Pantar Island. Alor, Indonesia. July 2012.

Need islands

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Between Two Journeys

If, like me, you like islands, here or elsewhere, dive into this book: Need islands, by the geographer Louis Brigand. The man is a scientist, but it is in passion, in love, that he speaks of the islands he has visited as part of his research.

Starting with the Breton islands, and that of Beniguet in particular, in the Molène archipelago. I invite you to read this report that my colleague Marc Pennec devoted to him in Ouest-France. What to fill up with refreshing marine freshness!

Need Islands, by Louis Brigand, Stock Editions.Need islands
Stock editions
252 pages, 18 €

Louis Brigand is a professor atEuropean Institute of the Sea, in Brest, at the University of Western Brittany (UBO). He is one of the great specialists in island issues. His job as a teacher-researcher leads him to travel from one end of the planet to another, from island to island ... Still a "dream job" for globe-trotters?
 ;-)

No Asian islands in the memories mentioned in his book. But he has very right words to say that irresistible attraction that the islands exert on our imagination (remember Treasure Island from Stevenson!), to talk about the beauty of insularity, the happiness of letting the days go by looking at the sea ...

Finally, I prefer to move regularly from one island to another, and thus be itinerant and nomadic, rather than fixed and sedentary. As a result, I have the impression to have elected in an immense archipelago, to travel permanently from one house to another, and to share my life between spaces that come together, forming a whole in which I draws energy and a certain resourcing. (P.67)

I do not feel anything else, the idea of going back, very soon, for distant archipelagos. The Perhentian Islands, then Borneo, Sipadan and Mabul, Derawan and Sangalaki ...

I go there in a tourist context, for holidays, and I will not be in a situation of complete isolation, far from it. But I like to be surrounded by water, to have no other border around me than the sea. To contemplate the horizon is my head. Many people feel trapped, a little prisoners, on an island. Me is the opposite: staying on an island frees me, soothes me. I leave the floor to Louis Brigand:

Happiness may just be that! An island.
I think isolation is something that happens in your head. There are millions of guys who live in dramatic isolation, in their apartment or in town, in front of their TV or their electronic games! I may be isolated geographically, but not at all mentally. On the contrary, the island with closed borders is a mirror that reflects deeply and amplifies things in life. (P.14)

My my my ! This book is timely. I badly need islands.

 :-)

  Between Two Journeys

  1. A Parisian islander in his soul, dry of his island for 30 years and who will see her again in 1, 2, 3, 4, ... 27 days ... I will certainly shed a tear when July 25, I will tread again the Bauerfield airport ground in Port Vila. I will then ask the taxi "Yu fala save tekem mi long ples ia ..." .. No more need of dico de bahasa 😉 ... the words in Bislama of Vanuatu will come out alone, a silence of 30 years.

    Insularity an isolation? But not at all, insularity is the taste of discovery, uncertainty ... it is the condition that teaches you to look beyond the horizon and ask in which direction there is another island similar or different, ... the islander is sure there is another, he scrutinizes the sky while the continental thinks to be the center of the world, it moves the earth ... the island is moving while the continental is certainty ... how to be sure of anything, when three cyclones a year sweep the bad structures like received ideas.

    A condition usually implies its opposite or complementary: the first reflex of the traveler is that of finding out how to get out of the place where we have just arrived, that of the islander is to know what is the wind that will allow s' escape or return to his island.

    Well, since we are talking about literature, beyond the islands, I have also "Need mirages" like Gilles Lapouge, writer also known for his work on pirates, other intrepid travelers.

    And then another essential work to re-enchant the small and large contingencies of the trip, on the basis of our illustrious traveler predecessors (Flaubert or Baudelaire) there is Alain de Botton with his "Art of travel".

    Good readings and especially selamat jalan 8).

    you will have to open a literature section where your readers will each put their bedside travel book (personally a wardrobe)

  2. @ Wet & sea / Ludovic: Superb, your reflection of Parisian island ... And thank you for the reading tips. It's a good idea, that collection of suggestions books of each other. Should everyone do as you, and enrich his contributions this section "Books and readings".

    Go, more than three small weeks of nothing to wait, before seeing your island again !!!
    8)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Pantar Island. Alor, Indonésie. Juillet 2012.

Besoin d’îles

  Entre deux voyages

Si, comme moi, vous aimez les îles, d’ici ou d’ailleurs, plongez dans ce bouquin : Besoin d’îles, par le géographe Louis Brigand. L’homme est un scientifique, mais c’est en passionné, en amoureux, qu’il parle des îles qu’il a visitées dans le cadre de ses recherches.

À commencer par les îles bretonnes, et celle de Beniguet en particulier, dans l’archipel de Molène. Je vous invite d’ailleurs à lire ce reportage que lui a consacré mon confrère Marc Pennec, dans Ouest-France. De quoi faire le plein de fraîcheur marine revigorante !

Besoin d'îles, par Louis Brigand, éditions Stock.Besoin d’îles
Éditions Stock
252 pages, 18 €

Louis Brigand est professeur à l’Institut européen de la mer, à Brest, au sein de l’Université de Bretagne occidentale (UBO). C’est l’un des grands spécialistes des problématiques insulaires. Son métier d’enseignant-chercheur le conduit à voyager d’un bout à l’autre de la planète, d’île en île… Encore un « job de rêve » pour globe-trotters ?
 ;-)

Point d’îles asiatiques dans les souvenirs évoqués dans son livre. Mais il a des mots très justes pour dire cet attrait irrésistible que les îles exercent sur notre imaginaire (rappelez-vous L’Île au trésor de Stevenson !), pour parler de la beauté de l’insularité, du bonheur qui consiste à laisser filer les jours en regardant la mer… Petit extrait :

Finalement, je préfère passer régulièrement d’une île à l’autre, et être ainsi itinérant et nomade, plutôt que fixe et sédentaire. Du coup, j’ai l’impression d’avoir élu dans un archipel immense, de voyager en permanence d’une maison à l’autre, et de partager ma vie entre des espaces qui s’assemblent, formant un tout dans lequel je puise une énergie et un certain ressourcement. (p.67)

Je ne ressens pas autre chose, à l’idée de repartir, très bientôt, pour des archipels lointains. Les îles Perhentian, puis Bornéo, Sipadan et Mabul, Derawan et Sangalaki…

J’y vais dans un contexte touristique, pour des vacances, et je ne serai pas dans une situation d’isolement complet, loin s’en faut. Mais j’aime être entourée d’eau, n’avoir d’autre frontière autour de moi que la mer. Contempler l’horizon m’aère la tête. Beaucoup de gens se sentent enfermés, un peu prisonniers, sur une île. Moi c’est le contraire : séjourner sur une île me libère, m’apaise. Je laisse encore la parole à Louis Brigand :

Le bonheur, c’est peut-être tout simplement ça ! Une île.
Je pense que l’isolement, c’est un truc qui se passe dans la tête. Il y a des millions de mecs qui vivent dans un isolement dramatique, dans leur appartement ou en ville, devant leur télé ou leurs jeux électroniques ! Je suis peut-être isolé géographiquement, mais pas du tout mentalement. Bien au contraire, l’île aux frontières fermées est un miroir qui réfléchit en profondeur et amplifie les choses de la vie. (p.14)

Ah, là là ! Ce livre tombe à pic. J’ai grand besoin d’îles.

 :-)

  Entre deux voyages

  1. Ici un parisien insulaire dans l’âme, à sec de son île depuis 30 ans et qui va la revoir dans 1, 2, 3, 4,… 27 jours… je verserai certainement une larme quand le 25 juillet, je foulerai à nouveau le sol de l’aéroport de Bauerfield à Port Vila. Je demanderai alors au taxi « Yu fala save tekem mi long ples ia… ».. Plus besoin de dico de bahasa 😉 … les mots en bislama du Vanuatu sortiront tout seuls, d’un silence de 30 ans.

    L’insularité un isolement? Mais pas du tout, l’insularité c’est le goût de la découverte, l’incertitude… c’est la condition qui t’apprend à regarder au delà de la ligne d’horizon et se demander dans quelle direction il existe une autre île similaire ou différente, … l’insulaire est sur qu’il y a un autre part, il scrute le ciel tandis que le continental pense être le centre du monde, il remue la terre… l’insulaire est mouvance alors que le continental est certitude…comment être sur de quoi que ce soit, quand trois cyclones par an balaient les mauvaises structures comme des idées reçues.

    Une condition implique usuellement son contraire ou son complémentaire : le premier réflexe du voyageur est celui de trouver comment sortir du lieu où l’on vient d’arriver, celui de l’insulaire est de savoir quel est le vent portant qui permettra de s’échapper ou de revenir à son île.

    Et bien puisqu’on parle littérature, au delà des iles, j’ai aussi « besoin de mirages » comme Gilles Lapouge, écrivain également connu pour son ouvrage sur les pirates, autres voyageurs intrépides.

    Et puis un autre ouvrage indispensable pour ré-enchanter les petites et les grandes contingences du voyage, sur la base de nos illustres pérdécesseurs voyageurs (Flaubert ou Baudelaire) il y a Alain de Botton avec son « Art du voyage ».

    Bonnes lectures et surtout selamat jalan 8) .

    il va falloir que tu ouvres un section littérature où tes lecteurs mettraient chacun leur bouquin de voyage de chevet (personnellement une armoire 😆 )

  2. @Wet&sea/Ludovic: Superbe, ta réflexion de Parisien insulaire… Et merci pour les conseils de lecture. C’est une bonne idée, ça, de collection les suggestions de bouquins des uns et des autres. Faudrait que tout le monde fasse comme toi, et enrichisse de ses contributions cette section « Livres et lectures ».

    Allez, plus que trois petites semaines de rien du tout à patienter, avant de revoir ton île!!!
    8)

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez