Beyond the idleness

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Dominican Republic - January 2009

I do not know which end to start this new ticket. We were made to do so many things in so few days! This press trip aims to highlight other activities than the pure "idleness" in the Dominican Republic.

Excursion to Saona Island

The proof: while we arrived Thursday 16, in the evening, it is only this Monday that I finally managed to swim in the turquoise waters of the Dominican Republic that we see on the tourist brochures!

Monday, therefore: pure relaxation excursion to the island of Saona, in the south of the country. With crossing on a huge catamaran of 28 meters, reserved only for our small group of eight ... The luxury.

A well deserved parenthesis, after all the "sporting" emotions that have been inflicted on us.

The light aircraft

Starting with the flight over the country in "airplane", a kind of minibus with wings and a propeller, to reach the peninsula of Samana in the north and leave. The Dominican Republic from the sky is a fantastic sight.
" See the pictures : Caribbean colors
" See the video : Me gustan los airplanees

As a result, those of us who were afraid by plane are now either cured or even more terrified than before!
: lol:

Admire the control tower of the tiny Portillo Airport in the north, in Samana ...

Ride in ... quad

After being sent in the air, Friday place to the wild quad equipped ... Yes, yes, the quad, it is this big noisy thing between the bike and the 4 × 4, which behaves like a motorcycle for children and that goes everywhere. Even the most cautious of us loved it.

We crisscrossed heaps of super quiet beaches (well, before and after our visit) around Las Terrenas. Samana is really a beautiful area.

I highly recommend the experience. The quad is confusing at first, especially when we are used to "normal" motorcycles, but in the end, it's pretty funny ..

This walk was especially the opportunity to leave these tourist enclaves that are the resorts "todo incluido" where we live, and to see a little the "real people". What's good is that you can stop easily on the way.

To make a refreshing stop near a Rio where the Dominicans comes to bathe the weekend with family or between friends. To take a look at the hard-core baseball games that take place in the slick sports fields. To rave about like all urban people in front of horses, cows, pigs seen in the fields or on the road. Or even to take pictures with children, who love to admire on the screen of the camera ...

Los Haitises Park and Limón Waterfall

The next day, on Saturday, we had a speedboat excursion in the morning to the Haitian National Park: limestone cliffs, full of caves and mangroves, much reminiscent of the Thai andamese coast on the Krabi side. Phi Phi.

In the afternoon, climb in the jungle and slush on the back of the canasson, to the fabulous waterfall El Limón. Perhaps the most fun of all our walks!

The bathing is fresh and spectacular. And it's quite difficult to get near the waterspouts while swimming. We must fight against the current and the force of the spray that takes your breath away.

Everywhere, great hospitality, very warm. It's worth it to move away from the beaches.

Yes, life is hard ... It is between 25 and 30 ° C depending on the time of day. We do not have to worry about anything, everything is organized well. And I am delighted with the excursions we have concocted.

I would have a very bad grace to complain ... Only here: besides that, there is accommodation in "todo incluido" or "all-inclusive" or "all-inclusive" as you like. So beautiful are the resorts and hotels offered, this kind of formula that is really not my thing.

I will tell you in a next post, very subjective, my vision of the pangs and the joys of these exotic golden cages for Westerners in need of sunshine ...
 ;-)

  Dominican Republic - January 2009

  1. Oh rage oh despair ... If we had exposed the program before departure, I would have swung you out the window to take your place. Your story is, how to say, very tempting and the organizers seem to have decarcated to embellish your ride. Coooooooooooool. Go take advantage of your last days and we will drink together your rum full of sun. Biz 8)

  2. Thank you for these photos, these stories, it feels good !!!!!!!
    For the plane, it's almost the same I took in Thailand except that ours took off and landed on the water, I keep a great memory !!!!!
    Otherwise, well, it makes you want to spend a few days in the Dominican Republic ....
    Regarding the hotels, I see exactly what you mean ... me, it's the same, I hate the "todo incluido", even if I've never done ... .I guess too much .... But I think there are a lot of people, tourists who appreciate this system without charm and without surprise.Is it more economical? Maybe ... .which ... in Asia, there is nothing better and cheaper than a good Thai pad in the street ... And there, how is it?
    I kiss you very much! Good last day there, in addition I think you are "free" so take advantage of these last hours of heat ... .Here, it was a little warmed ... but hey ... it remains always cold ... too cold !!!!!! 😥

  3. @ Ceucidit: My duck is not the organizer of this trip ... And such an opportunity to leave is quite exceptional!
    😉

    @ Funny World: I enjoy! Besides, there, I think I'll go to taste one last time the water and the sun before packing everything for the check-out ... Bouh. I do not want to go home!
    😥

    @ Helen: I knew you would understand me ... It's a journey very different from the one I had nine years ago. I had to put my "little independence" to sleep. In exchange, I enjoy the comfort, very pleasant, of this formula "todo incluido". I'm not going to complain, of course, but it's just that I'm not used to being so "forced" to stay in a huge hotel, a real little town on the beach, where you stay between tourists ... I think all the flight + hotel packages of tour operators are actually interesting. Lots of people simply want, for the holidays, to be pampered on a beach where there is all the comfort, to have nothing to worry about, what I can understand. Otherwise, here too, there are small restaurants outside, but we have not seen much.
    🙄

    @ Martial: Yes, I will complain: the sky is too blue, there is too much sun, too many beaches, too much cool things to do .... What a scandal !!!
    😆

  4. What makes me most horrified in the "all-inclusive" is to hear "Québécois". You can easily find weekly packages for less than $ 1000 for the Dominican Republic and Cuba from Montreal (I even saw deals at $ 600 in 4 stars at the beginning of the year) so necessarily, the people rush on the deals as soon as the cold comes up. When I travel, I want to be exotic, not to hear about our local stars on the beach! Even mentally preparing for this reality, it always ends up making me crazy. Because yes, I happened to opt for this really economical formula when the mercury oscillates around -25 degrees ... Between two evils, better to choose the least! But Helen is right, nothing will replace the pleasure of eating a Thai pad on the street in Thailand (sigh) ...

  5. @ Marie-Julie: I confirm, there were a lot of francophone Canadians in the hotels where we stayed ... I fully understand that we can be seduced by this type of formula, both practical and economical, but on a personal level, it would not be my choice. We stay "in between" in this type of hotel and everything is very artificial ... But I'll come back to that in a future post. That said, I do not give up my pleasure, I spent a truly fabulous week. And to be full of sunshine and warmth in the heart of winter is an incredible luxury.
    8)

  6. I went to R & D in June, and aside from idleness, I do not see what there is to do. Alas, tours offered by tour operators are overvalued and expensive, even vulgar. In addition, for privacy, you will go back to at least 30 people ... The RDc is mass tourism.
    On the other hand, the kindness of the Dominicans will enchant you, as well as the beauty of the beaches.
    Ideal for a break in the sun, but no more.

  7. Hello Gulick,

    On mass tourism, I totally agree with your point of view. As an individual, I never travel that way, usually. This time, I discovered what really means "the tourist industry" with these huge hotels surrounded by beaches full of deckchairs ...

    For the excursions that we made, I liked them very well, because I lived them in privileged: we were only our small group of eight, each time ... The great luxury, compared to the numerous groups that pile up in buses, boats, etc.

    On the other hand, I think there is a way to discover the Dominican Republic otherwise, individually, by going down to small hotels, small pensions or guesthouses, much like I did nine years ago, and by fending for oneself to visit. But this type of trip is not necessarily for everyone, nor for those who just want to "take a break in the sun" indeed.

    Finally, for the kindness of the Dominicans, I agree completely, again. But I will mention these different facets of the Dominican Republic in a future article ...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Au-delà du farniente

  République dominicaine - janvier 2009

Je ne sais pas quel bout commencer ce nouveau billet. On nous a fait faire tant de choses en si peu de jours ! Ce voyage de presse vise à mettre en avant d’autres activités que le pur « farniente » en République dominicaine.

Excursion à l’île de Saona

La preuve : alors que nous sommes arrivés jeudi 16, au soir, ce n’est que ce lundi que j’ai enfin réussi à nager dans les eaux turquoises dominicaines qu’on voit sur les brochures touristiques !

Lundi, donc : excursion de pure détente à l’île de Saona, dans le sud du pays. Avec traversée sur un immense catamaran de 28 mètres, réservé rien que pour notre petit groupe de huit… Le grand luxe.

Une parenthèse bien méritée, ceci dit, après toutes les émotions « sportives » qui nous ont été infligées.

L’avionnette

À commencer par le survol du pays en « avionnette », un genre de minibus avec des ailes et une hélice, pour rejoindre la presqu’île de Samana dans le nord et en repartir. La République dominicaine vue du ciel est un spectacle fantastique.
 » Voir les photos : Couleurs Caraïbes
 » Voir la vidéo : Me gustan los aviones

Résultat : ceux d’entre nous qui avaient peur en avion sont maintenant ou guéris ou encore plus terrifiés qu’avant !
:lol :

Admirez la tour de contrôle du minuscule aéroport de Portillo, dans le nord, à Samana…

Balade en… quad

Après s’être envoyés en l’air, place vendredi à l’équipée sauvage en quad… Oui, oui, le quad, c’est bien ce gros truc bruyant entre la moto et le 4×4, qui se conduit comme une moto pour enfant et qui passe partout. Même les plus circonspects d’entre nous ont adoré.

On a sillonné des tas de plages super tranquilles (enfin, qui l’étaient avant et après notre passage), autour de Las Terrenas. Samana est vraiment une région superbe.

Je recommande chaudement l’expérience. Le quad c’est déroutant au début, surtout quand on a l’habitude des motos « normales », mais en fin de compte, c’est plutôt rigolo..

Cette balade a surtout été l’occasion de sortir de ces enclaves touristiques que sont les resorts « todo incluido » où nous logeons, et de voir un peu les « vrais gens ». Ce qui est bien, c’est qu’on peut s’arrêter facilement en chemin.

Pour faire une halte rafraîchissante près d’un rio où les Dominicains vient se baigner le week-end en famille ou entre amis. Pour jeter un œil sur les parties de base-ball acharnées qui se livrent dans de vagues terrains de sport. Pour s’extasier comme tous les urbains devant les chevaux, les vaches, les cochons aperçus dans les champs ou sur la route. Ou bien encore pour faire des photos avec les enfants, qui adorent s’admirer sur l’écran de l’appareil…

Parc Los Haitises et cascade Limón

Le lendemain, le samedi, on a eu droit à une excursion en hors-bord le matin au parc national de los Haïtises : décor de falaises calcaires, pleines de grottes et de mangroves, qui rappellent beaucoup la côte andamane thaïlandaise du côté de Krabi et Phi Phi.

L’après-midi, grimpette dans la jungle et la gadoue, à dos de canasson, jusqu’à la fabuleuse cascade d’El Limón. Peut-être la plus chouette de toutes nos balades !

La baignade y est fraîche et spectaculaire. Et c’est assez difficile de s’approcher des trombes d’eau en nageant. Il faut lutter contre le courant et la force des embruns qui vous coupent le souffle.

Partout, super accueil, très chaleureux. Ça vaut vraiment le coup de s’écarter un peu des plages.

Oui, la vie est dure… Il fait entre 25 et 30°C selon l’heure de la journée. On n’a à se soucier de rien, tout est organisé bien comme il faut. Et je suis enchantée des excursions qu’on nous a concoctées.

J’aurais donc bien mauvaise grâce de me plaindre… Seulement voilà : à côté de ça, il y a l’hébergement en « todo incluido » ou « all-inclusive » ou « tout-inclus » comme vous voudrez. Si beaux soient les resorts et hôtels proposés, ce genre de formule ça n’est vraiment pas mon truc.

Je vous raconterai dans un prochain billet, très subjectif, ma vision des affres et des joies de ces cages dorées exotiques pour Occidentaux en mal de soleil…
 ;-)

  République dominicaine - janvier 2009

  1. Oh rage oh désespoir… Si on nous avait exposé le programme avant le départ, je t’aurais balancée par la fenêtre pour prendre ta place. Ton récit est, comment dire, très tentant et les organisateurs semblent s’être décarcassés pour agrémenter votre balade. Coooooooooooool. Allez profite de tes derniers jours et on boira ensemble ton rhum plein de soleil. Biz 8)

  2. Merci pour ces photos , ces récits, ça fait du bien!!!!!!!
    Pour l’avionnette, c’est quasi la même que j’ai prise en Thailande sauf que la nôtre décollait et attérissait sur l’eau , je garde un super souvenir!!!!!
    Sinon, ben , ça donne envie d’aller passer quelques jours en République Dominicaine….
    En ce qui concerne les hôtels, je vois tout à fait ce que tu veux dire…moi, c’est pareil , je déteste les « todo incluido », même si je n’en ai jamais fait….j’imagine trop….Mais, je crois qu’il y a pas mal de gens, de touristes qui apprécient ce système sans charme et sans surprise.Est-ce plus économique?Peut être….quoi que….en Asie, y a rien de meilleur et de moins cher qu’un bon pad thai dans la rue…Et là-bas, c’est comment?
    Je t’embrasse très fort!Bonne dernière journée là -bas, en plus je crois que vous êtes « free » alors profite bien de ces dernières heures de chaleur….Ici, ça s’est un peu réchauffé…mais bon…ça reste toujours froid…trop froid!!!!!! 😥

  3. @ Ceucidit : Mon canard n’est pas l’organisateur de ce voyage… Et pareille occasion de partir est assez exceptionnelle!
    😉

    @ Funny World : Je profite! D’ailleurs, là, je crois que je vais aller goûter une dernière fois l’eau et le soleil avant de tout remballer pour le check-out… Bouh. Je ne veux pas rentrer!
    😥

    @ Hélène : Je savais bien que toi, tu me comprendrais… C’est un voyage très différent de celui que j’avais fait il y a neuf ans. J’ai dû mettre ma « petite indépendance » en sommeil. En échange, je savoure le confort, très plaisant, de cette formule « todo incluido ». Je ne vais évidemment pas me plaindre, mais c’est juste que je n’ai pas l’habitude d’être ainsi « contrainte » de rester dans un hôtel immense, véritable petite ville en bord de plage, où l’on reste entre touristes… Je pense que tous les packages vol+hôtel des tour-opérateurs sont effectivement intéressants. Des tas de gens aspirent simplement, pour les vacances, à être peinards sur une plage où il y a tout le confort, pour n’avoir à se soucier de rien, ce que je peux comprendre. Sinon, ici aussi, il y a des petits restos au-dehors, mais on ne les a pas beaucoup vus.
    🙄

    @ Martial : Oui, je vais me plaindre: le ciel est trop bleu, il y a trop de soleil, trop de plages, trop de trucs sympas à faire…. Quel scandale!!!
    😆

  4. Ce qui me fait le plus horreur dans les «tout-compris» est d’entendre parler «québécois». On trouve facilement des forfaits d’une semaine à moins de 1000$ pour la République dominicaine et Cuba à partir de Montréal (j’ai même vu des deals à 600$ dans des 4 étoiles au début de l’année) alors forcément, les gens se ruent sur les aubaines dès que le froid se pointe. Quand je voyage, j’ai envie d’exotisme, pas d’entendre parler de nos vedettes locales sur la plage! Même en me préparant mentalement à cette réalité, ça finit toujours par me rendre dingue. Parce que oui, il m’est arrivé d’opter pour cette formule vraiment économique quand le mercure oscille autour des -25 degrés… Entre deux maux, mieux vaut choisir le moindre!!! Mais Hélène a raison, rien ne remplacera le plaisir de manger un pad thai sur la rue en Thaïlande (soupir)…

  5. @ Marie-Julie : Je confirme, il y avait énormément de Canadiens francophones dans les hôtels où nous sommes descendus… Je comprends parfaitement qu’on puisse être séduit par ce type de formule, à la fois faciles sur le plan pratique, et économiques, mais à titre personnel, ce ne serait pas mon choix. On reste « entre soi » dans ce type d’hôtels et tout y est vraiment très artificiel… Mais je reviendrai là-dessus dans un prochain billet. Ceci dit, je ne me boude pas mon plaisir, j’ai passé une semaine vraiment fabuleuse. Et faire le plein de soleil et de chaleur au cœur de l’hiver est un luxe inouï.
    8)

  6. Je suis allé en R.D. au mois de juin, et à part le farniente, je ne vois pas ce qu’il y a à faire. Hélas, les excursions proposées par les tours-opérateurs sont surévaluées et chères, voire vulgaires. En plus, pour l’intimité, vous repasserez, à minimum 30 personnes… La R.D.c’est du tourisme de masse.
    Par contre, la gentillesse des dominicains vous enchantera, ainsi que la beauté des plages.
    Idéal pour faire un break au soleil, mais pas plus.

  7. Bonjour Gulick,

    Sur le tourisme de masse, je rejoins totalement ton point de vue. À titre personnel, je ne voyage jamais de cette manière, habituellement. Cette fois-ci, j’ai découvert ce que signifiait vraiment « l’industrie touristique » avec ces hôtels immenses enclavés en bord de plages pleines de transats…

    Pour les excursions que nous avons faites, je les ai bien aimées, car je les ai vécues en privilégiée: nous n’étions que notre petit groupe de huit, à chaque fois… Le grand luxe, comparé aux groupes nombreux qui s’entassent dans les bus, bateaux, etc.

    En revanche, je pense qu’il y a moyen de découvrir la République dominicaine autrement, de façon individuelle, en descendant dans de petits hôtels, de petites pensions ou guesthouses, un peu comme je l’avais fait il y a neuf ans, et en se débrouillant par soi-même pour visiter. Mais ce type de voyage ne convient pas forcément à tout le monde, ni à ceux qui veulent juste « faire un break au soleil » en effet.

    Enfin, pour la gentillesse des Dominicains, je te rejoins tout à fait, là encore. Mais je vais évoquer ces différentes facettes de la République dominicaine dans un prochain article…

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez