Toad fish (antennal). Philippines, March 2008.

The fabulous underwater critters of Dauin and Apo

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


The wealth of submarine sites in Dauin (Negros) and Apo made a strong impression. Life abounds there and the beauty of the coral, hard and soft, farting with health, is properly stunning.

Delicate and shy seahorses such as the antennaires (toad fish), much sought after by divers, are numerous. As for the nudibranchs (sea slugs) that I like so much, their diversity is amazing: I had the pleasure to discover there some species that I had never seen before...

Here are some pictures brought back from Dauin and Apo funds. For the pleasure of the eyes, for the memory, for the beautiful emotions that these dives gave me.

Finally, for the divers, I wrote a more "splash" oriented report on the forum of the excellent site Plongeur.com : a click right here.

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. I love flaming cuttlefish, with their amazing colour changes. This was the second time I'd come across one underwater. The first time was this summer, in Lembeh (Sulawesi). This one, photographed at Masaplod, Dauin, was fleeing on the sand, frightened by our bubbles, offering me its best profile 😉

    As for the leaf fish, they were two, in fact, wedged between the corals, a small and a big one, also in Masaplod (very rich, this site). I have seen many during my previous dives on Sipadan and Sulawesi, as well as during this trip to the Philippines. Roses, whites, browns. But this yellow color, I think it's the first time too.

  2. Yes, he is very well the Sea Explorers of Dauin. Very pro, flawless organization and good atmosphere.

    I'm like you: my favorite dives in Dauin are The Pier and Apo, top-level !!! The Pier is truly a fabulous site, mesmerizing atmosphere, with the light filtering between the pillars covered with corals and critters ...

    Mindanao for 2009 !!! I'll go watch this on your blog ...
    🙄

  3. Your stories are very pleasant and very true to reality. In addition, beautiful pictures ...
    I also know Dauin (in 2007) and Apo Island. Excellent dives with the very serious Sea Explorer dive center. For me, the best dives were at Pier and Apo ... and in front of the dive center, at night.
    Now, I'm preparing my next trip 2009, probably to Mindanao ... 8)

Share
Tweet
Pin
Share

Poisson crapaud (antennaire). Philippines, mars 2008.

Les fabuleuses créatures sous-marines de Dauin et Apo

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

La richesse des sites sous-marins de Dauin (Negros) et Apo m’a fait forte impression. La vie y foisonne et la beauté des coraux, durs et mous, pétant de santé, est proprement renversante.

Les délicats et timides hippocampes comme les antennaires (poissons-crapauds), très recherchés des plongeurs, sont nombreux. Quant aux nudibranches (limaces de mer) que j’aime tant, leur diversité est hallucinante: j’ai eu le bonheur de découvrir là-bas quelques espèces que je n’avais encore jamais vues…

Voici donc quelques images ramenées des fonds de Dauin et Apo. Pour le plaisir des yeux, pour le souvenir, pour les belles émotions que ces plongées m’ont procurées.

Enfin, à l’intention des plongeurs, j’ai rédigé un compte-rendu plus orienté « ploufs » sur le forum de l’excellent site Plongeur.com : un clic ici.

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

  1. J’adore les seiches flamboyantes, avec leurs changements de couleur proprement stupéfiants. C’était la deuxième fois que j’en croisais sous l’eau. La première fois, c’était cet été, à Lembeh (Sulawesi). Celle-ci, photographiée sur le site de Masaplod, à Dauin, fuyait sur le sable, effarouchée par nos bulles, m’offrant ainsi son meilleur profil. 😉

    Quant au poisson-feuille, ils étaient deux, en fait, calés entre les coraux, un petit et un gros, également à Masaplod (très riche, ce site). J’en ai vu beaucoup, lors de mes plongées précédentes, du côté de Sipadan et Sulawesi, ainsi que pendant ce voyage aux Philippines. Des roses, des blancs, des bruns. Mais de cette couleur jaune, je crois bien que c’est la première fois aussi.

  2. Oui, il est très bien le Sea Explorers de Dauin. Très pro, organisation sans faille et bonne ambiance.

    Je suis comme toi: mes plongées préférées à Dauin restent The Pier et Apo, du top-niveau!!! The Pier est vraiment un site fabuleux, ambiance envoûtante, avec la lumière qui filtre entre les piliers couverts de coraux et de bestioles…

    Mindanao pour 2009!!! J’irai surveiller ça sur ton blog…
    🙄

  3. Tes récits sont très plaisants et très fidèles à la réalité. En plus, de belles photos…
    Je connais aussi Dauin (en 2007) et Apo Island. Excellentes plongées avec le très sérieux Sea Explorer dive center. Pour moi, les meilleures plongées étaient au Pier et Apo…et devant le centre de plongée, la nuit.
    Maintenant, je prépare mon prochain voyage 2009, sans doute à Mindanao… 8)

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez