Photo pose in front of the Kelimutu craters. (Flores, Indonesia, July 2011)
Photo pose in front of the Kelimutu craters. (Flores, Indonesia, July 2011)

Kelimutu, the volcano to the spirits

  Indonesia: Flores + Komodo + Bali - July 2011

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


"And how long does it take to walk to see the Kelimutu? "No, 10-15 minutes, tops. » I am wary of Indonesian minutes, often elastic.


But Matheus Misir, my guide-driver in Flores, says true. The spectacular Kelimutu volcano, with its three craters, which form giant pools for three lakes with strange colors, is an easy ride.

Perfect! I'm a diver, not a trekker...

The "snake road" of Flores

In fact, most of the journey is by car. The Kelimutu is roughly half an hour's drive from the small village of Moni, where we spent the night. A small winding road that climbs, climbs ...

Anyway, wherever you go to Flores, the road is permanently a "snake-road"as my driver says. A "snake-road" that unrolls fabulous landscapes of rice fields and volcanic reliefs at every bend. Sometimes vertiginous, always splendid...

The road to Flores. Indonesia, July 2011.
The road to Flores. Indonesia, July 2011.

Rice fields, Flores. Indonesia, July 2011.

Rice fields, Flores. Indonesia, July 2011.

Rice fields, Flores. Indonesia, July 2011.

I wouldn't have made this trip in bemo, those local mini-buses overloaded with goods and passengers... All along this crossing from east to west, from Maumere to Labuan Bajo, I enjoyed the comfort of my private car: shocks in good condition and air conditioning. It's no luxury on this asphalt snake in perpetual work. Besides, I can ask Misir to stop whenever I want, to take pictures.

I also very much appreciate his driving safely. From the start, he asks me nicely if it's okay, if his behavior suits me.

Yes Yes, "bagus", it's good. Given the unexpected obstacles on the road - poultry, cows, children, rocks, motorcycles, broken bemos, potholes - I find it nickel that he drives quietly, "pelan-pelan".

With Misir, I'm going to practice my Bahasa Indonesia for four days!

My driver Misir chatted with a little boy. Flores, Indonesia, July 2011.
My driver Misir chatted with a little boy. Flores, Indonesia, July 2011.

As we climb towards the Kelimutu, turn after turn, I watch the shreds of cloud still hanging on top. The sun has just risen.

Kelimutu is beautiful, as long as you don't end up in the fog. The summit is 1,639 metres high. When the volcano is in the clouds, everything is grey, there is nothing to see! But we're lucky. Today, as we arrive, it's the big blue above our heads. The fog scarves are slowly tearing.

A few curves later, we see a little lady waving at us on the side of the road, crammed into a big jacket - it's cool in the heights. She asks if we can take her up to Kelimutu Park. I wave: "Tidak apa apa", no problem. Misir is happy, he can chat in Indonesian with our hitchhiker.

She put a big ball beside her in the back seat. of the ikat, carefully folded and stacked, that she will try to sell to tourists in the parking lot of the park.

Kelimutu National Park

A few Indonesian minutes later, here we are. Admission ticket bought at the ticket office, car parked in the parking lot. What? Another 50,000 rupees for the camera? Damn, I should have hidden my 7D...

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

Misir accompanies me to the first lake. He was right, it's easy: a path with steps, going up a gentle slope. Then flat ground, by a shady path, which leads, on the right, to the first point of view on the Kelimutu craters.

Wow!

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

I have the sun in front, not great for photos, but no matter ... I open my eyes, it's worth all the pictures of the world. A thin rampart of jagged stone separates the two lakes.

The lake on the right, on the pictures above, is called Ata Polo. It can take a red-brown color. For now, it is rather dark blue-green.

The one on the left (which I will discover better after, while gaining height) is Lake Nuamuri Ko'ofai. When I arrive, the sun does not illuminate it yet. In full light, it turns to acid green, almost fluo.

The place is popular. Locals also come here on excursions. They greet me nicely: "Hello!" I answer Pagi! » And I might add: "Saya orang perancis"because everyone wants to know where I come from ... guaranteed success.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

But yes, yes, sir, I speak the Bahasa Indonesia ! Well just a little, what, "setikit." I'm not going to sit there talking to you for hours, telling you my life, telling you if I'm traveling alone or in a group, whether I'm married or not, and how many children I have, because that there is the green lake and the black lake waiting for me up there, see you, so goodbye and see you soon maybe ...

Pfff. No way to quietly admire the view in silence, in this country ...

????

The lakes of the spirits

Afterwards, to really enjoy the show, you have to climb to the aptly named Inspiration Point. An eminence, at the top of a staircase, which allows to glance at the three craters.

Tourists at Kelimutu. Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

Inspiration Point. Tourists at Kelimutu. Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

There, Misir lets me go up alone. He prefers to go back to the parking lot, chat with his colleagues. I attack the climb, enthusiastic. Walking after walking, the panorama becomes even more grandiose.

And when I get to the top... Wow! Whoo!

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

I did well not to come too soon. Many tourists come here shortly before 6 am, for the sunrise. Except at this hour, there is mist everywhere and the lakes are still in the shadows.

It certainly has its charm too, the shreds of mist over the craters, but I tell myself that it is not a bad choice to arrive a little later in the morning ... The surface of the green lake filled with sulfur lights up as the sun goes up in the sky. Its color, an intense turquoise green, seems almost supernatural.

On the other side of Inspiration Point, there is the third lake, the black lake, Ata Mbupu. Again, I'm lucky. It is often hidden under a cloud of opaque clouds. But these fray gradually under my eyes. We end up seeing the whitish cliff of the crater fringed with greenery reflected in the ink of the water. Amazing.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

The place is sacred, for the people of the region. The three lakes are populated by spirits. There is a lake where the spirits of young people go, another for the elderly, and the third lake, evil or magical, would welcome evil spirits (for what I understand explanations that were given to me ).

I turn around to watch the evolution of the acidic green lake. The sun is higher in the sky. The color of the water is even more violent than before. I redo some images, watching from the corner of my eye the clouds that I see appearing on the horizon.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

This is really the most beautiful. The lake that welcomes the minds of young people, if I'm not mistaken.

And, as a good tourist, I sacrifice to the photo-souvenir ritual in front of the crater, before leaving ...

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia. July 2011.

Magical, this little excursion to Kelimutu ... Really. I display a smug smile on my way back to the car. "Saya senang! » I say to Misir, who smiles indulgently at my efforts to speak his language.

To learn more about this strange volcano, some explanations at the end of these two links:
→ Wikipedia: Kelimutu Volcano
→ Activolcans: Kelimutu

😎

See all articles about this trip → Indonesia - July 2011 : Flores + Komodo + Bali

 

  Indonesia: Flores + Komodo + Bali - July 2011

109 Shares
Share90
Tweet16
Pin3
Share

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Kelimutu, le volcan aux esprits

  Indonésie : Flores + Komodo + Bali - juillet 2011

« Et il faut marcher longtemps, pour voir le Kelimutu ? » « Non, 10-15 minutes maximum. » Je me méfie des minutes indonésiennes, souvent élastiques.


Mais Matheus Misir, mon chauffeur-guide à Flores, dit vrai. Le spectaculaire volcan Kelimutu, avec ses trois cratères, qui forment des vasques géantes pour trois lacs aux couleurs étranges, est une balade facile.

Parfait ! Suis plongeuse, moi, pas trekkeuse…

La « route-serpent » de Flores

En fait, l’essentiel du trajet se fait en voiture. Le Kelimutu est grosso-modo à une demi-heure de route du petit village de Moni, où nous avons passé la nuit. Une petite route en lacets qui grimpe, qui grimpe…

De toute manière, où qu’on aille à Flores, la route est en permanence une « snake-road », comme dit mon chauffeur. Une « route-serpent » qui déroule de fabuleux paysages de rizières et reliefs volcaniques à chaque virage. Parfois vertigineux, toujours splendides…

La route à Flores. Indonésie, juillet 2011.
La route à Flores. Indonésie, juillet 2011.

Rizières, Flores. Indonésie, juillet 2011.

Rizières, Flores. Indonésie, juillet 2011.

Rizières, Flores. Indonésie, juillet 2011.

Je n’aurais pas fait ce périple en bemo, ces mini-bus locaux surchargés en marchandises et passagers… Tout le long de cette traversée d’est en ouest, de Maumere à Labuan Bajo, j’ai apprécié le confort de ma voiture privée : amortisseurs en bon état et air conditionné. Ça n’est pas du luxe, sur ce serpent d’asphalte en travaux perpétuels. Et puis, je peux demander à Misir de faire halte quand je veux, pour prendre des photos.

J’apprécie aussi beaucoup sa prudence au volant. Dès le départ, il me demande gentiment si ça va comme ça, si sa conduite me convient.

Oui, oui, « bagus », c’est bien. Vu les obstacles inopinés sur la route — volailles, vaches, enfants, rochers, motos, bemos en panne, nids de poule — je trouve ça nickel qu’il conduise tranquillement, « pelan-pelan ».

Avec Misir, je vais pratiquer mon bahasa indonesia quatre jours durant !

Mon chauffeur Misir papote avec un petit garçon. Flores, Indonésie, juillet 2011.
Mon chauffeur Misir papote avec un petit garçon. Flores, Indonésie, juillet 2011.

Pendant qu’on grimpe vers le Kelimutu, virage après virage, je surveille les lambeaux de nuage encore accrochés au sommet. Le soleil vient de se lever.

Le Kelimutu, c’est beau, à condition de ne pas se retrouver dans le brouillard. Le sommet culmine à 1 639 mètres. Quand le volcan est dans les nuages, tout est gris, il n’y a rien à voir ! Mais on a de la chance. Aujourd’hui, à l’heure où nous arrivons, c’est le grand bleu au-dessus de nos têtes. Les écharpes de brume se déchirent peu à peu.

Quelques virages plus tard, on aperçoit une petite dame qui nous fait signe sur le bas-côté, engoncée dans une grosse veste — c’est qu’il fait frais, dans les hauteurs. Elle demande si on peut la monter jusqu’au parc du Kelimutu. Je fais signe que oui : « Tidak apa apa », pas de problème. Misir est content, il peut papoter en indonésien avec notre auto-stoppeuse.

Elle a déposé un gros balluchon à côté d’elle sur la banquette arrière. Des ikats, soigneusement pliés et empilés, qu’elle va tenter de vendre aux touristes sur le parking du parc.

Kelimutu National Park

Quelques minutes indonésiennes plus tard, on y est. Billet d’entrée acheté au guichet, voiture garée sur le parking. Quoi ? 50 000 roupies de plus pour l’appareil-photo ? Mince, j’aurais mieux fait de cacher mon 7D…

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Misir m’accompagne jusqu’au premier lac. Il avait raison, c’est facile : un chemin pourvu de marches, montant en pente douce. Ensuite terrain plat, par une allée ombragée, qui mène, sur la droite, au premier point de vue sur les cratères du Kelimutu.

Wahou !

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

J’ai le soleil en face, pas génial pour les photos, mais peu importe… J’ouvre grand les yeux, ça vaut toutes les photos du monde. Un mince rempart de pierre dentelée sépare les deux lacs.

Le lac de droite, sur les images ci-dessus, s’appelle Ata Polo. Il peut prendre une couleur rouge-brun. Pour l’heure, il est plutôt bleu-vert sombre.

Celui de gauche (que je découvrirai mieux après, en prenant de la hauteur), c’est le lac Nuamuri Ko’ofai. Quand j’arrive, le soleil ne l’éclaire pas encore. En pleine lumière, il vire au vert acide, presque fluo.

L’endroit est populaire. Les gens du coin aussi viennent ici en excursion. On me salue gentiment : « Hello ! » Je réponds : « Pagi ! » Et même, j’ajoute : « Saya orang perancis », parce que tout le monde veut savoir d’où je viens… Succès garanti.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Mais oui, mais oui, monsieur, je parle le bahasa indonesia ! Enfin juste un peu, quoi, « setikit », je ne vais non plus rester là à vous faire la conversation pendant des heures, à vous raconter ma vie, à vous dire si je voyage seule ou en groupe, si je suis mariée ou pas, ni combien j’ai d’enfants, parce que y’a le lac vert et le lac noir qui m’attendent, là-haut, voyez-vous, alors au revoir et à bientôt peut-être…

Pfff. Pas moyen d’admirer tranquillement la vue en silence, dans ce pays…

😄

Les lacs aux esprits

Après, pour vraiment profiter du spectacle, il faut grimper jusqu’au bien nommé Inspiration Point. Une éminence, tout en haut d’un escalier, qui permet d’embrasser du regard les trois cratères.

Touristes au Kelimutu. Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Inspiration Point. Touristes au Kelimutu. Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Là, Misir me laisse monter toute seule. Il préfère retourner sur le parking, faire la causette avec ses collègues. J’attaque l’ascension, enthousiaste. Marche après marche, le panorama devient plus grandiose encore.

Et quand j’arrive tout en haut… Wahou ! Wahou !

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

J’ai bien fait de ne pas venir trop tôt. Beaucoup de touristes déboulent ici peu avant 6 h du matin, pour le lever du soleil. Sauf qu’à cette heure-là, il y a de la brume partout et les lacs sont encore plongés dans l’ombre.

Ça a sûrement son charme aussi, les lambeaux de brume au-dessus des cratères, mais je me dis que ce n’est pas un mauvais choix d’arriver un peu plus tard en début de matinée… La surface du lac vert gorgé de souffre s’illumine au fur et à mesure que le soleil monte dans le ciel. Sa couleur, d’un vert turquoise intense, semble presque surnaturelle.

De l’autre côté d’Inspiration Point, il y a le troisième lac, le lac noir, Ata Mbupu. Là encore, j’ai de la chance. Il est souvent planqué sous un amas de nuages opaques. Mais ceux-ci s’effilochent progressivement sous mes yeux. On finit par voir la falaise blanchâtre du cratère frangé de verdure se refléter dans l’encre de l’eau. Étonnant.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Le lieu est sacré, pour les gens de la région. Les trois lacs sont peuplés d’esprits. Il y a un lac où vont les esprits des jeunes gens, un autre pour celui des personnes âgées, et le troisième lac, maléfique ou magique, accueillerait les mauvais esprits (pour ce que j’ai compris des explications qui m’ont été données).

Je me retourne, pour surveiller l’évolution du lac vert acide. Le soleil est plus haut dans le ciel. La couleur de l’eau est encore plus violente qu’avant. Je refais quelques images, en surveillant du coin de l’œil les nuages que je vois poindre à l’horizon.

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

C’est vraiment celui-là le plus beau. Le lac qui accueille les esprits des jeunes gens, si je ne me trompe pas.

Et, en bonne touriste, je sacrifie au rituel de la photo-souvenir devant le cratère, avant de repartir…

Kelimutu, Flores, Indonésie. Juillet 2011.

Magique, cette petite excursion au Kelimutu… Vraiment. J’affiche un sourire béat en remontant dans la voiture. « Saya senang ! » j’affirme à Misir, qui sourit avec indulgence de mes efforts pour parler sa langue.

Pour en savoir plus sur cet étrange volcan, quelques explications au bout de ces deux liens :
→ Wikipédia : Volcan Kelimutu
→ Activolcans : Kelimutu

😎

Voir tous les articles sur ce voyage → Indonésie – juillet 2011 : Flores + Komodo + Bali

 

  Indonésie : Flores + Komodo + Bali - juillet 2011

109 Partages
Partagez90
Tweetez16
Enregistrer3
Partagez