Hammerheads. Kurkap Island, Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.
Hammerheads. Kurkap Island, Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.

These sharks are driving me crazy.

#Indonesia

  Indonesia: Banda + Raja Ampat - Oct-Nov 2015

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


Hammerhead sharks make fantasies for diving fans. These sharks have mouths, it must be said. I met them (again) during a fabulous cruise in Indonesia.

The year of the hammers

In July 2015, I had glimpsed them - furtively - during a dive south of Lombok, the neighboring island of Bali, at the famous site called The Magnet.

Three months later, I had the chance to encounter hammerhead sharks again, in Indonesia (again), during a diving cruise on board the Waow, in the eastern part of the archipelago, in the Banda Sea. This time, the show is less stealthy!

This year 2015 is definitely the year of hammers, in my little life as a diver...

Hammerhead shark bank. Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.
Hammerhead shark bank. Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.
Hammerheads. Kurkap Island, Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.
Hammerheads. Kurkap Island, Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.
Waow burning

Updated February 2018. The Waow???? Unfortunately, this magnificent diving cruise ship that used to sail the waters of the Indonesian archipelago, and on which I had the chance to embark in 2015, no longer exists... ???? Unfortunately, it burned and sank in the bay of Cenderawasih, Indonesia, during the night of January 31 to February 1, 2018. I refer you to the message published on their Facebook page and on their site.

Having said that, when it comes to underwater photos, I'm not spoiled: on each of our "hammer" outings, from the Banda archipelago to Kurkap island, the visi is rather rotten and my autofocus is slipping, unable to manage the focus in this heavy water...

The Waow route for this cruise, from Ambon to Sorong.
The Waow route for this cruise, from Ambon to Sorong.

(For non-divers: underwater "visibility" can be very changeable and can vary from just a few meters to more than 25m, from one site to another, from one day to another, sometimes even from one hour to another, depending on suspended particles and plankton, linked to currents, tides, weather, etc.). Sharks can only be seen at the very last moment, they seem to emerge from the greenish blue "fog" of the water.

As a result, I haven't been able to take a single photo of hammerhead sharks... I have to admit that Indonesian waters are probably not the most favourable for photographing these animals - and I've been given promising names like the Galapagos, Cocos Island, the Bahamas... So many destinations to put on my diver's bucket list!

In short, the only images I have to offer you are in fact screenshots, from the film made by the videographer of the Waow, Steffan Kilby...who managed to get closer to them than I did. With his permission, I will give you an excerpt below.

Face to face with the sharks

I keep a moving memory of my first real face-to-face with a big hammer, at the Karang Hatta site in the Banda archipelago, at the beginning of the cruise. It appeared in the middle of the blue mud, right in my line of sight, but immediately took off without asking for the rest. There was no time to take his picture... frustrating.

After the dive, Refly, guide on the Waowis a good alternative model. But, how can I put it... It's much less impressive. 😆

One of our guides, Refly, disguised as a hammerhead shark ...: D
One of our guides, Refly, disguised as a hammerhead shark ...
Do you know the sign of divers to report hammers?
Do you know the sign of divers to report hammers?

Several times, during our different dives in the Banda Sea, we will encounter hammers. But we have to move away from the reef and swim in the "blue" to hope to see them... The sharks patrol nearby, in numbers. But weighed down by my bulky cameraI don't swim fast enough, and the top divers are often luckier than I am at seeing a shoal of hammers in the distance.

The most varnished among us manage however to get close enough to them, especially around Kurkap, a small isolated island in the Moluccas, between the Banda Sea and the Seram Sea.

Hammerheads. Kurkap Island, Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.
Hammerheads. Kurkap Island, Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.

As for me, the only time I really find myself close to a hammer, at a distance that finally allows me to make a potentially fabulous picture, is... at only 5m from the surface, at the end of the dive, at the landing! Unbelievable...

It was in the Banda archipelago, at the Karang Hatta site again, where we dived several times in a row. A very large shark suddenly appeared in front of us, just when we were least expecting it.

Surprised, I open my eyes behind my mask, understanding that it is indeed a hammer, again: I quickly make out the flattened mouth, I see the left eye staring at me, a massive, powerful body, almost coppery grey, the lateral movement of a long tapering tail... The whole thing scrolls 3-4 meters away from me... Waooooow !!!! 😮

A large shark shark, intimidated, away from divers ... Moluccas, Indonesia, October 2015.
A large shark shark, intimidated, away from divers ... Moluccas, Indonesia, October 2015.

The time to point the camera, to try a focus, to launch the video mode, the beast is already only a vague shadow of a shark in the bluish fog...

But I still marvel at it. This kind of encounter is both impressive and magical. Seeing such an animal evolve so closely, even for a short moment, is worth all the reports of National Geographic ! The hammers really enchanted our first dives.

Return of the divers aboard the Waow. Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.
Return of the divers aboard the Waow. Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.

Sharks and men

My non-diving friends don't quite understand the crazy excitement of diving among these animals.

On my return from Indonesia, I have to explain to a colleague, who is a little taken aback by my enthusiasm, that no, it is not dangerous. That sharks are not bloodthirsty animals that throw themselves like angry monkeys at any human being in their vicinity. On the contrary, it is often difficult to get close to them when they are bottle diving, as they are rather frightened by a long line of sharks continuously releasing strings of noisy and sparkling bubbles. I can see that what I am saying surprises him.

→ See: all my articles on sharks

Hammerheads. Kurkap Island, Maluku, Indonesia, October 2015.
Hammerhead sharks near Kurkap. Moluccas, Indonesia, October 2015.

My sister was convinced, in all seriousness, that a shark in front of a man almost inevitably attacks him. And I naively thought that everyone had understood - by then - that Spielberg's film, Jaws (1975), was fiction.

I don't think so. Most people don't know anything about how sharks actually behave. And minds are still scarred by the terrible stories of shark-bitten surfers and swimmers, such as in the meeting or in Australia. These dramas are fortunately very rare and sharks kill much less than mosquitoes, crocodiles, bees or snakes. But the sea is a wilderness, impossible to domesticate. There will always be areas and certain conditions that present some risk for swimmers and surfers.

My green minute

As a result, sharks are not likely to inspire as many good feelings as baby seals, even though they are victims of a hallucinating overfishing - mainly for their fins, allegedly aphrodisiacs, which end up in soup in Asia and are the subject of a lucrative trade.

We don't realize it, earthlings that we are, but these marine super predators are indispensable to the balance of the ocean ecosystem. itself vital to the planet. If they disappear, we're in trouble.

Nala Cat and her shark cap. More than 2.5 million subscribers on Instagram ...
Nala Cat and her shark cap. More than 2.5 million subscribers on Instagram ...

I know that between a shark and a cute cat, people will always prefer a cute cat...

But I prefer the not cute shark, alive and as big as possible, a sign that it has managed to reach a certain maturity that will allow it to reproduce.

One thing is certain, when there are no more sharks in the oceans, it will be the beginning of the end. Beans, cute cats and humans.

Anyway, I'm glad I came across so many sharks during the this cruise aboard the Waow. It comforts. In addition to the hammers, we met classic black tip sharks, one or two fox sharks with their huge whip-tails and, in the Raja Ampat archipelago, a lot of carp sharks or wobbegongs and even a shy "walking" bamboo shark... hopefully.

Bamboo shark "walker".
Bamboo shark "walker".
Wobbegong, or "bearded carpet shark".
Wobbegong, or "bearded carpet shark".

I was a guest of the Waow from 27 October to 8 November 2015, for this diving cruise called "Secrets of Seram". All the opinions expressed here remain 100% mine. 

  Indonesia: Banda + Raja Ampat - Oct-Nov 2015

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Hello Corinne
    As Claude François said:
    "If I had a hammer
    I'll take a picture of it ... "
    Dommage que tu n’aies pas pu nous ramener des clichés de ce fascinant animal . Tu dois être hyper déçue 😡 …
    Like you, I share a passion for these animals, and I am always amazed at the reaction that provokes when we tell our dives. To hear our entourage, we are limited good for asylum ...
    Merci donc pour ton article. Espérons qu’il aidera à réhabiliter un peu ces magnifiques animaux encore trop souvent victimes de délit de faciès. Il y a 100 millions de requins tués chaque année à travers le monde 🙁

    1. @Gilles: no, I'm not disappointed, it was not my primary goal to photograph hammers during this cruise in Indonesia, I know that at sea nothing is ever guaranteed, and am already amazed to have crossed under the water ... If I want to make interesting and somewhat spectacular hammer photos, it will probably not be in Indonesian waters, I will have to dive rather on these famous sites that I evoke in the article, where it is easy to approach them very closely, in ideal conditions of light and visibility ...

      En effet, ce n’est pas facile de s’extasier devant les squales et de défendre la cause des requins, sans passer pour une baba-cool des océans, une illuminée des fonds sous-marins… 😆 Pourtant, la surpêche (et pas seulement des requins) est une réalité, très inquiétante. On est en train de vider les mers de leurs poissons, ce n’est pas une vue de l’esprit… Je me dis que ce modeste post de blog parviendra peut-être à sensibiliser quelques personnes malgré tout.

  2. Hi Corinne,

    I'm leaving for the R4 in March but not on a cruise. Just on an island (pulau gam I think).
    Do you know if there are hammer spots nearby?

    1. @Remi: at sea, nothing is ever predictable or guaranteed, as far as encounters with wild animals are concerned ... There are no famous "hammer" spots to my knowledge near Gam or the surrounding islands, but imagine that it has already happened to lucky divers to see in the waters of Raja Ampat, occasionally ... In the area, it is however quite common to observe large ocean mantas.

  3. Hello Corinne,
    Always so much pleasure to read you and admire your photos.
    Totally agree with you.
    Seeing a shark is always a fascinating moment.
    Moreover when they approach us it is simply that they are curious to see these funny fish with large eyes prominent and in addition make bubbles ... .. !!! Ah, look exchange ... .. !!!
    Never had a hint of fear, just wonder.
    We are on our way to Raja Ampat where we will spend 15 days.
    Sharks we will see.
    Sighting a hammer would also be an unforgettable moment just like the ocean mantas we have never seen before.
    You made us dream with your mantas festival in video of the beginning of the year.
    Thank you for your good advice
    Alain & Yolande

    1. @Alain & Yolande: Merci de votre message et de votre émerveillement partagé… Je croise les doigts pour que vous croisiez des marteaux et des mantas. À Raja Ampat, il semble que ces dernières se fassent désormais plus rares sur le spot (trop connu, trop réputé et désormais trop fréquenté) de Manta Sandy… Mais avec un peu de chance (et si on est en petit comité sous l’eau), on les voit parfois débouler sur d’autres sites (comme ça a été mon cas début 2015 à Blue Magic). Magique et inoubliable, oui… Bonnes bulles !!!! 🙄

  4. Hammerhead sharks continue to be exploited outrageously for their fins in Indonesia, as shown in a recent article by Andrianus Sembiring in Fisheries Research.

    It is beautiful to see this carelessness to do tourism in the Moluccas, knowing that this region was in the years 1999-2002 the theater of massacres organized by the Indonesian army and its Islamist militias, the "Laskar Jihad". There were thousands of deaths and mourning of the Moluccans persists to this day. In 2016, there are dozens of Moluquois political prisoners languishing in the infamous jails of the Indonesian Islamic-fascist regime.

    1. @Silvio: altogether, sharks (and not only hammers) unfortunately continue to be heavily fished for their fins in Indonesia and elsewhere in Asia ... And, yes, the recent (and ancient) history of the Moluccas is bloody. The sinister reputation of the Indonesian army is well established, it has committed many massacres, Maluku as in other regions (Papua, Timor ...) and continues to repress, imprison, kill. A violence that contrasts with the carelessness of this blog dedicated to travel and scuba diving.

    2. Correct, Corinne. Among the most researched species for fins, there are several species of guitar rays (Rhynchobatus spp.
      least an endemic to the Coral Triangle and whose extinction is imminent. The countries of the Coral Triangle have a special responsibility for the conservation of endemic species in the region. It is in this capacity that they have received significant aid from donor countries under the Coral Triangle Initiative or CTI. In Indonesia, this money is diverted to build "research centers" without any researcher and to finance unnecessary meetings in luxury hotels. No measures are taken for the protection of species, that the generation of our children will have no chance to see in diving. They will have the photos, as well as some dry or formal specimens in dusty old museums.

    1. @Alimata: it's nice to find a little message from you !!! Yes, you think I saw her ... Thank you for posting it here. He makes images of madness, this Nu Parnupong, a Thai who works as a videographer on cruises White / Black / Blue Manta ... (I am regularly on the networks, since my first cruise at R4 in 2012 with the Black Manta.)
      Do you dream of diving there in the Banda Sea, then?
      🙄

    2. Yes, cette année on est retourné à Sipadan, mais on a été un peu déçu par l’absence du « Massive school of barrucudaes » et la présence d’un « Massive school of chinese » 😀
      NB: The turtles are still there 8)

  5. @Alimata: oui, lors de mon dernier passage à Sipadan, j’avais moi aussi constaté la présence massivement accrue de ces touristes-là… et aperçu cependant un banc (pas si massif) de barracudas… 😳

156 Shares
Share144
Tweet2
Pin
Share10

Requins-marteaux. Kurkap Island, Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.
Requins-marteaux. Kurkap Island, Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.

Ils me rendent marteau

#Indonésie

  Indonésie : Banda + Raja Ampat - octobre 2015

Les requins-marteaux font fantasmer les mordus de plongée. Ces requins-là ont de la gueule, il faut dire. Je les ai (encore) rencontrés lors d’une fabuleuse croisière en Indonésie.

L’année des marteaux

En juillet 2015, je les avais aperçus – furtivement – lors d’une plongée au sud de Lombok, l’île voisine de Bali, au fameux site appelé The Magnet.

Trois mois plus tard, j’ai eu la chance de croiser à nouveau des requins-marteaux, en Indonésie (encore), lors d’une croisière-plongée à bord du Waow, dans l’est de l’archipel, en Mer de Banda. Cette fois, le spectacle est moins furtif !

Banc de requins-marteaux. Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.
Banc de requins-marteaux. Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.
Requins-marteaux. Kurkap Island, Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.
Requins-marteaux. Kurkap Island, Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.

Cette année 2015 est décidément l’année des marteaux, dans ma petite vie de plongeuse…

Waow burningMise à jour 2018. Le Waow, ce magnifique bateau de croisière-plongée à bord duquel j’ai eu la chance d’embarquer en 2015, n’existe plus… 😢 Il a hélas brûlé et coulé, dans la baie de Cenderawasih, en Indonésie, dans la nuit du 31 janvier au 1er février 2018. Je vous renvoie sur le message publié sur leur page Facebook et sur leur site.

Ceci dit, question photos sous-marines, je ne suis pas gâtée : à chacune de nos sorties « marteaux », de l’archipel de Banda à l’île de Kurkap, la visi est plutôt pourrie et mon autofocus patine, incapable de gérer la mise au point dans cette eau chargée…

L'itinéraire du Waow pour cette croisière, d'Ambon à Sorong.
L’itinéraire du Waow pour cette croisière, d’Ambon à Sorong.

(Pour les non-plongeurs : la « visibilité » sous l’eau peut être très changeante et varier d’à peine quelques mètres à plus de 25m, d’un site à l’autre, d’une journée à l’autre, parfois même d’une heure à l’autre, en fonction des particules et du plancton en suspension, liés aux courants, aux marées, à la météo, etc.). On n’aperçoit les requins qu’au tout dernier moment, ils semblent surgir du « brouillard » bleu verdâtre de l’eau.

Du coup, je n’ai pas réussi à faire une seule photo de requins marteaux… Je dois bien admettre que les eaux indonésiennes ne sont sans doute pas les plus propices pour photographier ces bestiaux – et on m’a soufflé des noms prometteurs comme les Galapagos, l’île Cocos, les Bahamas… Autant de destinations à inscrire sur ma « bucket list » de plongeuse !

Bref, les seules images que j’ai donc à vous offrir sont en fait des captures d’écran, provenant du film réalisé par le vidéaste du Waow, Steffan Kilby, qui a réussi à les approcher de plus près que moi. Avec sa permission, je vous en livre un extrait ci-dessous.

Face-à-face avec les squales

Je garde un souvenir ému de mon premier vrai face-à-face avec un gros marteau, au site de Karang Hatta, dans l’archipel de Banda, au début de la croisière. Il est apparu au milieu de la bouillasse bleue, pile dans ma ligne de mire, mais a filé aussitôt sans demander son reste. Pas le temps de lui tirer le portrait… Frustrant.

Au retour de la plongée, Refly, guide sur le Waow, se propose bien comme modèle de substitution. Mais, comment dire… C’est beaucoup moins impressionnant.  :lol :

L'un de nos guides, Refly, déguisé en requin-marteau... :D
L’un de nos guides, Refly, déguisé en requin-marteau…
Connaissez-vous le signe des plongeurs pour signaler des marteaux ?
Connaissez-vous le signe des plongeurs pour signaler des marteaux ?

Plusieurs fois, lors de nos différentes plongées en Mer de Banda, nous rencontrerons des marteaux. Mais il faut s’éloigner du récif et aller palmer dans le « bleu » pour espérer bien les voir… Les requins patrouillent à proximité, en nombre. Mais lestée de mon encombrant appareil photo, je ne palme pas assez vite et les plongeurs en tête de palanquée sont souvent plus chanceux que moi pour ce qui est d’apercevoir un banc de marteaux dans le lointain.

Les plus vernis d’entre nous réussissent cependant à les approcher d’assez près, notamment autour de Kurkap, une petite île isolée des Moluques, entre Mer de Banda et Mer de Seram.

Requins-marteaux. Kurkap Island, Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.
Requins-marteaux. Kurkap Island, Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.

Quant à moi, la seule fois où je me retrouve vraiment tout près d’un marteau, à une distance permettant enfin de faire une image potentiellement fabuleuse, c’est… à seulement 5m de la surface, en fin de plongée, au palier ! Incroyable…

C’était dans l’archipel de Banda, au site de Karang Hatta encore, où nous avons plongé plusieurs fois d’affilée. Un  très gros requin a déboulé soudain devant nous, vraiment au moment où nous nous y attendions le moins.

Surprise, j’écarquille les yeux derrière mon masque en comprenant qu’il s’agit bien d’un marteau, encore : je distingue vite la gueule aplatie, je vois l’œil gauche qui me lorgne, un corps massif, puissant, d’un gris presque cuivré, le mouvement latéral d’une longue queue effilée… Le tout défile à  3-4 mètres de moi… Waooooow ! ! !  😮

Un gros requin-marqueau, intimidé, s'éloigne des plongeurs... Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.
Un gros requin-marqueau, intimidé, s’éloigne des plongeurs… Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.

Le temps de braquer l’appareil photo, de tenter un focus, de lancer le mode vidéo, la bête n’est déjà plus qu’une vague ombre de requin dans le brouillard bleuté…

Mais j’en suis encore émerveillée. Ce genre de rencontre, c’est à la fois impressionnant et magique. Voir évoluer de si près, même un court instant, pareil animal, ça vaut tous les reportages de National Geographic  ! Les marteaux ont vraiment enchanté nos premières plongées.

Retour des plongeurs à bord du Waow. Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.
Retour des plongeurs à bord du Waow. Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.

Des requins et des hommes

Mes amis non-plongeurs ne comprennent pas trop la folle excitation qui me saisit à l’idée de plonger au milieu de ces bestiaux.

À mon retour d’Indonésie, je dois expliquer à une collègue, un peu interloquée par mon enthousiasme, que non, ce n’est pas dangereux. Que les requins ne sont pas des animaux assoiffés de sang qui se jettent comme des molosses furieux sur tout être humain à proximité d’eux. Qu’au contraire, en plongée-bouteille, il est souvent difficile de les approcher, car ils sont plutôt effarouchés face à une palanquée lâchant continuellement des chapelets de bulles bruyantes et scintillantes. Je vois bien que ce que je dis l’étonne.

→ Voir : tous mes articles sur les requins

Requins-marteaux. Kurkap Island, Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.
Requins-marteaux près de Kurkap. Moluques, Indonésie, octobre 2015.

Ma consœur était persuadée, le plus sérieusement du monde, qu’un requin face à un homme s’attaquait presque inévitablement à lui. Et moi, je pensais, naïvement, que tout le monde avait compris – depuis le temps – que le film de Spielberg, Les dents de la mer (1975), était de la fiction.

Mais non. La plupart des gens ignorent tout du comportement réel des squales. Et les esprits restent marqués par les terribles faits divers de surfeurs et nageurs mordus par des requins, comme à La Réunion ou en Australie. Ces drames sont heureusement très rares et les requins tuent bien moins que les moustiques, les crocodiles, les abeilles ou les serpents. Mais la mer est un milieu sauvage, impossible à domestiquer. Il y aura toujours des zones et certaines conditions présentant une part de risque, pour les baigneurs et les surfeurs.

Ma minute écolo

Résultat, les requins ne sont pas près d’inspirer autant de bons sentiments que les bébés phoques, alors qu’ils sont victimes d’une surpêche hallucinante – principalement pour leurs ailerons, prétendument aphrodisiaques, qui finissent en soupe en Asie et font l’objet d’un commerce lucratif.

On ne s’en rend pas bien compte, terriens que nous sommes, mais ces superprédateurs marins sont indispensables à l’équilibre de l’écosystème océanique. Lui-même vital pour la planète. S’ils disparaissent, on est mal.

Nala Cat et son bonnet-requin. Plus de 2,5 millions d'abonnés sur Instagram...
Nala Cat et son bonnet-requin. Plus de 2,5 millions d’abonnés sur Instagram…

Je sais bien qu’entre un requin et un chat mignon, les gens préféreront toujours un chat mignon…

Mais moi, je préfère le requin pas mignon, bien vivant et le plus gros possible, signe qu’il a réussi à atteindre une certaine maturité qui lui permettra de se reproduire.

Une chose est sûre, quand il n’y aura plus de requins dans les océans, ce sera le début de la fin. Des haricots, des chats mignons et des humains.

Bref, je suis bien contente d’en avoir croisé autant, des requins, lors de cette croisière à bord du Waow. Ça réconforte. Outre les marteaux, nous avons rencontré des classiques requins pointe noire, un ou deux requins renards avec leur immense queue-fouet et, dans l’archipel de Raja Ampat, beaucoup de requins tapis ou wobbegongs et même un timide requin bambou « marcheur »… De quoi espérer.

Requin bambou "marcheur".
Requin bambou « marcheur ».
Wobbegong, ou "requin-tapis barbu".
Wobbegong, ou « requin-tapis barbu ».

 

J’étais l’invitée du Waow du 27 octobre au 8 novembre 2015, pour cette croisière-plongée baptisée « Secrets of Seram ». Toutes les opinions émises ici restent 100 % les miennes. 

  Indonésie : Banda + Raja Ampat - octobre 2015

156 Partages
Partagez144
Tweetez2
Enregistrer
Partagez10