smith Dharmasaroja avait prédit l’imminence d’un tsunami meurtrier et n’avait pas été pris très au sérieux dans son pays. Et puis il y a eu la terrible vague de décembre 2004…

L’animation que je présentais à l’origine ci-contre, montrant l’enfoncement de Bangkok, ne fonctionne plus. Je vous mets à la place un autre schéma, ci-dessous, qui résume bien la situation, trouvé sur le site hist-cron.com :

Sinking Bangkok

Le phénomène, complexe, est lié à plusieurs facteurs : constructions, sol argileux, pompage de la nappe phréatique, comblage des canaux, érosion de la côte et de la mangrove, etc.

Pour en savoir plus sur les mesures prises pour endiguer la montée des eaux, je vous invite à lire cet excellent article, très complet, daté de mai 2008, sur le site Gavroche, sous-titré… Bangkok ne veut pas couler !

La Venise de l’Asie

Il fut un temps où l’on surnommait Bangkok « la Venise de l’Asie », en raison de ses nombreux canaux (khlongs). Il n’en reste plus beaucoup, mais on peut encore faire de chouettes balades au fil de l’eau, en embarquant sur l’un des nombreux bateaux qui sillonnent le fleuve Chao Praya. Une manière bien agréable de découvrir Bangkok autrement.

Mise à jour. De nouveaux articles sur l’enfoncement de Bangkok et ses inondations récurrentes sont publiés, année après année… Près de dix ans après la première publication de ce post, la situation ne s’est pas vraiment améliorée… Je vous renvoie ci-dessous sur un article récent de 2018 :

→ Bangkok coule et pourrait être en partie submergée d’ici à 2030 (sur 20Minutes)

Enfin, pour une vue d’ensemble, qui permet de bien comprendre pourquoi Bangkok est si exposée, rien ne vaut une Google Map. Ci-dessous, une capture d’écran tout à fait parlante, que j’avais faite lors de la première publication de ce post, sur le site eBangkok.org (qui n’existe plus). Eh oui, on voit bien que la mer est proche, tout proche…

Google Map

😱

  Entre deux voyages

21 Partages
Partagez20
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez1