Linda and me in Sipadan ... Turtles and sharks galore !!! (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2009)
Linda and me in Sipadan ... Turtles and sharks galore !!! (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2009.)

The diving buddy lottery

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

That's it, he's here! The n ° 2 of Plongeur.com Magazine, to download free. All beautiful, all color, all multimedia, with real bubbles in it. On page 38, my little contribution: a ticket of humor, or rather of humor, titled Beware of the ball! 

Diving with strangers when traveling solo

But this little text could have been called The diving buddy lottery. Or The quest for the ideal buddy… Or The art of diving at the end of the world with strangers when you're a diver who travels solo… Yes Yes. It's heavy, lived. ????

We feel that it's stressful, like experience ...

Christian, my Finnish buddy, and me, in training Rescue Diver. (Koh Lipe, Thailand, March 2009.)
Christian, my Finnish buddy, and me, in training Rescue Diver. (Koh Lipe, Thailand, March 2009.)
Linda and me in Sipadan ... Turtles and sharks galore !!! (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2009)
Linda and me in Sipadan ... Turtles and sharks galore! ! ! (Borneo, Malaysia, July 2009.)
Back to the surface, with Adrian, my instructor. (Koh Lipe, Thailand, March 2009.)
Back to the surface, with Adrian, my instructor. (Koh Lipe, Thailand, March 2009.)
With my friends Thomas and Lise, in Anilao, and our Filipino guide Herbert, who became my partner. (Philippines, March 2017)
With my friends Thomas and Lise, in Anilao, and our Filipino guide Herbert, who became my partner. (Philippines, March 2017)

Plongeur.com Magazine: download it!

Plunger.com: the magWell, that's not all that. I barely had time today to fly over this new issue full of images, reports and stories that move ...

I think I have seen stunning images of sharks and mantas. I do not want it anymore!

Congratulations to the editorial team, who sweated blood and pixels to stage this new version. Awesome job.

I copy-paste, below, my prose for Plongeur.com Magazine and I quickly go back in ... To download (it's free), it goes after the links below:

→ Plongeur.com: the n ° 2
→ Plongeur.com: all magazines to download

Beware of the ball! The quest for the ideal buddy ...

Station at the ball: my prose, on page 38!The annoying thing with divers is that they go in pairs. Yes.

When we solo trip, or in insubmersible company, it is necessary to be resigned to it: being not two to bubble, one is registered automatically in the lottery of the pairs! And me, every time I go back to Asia, my favorite diving destination, I have to start my quest for the ideal buddy again.

Always, this little fear reappears, when I put my bag at the end of the world ... Who will they give me as a pair? Will I escape the curse of the ball?

There is the beginner ball: high-speed air thrower, sand mixer and coral breaker, I have the opportunity to curse him a thousand times when he plays fish scarecrows. But the confirmed cannonball has nothing to envy: a furious kicking only wanting to see the "fat", who toothy measure the adorers of the "little" and loves to be the one who has the biggest ... depth on his computer !

Two pairs to flee. If possible. In diving centers as in cruise ships, the staff takes care in principle to match compatible divers of the same level. Still, it is necessary to have something to compose a consistent team among the rare solitaires entered on the board ...

One day, off Koh LantaIn Thailand, I found myself flanked by a very kind, but too zealous binomette. She did not want to let go of a palm! I tried to dig the distance, to signal to him to move a little, in vain. She kept sticking to me, to hit me, to scare the critters I wanted to flash.

Ah yes ! Small precision of importance: I have the annoying habit of taking pictures under water. So, my ideal buddy is him (or her) also a photographer, preferably. So adept of slowness. Attentive and accomplice. Passionate and enthusiastic. And, of course, he has humor.

A rare pearl ? Not so sure.

The ideal buddy exists. I met him. Several times. There are traveling pairs that I will never forget. As Sabrina, and Linda, met in Sipadan, Malaysia, three years apart. Two experienced divers, sensitive, synchronous with my own rhythm and my affinities. Wonder shared in front of the schools of barracudas, sharks and turtles ...

And To fart, a solid, funny and caring guy, who has webbed by my side in the waters of Nusa Penida, off Bali. It is a bit to him that I must have been able to admire the lunar swimming of the fabulous mola-molas, in a stream to decorate the nudibranchs. Memorable!

Finally, in case of odd number, I become the binomette of the guide of palanquée. Top. Especially if said guide is a local guy, who knows the sites like his pocket.

I want to greet here the latest ones: Aris and Witjak, two Indonesian divers who watched over my bubbles, Pulau Wehin North Sumatra, in March. But this is another story…

????

  Between Two Journeys

10 Shares
Share10
Tweet
Pine
Share

Linda et moi à Sipadan... Tortues et requins à gogo!!! (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2009)
Linda et moi à Sipadan... Tortues et requins à gogo!!! (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2009.)

La loterie des binômes

  Entre deux voyages

Ça y est, il est là ! Le n°2 de Plongeur.com Magazine, à télécharger gratuitement. Tout beau, tout couleur, tout multimédia, avec de vraies bulles dedans. En page 38, ma petite contribution : un billet d’humeur, ou plutôt d’humour, intitulé Gare au boulet ! 

Plonger avec des inconnus quand on voyage en solo

Mais ce petit texte aurait pu s’appeler La loterie des binômes. Ou La quête du buddy idéal… Ou De l’art de plonger au bout du monde avec des inconnus quand on est une plongeuse qui voyage en solo… Oui, oui. C’est du lourd, du vécu. 😂

On sent bien que c’est stressant, comme expérience…

Christian, mon binôme finlandais, et moi, en pleine formation Rescue Diver. (Koh Lipe, Thaïlande, mars 2009.)
Christian, mon binôme finlandais, et moi, en pleine formation Rescue Diver. (Koh Lipe, Thaïlande, mars 2009.)
Linda et moi à Sipadan... Tortues et requins à gogo!!! (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2009)
Linda et moi à Sipadan… Tortues et requins à gogo ! ! ! (Bornéo, Malaisie, juillet 2009.)
Retour à la surface, avec Adrian, mon instructeur. (Koh Lipe, Thaïlande, mars 2009.)
Retour à la surface, avec Adrian, mon instructeur. (Koh Lipe, Thaïlande, mars 2009.)
Avec mes amis Thomas et Lise, à Anilao, et notre guide philippin Herbert, devenu mon binôme. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Avec mes amis Thomas et Lise, à Anilao, et notre guide philippin Herbert, devenu mon binôme. (Philippines, mars 2017)

Plongeur.com Magazine : téléchargez-le !

Plongeur.com : le magBon, c’est pas tout ça. J’ai à peine eu le temps, aujourd’hui, de survoler ce nouveau numéro bourré d’images, de reportages et de récits qui bougent…

Je crois bien avoir aperçu de renversantes images de requins et de mantas. Je n’y tiens plus !

Un grand bravo à l’équipe éditoriale, qui a sué sang et pixels pour mettre en scène cette nouvelle mouture. Impressionnant boulot.

Je vous copie-colle, ci-dessous, ma prose pour Plongeur.com Magazine et je retourne vite me plonger dedans… Pour le télécharger (c’est gratuit), ça se passe au bout des liens ci-dessous :

→ Plongeur.com : le n°2
→ Plongeur.com : tous les magazines à télécharger

Gare au boulet ! La quête du buddy idéal…

Gare au boulet : ma prose, en page 38 !L’embêtant, avec les plongeurs, c’est qu’ils vont par paire. Ben oui.

Quand on voyage en solo, ou en insubmersible compagnie, il faut s’y résigner : faute d’être deux à buller, on est inscrit d’office à la loterie des binômes ! Et moi, chaque fois que je repars vers l’Asie, ma destination plongée préférée, je dois recommencer ma quête du buddy idéal.

Toujours, cette petite appréhension ressurgit, quand je pose mon sac à plouf au bout du monde… Qui va-t-on me donner comme binôme ? Vais-je échapper à la malédiction du boulet ?

Il y a le boulet débutant : téteur d’air à grande vitesse, agitateur de sable et casseur de corail, j’ai l’occasion de le maudire mille fois quand il joue les épouvantails à poissons. Mais le boulet confirmé n’a rien à lui envier : un furieux du palmage ne voulant voir que du “gros”, qui toise avec suffisance les adoratrices du “petit” et aime beaucoup être celui qui a la plus grosse… profondeur sur son ordi !

Deux binômes à fuir. Si possible. Dans les centres de plongée comme sur les bateaux de croisière, le staff veille en principe à apparier des plongeurs compatibles et de même niveau. Encore faut-il avoir de quoi composer un attelage cohérent parmi les rares solitaires inscrits au tableau…

Un jour, au large de Koh Lanta, en Thaïlande, je me suis retrouvée flanquée d’une très gentille, mais trop zélée binômette. Elle ne voulait pas me lâcher d’une palme ! J’ai tenté de creuser la distance, de lui faire signe de s’éloigner un peu, en vain. Elle ne cessait de me coller, de me heurter, d’effrayer les bestioles que je voulais flashouiller.

Ah, oui ! Petite précision d’importance : j’ai la fâcheuse manie de faire de la photo sous l’eau. Alors, mon buddy idéal est lui (ou elle) aussi photographe, de préférence. Donc adepte de la lenteur. Attentif et complice. Passionné et enthousiaste. Et, bien sûr, il a de l’humour.

Une perle rare ? Pas si sûr.

Le buddy idéal existe. Je l’ai rencontré. Plusieurs fois. Il y a des binômes de voyage que je n’oublierai jamais. Comme Sabrina, et Linda, rencontrées à Sipadan, en Malaisie, à trois ans d’intervalle. Deux plongeuses expérimentées, sensibles, synchrones avec mon rythme propre et mes affinités. Émerveillement partagé devant les bancs de barracudas, les requins et les tortues…

Et puis Peter, un type solide, drôle et bienveillant, qui a palmé à mes côtés dans les eaux de Nusa Penida, au large de Bali. C’est un peu à lui que je dois d’avoir pu admirer la nage lunaire des fabuleux mola-molas, dans un courant à décorner les nudibranches. Mémorable !

Enfin, en cas de nombre impair, je deviens la binômette du guide de palanquée. Top. Surtout si ledit guide est un gars du coin, qui connaît les sites comme sa poche.

Je veux saluer ici les derniers en date : Aris et Witjak, deux plongeurs indonésiens qui ont veillé sur mes bulles, à Pulau Weh, dans le nord de Sumatra, au mois de mars. Mais ceci est une autre histoire…

😎

  Entre deux voyages

10 Partages
Partagez10
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez