The dock of Sorido Bay Resort, sea and coral side, in Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
The dock of Sorido Bay Resort, sea and coral side, in Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.

Live my life as a princess in Raja Ampat

  Indonesia: Raja Ampat + Bali - March 2012

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Kri is my new paradise. It is a small island located in Raja Ampat, Papua, Indonesia. I lived there like a princess, a short week.

Kri Island. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
The island of Kri. (Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)

Sorido Bay

Bungalow facing the sea. White sand and deserted beach. Intense light, filtered by the palms of coconut palms and other trees whose name I do not know. Welcome to Soriday Bay, on Kri Island. My new paradise!

At the end of the pontoon, there is a blue hole, formed by a huge ring of coral.

Sorido Bay Resort, Kri Island. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
The pontoon of Sorido Bay Resort, island side, in Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia, March 2012)
The dock of Sorido Bay Resort, sea and coral side, in Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
The dock of Sorido Bay Resort, sea and coral side, in Kri. (Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)

Opposite, a sandbar, which appears and disappears with the tides. Sometimes a boat docked there and disembarked its passengers, tourists or fishermen. We think we see people walking on the water.

In the axis of the sandbank, there is an island flanked by a hut in the local fashion, made of braided coconut leaves, which serves as shelter. On the horizon, a mountainous line, often hemmed in with clouds, which swell with rain throughout the day.

View of the islet in front of Sorido Bay Resort, Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat. Indonesia, March 2012.
View of the islet in front of Sorido Bay Resort, Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia, March 2012)

No noise. Just the gentle surf of the sea, the murmur of the trees agitated by the sea breeze, the sizzling of the insects and the songs of birds.

Yes, life is hard ...

😎

Of Black Manta at Kri Island

Return to March 5, 2012. My cruise-diving on the Black Manta is over, but I'm not going back to Sorong with the other divers. I'm not flying back the next day like them, no! I'm staying at Raja Ampat!

I made all the arrangements before I left. Five-six days on a boat seemed like a very short time for an exceptional destination like Raja Ampat... Even if I have to go so far, even if I have to break my piggy bank, I might as well make the pleasure last a little longer! So I decided to extend my stay, but on land, in a resort.

I reorganize my bardas (clothes, photo equipment, splash bag), before saying goodbye to Miyo, my great diving buddy, whom I'm still a little sad to leave. Then I hastened to distribute many hugs to the Americans forming the rest of the group of divers.

I'm light-hearted, smiling up to my ears. I'm so, so happy to be able to stay a little longer in this incredible archipelago!

I'm boarding the dinghy where the staff has already dropped off my bags. Cedric, our cruise-leader, is launching the engines. I happily wave my hand towards the others, who stay on the Black Manta. Set course for Kri Island!

The Black Manta. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
The Black Manta. (Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia, March 2012)

I am a princess

I booked at Papua Diving, at Kri Island Resort. But it is closed for the week, for various maintenance work. No big deal ... Instead, I'll stay at much more classy Sorido Bay Resort neighbor!!!

👌

The Sorido Bay and Kri Eco Resorts on Kri Island, Raja Ampat. Papua Barat, Indonesia. (Photo: Papua Diving)
The Sorido Bay and Kri Eco Resorts on Kri Island, Raja Ampat. Papua Barat, Indonesia. (Photo: Papua Diving)
Aerial view of Kri Island, with the Sorido Bay Resort in the foreground and its incredible blue hole in the coral, and on the right, the Kri Eco Resort. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. (Photo: Papua Diving)
Aerial view of the island of Kri, with the Sorido Bay Resort and its incredible blue hole in the coral in the foreground, and on the right, the Kri Eco Resort. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. (Photo: Papua Diving)

Yes. I've been "upgraded" gracefully, because both resorts have the same owner. A Dutchman by the name of Max Ammer, "pioneer" of diving in Raja Ampat. A character, an adventurer, an incredible storyteller, settled there for twenty years, and I had the pleasure of meeting during my stay.

I learned the good news about the resort change on the Black Manta, by Cédric. Papua Diving sent a message on his mobile phone, to warn me. At first, I think that Cédric makes a joke, that he jokes. But no.

He makes me read the message: I'm really going to stay at the Sorido Bay Resort! Classy. I can't believe how lucky I am. It's a princess resort. The kind of resort I never thought I'd set foot in. The kind of resort that wasn't in my budget, even when I was pumped to the max with my big money-breaker.

The kind of resort where there is all the comfort that can dream of a paddler weighed down with fragile technological equipment and practicing underwater photography: huge air-conditioned bungalow, with a work surface fitted out for rinsing the watertight box and equipped with electric sockets to recharge the batteries, hot shower, king-size bed, wifi, fridge, safety-box, staff with small care ... Raaaahhh....

My room at Sorido Bay Resort. Kri Island, Raja Ampat. Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
My room at Sorido Bay Resort. (Kri, Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)
My bungalow is directly on the beach. Kri Island, Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
My bungalow is directly on the beach. (Kri, Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)

Anyway, anyway. I feel like a princess when I set foot on the Sorido Bay Resort pontoon. And I am greeted like a princess by the adorable Jimmy and Julia, the managers, a couple of thirty year olds, themselves divers, who tell me another very good news: I am the only client, that week, to dive!

Apart from my little one, there is only one family of Dutch expats, who only snorkel (fins-mask-snorkel). So I will have a guide for me alone under the water and it is I who will decide the program of the day ...

I love it!!! 😄

I'm a princess, really. Besides, it's not the first time. Already last summer in Komodo, I was more than glazed over, with a cruise ship all to myself:
Read → My princess boat

New friends

Jimmy is Belgian by origin and speaks very good French. Julia is German and understands it as well. The time of my stay, our conversations will be half in English, half French. They have been managers for other luxury resorts around the world, including the Maldives and Seychelles. Indonesian Papua is a new experience for them, a new challenge.

Jimmy and Julia are a nice couple, open, warm. I get along very well with them right away.

As there aren't many people that week, they regularly come diving with me. Natan, who is from the area, is my guide for most of the dives. With him, I feel safe underwater, I can take my pictures quietly. He has his eye on everything!

Natan, my great Papuan guide, at Sorido Bay Resort on Kri Island. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
Natan, my great Papuan guide, at Sorido Bay Resort on Kri Island. (Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)

After Miyo and Cedric, on the Black MantaSo I'm still making new friends here on Kri Island ... I often say, solo trip is not synonymous with loneliness, quite the contrary!

Luxury, calm and voluptuousness

Obviously, this princess stay was an enchanted parenthesis. A dream. Enjoy all the modern comfort or almost, in the middle of this wild archipelago, is an unheard of luxury. So I savor, blissfully.

Luxury, calm and voluptuousness... Every morning, I rave about the fabulous view that I discover from "my" beach.

The view from my bungalow at Sorido Bay Resort on Kri Island. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
The view from my bungalow at Sorido Bay Resort, on Kri. (Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)
"My" beach. Kri Island, Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
"My" beach. (Kri, Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)

To take pictures, I venture once barefoot on the pontoon, until the burning of the wooden slats heated by the sun forces me to run... Ouch, always put on your flip-flops to go on the pontoon!

Fortunately, the coralline sand of the beach, so white, so fine, never burns his feet.

The beautiful pontoon above the coral at Sorido Bay Resort in Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
The beautiful pontoon above the coral at Sorido Bay Resort in Kri. (Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)

At low tide, the extent of the immense reef protecting the island is better measured. I contemplate, fascinated, the coral outcropping, flush with the surface.

We see schools of small fish playing around the pillars, perfectly visible from the pontoon. Juvenile batfish live here, at the edge of the blue hole, they are at the same place every day.

The view of Kri Island, from the dock of Sorido Bay Resort. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonesia. March 2012.
The view of Kri Island, from the dock of Sorido Bay Resort. (Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)
A juvenile batfish, seen from the pontoon of Sorido Bay Resort. Kri Island, Raja Ampat, Papua Barat. Indonesia, March 2012.
A juvenile batfish, seen from the pontoon of Sorido Bay Resort. (Kri, Raja Ampat, West Papua, Indonesia, March 2012)

Every evening, after the dives, I give myself a moment of rest in my hammock, on the terrace of my bungalow, facing the sea, while the light decreases. I then join the main building, at the time of the aperitif and I offer myself a Bintang, the Indonesian beer. There is a living room with sofa and armchairs where you can sit and read or chat. I show the Dutch my photos of the day before dinner, taken together at the big table of the restaurant ... We sympathize.

It rained every day, I think. But most often at the end of the day. And I love the cool tropical raindrops drumming on the leafy roofs of the resort. I gradually get used to the weird chuckles and squeaks that come out of the foliage of the trees and the jungle around us.

Sometimes a monitor of fairly good size comes rode near the bungalows. One night, Jimmy, with a flashlight, managed to show me a couscous, those funny fur and long-tailed animals of the marsupial family that live in the trees.

I was only on Kri Island for a short week. But these few days of relaxation and diving, in the middle of a still virgin, preserved nature, left me a dazzling memory. I have only one desire: return to Raja Ampat !

🤗

  Indonesia: Raja Ampat + Bali - March 2012

80 Shares
Share2
Tweet9
Share69

Le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort, côté mer et corail, à Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
Le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort, côté mer et corail, à Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.

Vis ma vie de princesse à Raja Ampat

  Indonésie : Raja Ampat + Bali - mars 2012

Kri est mon nouveau paradis. C’est une petite île située à Raja Ampat, en Papouasie indonésienne. J’y ai vécu comme une princesse, une courte semaine.

Kri Island. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
L’île de Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie. mars 2012)

Sorido Bay

Bungalow face à la mer. Sable blanc et plage déserte. Lumière intense, tamisée par les palmes des cocotiers et d’autres arbres dont j’ignore le nom. Bienvenue à Soriday Bay, sur Kri Island. Mon nouveau paradis !

Au bout du ponton, il y a un un trou bleu, formé par un immense anneau de corail.

Sorido Bay Resort, Kri Island. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
Le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort, côté île, à Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie, mars 2012)
Le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort, côté mer et corail, à Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
Le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort, côté mer et corail, à Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)

En face, un banc de sable, qui apparaît et disparaît au gré des marées. Parfois, une barque y accoste et y débarque ses passagers, touristes ou pêcheurs. On croit voir les gens marcher sur l’eau.

Dans l’axe du banc de sable, il y a un îlot flanqué d’une hutte à la mode locale, en feuilles de cocotier tressées, qui sert d’abri. À l’horizon, une ligne montagneuse, souvent ourlée de nuages, qui se gonflent de pluie au fil de la journée.

Vue sur l'îlot en face du Sorido Bay Resort, à Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat. Indonésie, mars 2012.
Vue sur l’îlot en face du Sorido Bay Resort, à Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papua Barat. Indonésie, mars 2012)

Pas un bruit. Juste le doux ressac de la mer, le murmure des arbres agités par le vent du large, le grésillement des insectes et les chants d’oiseaux.

Oui, la vie est dure…

😎

Du Black Manta à Kri Island

Retour au 5 mars 2012. Ma croisière-plongée sur le Black Manta est terminée, mais je ne vais pas rentrer à Sorong avec les autres plongeurs. Je ne reprends pas l’avion le lendemain comme eux, non ! Moi, je reste à Raja Ampat !

J’ai tout organisé avant de partir. Cinq-six jours sur un bateau, ça me paraissait bien court pour une destination exceptionnelle comme Raja Ampat… Quitte à aller si loin, quitte à casser ma tirelire, autant faire durer un peu le plaisir ! J’ai donc décidé de prolonger le séjour, mais à terre, dans un resort.

Je réorganise mon bardas (fringues, matos photo, sac à plouf), avant de dire au revoir à Miyo, ma super « buddy » de plongée, que je suis quand même un peu triste de quitter. Puis je m’empresse de distribuer moult « hugs » aux Américains formant le reste du groupe de plongeurs.

J’ai le cœur léger, le sourire jusqu’aux oreilles. Je suis tellement, tellement contente de pouvoir rester encore un peu dans cet archipel incroyable !

J’embarque sur l’annexe où le staff a déjà déposé mes sacs. Cédric, notre « cruise-leader » lance les moteurs. J’agite gaiement la main vers les autres, qui restent sur le Black Manta. Cap sur Kri Island !

Le Black Manta. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
Le Black Manta. (Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie, mars 2012)

Je suis une princesse

J’avais réservé chez Papua Diving, au Kri Island Resort. Or celui-ci est fermé pour la semaine, pour divers travaux de maintenance. Pas grave… À la place, je vais loger au beaucoup plus chic Sorido Bay Resort voisin ! ! !

👌

Les Sorido Bay et Kri Eco Resorts sur Kri Island, à Raja Ampat. Papua Barat, Indonésie. (Photo : Papua Diving)
Les Sorido Bay et Kri Eco Resorts sur Kri Island, à Raja Ampat. Papua Barat, Indonésie. (Photo : Papua Diving)
Vue aérienne sur l'île de Kri, avec, au premier plan, le Sorido Bay Resort et son incroyable trou bleu dans le corail, et sur la droite, le Kri Eco Resort. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. (Photo : Papua Diving)
Vue aérienne sur l’île de Kri, avec, au premier plan, le Sorido Bay Resort et son incroyable trou bleu dans le corail, et sur la droite, le Kri Eco Resort. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. (Photo : Papua Diving)

Oui. J’ai été « upgradée » gracieusement, car les deux resorts ont le même propriétaire. Un Hollandais du nom de Max Ammer, « pionnier » de la plongée à Raja Ampat. Un personnage, un aventurier, un incroyable conteur d’histoires, installé là-bas depuis une vingtaine d’années, et dont j’ai eu le plaisir de faire la connaissance durant mon séjour.

J’ai appris la bonne nouvelle concernant le changement de resort sur le Black Manta, par Cédric. Papua Diving a envoyé un message sur son téléphone portable, pour me prévenir. Au début, je crois que Cédric me fait une blague, qu’il plaisante. Mais non.

Il me fait lire le message : je vais vraiment loger au Sorido Bay Resort ! La classe. Je n’en reviens pas de ma chance. C’est un resort de princesse. Le genre de resort où je n’imaginais pas mettre les pieds un jour. Le genre de resort qui n’entrait pas dans mon budget, même gonflé à bloc avec mon gros cassage de tirelire.

Le genre de resort où il y a tout le confort dont peut rêver une baroudeuse lestée de matériel technologique fragile et pratiquant la photo subaquatique : immense bungalow climatisé, avec plan de travail aménagé pour le rinçage du caisson étanche et pourvu de prises électriques pour recharger les batteries, douche chaude, lit king-size, wifi, frigo, safety-box, staff aux petits soins… Raaaahhh…

Ma chambre au Sorido Bay Resort. Kri Island, Raja Ampat. Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
Ma chambre au Sorido Bay Resort. (Kri, Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)
Mon bungalow donne directement sur la plage. Kri Island, Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
Mon bungalow donne directement sur la plage. (Kri, Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)

Bref. Je me sens comme une princesse en posant le pied sur le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort. Et je suis accueillie en princesse par les adorables Jimmy et Julia, les managers, un couple de trentenaires, eux-mêmes plongeurs, qui m’apprennent une autre très bonne nouvelle : je suis la seule cliente, cette semaine-là, à plonger !

À part ma petite personne, il y a seulement une famille d’expats hollandais, qui ne font que du snorkeling (palmes-masque-tuba). J’aurai donc un guide pour moi toute seule sous l’eau et c’est moi qui déciderai du programme du jour…

J’adore ! ! !  😄

Je suis une princesse, vraiment. En plus, ce n’est pas la première fois. L’été dernier, déjà, à Komodo, j’avais été plus que vernie, avec un bateau de croisière pour moi toute seule :
Lire → Mon bateau de princesse

Nouveaux amis

Jimmy est belge d’origine et parle très bien français. Julia est allemande et le comprend bien aussi. Le temps de mon séjour, nos conversations se feront moitié en anglais, moitié français. Ils ont été managers pour d’autres resorts de luxe, de par le monde, notamment aux Maldives et aux Seychelles. La Papouasie indonésienne est pour eux une nouvelle expérience, un nouveau challenge.

Jimmy et Julia forment un couple sympathique, ouvert, chaleureux. Je m’entends tout de suite très bien avec eux.

Comme il n’y a pas beaucoup de monde cette semaine-là, ils viennent régulièrement plonger avec moi. Natan, qui est originaire du coin, est mon guide pour la plupart des plongées. Avec lui, je me sens en sécurité sous l’eau, je peux prendre tranquillement mes photos. Il a l’œil sur tout !

Natan, mon super guide papou, au Sorido Bay Resort de l'île de Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
Natan, mon super guide papou, au Sorido Bay Resort de l’île de Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)

Après Miyo et Cédric, sur le Black Manta, je me fais donc encore de nouveaux amis, ici, sur Kri Island… Je le dis souvent, le voyage en solo n’est pas synonyme de solitude, bien au contraire !

Luxe, calme et volupté

Évidemment, ce séjour de princesse a été une parenthèse enchantée. Un rêve. Jouir de tout le confort moderne ou presque, au milieu de cet archipel sauvage, est un luxe inouï. Alors je savoure, béatement.

Luxe, calme et volupté… Je m’extasie, chaque matin, sur la vue fabuleuse que je découvre depuis « ma » plage.

La vue depuis mon bungalow au Sorido Bay Resort, sur Kri Island. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
La vue depuis mon bungalow au Sorido Bay Resort, sur Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)
"Ma" plage. Kri Island, Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
« Ma » plage. (Kri, Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)

Pour prendre des photos, je me risque une fois pieds nus sur le ponton, jusqu’à ce que la brûlure des lattes en bois chauffées par le soleil m’oblige à courir… Ouille, toujours mettre ses tongs pour aller sur le ponton !

Heureusement, le sable corallien de la plage, si blanc, si fin, ne brûle jamais les pieds, lui.

Le magnifique ponton au-dessus du corail, au Sorido Bay Resort, à Kri. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
Le magnifique ponton au-dessus du corail, au Sorido Bay Resort, à Kri. (Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)

À marée basse, on mesure mieux l’étendue de l’immense récif qui protège l’île. Je contemple, fascinée, le corail qui affleure, au ras de la surface.

On voit des bancs de petits poissons jouer autour des piliers, parfaitement visibles depuis le ponton. Des platax juvéniles vivent ici, en bordure du trou bleu, ils sont tous les jours au même endroit.

La vue sur l'île de Kri, depuis le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort. Raja Ampat, Papua Barat, Indonésie. Mars 2012.
La vue sur l’île de Kri, depuis le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort. (Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)
Un platax juvénile, aperçu depuis le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort. Kri Island, Raja Ampat, Papua Barat. Indonésie, mars 2012.
Un platax juvénile, aperçu depuis le ponton du Sorido Bay Resort. (Kri, Raja Ampat, Papouasie Occidentale, Indonésie, mars 2012)

Chaque soir, après les plongées, je m’accorde un moment de repos dans mon hamac, sur la terrasse de mon bungalow, face à la mer, tandis que la lumière décroît. Je rejoins ensuite le bâtiment principal, à l’heure de l’apéro et je m’offre une Bintang, la bière indonésienne. Il y a là un salon, avec canapé et fauteuils, où on peut s’installer pour lire ou bavarder. Je montre aux Hollandais mes photos du jour avant le dîner, pris en commun à la grande table du restaurant… On sympathise.

Il a plu tous les jours, je crois bien. Mais le plus souvent en fin de journée. Et j’aime cette douce fraîcheur des averses tropicales qui tambourinent sur les toits de feuilles du resort. Je m’habitue peu à peu aux gloussements et crissements bizarres qui sortent du feuillage des arbres et de la jungle qui nous entoure.

Parfois, un varan d’assez belle taille vient roder près des bungalows. Un soir, Jimmy, muni d’une lampe torche, a réussi à me montrer un couscous, ces drôles d’animaux à fourrure et à longue queue, de la famille des marsupiaux, qui vivent dans les arbres.

Je ne suis restée qu’une courte semaine sur Kri Island. Mais ces quelques jours de détente et de plongée, au milieu d’une nature encore vierge, préservée, m’ont laissé un souvenir ébloui. Je n’ai qu’une envie : revenir à Raja Ampat !

🤗

  Indonésie : Raja Ampat + Bali - mars 2012

84 Partages
Partagez69
Tweetez9
Enregistrer4
Partagez2