-

Malaysia, the country where you never arrive...

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation of an article originally written in French. I apologise for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have resulted. If you read French, click on the French flag below to access the original, correct text: 


The famous night train finally arrived at Songai Kolokat the border. With a lot of delay, for an obscure story of a loco breakdown. It's the guy in charge of my car who informed me, as I was getting a bit impatient this morning, around 10:30 am, supposed time of arrival, in front of the endless string of stations, none of which was Songai Kolok.

"Songai Kolok? No! Two hours delay... Problem with locomotive. » Malaysia, the country where you never arrive...

-

Around 8 am, on the platform of the station of Hat Yai, the big city of the South of Thailand. There are still more than four hours of journey, until Songai Kolok, the border town with Malaysia...

Charitably, I went to warn the little Norwegian couple in the next car. I had made friends with them the day before, on the platform, while waiting for the train. They too are going to the islands Perhentian.

Long, long trip, then. In the early morning, everyone emerged from behind the little blue curtains that hide the bunks. I then discovered the faces of the people I had slept with. They looked a bit cooler than me... I was hot, despite the fan. Not much conversation, then (hard, the language barrier), but exchanges of big smiles that compensate.

My neighbors, two young women, have immediately bought sticky rice and chicken for breakfast from the street vendors who get on and off at each stop. They kindly offer me some, but no thanks, no way... In the rising heat, with the air badly stirred by the fan, I don't feel very hungry. I settle for an infamous Nescafé instead.

A few hours later, when I learned that we would not be at Songai Kolok before noon and a half, I really regretted not to have done like them. All the more so since, of course, there wasn't a single street vendor left in the vicinity.

The countryside passes by. Railway station follows railway station. And I simmer in my juice, I dream of a shower. It will not be for immediately!

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. I hope it's not too much of a strain for you to feed your blog with "fresh" news. You take it, not without a sense of humor, as vacation homework, but that's just it...
    Wherever you are and whatever you do, make the most of your free time, it's such a precious commodity!

  2. Rennes by 34 ° C ...
    20h10. The city is deserted, stunned by the heat. A few hordes of fans in red, white and blue are wandering the streets looking for a giant screen to watch the France-Brazil match. The whole country is in suspense. You would hate it...
    Bubble away in Asia, away from it all, Titbulle! Hopefully no one is talking about the World Cup where you are. Although with the Internet...

  3. In response to Pascale's comment: you must be joking, everyone here is talking about the World Cup! Malaysians love soccer. In the Malaysian Airlines plane, on the outbound flight, the captain even made a special announcement to give us the latest results. And when I'm asked where I come from and I say I'm French, everyone talks about Zidane and makes a comment about the Blues...

    Last night, on the island of Perhentian Kecil, where I am, some people stayed up until 3am (time difference) to see the game. And this morning, at breakfast, the guy of the restaurant, knowing me French, was very happy to announce me the score. No, I tell you, it's impossible to escape, even on an island at the other end of the world!

Share
Tweet
Share

Malaisie, le pays où l’on n’arrive jamais…

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Le fameux train de nuit a fini par arriver à Songai Kolok, à la frontière. Avec pas mal de retard, pour une obscure histoire de panne de loco. C’est le gars préposé à mon wagon qui m’a renseignée, vu que je commencais à m’impatienter un peu, ce matin, vers 10h30, heure supposée de l’arrivée, devant l’interminable chapelet de gares dont aucune n’était Songai Kolok.

« Songai Kolok ? No ! Two hours delay… Problem with locomotive. » Malaisie, le pays où l’on n’arrive jamais…

Vers 8h, sur le quai de la gare de Hat Yai, la grande ville du Sud de la Thaïlande. Il reste encore plus de quatre heures de trajet, jusqu’à Songai Kolok, la ville-frontière avec la Malaisie…

Charitable, je suis allée prévenir le petit couple de Norvégiens dans le wagon d’à côté. J’avais sympathisé avec eux la veille, sur le quai, en attendant le train. Eux aussi vont aux îles Perhentian.

Long, long trajet, donc. Au petit matin, tout le monde a émergé de derrière les petits rideaux bleus qui masquent les couchettes. J’ai alors découvert la tête des gens avec qui j’avais dormi. Ils avaient l’air un peu plus frais que moi… J’ai eu chaud, malgré le ventilo. Pas beaucoup de conversation, ensuite (dur, le barrage de la langue), mais des échanges de grands sourires qui compensent.

Mes voisines, deux jeunes femmes, ont illico acheté riz gluant et poulet pour le petit-déj’ aux vendeurs ambulants qui montent et descendent à chaque arrêt. Elles m’en proposent gentiment, mais non merci, sans facon… Dans la chaleur montante, avec l’air mal brassé par le ventilo, je ne me sens pas très en appétit. Je me contente d’un infame Nescafé à la place.

Quelques heures plus tard, quand j’ai appris qu’on ne serait pas à Songai Kolok avant midi et demi, j’ai bien regretté de n’avoir pas fait comme elles. D’autant que bien évidemment, il n’y avait plus un seul vendeur ambulant dans les parages.

La campagne défile. Les gares succèdent aux gares. Et moi je mijote dans mon jus, je rêve d’une douche. Ce ne sera pas pour tout de suite !

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

  1. J’espère que ce n’est pas trop contraignant pour toi d’alimenter ton blog en nouvelles « fraîches ». Tu prends ça, non sans humour, comme des devoirs de vacances, mais justement…
    Où que tu sois et quoi que tu fasses, profite bien de ton temps libre, c’est une denrée si précieuse!

  2. Rennes par 34°C…
    20h10. La ville est déserte, assommée par la chaleur. Quelques hordes de supporters en bleu blanc rouge errent dans les rues à la recherche d’un écran géant pour suivre le match France Brésil. Tout le pays est en haleine. Tu détesterais…
    Bulle bien en Asie, loin de tout ça, Titbulle! Avec un peu de chance, personne ne parle du Mondial là où tu es. Quoiqu’avec Internet…

  3. En reponse au commentaire de Pascale : tu veux rire, tout le monde ici ne parle que de cela, du Mondial ! Les Malais adorent le foot. Dans l’avion de la Malaysian Airlines, a l’aller, le commandant de bord a meme fait une annonce speciale pour nous donner les derniers resultats Et quand on me demande d’ou je viens et que je dis que je suis francaise, tout le monde me parle de Zidane et y va de son commentaire sur les Bleus…

    Hier soir, sur l’ile de Perhentian Kecil, ou je suis, certains ont veille jusqu’a 3h du mat (decalage horaire oblige) pour voir le match. Et ce matin, des le petit dej, le gars du resto, me sachant francaise, etait tout content de m’annoncer le score. Non, je te dis, impossible d’y echapper, meme sur une ile a l’autre bout du monde !

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez