The orangutans of Sepilok. Borneo, Malaysia.

The orangutans of Sepilok

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Here I am in Sandakan, northeast Borneo (Malaysia), to see orangutans "for real" in Central Sepilok. These great red-haired monkeys, victims of poaching and deforestation, are gradually being reintroduced to the wild, in a nature reserve in the middle of the jungle.

A "landscaped" jungle for tourists

18 July 2006. I arrived in the morning, my bags are set. In the early afternoon, about an hour before the orangutan meal announced at 3:00 p.m., I head to the Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre of Sandakan...located right next to my hotel.

It is both a protected nature reserve and a veterinary centre, whose primary mission is to rehabilitate wildlife and reintroduce orphaned or injured orangutans into the jungle, who have been rescued and cared for. Often youngsters who have been abandoned or separated from their parents, victims of poaching and deforestation.

The Sepilok Centre also works to raise awareness of the plight of orangutans. It is an animal that has become a symbol of the deforestation at work in Malaysia (and neighbouring Indonesia), particularly in Borneo. Entire swathes of jungle are being replaced by huge oil palm plantations.

Orang utan literally means "man of the forest" in Malaysian. To learn more about this great ape and the threats facing the species, which is considered Critically Endangered, please visit the following website by IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature), I refer you to the page Orangutan of the WWF website.

Before that day, I had never seen orangutans "in real life" before. I only knew them from documentaries.

The orangutans of Sepilok. Borneo, Malaysia.
At mealtime, orangutans tumble out of the jungle. They have huge arms, red hair and terribly human expressions ...

When I arrived at the Sepilok Centre, there are a few tourists, but the place is not crowded. I buy my ticket, watch a short eco-educational film shown in an air-conditioned room, before taking a long wooden footbridge that leads through the jungle to the platform where the monkeys are fed.

I'm rather pleasantly surprised. Whatever one might think of this center (I was initially afraid of a vulgar tourist attraction), this is not a zoo or a circus.

Part of the jungle has been "landscaped" to allow visitors of all ages to observe the monkeys from a large wooden platform. So you don't have to wade through wet leaves full of greedy leeches, phew!

Still, it's very humid under the canopy of the huge trees, I'm dripping. You tilt your head back to see the top. It is vertiginous.

The orangutans of Sepilok. Borneo, Malaysia.
The platform of the monkeys ...
The orangutans of Sepilok. Borneo, Malaysia.
... and the platform of humans!

Some orangutans are already installed on their own platform, hanging from a large tree, which is connected to other trunks by large ropes.

The healers arrive shortly after, with buckets of bananas. They sit quietly, without a sudden gesture, in the middle of the monkeys, and begin the distribution, without ostentation.

The Sepilok orangutan meal: the video

The atmosphere is peaceful, quiet, in the forest. The people around me are commenting half-voiced on the terribly human attitudes of the orangutans, and the arrival of new monkeys swinging softly, with their huge arms, along the ropes. The spectacle is fascinating.

I'm coming home from this little "junglesque" getaway with a smile on my face. Tomorrow, I'm heading for Semporna for the ultimate goal of this diving trip in Malaysia: the mythical island of Sipadan !

Updated 2018. The orangutan has truly become the emblematic animal of wildlife that has fallen victim to deforestation. Illustration with the video below, where we see an orangutan from Borneo in front of a bulldozer. Distributed by the organization International Animal RescueIt went viral on Twitter in early June 2018 (but the video is actually from 2013). 

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Les orangs-outans de Sepilok. Bornéo, Malaisie.

Les orangs-outans de Sepilok

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Me voici à Sandakan, dans le nord-est de Bornéo (Malaisie), pour voir « en vrai » des orangs-outans au Centre de Sepilok. Ces grands singes au poil roux, victimes du braconnage et de la déforestation, y sont progressivement réintroduits à la vie sauvage, dans une réserve naturelle au milieu de la jungle.

Une jungle « aménagée » pour les touristes

18 juillet 2006. Je suis arrivée en matinée, mes sacs sont posés. En début d’après-midi, environ une heure avant le repas des orangs-outans annoncé à 15 h, je me dirige vers le Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre de Sandakan, situé juste à côté de mon hôtel.

C’est à la fois une réserve naturelle protégée et un centre vétérinaire, dont la mission première est de réhabituer à la vie sauvage et réintroduire dans la jungle des orangs-outans orphelins ou blessés, qui ont été recueillis et soignés. Souvent des jeunes abandonnés ou séparés de leurs parents, victimes du braconnage et de la déforestation.

Le Centre de Sepilok s’efforce aussi de sensibiliser les visiteurs au sort des orangs-outans. C’est un animal devenu le symbole de la déforestation à l’œuvre en Malaisie (et chez sa voisine l’Indonésie), en particulier à Bornéo. Des pans entiers de jungle sont remplacés par d’immenses plantations de palmiers à huile.

Orang utan signifie littéralement « l’homme de la forêt » en malais. Pour en savoir plus sur ce grand singe et les menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce, considérée en « danger critique » d’extinction par l’UICN (l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature), je vous renvoie sur la page Orang-outan du site du WWF.

Avant ce jour, je n’avais encore jamais vu d’orangs-outans « en vrai ». Je ne les connaissais qu’à travers des documentaires.

Les orangs-outans de Sepilok. Bornéo, Malaisie.
À l’heure du repas, les orangs-outans déboulent de la jungle. Ils ont des bras immenses, le poil roux et des expressions terriblement humaines…

À mon arrivée au Sepilok Centre, il y a quelques touristes, mais l’endroit n’est pas gavé de monde. J’achète mon ticket, visionne le petit film écolo-pédagogique projeté dans une salle climatisée, avant d’emprunter une longue passerelle en bois qui conduit, à travers la jungle, à la plateforme où les singes sont nourris.

Je suis plutôt agréablement surprise. Quoi qu’on puisse penser de ce centre (je craignais au départ un vulgaire attrape-touriste), on n’est pas au zoo ni au cirque.

Une partie de la jungle a été « aménagée », pour permettre aux visiteurs de tout âge d’observer les singes, depuis une grande plate-forme en bois. On ne patauge donc pas dans les feuilles humides pleines de sangsues avides, ouf !

Il n’empêche qu’il fait bien moite sous la canopée des arbres gigantesques, je ruisselle. On renverse la tête en arrière pour apercevoir la cime. C’est vertigineux.

Les orangs-outans de Sepilok. Bornéo, Malaisie.
La plate-forme des singes…
Les orangs-outans de Sepilok. Bornéo, Malaisie.
… et la plate-forme des humains !

Quelques orangs-outans sont déjà installés sur leur plate-forme à eux, accrochée à un grand arbre, lui-même relié à d’autres troncs par de grosses cordes.

Les soigneurs arrivent peu après, avec des seaux de bananes. Ils s’assoient tranquillement, sans geste brusque, au milieu des singes, et commencent la distribution, sans ostentation.

Le repas des orangs-outans de Sepilok : la vidéo

L’atmosphère est paisible, tranquille, dans la forêt. Les gens autour de moi commentent à mi-voix les attitudes terriblement humaines des orangs-outans, et l’arrivée de nouveaux singes qui se balancent souplement, avec leurs bras immenses, le long des cordes. Le spectacle est fascinant.

Je rentre charmée de cette petite escapade « junglesque ». Demain, cap sur Semporna pour le but ultime de ce voyage plongée en Malaisie : la mythique île de Sipadan !

Mise à jour 2018. L’orang-outan est vraiment devenu l’animal emblématique de la vie sauvage victime de la déforestation. Illustration avec la vidéo ci-dessous, où l’on voit un orang-outan de Bornéo face à un bulldozer. Diffusée par l’organisation International Animal Rescue, elle est devenue virale sur Twitter, début juin 2018 (mais la vidéo date en fait de 2013). 

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez