In Vanuatu, there is an underwater post office! Incredible ... Thank you, Didier!
In Vanuatu, there is an underwater post office! Incredible ... Thank you, Didier!

A postcard mailed under the sea in Vanuatu

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


Surprise of the day: I received a postcard from Vanuatu. A waterproof card, sent from a post office... underwater!

A postcard from far away: Vanuatu!

Where is Vanuatu?"You got a postcard," says a colleague who's joining us for lunch. A card that comes from far away..." He saw that the mail had arrived in the locker of our service, at the newspaper's headquarters Ouest-France, reindeer.

I discover the postcard coming back from lunch. Someone put it on my desk.

It is Didier, a reader of Bubbles Underwater & Beyondwho sent it to me This passionate diver-traveler, had the pleasure of discovering Vanuatu, in July. We met IRL (in real life) in January 2013, at the diving lounge. I don't believe it! First of all, I'm very touched by this friendly attention, it's really sweet of him...

And, above all, this postcard is not ordinary. Not only because it comes from the other side of the world, in the middle of Oceania, but also because it was posted... under the sea! I love !!!! 😃

In Vanuatu, there is an underwater post office! Incredible ... Thank you, Didier!
In Vanuatu, there's an undersea post office! Unbelievable... Thank you, Didier !

This waterproof postcard is made of a special material, which looks like paper but has the strength of plastic. Kitsch as you wish, with a "nice" photomontage, it represents the one and only underwater post office in the world.

Unbelievable!!! 😮

The only underwater post office in the world

The Vanuatu Underwater Post Office, with his postman-diver.
The Vanuatu Underwater Post Office, with his postman-diver.

This is a real post office, all there is official.

It is located at a depth of 3 metres, about 50 metres from the shore of the island of Vanuatu, which is called "Hideaway", Didier tells me in the little note he writes on the back of the map. What a beautiful name!

The post office even has its own official website:
Underwater Post Office - Vanuatu Post

To learn more about this unique post office in the world, accessible by scuba diving or snorkeling, I invite you to read this article published in 2011 on the site of Plongeur.com :
Submarine mailman in Vanuatu, how's that sound?

No, really, receiving a card posted underwater from Vanuatu is not trivial... And if one day I'm going to dive there, I don't think I'll be able to resist the pleasure of posting one myself. A thousand thanks for this traveling and underwater wink, Didier !!!

👌

Update : but the most incredible thing in the story is what I just learned, right after posting this post, while chatting with Didier on Facebook. I copy and paste his message below:

"Glad you like it, Corinne! ???? In fact, this idea came to me naturally, especially since it was original to say the least... But the craziest thing in all this is that I'm surprised it reached you ! Indeed, while diving, I lost it ! So that means that someone found it, and put it in the box in my place ! Unbelievable and therefore doubly happy !! 😉 "

Crazy, right? When you think of how much stuff is lost underwater and never found... It's even stronger than the bottle in the sea!

Finally, I also put below a video of the submarine post office, found on YouTube (but turn off the sound, the music hurts your ears):

  Between Two Journeys

140 Shares
Share1
Tweet7
Share132

Au Vanuatu, il y a un bureau de poste sous-marin ! Incroyable... Merci, Didier !
Au Vanuatu, il y a un bureau de poste sous-marin ! Incroyable... Merci, Didier !

Une carte postée sous la mer au Vanuatu

  Entre deux voyages

Surprise du jour : j’ai reçu une carte postale du Vanuatu. Une carte waterproof, envoyée depuis un bureau de poste… sous-marin !

Une carte postale qui vient de très loin : le Vanuatu !

C'est où le Vanuatu ?« Tu as reçu une carte postale, m’annonce un collègue qui nous rejoint à l’heure du déjeuner. Une carte qui vient de très loin… » Il a vu que le courrier était arrivé dans le casier de notre service, au siège du journal Ouest-France, à Rennes.

Je découvre la carte postale en revenant de déjeuner. Quelqu’un l’a déposée sur mon bureau.

C’est Didier, un lecteur de Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs, qui me l’a envoyée. Ce plongeur-voyageur passionné, a eu le bonheur de découvrir le Vanuatu, en juillet. Nous nous étions rencontrés IRL (in real life) en janvier 2013, au salon de la plongée. Je n’en reviens pas ! Je suis d’abord très touchée par cette attention amicale, c’est vraiment adorable de sa part…

Et puis, surtout, cette carte postale n’est pas banale. Non seulement parce qu’elle vient de l’autre bout du monde, en pleine Océanie, mais aussi parce qu’elle a été postée… sous la mer ! J’adooooore ! ! ! ! 😃

Au Vanuatu, il y a un bureau de poste sous-marin ! Incroyable... Merci, Didier !
Au Vanuatu, il y a un bureau de poste sous-marin ! Incroyable… Merci, Didier !

Cette carte postale waterproof est faite d’une matière spéciale, qui ressemble à du papier mais a la résistance du plastique. Kitsch à souhait, avec un « joli » photomontage, elle représente le seul et unique bureau de poste sous-marin du monde.

Incroyable ! ! !  😮

L’unique bureau de poste sous-marin du monde

L'Underwater Post Office du Vanuatu, avec son postier-plongeur.
L’Underwater Post Office du Vanuatu, avec son postier-plongeur.

C’est un vrai bureau de poste, tout ce qu’il y a d’officiel.

Il est situé à 3 mètres de profondeur, à environ 50 mètres du rivage de l’île du Vanuatu qui porte le nom de « Hideaway », me précise Didier, dans le petit mot qu’il m’écrit au dos de la carte. Quel beau nom !

Le bureau de poste a même son site officiel (en anglais) :
Underwater Post Office – Vanuatu Post

Pour en savoir plus sur ce bureau de poste unique au monde, accessible en plongée-bouteille ou en palmes-masque-tuba, je vous invite à lire cet article publié en 2011 sur le site de Plongeur.com :
Postier sous-marin au Vanuatu, ça vous tente ?

Non, vraiment, recevoir une carte postée sous l’eau depuis le Vanuatu, ça n’est pas banal… Et si un jour je vais plonger là-bas, je crois que je ne résisterai pas au plaisir d’en poster une moi aussi. Mille mercis pour ce clin d’œil voyageur et subaquatique, Didier ! ! !

👌

Mise à jour : mais le plus incroyable dans l’histoire, c’est ce que je viens d’apprendre, juste après avoir publié ce post, en dialoguant avec Didier sur Facebook. Je vous copie-colle ci-dessous son message :

« Ravi que cela te plaise, Corinne ! 🙂 En fait, cette idée m’est venue naturellement, surtout que c’était pour le moins original… Mais le plus fou dans tout cela, c’est que je m’étonne qu’elle te soit parvenue ! ! En effet, en plongeant, je l’ai perdue ! Cela veut donc dire que quelqu’un l’a trouvée, et l’a mise dans la boîte à ma place ! Incroyable et donc doublement content ! ! 😉 »

Dingue, non ? Quand on pense au nombre de trucs perdus sous l’eau et qu’on ne retrouve jamais… Encore plus fort que la bouteille à la mer !

Enfin, je vous mets aussi ci-dessous une vidéo du bureau de poste sous-marin, dénichée sur YouTube (mais coupez le son, la musique fait mal aux oreilles) :

  Entre deux voyages

142 Partages
Partagez132
Tweetez7
Enregistrer2
Partagez1