Two girls are sheltering under big leaves, as an umbrella. Philippines, February 2008.

It's raining on Dumaguete

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation of an article originally written in French. I apologise for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have resulted. If you read French, click on the French flag below to access the original, correct text: 


Since my arrival Dumaguete, DauinOn Monday, the weather remains gloomy, between light grey and wet grey. It's raining under a sky of low clouds, which envelop the surrounding mountains and volcanoes with mist. It's not a big deal, under water, we are wet anyway!

The diving here is fantastic, the sites live up to their reputation, especially the reefs ofApo Island. But I'll come back to that...

Twin Lakes Excursion

Tuesday, before attacking for good the dives, I allowed myself a day of walk. A trip to the park of Twin Lakesthe twin lakes, three quarters of an hour drive from Dauin.

lake

Lake Balinsasayao, about twenty kilometers from Dumaguete.

The tour is offered by The Lighthouse agency, run by a Swiss-German couple, next to the resorts Pura Vida and Eldorado.

On the program: a short walk on a path of big slippery stones in the mountains, between the lakes. Balinsasayao and Danao. The view is beautiful, despite the rain.

The misty rainforest where our small group (our Swiss-German guide Bettina, two German women, an American from Michigan and me) is progressing is easy to access.

rainforest

Full of huge trees and more or less friendly critters to observe, from the dreaded millipedes of great size lurking under the ferns (their bites can be quite painful) to a majestic eagle, flying over the canopy of the trees.

On the way, we cross two cute kids, who take shelter under big leaves picked in the jungle, as an umbrella.

girls

It is a popular place for walking. There are benches and awnings, sometimes with barbecue, on the banks of the first lake. Canoes can be rented and boats can be used.

But here, with the rain and the wind, we prefer to stay under the cover of the "rainforest", well named for the fact.

lake

Dumaguete

The walk is followed by a picnic by the lake, then, on the way back, a short stop at Dumaguete or I have to change money.

The operation is done in the street of the church, near the central park, with guys wearing caps and carrying calculators, their pockets filled with bundles of bills. They offer a more interesting rate than the banks. The place is known. Even the local hoteliers change their money here.

church

The old tower of the church of Dumaguete, in the Spanish style, made of coral stone.

Dumaguete is a big university town. Tricycles are everywhere, the atmosphere is pleasant, the streets are very lively.

The market is huge and I take the opportunity to try some local sweets. The sticky rice sticks with chocolate in their banana leaf, it's great! Except that afterwards we have a lot of them. I try not to stick too much on the camera...

church

religious trinkets

Merchant of "bondieuseries" in front of the church of Dumaguete.

While strolling, I take some pictures of the church, of the vendors of bondieuseries, of the market, and of the kitschissime statue paying homage to the seven Sisters of Saint-Paul de Chartres, missionaries who landed here in 1904.

sisters

The kitsch statue of the sisters of Saint-Paul de Chartres.

market

The market of Dumaguete.

Dauin

Then back to the black sand beach of Dauin, where the Germans are the most represented nationality, Pura Vida as at theEldorado. Because of them, everything was "fully booked" on my arrival, Monday.

But a nice guy in the street steered my tricycle driver towards a more modest resort, the Puerto Cita's, unknown to Lonely Planet, located right next to the Pura Vida. There was room. Night at 950 pesos.

Very charming family welcome, small but impeccable rooms in wooden buildings around a garden, with terrace. No restaurant, but we have a small fridge and a kitchen if you want to eat. Tea and coffee are available. I will stay there only one night, before moving to theEldorado, a bit more expensive, but more comfortable, which has availability from the next day.

I will learn about diving with Sea Explorers, the diving center of the Pura Vida, managed by a Frenchman, Hervé, moreover Breton, from Quimper. He puts me on the list for the three dives Apo the next day. Yippee!

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Sublime! The landscapes are beautiful and always so many colors on the markets, the population seems very friendly ...

  2. Hello Laurence!

    Yes, the hinterland of Dauin and Dumaguete is very beautiful, and I am far from having seen everything... I love the walks, it is always very nice to immerse yourself in the atmosphere of a city by going for a little walk in the middle of the stalls.

    Filipinos are generally very welcoming and very nice to tourists. I never found myself "in trouble" and there was always someone ready to help me or to inform me when I needed it. Often, people come to talk to you, spontaneously, just to make a little chat, also out of curiosity. The welcome is particularly warm in the villages, in the countryside, in places a little off the beaten track...

  3. No, it's not obvious at all, the foliage and the rain... Especially when you don't want to get the camera too wet, in order to keep it in working order for the rest of the trip.

    So I didn't spend too much time looking for the optimum settings. But the landscape was full of atmosphere, with the huge forest, all drowned in mist.

  4. A trick against the rain: always have in your backpack a small special freezer bag, with the zip closure: if it rains too much, you place your camera inside the translucent bag, you can continue to aim, frame, manipulate the controls sheltered from the bag and normally you do not have to worry about drops on the lens ... 😉

Share
Tweet
Share

Deux fillettes s'abritent sous de grandes feuilles, en guise de parapluie. Philippines, février 2008.

Il pleut sur Dumaguete

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Depuis mon arrivee a Dumaguete-Dauin, lundi, le temps reste tristoune, entre gris clair et gris humide. Il pleuviote sous un ciel de nuages bas, qui enveloppent de brume les montagnes et volcans alentours. Ce n’est pas bien grave, sous l’eau, on est mouille de toute facon !

Les plongees ici sont fantastiques, les sites sont a la hauteur de leur reputation, en particulier les recifs d’Apo Island. Mais j’y reviendrai…

Excursion aux Twin Lakes

Mardi, avant d’attaquer pour de bon les plongees, je me suis accordee une journee de balade. Une excursion au parc des Twin Lakes, les lacs jumeaux, a trois quarts d’heure de route de Dauin.

lac

Le lac Balinsasayao, a une vingtaine de kilometres de Dumaguete.

Le tour est propose par l’agence The Lighthouse, tenue par un couple suisse-allemand, a cote des resorts Pura Vida et El Dorado.

Au programme : petite marche sur un chemin de grosses pierres glissantes dans les montagnes, entre les lacs Balinsasayao et Danao. La vue est de toute beaute, malgre la pluie.

La « rainforest » embrumee ou progresse notre petit groupe (notre guide suisse-allemande Bettina, deux Allemandes, une Americaine du Michigan et moi) est facile d’acces.

rainforest

Plein d’arbres immenses et de bestioles plus ou moins sympathiques a observer, des redoutables mille-pattes de belle taille tapis sous les fougeres (leurs morsures peuvent etre bien douloureuses) a un aigle majestueux, circulant en vol plane par-dessus la canopee des arbres.

En chemin, on croise deux gamines, mignonnes tout plein, qui s’abritent sous de grandes feuilles cueillies dans la jungle, en guise de parapluie.

fillettes

C’est un lieu de promenade populaire. Il y a des bancs et des auvents, parfois avec barbecue, sur les berges du premier lac. On peut louer des canoes, se faire promener en barque.

Mais la, avec la pluie et le vent, nous preferons rester sous le couvert de la « rainforest », bien nommee pour le coup.

lac

Dumaguete

La balade est suivie d’un pique-nique au bord du lac, puis, au retour, d’une petite halte a Dumaguete ou je dois changer de l’argent.

L’operation se fait dans la rue de l’eglise, pres du parc central, aupres de types coiffes de casquettes et munis de calculettes, les poches remplies de liasses de billets. Ils proposent un taux plus interessant que celui des banques. L’endroit est connu. Meme les hoteliers du coin changent leur argent ici.

eglise

L’ancienne tour de l’eglise de Dumaguete, dans le style espagnol, en pierre de corail.

Dumaguete est une grosse ville universitaire. Les tricycles deboulent de partout, l’atmosphere est plaisante, les rues tres animees.

Le marche est immense et j’en profite pour tester quelques friandises locales. Les batons de riz gluant au chocolat dans leur feuille de bananier, c’est top ! Sauf qu’apres on en a plein les doigts. Je me debrouille pour ne pas trop en coller sur l’appareil photo…

eglise

bondieuseries

Marchande de « bondieuseries » devant l’eglise de Dumaguete.

Tout en flanant, je fais quelques cliches de l’eglise, des vendeurs de bondieuseries, du marche, et de la kitschissime statue rendant hommage aux septs Sœurs de Saint-Paul de Chartres, missionnaires debarquees ici en 1904.

sœurs

La statue kitsch des soeurs de Saint-Paul de Chartres.

market

Le marche de Dumaguete.

Dauin

Puis retour a la plage de sable noir de Dauin, ou les Allemands sont la nationalite la plus representee, au Pura Vida comme a l’Eldorado. A cause d’eux, tout etait « fully booked » a mon arrivee, lundi.

Mais un gars sympa dans la rue a oriente mon conducteur de tricycle vers un resort plus modeste, le Puerto Cita’s, meconnu du Lonely Planet, situe juste a cote du Pura Vida. La, il y avait de la place. Nuit a 950 pesos.

Accueil familial des plus charmants, chambres toutes petites mais impeccables dans des batisses en bois autour d’un jardin, avec terrasse. Pas de resto, mais on dispose d’un petit frigo et d’une cuisine si on veut se faire a manger. The et cafe a volonte. Je n’y resterai qu’un nuit, avant de demenager pour l’El Dorado, un poil plus cher, mais plus confortable, qui a de la disponibilite a partir du lendemain.

Je vais me renseigner pour les plongees aupres de Sea Explorers, le centre de plongee du Pura Vida, géré par un Francais, Hervé, breton de surcroit, originaire de Quimper. Il me met direct sur la liste pour les trois plongees a Apo du lendemain. Youpi !

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

  1. Sublime!! Les paysages terrestres sont magnifiques et toujours autant de couleurs sur les marchés, la population a l’air très sympathique…

  2. Bonjour Laurence !

    Oui, l’arriere-pays de Dauin et Dumaguete est tres beau, et je suis loin d’avoir tout vu… J’adore les marches, c’est toujours tres sympa de se plonger dans l’ambiance d’une ville en allant faire un petit tour au milieu des etals.

    Les Philippins sont de facon generale tres accueillants et tres sympas avec les touristes. Jamais je ne me suis trouvee « en galere » et il y avait toujours quelqu’un pret a m’aider ou me renseigner quand j’en ai eu besoin. Souvent, les gens viennent t’adresser la parole, spontanement, histoire de faire un brin de causette, par curiosite aussi. L’accueil est particulierement chaleureux dans les villages, a la campagne, dans les endroits un peu hors des sentiers battus…

  3. Non, carrément pas évident, les feuillages et la pluie… Surtout quand on ne veut pas trop mouiller l’appareil, histoire de le garder en état de marche pour la suite du voyage.

    Je ne me suis donc pas trop attardée à chercher les réglages optimum. Mais le paysage était plein d’atmosphère, ainsi, avec la forêt immense, toute noyée de brume.

  4. Un truc contre la pluie : avoir toujours dans son sac à dos un petit sac spécial congélation, avec la fermeture zip : s’il pleut trop, tu places ton appareil à l’intérieur du sac translucide, tu peux continuer à viser, cadrer, manipuler les commandes à l’abri du sac et normalement tu n’as plus qu’à te préoccuper des gouttes sur l’objectif… 😉

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez