Fighting roosters. Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008.

Fighting cocks in the Philippines: the video

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


Crazy atmosphere in a cockfighting arena in the Philippines! This video was shot in 2008 on the small island of Siquijor, in the Visayas. Sensitive souls abstain.

Cockfighting: the video

In February 2008, I told you from the Philippines about my visit to the cockfighting arena from the village of Enrique Villanueva on the island of Siquijor. After the story and the photos, here is the video at last!

You will be able to get an idea of the overexcited (almost exclusively male) atmosphere that reigns around this arena of pissed-off gallinacs. It is obviously not a place frequented by sensitive souls or animal lovers. In the Philippines, these cockfights are very popular and are the subject of passionate bets. Some bet very big and leave more than feathers.

Updated, January 2018 : Forgive the poor quality of these images, shot in 2008 with a modest compact camera, with a video mode at only 480 or 640 pixels, I don't know anymore, at a time when 4K didn't exist yet and when the iPhone 3G was going to become the new fashionable technological gem?

The fight itself is very brief. Each cock has, fixed to the paw, a long curved and pointed blade, like a little sword. It is guessed sharp as a razor and carefully sharpened for the occasion.

The two cocks are presented to each other, held at arm's length or by the tail feathers by their respective owners. It is a matter of exciting a little bit the critters by approaching beak against beak. They are released for good in the arena when the amount of paris is balanced on both sides.

Then it goes really fast. A swirl of feathers, everyone's screaming and shaking behind the wooden bars. In a few minutes, it's over... One guy cleans the arena for the next fight, and it starts all over again.

To read also → Well sharpened feathers by my fellow Quebec journalist Marie-Julie Gagnon, who bounces on my article in her blog Taxi Brousse, to take stock of the situation of cockfighting in the world ...

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Share
Tweet
Pin
Share

Combat de coqs. Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008.

Combats de coqs aux Philippines : la vidéo

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Ambiance de folie, dans une arène de combats de coqs, aux Philippines ! Cette vidéo a été tournée en 2008 sur la petite île de Siquijor, dans les Visayas. Âmes sensibles s’abstenir.

Combats de coqs : la vidéo

En février 2008, je vous avais raconté, depuis les Philippines, ma visite à l’arène de combats de coqs du village d’Enrique Villanueva, sur l’île de Siquijor. Après le récit et les photos, voici enfin la vidéo !

Vous allez pouvoir vous faire une idée de l’ambiance surexcitée (quasi exclusivement masculine) qui règne autour de cette arène de gallinacés bien énervés.  Ce n’est évidemment pas un endroit fréquenté par les âmes sensibles ni les amis des animaux. Aux Philippines, ces combats de coqs sont très populaires et font l’objet de paris passionnés. Certains misent très gros et y laissent plus que des plumes.

Mise à jour, janvier 2018 : pardonnez la piètre qualité de ces images, tournées en 2008 avec un modeste appareil photo compact, doté d’un mode vidéo à seulement 480 ou 640 pixels, je ne sais plus, à une époque où la 4K n’existait pas encore et où l’iPhone 3G allait devenir le nouveau bijou technologique à la mode…

Le combat en lui-même est très bref. Chaque coq a, fixée à la patte, une longue lame recourbée et pointue, comme un petit sabre. On la devine tranchante comme un rasoir et soigneusement affutée pour l’occasion.

Les deux coqs sont présentés l’un à l’autre, tenus à bout de bras ou par les plumes de la queue par leur propriétaire respectif. Il s’agit d’exciter un peu les bestioles en les approchant bec contre bec. Elles sont lâchées pour de bon dans l’arène quand le montant des paris est équilibré de part et d’autre.

Après, ça va très vite. Un tourbillon de plumes, tout le monde crie et s’agite derrière les barreaux de bois. En quelques minutes, c’est fini… Un gars nettoie l’arène pour le combat suivant, et ça recommence.

À lire aussi → Plumes bien affûtés par ma consœur journaliste québécoise Marie-Julie Gagnon, qui rebondit sur mon article dans son blog Taxi-Brousse, pour faire le point sur la situation des combats de coqs dans le monde…

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez