In the streets of Kota Bahru. Women wear scarves and covering clothes, but gay and colorful. (Malaysia, July 2006)
In the streets of Kota Bahru. Women wear scarves and covering clothes, but gay and colorful. (Malaysia, July 2006)

Arrival in Kota Bahru

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


The train that never arrives has finally arrived, taxi drivers rushed on the handle of farangs who came down with their backpacks. And we all climbed into a new specially chartered livestock trailer to take us a few hundred meters between the station and the border crossing.

-Once the forms were completed and the passports stamped, the eight others, including my new Norwegian friends Uhle and Teresa, wanted to go directly to the islands. Perhentian.

So we separated and I took a cab for myself Kota Bahru, 45 minutes drive away. Which left me at the central bus station, which fortunately is, except that I did not know it yet.

All I knew from Kota Bahruis that it is the most conservative Muslim city in Malaysia. Indeed, around me, all women wear the headscarf and long loose clothes, colorful but well covering.

In the streets of Kota Bahru. Women wear scarves and covering clothes, but gay and colorful. (Malaysia, July 2006)
In the streets of Kota Bahru. Women wear scarves and covering clothes, but gay and colorful. (Malaysia, July 2006)

Exhausted, thirsty, I drag myself under a blazing sun to a café on the corner. The city is very ugly: concrete, big congested arteries, big billboards everywhere, with big letters of well-known brands: Nokia, Bata, Sony... In short, nothing very engaging at first glance.

Dripping, I order a Coke, get out my guide and try to find me in vain. As usual, the plan of hitchhiker is very badly done, and the street I'm standing on is not marked. Pfff... Hurried, I sweep the tables around me with my eyes. Only men as customers. Nobody is interested in my case. You'll have to beg for help... I'm not going to take that shower anytime soon!

My savior will be Monsieur Tê. While I was asking my nearest neighbor if there were guesthouses in the area, another guest came forward and told me, in impeccable English, that he knew several nearby and could indicate the path. Just time to let him finish his tea ...

Thanks to Mr. Te, who even accompanied me, I arrived safely. Two blocks away, in fact! Mr. Tê is Chinese, a jeweler by trade. His fingers are full of bagouzes with big, flashy stones, real ones, which he proudly listed for me: ruby, sapphire, emerald...

As I did not look well impressed, he started to talk to me football (every time I decline my nationality, everyone thinks they have to tell me about Zidane and company, as if they were my friends) .

According to Tê, the Blues are high class players, but their problem is that they are too old now. I listen politely, but I do not care, I want to ask and take a shower, that's all.

Mr. Tê is fortunately a very courteous man, and he leaves me at the door of a hotel, not without having indicated to me Chinatown, just behind, if I want to make me a restaurant then ...

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Nice Mr. Tê!
    Yes, indeed, France goes into the semi finals !!! We made bets on this match within the company: I lost 10 francs ... I bet 2-1 for Brazil!
    I'm glad that finally you found an internet corner, I love reading your blog!
    Here is very hot ... too hot to work !!!
    Good continuation!
    Biz

  2. Hello Flo,

    I'm not very sure of myself on this one, but I found in my papers a map of the hotel Sabrina Court, about Jalan Padang Garong. I think that must be that, in any case I am sure it is in this street, because it is also the street of Azram Photo that changes.

    (My hesitation comes from the fact that I pushed several hotel doors in this street, and picked up the cards in passing, and to tell the truth, I do not remember the name of the one I stayed in ...)

    Otherwise, there are quite a few guesthouses in and around Jalan Pintu Pong, the street behind, near Chinatown. The gentleman who guided me first showed the Padong Garong street where there are quite a few hotels, then drove to guesthouses a little further. He had left me at the door of one of them, which I found quite a lot, but it was complete, so I came back to Jalan Padang Garong.

    Here ! But it was almost two years ago, and things are changing fast there ...

Share
Tweet
Pin
Share

Dans les rues de Kota Bahru. Les femmes portent des foulards et vêtements couvrants, mais gais et colorés. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)
Dans les rues de Kota Bahru. Les femmes portent des foulards et vêtements couvrants, mais gais et colorés. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Le train qui n’arrive jamais a donc fini par arriver, les chauffeurs de taxis se sont précipités sur la poignée de farangs qui en sont descendus avec leurs sacs à dos. Et nous sommes tous montés dans une nouvelle bétaillère spécialement affrétée pour nous faire franchir les quelques centaines de mètres séparant la gare du poste frontière.

Une fois les formulaires remplis et les passeports tamponnés, les huit autres, dont mes nouveaux copains norvégiens Uhle et Teresa, ont voulu partir directement aux îles Perhentian.

Nous nous sommes donc séparés et j’ai pris un taxi pour moi toute seule jusqu’à Kota Bahru, 45 minutes de route à peine. Lequel m’a déposée à la gare routière centrale, qui heureusement l’est vraiment, sauf que je ne le savais pas encore.

Tout ce que je savais de Kota Bahru, c’est que c’est la ville musulmane la plus conservatrice de Malaisie. Effectivement, autour de moi, toutes les femmes portent le foulard et de longs vêtements amples, colorés mais bien couvrants.

Dans les rues de Kota Bahru. Les femmes portent des foulards et vêtements couvrants, mais gais et colorés. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)
Dans les rues de Kota Bahru. Les femmes portent des foulards et vêtements couvrants, mais gais et colorés. (Malaisie, juillet 2006)

Épuisée, assoiffée, je me traîne sous un soleil de plomb jusqu’à un café qui fait l’angle. La ville est très moche : du béton, de grandes artères encombrées, de grands panneaux de pub partout, avec en grosses lettres, des marques bien connues : Nokia, Bata, Sony… Bref, rien de bien engageant au premier coup d’œil.

Dégoulinante, je commande un Coca, sort mon guide et cherche vainement à me repérer. Comme d’hab, le plan du Routard est hyper mal fait, et la rue où je me trouve n’est pas indiquée. Pfff… Dépitée, je balaie du regard les tables autour de moi. Que des hommes comme clients. Personne ne s’intéresse à mon cas. Il va falloir mendier de l’aide… Je ne suis pas près de la prendre, cette douche !

Mon sauveur sera Monsieur Tê. Alors que je demandais à mon plus proche voisin s’il y avait des guesthouses dans le coin, un autre client s’est avancé et m’a répondu, dans un anglais impeccable, qu’il en connaissait plusieurs à proximité et pouvait m’indiquer le chemin. Juste le temps de le laisser finir son thé…

Grâce à M. Tê qui m’a même accompagnée, je suis arrivée à bon port. Deux rues plus loin, en fait ! M. Tê est chinois, joaillier de son état. Il a les doigts pleines de bagouzes avec de grosses pierres tape-à-l’oeil, des vraies, qu’il m’a fièrement énumérées : rubis, saphir, émeraude…

Comme je n’avais pas l’air bien impressionnée, il a commencé à me parler football (chaque fois que je décline ma nationalité, tout le monde se croit obligé de me parler de Zidane et compagnie, comme si c’était mes potes).

Selon M. Tê, les Bleus sont des joueurs de grande classe, mais leur problème, c’est qu’il sont trop âgés, maintenant. J’écoute poliment, mais je m’en fiche un peu, je veux me poser et prendre une douche, c’est tout.

M. Tê est heureusement un homme très courtois, et il me quitte devant la porte d’un hotel, non sans m’avoir indiqué le quartier chinois, juste derrière, si j’ai envie de me faire un resto ensuite…

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

  1. Sympa M. Tê !
    Eh oui, effectivement, la France passe en demi finale!!! On avait fait des paris sur ce match au sein de la compagnie: j’ai perdu 10 francs… J’avais parié 2-1 pour le Brésil!!!
    Je suis contente que finalement tu aies trouvé un coin internet, j’adore lire ton blog!!!
    Ici fait très chaud… trop chaud pour travailler!!!
    Bonne continuation!
    Biz

  2. Hello Flo,

    Je ne suis plus très sûre de moi sur ce coup-là, mais j’ai retrouvé dans mes papiers une carte de l’hôtel Sabrina Court, sur Jalan Padang Garong. Je pense que ça doit être ça, en tout cas je suis sûre que c’est dans cette rue, car c’est aussi la rue d’Azram Photo qui fait du change.

    (Mon hésitation vient du fait que j’avais poussé plusieurs portes d’hôtel dans cette rue, et ramassé les cartes au passage, et à dire vrai, je ne me rappelle plus du nom de celui dans lequel j’ai logé…)

    Sinon, il y a pas mal de guesthouses dans Jalan Pintu Pong et alentours, la rue derrière, près du quartier chinois. Le monsieur qui m’a guidée m’avait d’abord montré la rue Padong Garong où il y a pas mal d’hôtels, puis conduit aux guesthouses un peu plus loin. Il m’avait laissé devant la porte de l’une d’elles, que je trouvais pas mal, mais c’était complet, alors je suis revenue sur Jalan Padang Garong.

    Voilà ! Mais c’était il y a presque deux ans, et les choses changent vite là bas…

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez