Katy dances with the Rangiroa dolphins. Polynesia, October 2012.
Katy dances with the Rangiroa dolphins. Polynesia, October 2012.

Rangiroa Dolphins

  Polynesia: Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - October 2012

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


In Rangiroa, Polynesia, dolphins love to play underwater with divers! Video demonstration in the Tiputa pass.

Immersion in the Tiputa pass

Too bad for the timeline, I tell you this little Relaxed stay-diving in French Polynesia I've just edited a nice underwater video, which I'm dying to share!

It's happening at Rangiroa, in the archipelago of Tuamotu. It is an immense atoll, whose lagoon forms a real inland sea: 80 km long, 32 km wide. One never sees the end of it!

The Motu (small coral island) all in length, where the tourist activity is concentrated, is surrounded by two passes, Avatoru and Tiputa, famous in the small world of divers... And for good reason. I can't resist the pleasure of showing you what happens, under the surface, when one "innocently" goes into the water to make bubbles in Tiputa's water:

Dolphins players

If the dolphins are in a playful mood, they immediately come and twirl around the divers... You can hear them announcing themselves by whistling. You open your eyes behind your mask to see something in the blue. Suddenly, there they are!

They dance and whirl, going from one diver to another, not shy at all, not hesitating to graze you. You can see, in my little video, how hard it is for me to follow and keep in the lens one of these dolphins that is circling around me... I end up filming my flippers!

Of course, it is recommended not to touch the dolphins. But they are so familiar and they come so close, almost in contact, that many divers find it difficult to resist the reflex of reaching out to caress them in passing ...

Katy, from the excellent center Y Aka DivingIn Rangiroa, we explain that it is useless to palmer behind them or to try to approach them. They are the ones who decide and come to us. If they choose to do so, we avoid direct contact, but we can make gestures under the water and imitate their swimming, to stimulate them, to show them that we are playful moods and encourage them to stay…

It's her, with the yellow flippers, in the video, performing a whole water ballet with the dolphins!

Katy dances with the Rangiroa dolphins. Polynesia, October 2012.
Katy dances with the Rangiroa dolphins. (Polynesia, October 2012)

Thank you, Katy, for these incredible moments !!!

Another video to (re) discover ...

If you like this kind of encounter with dolphins, I invite you to watch another short video, which I made in Egypt in October 2011. It was during a snorkeling trip in the Red Sea, in the bay of Sataya:

Red Sea - Dance with dolphins

Dolphins. Sataya, Egypt. December 2011.

  Polynesia: Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - October 2012

211 Shares
Share80
Tweet26
Pin105
Share

Katy danse avec les dauphins de Rangiroa. Polynésie, octobre 2012.
Katy danse avec les dauphins de Rangiroa. Polynésie, octobre 2012.

Les dauphins de Rangiroa

  Polynésie : Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - octobre 2012

À Rangiroa, en Polynésie, les dauphins adorent jouer sous l’eau avec les plongeurs ! Démonstration en vidéo dans la passe de Tiputa.

Immersion dans la passe de Tiputa

Tant pis pour la chronologie, je vous raconte ce petit séjour farniente-plongée en Polynésie française dans le désordre… Je viens de monter une vidéo subaquatique sympathique, que je meurs d’envie de partager !

Ça se passe à Rangiroa, dans l’archipel des Tuamotu. C’est un atoll immense, dont le lagon forme une vraie mer intérieure : 80 km de long, 32 km de large. On n’en aperçoit jamais le bout !

Le motu (petit îlot coralien) tout en longueur, où se concentre l’activité touristique, est entouré par deux passes, Avatoru et Tiputa, fameuses dans le petit monde des plongeurs… Et pour cause. Je ne résiste pas au plaisir de vous montrer ce qui arrive, sous la surface, quand on se met « innocemment » à l’eau pour faire des bulles dans celle de Tiputa :

Des dauphins joueurs

Si les dauphins sont d’humeur joueuse, ils viennent aussitôt virevolter autour des plongeurs… On les entend s’annoncer par des sifflements. On écarquille les yeux derrière le masque, pour distinguer quelque chose dans le bleu. Et tout à coup, il sont là !

Ils dansent et tournoient, passant d’un plongeur à l’autre, pas farouches du tout, n’hésitant pas à vous frôler. On voit bien, dans ma petite vidéo, comment j’ai du mal à suivre et à garder dans l’objectif l’un de ces dauphins qui me tourne autour… Je finis par filmer mes palmes !

Bien sûr, il est recommandé de ne pas toucher les dauphins. Mais ils sont si familiers et ils viennent si près, quasiment au contact, que bien des plongeurs ont du mal à résister au réflexe de tendre la main pour les caresser au passage…

Katy, de l’excellent centre Y Aka Plongée, à Rangiroa, nous explique qu’il ne sert à rien de palmer derrière eux ni de tenter de les approcher. Ce sont eux qui décident et qui viennent à nous. S’ils choisissent de le faire, on évite donc le contact direct, mais on peut faire des gestes sous l’eau et imiter leur nage, pour les stimuler, pour leur montrer qu’on est d’humeur joueuse nous aussi et les inciter à rester…

C’est elle, avec les palmes jaunes, dans la vidéo, qui exécute tout un ballet aquatique avec les dauphins !

Katy danse avec les dauphins de Rangiroa. Polynésie, octobre 2012.
Katy danse avec les dauphins de Rangiroa. (Polynésie, octobre 2012)

Merci, Katy, pour ces moments incroyables ! ! !

Une autre vidéo à (re)découvrir…

Si vous aimez ce genre de rencontre avec les dauphins, je vous invite à visionner une autre petite vidéo, que j’ai réalisée en Égypte, en octobre 2011. C’était lors d’une sortie snorkeling (palmes-masque-tuba) en Mer Rouge, dans la baie de Sataya :

Mer Rouge – Danse avec les dauphins

Dauphins. Sataya, Égypte. Décembre 2011.

  Polynésie : Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - octobre 2012

211 Partages
Partagez80
Tweetez26
Enregistrer105
Partagez