Batee Tolong. Pulau Weh, Sumatra, Indonésie, mars 2010.

HD underwater, it's beautiful

  Indonesia: Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - March 2010

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

I had to play a bit with the video mode of Canon 7D under water.

The video

I did that at Batee Tokong, one of the dive sites accessible from Pulau Weh. And the picture quality ... wouhaou! ! ! It's something else than I could get with my little compact from before.

So dive without getting wet, with this underwater mini-film. In HD (high definition), please.

Under water

Well, to tell the truth, I had a little trouble. Underwater, first. There is this damn white balance to do.

Absorption des couleurs sous l'eau. (Source : Aqua-Photo.com)Express mini-courses: under water, we lose the colors. They are absorbed one by one, starting with red, from 5 meters, then orange at 10 meters, yellow at 20 meters, etc.

The more you go down, the more everything turns blue ...

(The diagram on the right comes from the site Aqua-photo.com.)

A little parenthesis: I will always remember my astonishment as a novice, a few years ago, when, having flayed a finger on the coral, I saw a dark green liquid coming out of the small cut on my skin ... Very weird .

I thought, at the time, that I had to sting myself to something unclear, which had left me a venom or a sticky deposit on the wound. It was not painful, so I did not worry more than that. It was only once on the surface that I understood.

Underwater, the bright red of the blood becomes ... green!

😯

So, in photo sub, it is necessary to indicate to the digital camera what shade of "blue" under the water is equivalent to white, so that it readjusts everything accordingly and restores the disappeared colors.

During this dive at Batee Tokong, I make an image of the sand on the bottom. Here. It has a bluish gray shade, but it's supposed to be what roughly corresponds to the underwater white. The images that I will then take, having as a white mark this "blue-gray", will thus find their reds and yellows. Long live the magic of digital!

Except that ... When the device goes back to sleep, I have to go back, in the many pictures taken in the meantime, to tell him again what is the image chosen for the white balance when I want to go back to video. (Friends non-divers and non-photographers, do you still follow?)

I only realize that once under water, of course. I did not take the time to check, dry, how to record this kind of setting ...

😀

This is to tell you the number of scenes that I can miss ... It must react quickly, trigger immediately. I'm still drunk to have let the swirling swims of a pretty leopard moray, which passed right under my nose. Time to reactivate my settings, she had spun!

In the future, I'll have to set the camera to always memorize the white balance for the video. Or, I may opt for an orange filter (good old technique before the digital) to place quickly in front of the lens when needed. That those who already have experience in video sub do not hesitate to give me their advice.

Other than that, Batee TokongIt's a little Murènes City ... It's everywhere. (And not one on my video, grrr ...): -x

Une gentille murène, qui a accepté de me montrer ses dents pour la photo... (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach).

On the computer

Well, it's not all about making pretty cool pictures in super definition. After, you have to find the right settings on the computer to encode them properly, just to have an equivalent rendering for the broadcast on the internet.

I chose HD mode 1280 × 720 on the 7D. Once my small sequences stored on the computer, then imported and mounted on Final Cut Express, comes the delicate moment of export. As long as I was in low definition with the videos of my little compact, it was not too much trouble. In most settings to choose, the rendering was consistent with the original.

There, for HD, it's more complicated. I did a lot of tests, in recent days, to find the right compromise between image quality and file weight. As you can see, an MP4 export, with the H264 codec, speed set at 5120 Kbs or 6144 Kbs, original frequency, original size, it does it about ... (Non-geek friends and non-videographers, you follow always ?)

Afterwards, you have to balance all that on the web. To simplify my life, I use the platform Vimeo, which I find much superior to Youtube and DailyMotion, although these last two also offer HD now.

Only, Vimeo encode and compress my file, already encoded and compressed by my little hands. Result: we start to distinguish the pixels in the passages where blue dominates and we lose fluidity. In short, not easy to restore, online, the beautiful image of origin.

Good. It's not too bad either, huh. It's just for a webcast, just to share my bubbles with you ... (But what a job!)

: roll:

  Indonesia: Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - March 2010

13 Shares
Share13
Tweet
Pine
Share

Batee Tolong. Pulau Weh, Sumatra, Indonésie, mars 2010.

La HD sous l’eau, c’est beau

  Indonésie : Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - mars 2010

Il fallait bien que je joue un peu avec le mode vidéo du Canon 7D sous l’eau.

La vidéo

J’ai fait ça à Batee Tokong, l’un des sites de plongée accessibles depuis Pulau Weh. Et la qualité d’image… wouhaou ! ! ! C’est autre chose que ce que je pouvais obtenir avec mon petit compact d’avant.

Plongez donc sans vous mouiller, avec ce mini-film subaquatique. En HD (haute définition), s’il vous plaît.

Sous l’eau

Bon, pour dire la vérité, j’ai un peu galéré. Sous l’eau, d’abord. Il y a cette fichue balance des blancs à faire.

Absorption des couleurs sous l'eau. (Source : Aqua-Photo.com)Mini-cours express : sous l’eau, on perd les couleurs. Elles sont absorbées une à une, à commencer par le rouge, dès 5 mètres, puis l’orange à 10 mètres, le jaune à 20 mètres, etc.

Plus on descend, plus tout vire au bleu…

(Le schéma ci-contre provient du site Aqua-photo.com.)

Petite parenthèse : je me souviendrai toujours de mon étonnement de novice, il y a quelques années, quand, m’étant écorché un doigt sur le corail, j’avais vu un liquide vert sombre sortir de la petite coupure sur ma peau… Très bizarre.

Je me suis dit, sur le moment, que j’avais dû me piquer à un truc pas net, qui m’avait laissé un venin ou un dépôt gluant sur la plaie. Ce n’était pas douloureux, donc je ne me suis pas inquiétée plus que ça. Ce n’est qu’une fois à la surface que j’ai compris.

Sous l’eau, le rouge vif du sang devient… vert !

😯

Donc, en photo sub, il faut indiquer à l’appareil numérique quelle nuance de « bleu » sous l’eau équivaut au blanc, pour qu’il réajuste tout en conséquence et restitue les couleurs disparues.

Lors de cette plongée à Batee Tokong, je fais donc une image du sable sur le fond. Voilà. Il a une nuance grise bleuâtre, mais c’est censé être ce qui correspond grosso-modo au blanc sous l’eau. Les images que je prendrai ensuite, ayant comme repère de blanc ce « bleu-gris », retrouveront ainsi leurs rouges et jaunes. Vive la magie du numérique !

Sauf que… Quand l’appareil se remet en veille, il faut que je retourne en arrière, dans les multiples photos prises entre-temps, pour lui indiquer à nouveau quelle est l’image choisie pour la balance des blancs lorsque je veux repasser en vidéo. (Amis non-plongeurs et non-photographes, vous suivez toujours ?)

Je ne me rends compte de tout ça qu’une fois sous l’eau, bien sûr. Je n’ai pas pris le temps de vérifier, au sec, comment enregistrer ce genre de réglage…

😀

C’est vous dire le nombre de scènes que je peux rater… Il faut réagir vite, déclencher tout de suite. J’enrage encore d’avoir laissé passer la nage ondoyante d’une jolie murène léopard, qui est passée juste sous mon nez. Le temps de réactiver mes réglages, elle avait filé !

À l’avenir, il faudra donc que je règle l’appareil pour qu’il mémorise systématiquement la balance des blancs pour la vidéo. Ou alors, j’opterai peut-être pour un filtre orange (bonne vieille technique d’avant le numérique), à placer vite fait devant l’objectif en cas de besoin. Que ceux qui ont déjà une expérience en vidéo sub n’hésitent pas à me donner leurs conseils.

À part ça, Batee Tokong, c’est un peu Murènes City… Il y en a partout. (Et pas une seule sur ma vidéo, grrr…) :-x

Une gentille murène, qui a accepté de me montrer ses dents pour la photo... (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach).

Sur l’ordi

Bon, c’est pas le tout de faire de jolies images fluides en super définition. Après, il faut trouver les bons réglages sur l’ordi pour les encoder proprement, histoire d’avoir un rendu à peu près équivalent pour la diffusion sur internet.

J’ai choisi le mode HD 1280×720 sur le 7D. Une fois mes petites séquences stockées sur l’ordi, puis importées et montées sur Final Cut Express, vient le délicat moment de l’export. Tant que j’étais en basse définition avec les vidéos de mon petit compact, ça ne posait pas trop de souci. Dans la plupart des réglages à choisir, le rendu était conforme à l’original.

Là, pour la HD, c’est plus compliqué. J’ai fait pas mal de tests, ces derniers jours, pour trouver le bon compromis entre qualité de l’image et poids du fichier. À vue de nez, un export en MP4, avec le codec H264, débit réglé à 5120 Kbs ou  à 6144 Kbs, fréquence originale, taille originale, ça le fait à peu près… (Amis non-geeks et non-vidéastes, vous suivez toujours ?)

Après, il faut balancer tout ça sur le web. Pour me simplifier la vie, j’utilise la plateforme Vimeo, que je trouve bien supérieure à YouTube et DailyMotion, même si ces deux dernières offrent aussi la HD désormais.

Seulement, Vimeo encode et compresse à nouveau mon fichier, déjà encodé et compressé par mes petites mains. Résultat : on commence à distinguer les pixels dans les passages où domine le bleu et on perd en fluidité. Bref, pas facile de restituer, en ligne, la belle image d’origine.

Bon. C’est pas trop grave non plus, hein. C’est juste pour une diffusion web, histoire de partager mes bulles avec vous… (Mais quel boulot !)

:roll :

  Indonésie : Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - mars 2010

13 Partages
Partagez13
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez