Nikon D90. The first digital SLR camera that also makes video.

The DSLR that makes video

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Argh! That's it, in September 2008, it finally exists: a DSLR that also does video! Just like the compact ones !! The kind of camera I dream of to accompany me in my travels...

A dream of technomade, as my sister would say... Marie-Julie Gagnon. The toy is called D90 and Nikon made it.

The Nikon D90.

This camera will be marketed in September 2008, in the 950 € range. Well, at that price, I won't be able to afford it anytime soon. Especially since I'd feel forced to invest in the underwater housing, which is fine (and it's not cheap either, those little beasts).

????

But if Nikon starts, the others will follow. In a year or two, the technologies will improve, competitors will position themselves, prices will drop, and we can find opportunities.

I spent the evening surfing the web, drooling over all the tests and press releases taken from blogs to sites. I put here the page of the Nikon website for the D90, where all the features are listed. And the link to an article from New York Times.

The thing that amazes me is that the video can be in HD quality and benefit from the same optical settings as in photo mode (depth of field, etc.). We're really changing the era of digital cameras.

A few months ago, I would have let myself be tempted by the Canon PowerShot G9a compact camera, which is not an SLR, so, especially after reading the remarkable test done by Plongeur.com. But there, having already done a good tour of the possibilities offered by my current camera, a compact one too (the Canon Powershot A95), I've got, like, a whole new temptation...

The desire to progress in underwater photography titillates me. If you're going to spend a lot of money on this kind of equipment, why not go into the higher range? Technology is evolving so fast in the field of photography that it's always a difficult choice, especially when you have a limited budget. So I'm going to be patient and wait a little while, to see what new products come out... And which will be compatible with underwater photography.

Updated January 2010 : little addition to this post, a year and a half later... That's it, I've got my video reflex! That's right... It's the Canon Eos 7D ! I love him already !!!

Updated January 2021 : my underwater photography equipment has evolved a lot, since the publication of this post in September 2008... I invite you to read this article to know how I am equipped today:
→ Photo and diving equipment: my equipment

👌

  Between Two Journeys

Share
Tweet
Share

Nikon D90. Le premier appareil-photo numérique reflex qui fait aussi de la vidéo.

Le reflex qui fait de la vidéo

  Entre deux voyages

Argh ! Ça y est, en septembre 2008, ça existe enfin : un reflex numérique qui fait aussi de la vidéo ! Comme les compacts !!! Le genre d’appareil photo dont je rêve pour m’accompagner dans mes voyages…

Un rêve de technomade, comme dirait ma consœur Marie-Julie Gagnon. Le joujou s’appelle D90 et c’est Nikon qui l’a fait.

Le Nikon D90.

Cet appareil photo sera commercialisé courant septembre 2008, dans les 950 €. Bon, à ce prix-là, je ne risque pas de pouvoir me l’offrir de sitôt. Surtout que je me sentirais forcée d’investir en même temps dans le caisson sous-marin qui va bien (et ça n’est pas donné non plus, ces petites bêtes-là).

😄

Mais si Nikon se lance, les autres vont suivre. D’ici un an ou deux, les technologies vont encore s’améliorer, les concurrents se positionner, les prix baisser, et on pourra en dénicher d’occas’.

J’ai passé la soirée à surfer sur le web, à baver sur tous les tests et communiqués repris de blogs en sites. Je vous mets ici la page du site Nikon pour le D90, où figurent toutes les caractéristiques. Et le lien vers un article du New York Times.

Le truc qui m’hallucine, c’est que la vidéo peut être en qualité HD et bénéficier des mêmes réglages optiques qu’en mode photo (profondeur de champ, etc.). On change vraiment d’ère, dans le domaine des appareils photo numériques.

Il y a quelques mois, je me serais bien laissé tenter par le PowerShot G9 de Canon, un appareil compact, qui n’est pas un reflex, donc, surtout après avoir lu le test remarquable qu’en a fait Plongeur.com. Mais là, ayant déjà fait bien le tour des possibilité offertes par mon appareil photo actuel, un compact lui aussi (le Powershot A95 de Canon), j’ai comme qui dirait une toute nouvelle tentation…

L’envie de progresser en photo sous-marine me titille. Quitte à dépenser des sous dans ce genre de matériel, pourquoi ne pas passer dans la gamme au-dessus ? La technologie évolue tellement vite, dans le domaine de la photo, que c’est toujours un choix difficile, surtout quand on a un budget limité. Je vais donc m’armer de patience et attendre un peu, de voir les nouveautés qui vont sortir… Et qui seront compatibles avec la prise de vue sous-marine.

Mise à jour janvier 2010 : petit ajout à ce billet, un an et demi après…Ça y est, j’ai mon reflex-vidéo ! Eh oui… C’est le Canon Eos 7D ! Je l’adooore déjà !!!

Mise à jour janvier 2021 : mon équipement pour la photo sous-marine a bien évolué, depuis la publication de ce post en septembre 2008… Je vous invite à parcourir cet article pour savoir comment je suis équipée aujourd’hui :
→ Matériel photo et plongée : mon équipement

👌

  Entre deux voyages

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez