The sharks of Rangiroa. (Photo: © GIE Tahiti Tourism / Philippe Bacchet)
© GIE Tahiti Tourism / Philippe Bacchet

Diving among sharks in Polynesia : Rangiroa and Fakarava

  Polynesia: Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - October 2012

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


In 2012, I discovered Rangiroa and its spectacular gathering of sharks. My dream is to go back and dive there as well to Fakarava, another legendary Polynesian spot to observe sharks.

The sharks of Rangiroa

Ah, Rangiroa ! This is the most famous and legendary spot, which fascinates divers from all over the world. One can see a "wall" of sharks, when the current is favourable, at the entrance of the Tiputa pass.

Sharks in Rangiroa ... (Photo: © GIE Tahiti Tourism / Philippe Bacchet)
The sharks at Tiputa Pass, Rangiroa. (Photo: © GIE Tahiti Tourisme / Philippe Bacchet)

For my first immersion, with the excellent little center Y Aka Diving, in this October 2012I'm lucky: the sharks, mainly reef grays, are there in large numbers, at a depth of about 40 metres. So we're at their level and it's an incredible feeling to be able to play right in the middle of the shoal. You almost feel like a shark among sharks!

The show is both beautiful and ... peaceful. The cattle swim in the current, indifferent to our presence. ????

No autofocus, no photos...

With my heart beating, I point my lens towards a big grey for a first photo... In vain. The autofocus of my camera remained in "manual" mode inside the waterproof box ! Impossible, therefore, to focus. Impossible to make a single image... Rageant! 😡

Frustrated, I still take the time to enjoy this fabulous dive, just with my eyes, before having to run with the rest of the team in the current.

The sharks of Rangiroa. (Photo: © GIE Tahiti Tourism / Philippe Bacchet)
Above, the kind of photo I would have dreamed of taking... (Credit : © GIE Tahiti Tourisme / Philippe Bacchet)

On my second attempt, the camera works (this time, I checked before launching). Unfortunately, on that day, the shoal is much too deep, in the 60 meters. Impossible for our longline to go down among the sharks this time. We have to look at them from above, about 20 meters away. In fact, the "wall" is more like a "carpet" of sharks...

Otherwise, in Rangiroa, we also have the possibility to dive with the sharks in the open sea, in the blue. Feeding or baiting them is forbidden to avoid disturbing their behaviour, but it is allowed to attract them at a safe distance from the coast by spreading a fish "fumet" in the water. It's quite impressive: I invite you to go back to see the video I posted at the time, with a silky shark quite insistent.

Silky shark and diver. Rangiroa, French Polynesia. October 2012.
Silky shark photographed off Rangiroa. Polynesia, October 2012.

Fakarava, I dream of it!

When I go back to Polynesia, in a future that I hope is not too far away, I will of course put Rangiroa back on the program, but also the atoll of Fakarava, also in the Tuamotu. Its southern pass, Tumakohua, also has its "wall" of sharks.

According to the comments on forums and divers' blogs, the site is just as spectacular as Rangiroa's or even more so, and easier to dive... I'm already dreaming about it! 😍

UPDATE 2018. Arte diffuses aired in June 2018 the documentary 700 sharks in the night by Luc Marescot, on the expedition led by the biologist and underwater photographer Laurent Ballesta at Fakarava.
An exciting film and spectacular images, about the behaviour of these sharks, especially at night, when they hunt. Laurent Ballesta also published a book on this extraordinary adventure.
On YouTube, Arte then posted two 7-minute episodes of 360-degree images shot in Fakarava during Laurent Ballesta's expeditions. I'm giving them to you below (feel free to "move" in the video to enjoy them, it's fascinating): 


  Polynesia: Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - October 2012

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. the mere appearance of the word "shark" makes me faint; question of semantics!
    the picture where we see four "torpedoes" impresses me a lot, almost shells from a mysterious submarine!
    That said, the photo is beautiful and the article is interesting. 😉

    1. @Ysbilia: This is the picture I would have dreamed of taking... It is signed by another photographer and was provided to me by the Tahiti tourist office. It captures the atmosphere when you're in the middle of the "carpet" of sharks. Conclusion : I'll have to go back there, one day soon, to make my own pictures... 😉

  2. @Corinne: My biggest regret is that I was not able to dive in the Tuamotu, and in particular to do "shark" dives as I had originally planned to do in Polynesia this year, for reasons you know. 🙁
    But, I hope to be able to come back one day to snorkel in Fakarava, I know it's possible, and it's better than nothing! Boo-hoo, boo-hoo! 😥
    So hurry up, so we can enjoy your beautiful pictures! 😉

  3. I confirm: the south pass, at Tetamanu, it's just paradise!
    The center is right in the way, it has a hellish atmosphere, and the shark wall is amazing. The corals are in very good condition and Eric, the dive director has stories to tell every night until the end of the night.
    I really loved the south pass (much more than the north pass where it takes 20 minutes of RIB navigation before each dive).
    I really advise against the "Dive Spirit Fakarava" center in the north, which was very unpleasant with me, refused to pass me the camera in the water, with disastrous consequences: the box that opens, the loss of the complete camera. 😡

    1. @Robin Maltête: and me, I went to read your impressions on the crazy discussion of Plongeur.com and, as a girl who avoids as wisely as possible to jump in the water with my tank, I took good note of your recommendations and non-recommendations for my future trip... 😉 A thousand thanks for this precious feedback !!!

    2. Hello, I would also like to do this dive and had planned to pass the level 1 this year but I realize that it will not be enough. What level of diving did you go through? If level 2 is enough I will also pass it, otherwise I think I'll have to say goodbye to sharks ...

    3. I am level 4 and 400 dives. I would advise the south pass of Fakarava to a level 1: the briefings are quite short (it's a euphemism), there is a lot of current, it would be a shame to be blocked at 29m (in Polynesia, it's + 9m) and the 700 gray sharks at once, it can still scare beginners ... Finally, for me, this place is a kind of graal of the diver, so it is more reasonable to have already done a lot of dive all over the world before approaching it, otherwise the mediterrannée will seem to you very bland then ...

    4. Thank you for this quick response!
      I understand, but I am particularly fond of sharks ..
      and as it is in the context of my world tour I will have done quite a few dives before.
      you talk about Fakarava, it's the same for Rangiroa I guess?

256 Shares
Share146
Tweet
Pin104
Share6

Les requins de Rangiroa. (Photo : © GIE Tahiti Tourisme / Philippe Bacchet)
© GIE Tahiti Tourisme / Philippe Bacchet

Plonger au milieu des requins en Polynésie

  Polynésie : Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - octobre 2012

En 2012, j’ai découvert Rangiroa et son spectaculaire rassemblement de requins. Mon rêve : y retourner et plonger aussi à Fakarava, autre spot polynésien mythique pour observer les squales.

Les requins de Rangiroa

Ah, Rangiroa ! C’est le spot le plus connu, le plus légendaire, qui fascine les plongeurs du monde entier. On peut y voir un « mur » de requins, quand le courant est favorable, à l’entrée de la passe de Tiputa.

Requins à Rangiroa... (Photo : © GIE Tahiti Tourisme / Philippe Bacchet)
(Photo : © GIE Tahiti Tourisme / Philippe Bacchet)

Pour ma première immersion, avec l’excellent petit centre Y Aka Plongée, en ce mois d’octobre 2012, j’ai de la chance : les squales, principalement des gris de récif, sont là en nombre, à une quarantaine de mètres de profondeur. C’est une sensation incroyable de pouvoir évoluer en beau milieu du banc. On se sent presque requin parmi les requins !

Le spectacle est à la fois magnifique et… paisible. Les bestiaux nagent dans le courant, indifférents à notre présence. 😲

Pas d’autofocus, pas de photos…

Le cœur battant, je braque mon objectif vers un gros gris pour une première photo… En vain. L’autofocus de mon appareil est resté en mode « manuel » à l’intérieur du caisson étanche ! Impossible de faire une seule image… 😡

Frustrée, je prends tout de même le temps de profiter de cette fabuleuse plongée, juste avec mes yeux, avant de devoir filer avec le reste de la palanquée dans le courant.

Les requins de Rangiroa. (Photo : © GIE Tahiti Tourisme / Philippe Bacchet)
La photo que j’aurais rêvé de prendre… (Crédit : © GIE Tahiti Tourisme / Philippe Bacchet)

Lors de ma deuxième tentative, l’appareil photo fonctionne (j’ai vérifié avant la mise à l’eau). Malheureusement, ce jour-là, le banc est trop profond, dans les 60 mètres. Impossible de descendre parmi les squales, cette fois-ci. En fait de « mur », c’est plutôt un « tapis » de requins…

À Rangiroa, on peut aussi plonger avec les requins au large, dans le bleu, en les attirant avec un « fumet » de poisson. C’est assez impressionnant : je vous invite à retourner voir la vidéo que j’avais postée à l’époque, avec un requin soyeux assez insistant.

Requin soyeux et plongeur. Rangiroa, Polynésie française. Octobre 2012.
Requin soyeux photographié au large de Rangiroa. Polynésie, octobre 2012.

Fakarava, j’en rêve !

Quand je retournerai plonger en Polynésie, outre Rangiroa, je mettrai l’atoll de Fakarava au programme. La passe sud, Tumakohua, a elle aussi son « mur » de requins.

À en croire les commentaires sur les forums et les blogs, le site est tout aussi spectaculaire que celui de Rangiroa et plus facile à plonger… J’en rêve déjà !  😍

MISE À JOUR 2018. Arte diffuse a diffusé en juin 2018 le documentaire 700 requins dans la nuit de Luc Marescot, sur l’expédition menée par le biologiste et photographe sous-marin Laurent Ballesta à Fakarava. Un film passionnant et des images spectaculaires, sur le comportement de ces requins, en particulier la nuit, quand ils chassent. Laurent Ballesta a aussi publié un livre sur cette extraordinaire aventure.

Sur YouTube, Arte a ensuite mis en ligne deux épisodes de 7 minutes d’images à 360 degrés tournées à Fakarava lors des expéditions de Laurent Ballesta. Je vous les remets ci-dessous (n’hésitez pas à vous « déplacer » dans la vidéo pour en profiter, c’est fascinant) : 

  Polynésie : Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - octobre 2012

  1. la simple apparition du mot « requin » me fait défaillir; question de sémantique!
    la photo où on en voit 4 en « torpilles » m’impressionne beaucoup, presque des obus sortis d’un mystérieux sous-marin!
    Ceci dit, la photo est magnifique et l’article intéressant. 😉

    1. @Ysbilia : c’est la photo que j’aurais rêvé de faire… Elle est signée d’un autre photographe et m’a été fournie par l’office de tourisme de Tahiti. Elle restitue bien l’ambiance quand on est au milieu du « tapis » de requins. Conclusion : je vais être obligée de retourner là-bas, un jour prochain, pour refaire mes propres images… 😉

  2. @Corinne : Mon plus grand regret est celui de ne pas avoir pu plonger dans les Tuamotu, et notamment effectuer des plongées « requins » comme c’était prévu à l’origine de mon séjour en Polynésie cette année, pour les raisons que tu sais. 🙁
    Mais, j’espère pouvoir revenir un jour pour faire du snorkeling à Fakarava, je sais que c’est possible, et c’est mieux que rien ! Snif, snif !! 😥
    Donc vas-y vite, pour qu’on puisse profiter de tes belles images ! 😉

  3. Je confirme : la passe sud, chez Tetamanu, c’est juste le paradis !
    Le centre est en plein dans la passe, y’a une ambiance d’enfer, et le mur de requins est incroyable. Les coraux sont en très bon état et Eric, le directeur de plongée a des histoires à raconter tous les soirs jusqu’au bout de la nuit.
    J’ai vraiment adoré la passe sud (bien plus que la passe nord où il faut 20 minutes de navigation en semi-rigide avant chaque plongée).
    Je déconseille vraiment le centre « Dive Spirit Fakarava » au nord, qui a été très désagréable avec moi, a refusé de me passer l’appareil photo dans l’eau, avec des conséquences désastreuses : le caisson qui s’ouvre, la perte de l’appareil photo complet. 😡

    1. @Robin Maltête : et moi, je suis allée lire tes impressions sur la folle discussion de Plongeur.com et, en fille qui évite sagement autant que faire se peut de sauter à l’eau avec mon caisson, j’ai pris bonne note de tes recommandations et non-recommandations pour mon futur voyage… 😉 Mille mercis de ce précieux retour d’expérience !!!

    2. Bonjour, j’aimerais aussi effectuer cette plongée et avais prévu de passer le niveau 1 ce début d’année mais je me rends compte que ça ne va pas suffire. Vous aviez passé quel niveau pour faire cette plongée ? Si le niveau 2 suffit je le passerai également, sinon je crois que je vais devoir dire adieu aux requins …

    3. Je suis niveau 4 et 400 plongées au compteur. Je déconseillerais la passe sud de Fakarava à un niveau 1 : les briefings sont assez courts (c’est un euphémisme), il y a beaucoup de courant, ce serait vraiment dommage d’être bloquée à 29m (en polynésie, c’est +9m) et les 700 requins gris d’un coup, ça peut quand même faire peur aux débutants… Enfin, pour moi, cet endroit est une sorte de graal du plongeur, c’est donc plus raisonnable d’avoir déjà effectué pas mal de plongées un peu partout dans le monde avant de l’aborder, sinon la méditerrannée va te paraitre bien fade ensuite…

    4. merci pour cette réponse rapide!
      je comprends, mais je suis particulièrement fan des requins..
      et comme c’est dans le cadre de mon tour du monde j’aurai fait pas mal de plongées avant.
      tu parles de Fakarava, c’est pareil pour Rangiroa j’imagine ?

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

256 Partages
Partagez146
Tweetez
Enregistrer104
Partagez6