The Canyon, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010. © Phil North

Underwater landscapes

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Indonesia: Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - March 2010

I'll take you back to Pulau Weh. Under the surface, again. More than a month after my return from Indonesia, I continue to sort my photos ... Huge coral platters, delicate fans of gorgonians, colorful clouds of fish in the blue: the sites of Pulau Weh offer landscapes of beauty!

Contrary to what I initially feared, I was able to use my "standard" lens in the window provided in principle for the macro lens. According to the notice of Ikelite box for the 7Dit was not possible. But actually, if it comes in.

The only thing is that you can not use the zoom. But frankly, I'm not a fan of underwater zoom. Long live the fixed focal!

The first (beautiful) image below is not mine. But it's one of the few pictures of me under the water! ! ! Many thanks to Phil North, English photographer and videographer based in Koh Lanta, Thailand.

The Canyon, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010. © Phil North

I love how the coral draws a pink heart, in the flash light. It's really super pretty. This picture was taken on the Canyon site.

The following are a mix of the sites of Pantee Peunateung, Meuduro, Batee Tokong ... These are my first tests with my standard lens (other than the macro, so) with the 7D under water.

It took me a while to tame the flash in this configuration. In addition, it was often in uncomfortable conditions. A lot of current, on most sites. And then, these are sites rather "deep" for those who, like me, prefer to stay within the limits of the no-decompression curve ... We find ourselves easily with a small landing of deco at the end of the dive.

But hey, that's the result. A completely different approach than the macro! And I can not wait to start again. Moreover, I feel that I will soon have to invest in a dome, with the objective "fish-eye" that goes well ...

Meuduro, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Meuduro, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Meuduro, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Blue Jack Trevally (blue jackfish). Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Meuduro, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Angelfish. Batee Tokong, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonesia. March 2010.

Unfortunately, I did not manage to bring an image of the underwater arch of the fabulous Canyon. The first time, I was with my macro lens; the second time, I think that's where my goal was in manual mode (grrr); and the third time, the current too strong prevented us from reaching the famous arch.

Pity ! The place is spectacular ...

For the precise description of the various sites accessible from Pulau Weh, I refer you to the center page Lumba Lumba (in English), with which I dived.

  Indonesia: Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - March 2010

18 Shares
Share18
Tweet
Pine
Share

The Canyon, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010. © Phil North

Paysages subaquatiques

  Indonésie : Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - mars 2010

Je vous ramène à Pulau Weh. Sous la surface, encore. Plus d’un mois après mon retour d’Indonésie, je continue de trier mes photos… Plateaux de corail immenses, éventails délicats de gorgones, nuées multicolores de poissons dans le bleu : les sites de Pulau Weh offrent des paysages de toute beauté !

Contrairement à ce que je craignais au départ, j’ai pu utiliser mon objectif « standard » dans le hublot prévu en principe pour l’objectif macro. D’après la notice du caisson Ikelite pour le 7D, ce n’était pas possible. Mais en fait si, ça entre.

Le seul truc, c’est qu’on ne peut pas se servir du zoom. Mais franchement, je ne suis pas une fana du zoom sous l’eau. Vive la focale fixe !

La première (superbe) image ci-dessous n’est pas de moi. Mais c’est une des rares photos de moi sous l’eau ! ! ! Mille mercis à Phil North, photographe et vidéaste anglais installé à Koh Lanta en Thaïlande.

The Canyon, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010. © Phil North

J’adore comment le corail dessine un cœur rose, dans la lueur du flash. C’est vraiment super joli. Cette photo a été prise sur le site de Canyon.

Les suivantes sont un mix des site de Pantee Peunateung, Meuduro, Batee Tokong… Ce sont mes tout premiers essais avec mon objectif standard (autre que le macro, donc) avec le 7D sous l’eau.

Il m’a fallu un peu de temps pour apprivoiser le flash dans cette configuration. En plus, c’était souvent dans des conditions pas faciles. Beaucoup de courant, sur la plupart des sites. Et puis, ce sont des sites plutôt « profonds » pour ceux qui, comme moi, préfèrent rester dans les limites de la courbe de non-décompression… On se retrouve facilement avec un petit palier de déco en fin de plongée.

Mais bon, voilà le résultat. Une toute autre approche que la macro ! Et il me tarde de pouvoir recommencer. D’ailleurs, je sens que je vais prochainement devoir investir dans un dôme, avec l’objectif « fish-eye » qui va bien…

Meuduro, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Meuduro, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Meuduro, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Carangue bleue (blue jackfish). Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Meuduro, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Poisson-ange. Batee Tokong, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Pantee Peunateung, Pulau Weh. Sumatra, Indonésie. Mars 2010.

Je n’ai malheureusement pas réussi à ramener d’image de l’arche sous-marine du fabuleux Canyon. La première fois, j’étais avec mon objectif macro ; la deuxième fois, je crois bien que c’est là que mon objectif était resté en mode manuel (grrr) ; et la troisième fois, le courant trop fort nous a empêché d’atteindre la fameuse arche.

Dommage ! L’endroit est spectaculaire…

Pour le descriptif précis des différents sites accessibles à partir de Pulau Weh, je vous renvoie sur la page du centre Lumba Lumba (en anglais), avec lequel j’ai plongé.

  Indonésie : Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - mars 2010

18 Partages
Partagez18
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez