Thailand, July 2006. Chumphon food market, late afternoon.

Chumphon Noodle Soup

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Here I am, landed at Chumphon (pronounced "tcheumpone") by the Lomprayah, the catamaran boat that links with the Thai peninsula. Then, shuttle-livestock with stacking of luggage and passengers on the rear platform to the center, where I was placed with the others in front of an internet cafe a few minutes walk from the station.

They keep the big bags, it's convenient. As I have several hours to kill before the train departs, I went for a ride.

-

Chumphon's food market, late afternoon.

Change of mood, after the beaches of Koh Tao. Chumphon is a big provincial town, without much charm in itself. But fortunately there is the inevitable "food market" just a stone's throw from the train station and my internet café, and I hurry there.

As always, a whole street filled with booths, carrioles, and small restaurants with their tiny plastic chairs. The good thing about Thailand is that you always find everything to eat, and at any time. People go by motorbike and stop to buy skewers, fruit, another small sandwiches or grilled squid ...

Noticing a noodle soup restaurant, well filled with customers, I tell myself that it's a good sign and that the soup must be good... Another good sign: the guy who makes the noodle soup doesn't understand a word of English. Besides, I'm the only one "Farang" (Foreign).

Sitting on my little plastic chair, I feel myself being watched. Stealthy look and smiles in the corner from other customers, only Thais.

-

Especially when I take out my camera worthy tourist that I am. The two girls of the restaurant, curious, came to examine me more closely.

They pose for my goal. And the excuse is that the mom who serves me my bowl of soup requires them to say thank you then ... "Kop kun kaaah! Kop kun kaaah!" And the two little ones to flee and giggle after admiring themselves on the digital screen.

The noodle soup was famous and copiously filled my stomach for the modest sum of 30 baths (not even a euro), before this long journey by train (departure 21:15, arrival 10:30).

I'm going to stroll a little more before reaching the station... See you in Malaysia!

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Fascinating, your blog! I go back from town, take a look at my computer screen, on which the page was still displayed ... and a click later appear the noodle soup and the smile of the two little girls ...

    See you soon in Malaysia! Have a good trip by train! I can not wait to read the detailed story ...

    Biz
    Pascale

  2. From Brittany to Thailand on a simple click, amazing, no? Here I am just returned from St Brieuc and time to sit down and open the blog, I find myself transplanted to Chumphon, a city I did not know existed until today. I love your story of street scene sketched on the spot, it looks like Nicolas Bouvier.

  3. Delighted that you like it !!! Me, it makes me do almost homework every night ... Here I am in Kota Bahru, less easy to find an internet cafe in Thailand. But that's it, I'll be able to continue the blog!

  4. Yo Titbulle,

    We follow you through your blog and you make us travel with you. We too would like a good noodle soup. Continue to make us dream. We kiss you and we can not wait to read the rest of your adventures.

    PS. Your adobe suite for Mac has arrived ...

    A +
    FW

Share
Tweet
Share

Thaïlande, juillet 2006. Le food-market de Chumphon, en fin d'après-midi.

Soupe de nouilles à Chumphon

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Me voici débarquée à Chumphon (prononcer « tcheumpone ») par le Lomprayah, le bateau-catamaran qui fait la liaison avec la péninsule thailandaise. Ensuite, navette-bétaillère avec empilage de bagages et de passagers sur la plate-forme arrière jusqu’au centre, où l’on m’a déposée avec les autres devant un café internet à quelques minutes à pied de la gare.

Ils gardent les gros sacs, c’est pratique. Comme j’ai plusieurs heures à tuer avant le départ du train, je suis allée faire un petit tour.

Le food-market de Chumphon, en fin d’après-midi.

Changement d’ambiance, après les plages de Koh Tao. Chumphon est une grosse ville de province, sans grand charme en soi. Mais il y a heureusement l’inévitable « food market » à deux pas de la gare et de mon café internet, et je m’empresse d’y filer.

Comme toujours, une rue entière occupée par des stands, carrioles, gargottes et petits restos avec leurs minuscules chaises en plastique. Ce qui est bien, en Thaïlande, c’est qu’on trouve toujours de tout à manger, et à toute heure. Les gens passent en moto et s’arrêtent pour acheter qui des brochettes, qui des fruits, un autre des petits sandwiches ou des calamars grillés…

Avisant un resto de soupe de nouilles, bien rempli de clients, je me dis que c’est bon signe et que la soupe doit être bonne… Autre bon signe : le gars qui fait la tambouille ne comprends pas un traitre mot d’anglais. D’ailleurs, je suis la seule “farang” (étrangère).

Assise sur ma petite chaise en plastique, je me sens observée. Regard furtifs et sourires en coin de la part des autres clients, que des Thaïlandais.

Surtout quand je sors mon appareil-photo en digne touriste que je suis. Les deux gamines du resto, curieuses, sont venues m’examiner de plus près.

Elles prennent la pose pour mon objectif. Et le comble, c’est que la maman qui me sert mon bol de soupe les oblige à dire merci ensuite… « Kop kun kaaah ! Kop kun kaaah ! » Et les deux petites de se sauver en gloussant après s’être admirées sur l’écran numérique.

La soupe de nouille était fameuse et m’a copieusement garni l’estomac pour la modique somme de 30 baths (même pas un euro), avant ce long périple en train (départ 21h15, arrivée 10h30).

Je vais encore flaner un peu avant de rejoindre la gare… Rendez-vous en Malaisie !

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

  1. Fascinant, ton blog! Je remonte de ville, jette un œil à mon écran d’ordi, sur lequel la page était encore affichée… et un clic plus tard apparaissent la soupe de nouilles et le sourire des deux petites filles…

    A bientôt en Malaisie! Bon voyage en train! J’ai hâte d’en lire le récit détaillé…

    Biz
    Pascale

  2. De Bretagne en Thaïlande sur un simple clic, étonnant, non? Me voici à peine rentrée de St Brieuc et le temps de m’asseoir et d’ouvrir le blog , je me retrouve transplantée à Chumphon, ville dont j’ignorais l’existence jusqu’à ce jour. J’adore ton récit de scène de rue croquée sur le vif, on dirait du Nicolas Bouvier.

  3. Ravie que ca vous plaise !!! Moi, ca me fait faire quasi des devoirs de vacances chaque soir… Me voici a Kota Bahru, moins facile de trouver un cafe internet qu’en Thailande. Mais ca y est, je vais pouvoir continuer le blog!

  4. Yo Titbulle,

    On te suit à travers ton blog et tu nous fais voyager avec toi. Nous aussi on aurait envie d’une bonne soupe de nouilles. Continue à nous faire rêver. On t’embrasse et on a hâte de lire la suite de tes aventures.

    PS. Ta suite adobe pour Mac est arrivée…

    A +
    FW

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez