A look at the planet

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Between Two Journeys

I like his view of the world. I like his photographic work. Marie-Ange Ostré is globe-trotter and diver, like me. She has just published her first book and it is a pleasure to rediscover her images thus highlighted.

Another look

From Greenland to the Marquesas Islands, from Brazil to Namibia, from Indonesian rice paddies to Bahamian lagoons, she takes us on incredible journeys. And his sincere enthusiasm to share them, to tell them, to give us to see, through his eyes, these distant horizons, touches me a lot.


Taking photos has become commonplace, accessible to all, with the progress of digital. But to take pictures is different.

It is to look at the world, to have a point of view. And then dare, possibly, confront him, submit him to other looks.

"For years, I have not been traveling without my camera; he is my alter ego, my log book, my accomplice and my reminder sometimes. "

Marie-Ange's introductory words sum up the philosophy of this book. I imagine what it must have cost her, to sort and select the photographs she wanted to collect in her first book. The texts that accompany them have the grace to stay short, to let the image speak.

Page after page, it is first of all a tribute to the splendor of nature, be it beach, desert, geyser or jungle. Landscapes conducive to escape, dream, wonder. And then, there are the looks and the faces crossed under these distant latitudes. Men and women who turned the trip into an encounter.


So far, so close ... I like this "look on the planet" that goes beyond the easy aestheticism of exotic images. This gaze set with frankness and respect on the other.

No doubt my perception is a little biased: I read the blog of Marie-Ange, A world elsewhere, for so long, that I know the history of each of these photographs almost! This familiarity explains that I have so much pleasure to admire them again on paper (it changes the screen).

Still. We share a bit of the raw happiness that the photographer had to realize his images, I think ... I have the impression to perceive the sensations that had to go through when triggering. Shock, curiosity, emotion. Shyness, too, sometimes.

The set exudes a beautiful serenity, something soothing, that makes you want to travel the world. To pose on the planet an optimistic look. And this, despite the alert messages of the author, which reminds us between two chapters threats to our Earth.

A photographic adventure

The beautiful adventure of this book, Marie-Ange Ostré has already told on his blog. I invite you, through the links below, to follow her through her words to her.

In these two posts, she confides her joy as much as her doubts, and explains how to order the book in a few clicks. I tested, it works very well. She is even happy to sign it before sending, for those who wish!
My book: A look at the planet
A look at the planet, its creation

A new publisher on the web

Because the other interest of this work is that it is the first book published by a very young publishing house with the original approach: the Tucana editions are interested in authors revealed on the Internet. And they also make the choice to distribute the books in the same way. Another adventure to follow!

PS. A little nod to the editor in passing: me who worked in publishing in another life, I would have liked to know more about this choice of distribution via the web, instead of falling on this note left overdue

 ;-)

  Between Two Journeys

  1. This book is the envy, or is it your way of talking that encourages him to go buy it ... I'm not sure if I understood correctly, it is found on the web is that?
    In any case, this new subject I like well! Thank you!

  2. @ Helen: Yes, the publisher has chosen an online distribution-distribution. It is nevertheless on sale in a bookstore in Paris, in the 11th: Chemins en Pages, 121 Avenue Ledru-Rollin.

    @ Helen from Mauritius: I do not know if it is possible to have the book sent to Mauritius. Should send an email to the publisher to ask them.

    @Pac ': I saw on the site that it is still for sale in a bookstore in Paris (see the comment to Helen). But I also wonder about this mode of diffusion. Especially for a "beautiful book" of photography, this is the kind of book that we appreciate to be in the hands before buying. To follow, as I said ...

  3. Indeed, I think it was after reading one of your tweets, I searched in our database book how to order this book, because I also love the blog "A world elsewhere" Marie-Ange. I unfortunately did not find a distribution network ... It's a shame as a diffusion policy, even if understandable for reasons of cost, because besides the readers of blogs that know the work of the author, the "potential" buyers who do not know Marie-Ange may be refractory for an online purchase without having seen the book ...

  4. Hello Corinne, and thank you for talking aboutA look at the Planet here ... 🙂

    The process of publishing a book for me is quite new, I'm a "book apprentice" in a way, but this adventure was superbly rewarding: see my digital images go to the paper stage, watch my photos on screen. to transform into satin material, it was very moving indeed ...

    The publisher himself is a newcomer who is excited about my image bank and who wants to develop the online sales mode to promote writers who do not have the necessary relationships to enter through the big picture. door of "big publishers" (La Martinière, Le Chêne, etc.). I believe that his primary goal is not to make a fortune, but rather to publish those who are less "visible" while having potential. And I'm really happy with this proof of trust ... The publishing team is learning from day to day, and working hard!

    Helen from Mauritius> Yes, the book can be ordered on the order page of Tucana Editions by selecting, through the drop-down menu, the geographical area concerned. The book can be bought and sent around the world without any problem.

    Pac '> the distribution network of this book is set up slowly, and even if the publisher wants to focus on Internet sales (buyers trust Amazon.fr to buy their books!), this book is also distributed in the bookstore indicated above by Corinne, and since Friday in the bookstore Agora Presse, located at 12, rue de Passy in Paris, in the 16th. The publisher is looking for other points of sale and they will be indicated as and when they appear on the "Points of sale" page of the Tucana Publishing website. But we must also know that booksellers are cautious with new-born publishers, and that in pre-Christmas time they are already VERY solicited by their distribution network which - let's say - costs the eyes of the head to publishers , even if the result for the reader is to find the books everywhere (knowing that for those who have not gone through the box Drucker or Canal +, it is sometimes necessary to dig long to find a book in the deluge of annual publications) ...

    🙄 🙄

  5. PS: congratulations for the selection on the Info Cup of the best blogs 2010! I was absent - and disconnected for 4 days - and I learn at the same time as you that we are going to be "competitive" for the Tourism category!

    Come on, I'm voting for you !!! 🙂

  6. @ Hélène from Mauritius: On the page Buy the book you have an option "Expedition". I think for Mauritius it is "World, excluding EEC and France" for a total, cost of the book + shipping, 41.90 euros.

  7. @R .: Thank you for the info!

    @A World Elsewhere: Given your long silence, I thought that you had to be disconnected. I love your book and faithful to A World Elsewhere, I really wanted to make it known to others. I imagine (hopefully) that other book projects will see the light of day? ... As for the Info Cup, yes, I saw that we were "competing" ... 😆
    So, thank you for your vote, it's really nice!

    @ Helen from Mauritius: You now know what you have to do ... 😉

  8. A disconnection due to movements in regions this time without leaving the national borders (Vendée + Brittany yes ... but not on the side of Rennes) and therefore shortly ... 🙄

    I am already thinking about the concept of the next book of course, and the ideas are multiplying, I submit to my entourage, we do little brainstorming and then test on patient friends ... But I already know the subject of the next book (and 3rd, and 4th !!!). Promised, they will please you (especially since they will be written + than the first one).

    To tell the truth, my only problem is always the same: the lack of time !!! 8)

  9. @A World Elsewhere: What good news, so there will be many other books! I look forward to it ... 🙂
    As for the lack of time, I know, I know ... I have the same problem.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

11 Shares
Share11
Tweet
Pine
Share

Un regard sur la planète

Édité le

J’aime son regard sur le monde. J’aime son travail photographique. Marie-Ange Ostré est globe-trotteuse et plongeuse, comme moi. Elle vient de publier son premier livre et c’est un bonheur de redécouvrir ses images ainsi mises en valeur.

Un autre regard

Du Groenland aux îles Marquises, du Brésil à la Namibie, des rizières indonésiennes aux lagons des Bahamas, elle nous entraîne dans d’incroyables voyages. Et son enthousiasme sincère à les partager, à les raconter, à nous donner à voir, par ses yeux, ces lointains horizons, me touche beaucoup.


Faire des photos est devenu chose banale, accessible à tous, avec les progrès du numérique. Mais faire de la photo, c’est différent.

C’est poser un regard sur le monde, avoir un point de vue. Et oser ensuite, éventuellement, le confronter, le soumettre à d’autres regards.

« Depuis des années, je ne voyage plus sans mon appareil photo ; il est mon alter ego, mon carnet de route, mon complice et mon pense-bête parfois. »

Les mots d’introduction de Marie-Ange résument bien la philosophie de cet ouvrage. J’imagine ce qu’il a dû lui en coûter, de trier et sélectionner les photographies qu’elle tenait à réunir dans son premier livre. Les textes qui les accompagnent ont la grâce de rester courts, pour laisser l’image parler.

Page après page, c’est d’abord un hommage à la splendeur de la nature, qu’elle soit plage, désert, geyser ou jungle. Des paysages propices à l’évasion, au rêve, à l’émerveillement. Et puis, il y a les regards et les visages croisés sous ces lointaines latitudes. Des hommes et des femmes qui ont transformé le voyage en rencontre.


Si loin, si proche… J’aime ce « regard sur la planète » qui va au-delà de l’esthétisme facile d’images exotiques. Ce regard posé avec franchise et respect sur l’autre.

Sans doute ma perception est-elle un peu biaisée : je lis le blog de Marie-Ange, Un monde ailleurs, depuis si longtemps, que je connais l’histoire de chacune de ces photographies ou presque ! Cette familiarité explique que j’aie tant de plaisir à les admirer de nouveau sur papier (ça change de l’écran).

N’empêche. On partage un peu le bonheur brut que la photographe a eu à réaliser ses images, je trouve… J’ai l’impression de percevoir les sensations qui ont dû la traverser au moment de déclencher. Le choc, la curiosité, l’émotion. La timidité, aussi, parfois.

L’ensemble dégage une belle sérénité, quelque chose d’apaisant, qui donne envie de parcourir le monde. De poser sur la planète un regard optimiste. Et ce, malgré les messages d’alerte de l’auteure, qui nous rappelle entre deux chapitres les menaces qui pèsent sur notre Terre.

Une aventure photographique

La belle aventure de ce livre, Marie-Ange Ostré l’a déjà racontée sur son blog. Je vous invite donc, via les liens ci-dessous, à la suivre à travers ses mots à elle.

Dans ces deux posts, elle confie sa joie autant que ses doutes, et explique comment commander l’ouvrage en quelques clics. J’ai testé, ça marche très bien. Elle se fait même un plaisir de le dédicacer avant envoi, pour ceux qui le souhaitent !
 » Mon livre : Un regard sur la planète
 » Un regard sur la planète, sa création

Un nouvel éditeur sur le web

Car l’autre intérêt de ce travail, c’est qu’il s’agit du premier ouvrage publié par une toute jeune maison d’édition à la démarche originale : les Éditions Tucana s’intéressent à des auteurs révélés sur Internet. Et elles font aussi le choix de distribuer les livres par le même biais. Une autre aventure à suivre !

PS. Petit clin d’œil à l’éditeur au passage : moi qui ai bossé dans l’édition dans une autre vie, j’aurais bien aimé en savoir plus sur ce choix de la distribution via le web, au lieu de tomber sur cette note laissée en souffrance

 ;-)

  Entre deux voyages

  1. Ce livre fait envie, ou est-ce ta manière d’en parler qui incite à aller l’acheter…je ne suis pas certaine d’avoir bien compris, on ne le trouve que sur le web c’est ça?
    En tout cas,ce nouveau sujet me plait bien!Merci!

  2. @Hélène: Oui, l’éditeur a fait le choix d’une diffusion-distribution en ligne. Il est néanmoins en vente dans une librairie à Paris, dans le 11e : Chemins en Pages, 121 avenue Ledru-Rollin.

    @Hélène de l’île Maurice: Je ne sais pas s’il est possible de se faire envoyer l’ouvrage à l’île Maurice. Faudrait envoyer un mail à l’éditeur pour leur demander.

    @Pac’: J’ai vu sur le site qu’il est quand même en vente dans une librairie à Paris (voir le commentaire fait à Hélène). Mais je m’interroge moi aussi sur ce mode de diffusion. Surtout pour un « beau livre » de photographie, c’est le genre d’ouvrage qu’on apprécie de pouvoir avoir entre les mains avant d’acheter. À suivre, comme je disais…

  3. Effectivement, je crois que c’était après avoir lu un de tes tweets, j’avais recherché dans notre base livre le moyen de commander ce livre, car j’aime aussi le blog « Un monde ailleurs » de Marie-Ange. Je n’avais malheureusement pas trouvé de réseau de distribution…C’est dommage comme politique de diffusion, même si compréhensible pour des raisons de coût, car outre les lecteurs du blogs qui conaissent le travail de l’auteur, les acheteurs « potentiels » qui ne connaissent pas Marie-Ange seront peut-être réfractaire pour un achat en ligne sans avoir vu l’ouvrage…

  4. Bonjour Corinne, et merci d’avoir parlé d’Un Regard sur la Planète ici… 🙂

    La démarche d’édition d’un livre pour moi est toute nouvelle, je suis une « apprentie du livre » en quelque sorte, mais cette aventure a été superbement enrichissante : voir mes images numériques passer au stade papier, regarder mes photos sur écran se transformer en matière satinée, ce fut très émouvant en effet…

    L’éditeur lui-même est un nouveau venu qui s’est enthousiasmé sur ma banque d’images et qui a envie de développer le mode de ventes en ligne pour promouvoir des auteurs qui n’ont pas les relations nécessaires pour entrer par la grande porte des « grands éditeurs » (La Martinière, Le Chêne, etc.). Je crois que son objectif premier n’est pas de faire fortune mais plutôt de publier ceux qui sont moins « visibles » tout en ayant du potentiel. Et je suis vraiment très heureuse de cette preuve de confiance… L’équipe de la maison d’édition apprend au jour le jour, et travaille dur !

    Hélène de l’île Maurice > oui, le livre peut être commandé sur la page de commande des Editions Tucana en sélectionnant, grâce au menu déroulant, la zone géographique concernée. Le livre peut être acheté et envoyé dans le monde entier, sans aucun problème.

    Pac’ > le réseau de distribution de ce livre se met en place doucement, et même si l’éditeur souhaite privilégier la vente par Internet (les acheteurs font bien confiance à Amazon.fr pour acheter leurs livres !), ce livre est distribué également dans la librairie indiquée ci-dessus par Corinne, et depuis vendredi dans la librairie Agora Presse, située au 12, rue de Passy à Paris, dans le 16e. L’éditeur cherche d’autres points de vente et ils seront indiqués au fur et à mesure sur la page « Points de vente » du site des Éditions Tucana. Mais il faut aussi savoir que les libraires sont frileux face aux éditeurs nouveaux-nés, et qu’en période de pré-Noël ils sont déjà TRÈS sollicités par leur réseau de distribution qui — disons-le — coûte les yeux de la tête aux éditeurs, même si le résultat pour le lecteur est de trouver les livres partout (sachant que pour ceux qui ne sont pas passés par la case Drucker ou Canal +, il faut parfois fouiller longtemps pour trouver un livre dans le déluge de publications annuelles)…

    🙄 🙄

  5. PS : bravo pour la sélection sur la Coupe de l’Info des meilleurs blogs 2010 ! J’étais absente – et déconnectée depuis 4 jours – et j’apprends en même temps que toi que nous allons être « concurrentes » pour la catégorie Tourisme !

    Allez, je vote pour toi !!! 🙂

  6. @Hélène de l’île Maurice : Sur la page Acheter le livre vous avez une option « Expedition ». Je pense que pour l’ile Maurice il s’agit de « Monde, hors CEE et France » pour un total, cout du livre + frais d’expedition, de 41,90 euros.

  7. @R.: Merci pour les infos!

    @Un Monde Ailleurs: Vu ton long silence, je me disais bien que tu devais être déconnectée. J’aime beaucoup ton livre et en fidèle d’Un Monde Ailleurs, j’avais vraiment envie de le faire connaître à d’autres. J’imagine (j’espère) que d’autres projets de livre vont voir le jour?… Quant à la Coupe de l’info, oui, j’ai vu que nous étions « concurrentes »… 😆
    Alors, merci pour ton vote, c’est vraiment sympa!!!

    @Hélène de l’île Maurice: Tu sais maintenant ce qu’il te reste à faire… 😉

  8. Une déconnexion due à des déplacements en régions cette fois sans sortir des frontières nationales (Vendée + Bretagne eh oui ! mais pas du côté de Rennes) et donc peu de temps… 🙄

    Je réfléchis déjà au concept du prochain livre bien sûr, et les idées se multiplient, je soumets à mon entourage, nous faisons de petits « brainstorming » et je teste ensuite sur des amis patients… Mais je connais déjà le sujet du prochain livre (et du 3ème, et du 4ème !!!). Promis, ils te plairont (d’autant qu’ils seront + écrits que le premier).

    A vrai dire mon seul problème est toujours le même : le manque de temps !!! 8)

  9. @Un Monde Ailleurs: Quelle bonne nouvelle, il y aura donc bien d’autres livres!!! Je m’en réjouis d’avance… 🙂
    Quant au manque de temps, je sais, je sais… J’ai le même problème.

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

11 Partages
Partagez11
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez