L'anglais, c'est pratique pour discuter avec son chauffeur de tricycle ! (Philippines, Siquijor, février 2008)
English is convenient to chat with your tricycle driver! (Philippines, Siquijor, February 2008)

Tagalog, filipino, english, spanish?

#Philippines

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

What is convenient when traveling to the Philippines is that everyone speaks English. Fishermen and peasants, villagers and townspeople, children and adults ...

I was struck throughout this trip by the spontaneity with which people came to speak to me. And surprise the good level of English of most of my interlocutors.

English, second official language in the Philippines

English is the second official language of the country, with tagalog (language of the region of Manila) renamed filipino for the sake of national unity. English and Filipino allow us to understand each other in the archipelago, where we speak more than 70 other languages ... The most represented is the Visayan, language of the Visayas Islands, where I was.

Pêcheurs à Siquijor. (Philippines, février 2008)
Fishermen in Siquijor. (Philippines, February 2008)

Many Filipinos explained to me the same thing: children learn English at school, and classes are taught in English, hence this good general level. Filipinos are very proud of it. For expatriate candidates, speaking English is also the possibility of finding work more easily.

English is part of everyday life. Posters on the walls, road signs, administrative documents, religious, legal or advertising messages are most often in English. Filipinos use English to count, especially when it comes to money. It is not uncommon in a conversation to suddenly hear, in a stream of unidentifiable words, a "One thousand pesos".

The Western traveler who has already been to Indonesia or Malaysia, also recognizes the famous "Selamat" polite formulas. Tagalog is part of the Malayo-Polynesian family of languages, and the Arab and Chinese merchant ships of past centuries have also left their linguistic imprint.

Spanish colonization

And then there is all the vocabulary inherited from the three centuries of Spanish colonization: butter is mantikilya, for example. I even once heard a girl pick up her phone saying "Como estas" to his interlocutor ...

La cathédrale Sainte-Catherine Alexandria, à Dumaguete. (Philippines, Negros, février 2008)
St. Catherine Alexandria Cathedral, Dumaguete. (Philippines, Negros, February 2008)
Devant la cathédrale de Dumaguete. (Philippines, Negros, février 2008)
In front of Dumaguete Cathedral. (Philippines, Negros, February 2008)

At Cebu Airport, while waiting for my return flight to France, I chatted with a lady on the ground, a former flight attendant, at the bar facing the check-in desks.

She obviously speaks perfect English and she immediately senses my little accent frenchy when I order. We exchange a few words, we sympathize ... I take the opportunity to address the issue of language. I tell him that it amuses me to identify words of Spanish in the filipino, and that English is a real comfort for traveling to the Philippines.

She then remade a short history course, explaining me that English has spread with the presence of the Americans (half a century of colonization, since the Spanish-American War of 1898) and then continued after the Second World War and the independence of the country. That Spanish was still practiced not so long ago, in the large families of the well-to-do, but only the elderly still speak it a little today. And that the general English level in the Philippines is falling, because teachers prefer to go to private schools where they are better paid.

The language participates in the change of scenery

For a passing tourist like me, being able to make people understand and discuss with them in English is definitely a plus. But this "facility" has its reverse.

How to say…. It takes a bit of mystery away. The change of scenery is less complete. And I did not even make the effort to learn two-three words in Tagalog or Visayan, since everyone greeted me and approached me in English. It's a shame, no?

Notre banca tirée sur le sable de Sandugan Beach à Siquijor : "In God we trust"... (Philippines, février 2008)
Our banca drawn on the sand of Sandugan Beach in Siquijor: "In God we trust" ... (Philippines, February 2008)
L'anglais, c'est pratique pour discuter avec son chauffeur de tricycle ! (Philippines, Siquijor, février 2008)
English is convenient to chat with your tricycle driver! (Philippines, Siquijor, February 2008)

I promised myself to come back. Take the time to better discover the country, to return to explore the fabulous seabed. Next time, I will put myself more seriously to the language.

Even to learn the basic phrases, to present me as it should, when the inevitable litany of questions arrives, always the same. Where I come from, where I'm going, and if it's the first time in the country, and how long I stay, and if I travel alone, etc. etc. Questions that are as much curiosity as politeness ...

But it creates a relationship a little different, often more warm, when we are able to answer in a language other than English!

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

L'anglais, c'est pratique pour discuter avec son chauffeur de tricycle ! (Philippines, Siquijor, février 2008)
L'anglais, c'est pratique pour discuter avec son chauffeur de tricycle ! (Philippines, Siquijor, février 2008)

Tagalog, filipino, anglais, espagnol ?

#Philippines

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Ce qui est pratique, quand on voyage aux Philippines, c’est que tout le monde y parle anglais. Pêcheurs et paysans, villageois et citadins, enfants et adultes…

J’ai été frappée, tout au long de ce voyage, de la spontanéité avec laquelle les gens venaient m’adresser la parole. Et surprise du bon niveau d’anglais de la plupart de mes interlocuteurs.

L’anglais, deuxième langue officielle aux Philippines

L’anglais est la deuxième langue officielle du pays, avec le tagalog (langue de la région de Manille) rebaptisé filipino dans un souci d’unité nationale. L’anglais et le filipino permettent de se comprendre dans tout l’archipel, où l’on parle plus de 70 autres langues… La plus représentée est le visayan, langue des îles Visayas, où je me trouvais.

Pêcheurs à Siquijor. (Philippines, février 2008)
Pêcheurs à Siquijor. (Philippines, février 2008)

Beaucoup de Philippins m’ont expliqué la même chose : les enfants apprennent l’anglais à l’école, et les cours sont dispensés en anglais, d’où ce bon niveau général. Les Philippins en sont très fiers. Pour les candidats à l’expatriation, parler anglais, c’est aussi la possibilité de trouver plus facilement du travail.

L’anglais fait partie de la vie quotidienne. Les affiches aux murs, la signalisation routière, les documents administratifs, les messages à caractère religieux, juridique ou publicitaire sont le plus souvent en anglais. Les Philippins utilisent l’anglais pour compter, surtout quand il est question d’argent. Il n’est pas rare dans une conversation d’entendre émerger tout à coup, dans un flot de paroles non identifiables, un « one thousand pesos ».

Le voyageur occidental qui est déjà allé en Indonésie ou en Malaisie, reconnaît aussi le fameux « selamat » des formules de politesse. Le tagalog fait partie de la famille des langues malayo-polynésiennes, et les navires marchands arabes et chinois des siècles passés ont eux aussi laissé leur empreinte linguistique.

Colonisation espagnole

Et puis il y a tout le vocabulaire hérité des trois siècles de colonisation espagnole : le beurre, c’est mantikilya, par exemple. J’ai même entendu une fois une fille décrocher son téléphone en disant « como estas » à son interlocuteur…

La cathédrale Sainte-Catherine Alexandria, à Dumaguete. (Philippines, Negros, février 2008)
La cathédrale Sainte-Catherine Alexandria, à Dumaguete. (Philippines, Negros, février 2008)
Devant la cathédrale de Dumaguete. (Philippines, Negros, février 2008)
Devant la cathédrale de Dumaguete. (Philippines, Negros, février 2008)

À l’aéroport de Cebu, en attendant l’heure de mon vol retour pour la France, j’ai bavardé avec une dame du personnel au sol, ancienne hôtesse de l’air, au bar faisant face aux comptoirs d’enregistrement.

Elle parle évidemment un anglais impeccable et elle détecte tout de suite mon petit accent frenchy quand je passe commande. On échange quelques mots, on sympathise… J’en profite pour aborder la question de la langue. Je lui dis que ça m’amuse d’identifier des mots d’espagnol dans le filipino, et que l’anglais est un vrai confort pour voyager aux Philippines.

Elle me refait alors un petit cours d’histoire express, m’expliquant que l’anglais s’est répandu avec la présence des Américains (un demi-siècle de colonisation, depuis la guerre hispano-américaine de 1898) et a perduré ensuite après la Seconde Guerre mondiale et l’indépendance du pays. Que l’espagnol était encore pratiqué, il n’y a pas si longtemps, dans les grandes familles des classes aisées, mais que seules les personnes âgées le parlent encore un peu aujourd’hui. Et que le niveau d’anglais général aux Philippines est en train de baisser, parce que les profs préfèrent aller dans les écoles privées où ils sont mieux payés.

La langue participe au dépaysement

Pour une touriste de passage comme moi, pouvoir se faire comprendre des gens et discuter avec eux en anglais est indiscutablement un plus. Mais cette « facilité » a son revers.

Comment dire…. Ça ôte un peu du mystère. Le dépaysement est moins complet. Et je n’ai même pas fait l’effort d’apprendre deux-trois mots en tagalog ou visayan, vu que tout le monde me saluait et m’abordait en anglais. C’est dommage, non ?

Notre banca tirée sur le sable de Sandugan Beach à Siquijor : "In God we trust"... (Philippines, février 2008)
Notre banca tirée sur le sable de Sandugan Beach à Siquijor : « In God we trust »… (Philippines, février 2008)
L'anglais, c'est pratique pour discuter avec son chauffeur de tricycle ! (Philippines, Siquijor, février 2008)
L’anglais, c’est pratique pour discuter avec son chauffeur de tricycle ! (Philippines, Siquijor, février 2008)

Je me suis promis de revenir. De prendre le temps de mieux découvrir le pays, de retourner en explorer les fabuleux fonds sous-marins. La prochaine fois, je me mettrai plus sérieusement à la langue.

Ne serait-ce qu’apprendre les phrases basiques, pour me présenter comme il convient, quand arrive l’inévitable litanie de questions, toujours les mêmes. D’où je viens, où je vais, et si c’est la première fois dans le pays, et combien de temps je reste, et si je voyage seule, etc. etc. Questions qui sont autant de la curiosité que de la politesse…

Mais ça crée une relation un peu différente, souvent plus chaleureuse, quand on est capable d’y répondre dans une autre langue que l’anglais !

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez