Diving in Alor. Indonesia, July 2012.

Take Pictures Underwater or Exhaust Yourself Swimming

  Indonesia: Alor + Raja Ampat - July 2012

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation of an article originally written in French. I apologise for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have resulted. If you read French, click on the French flag below to access the original, correct text: 


Taking pictures underwater, I love it. But swimming, much less. I realized this while diving in Alor, Indonesia.

Strenuous Dives

More than a month has passed, already, since my stay in Alorin July 2012. A far away trip, to the borders of Indonesia, dedicated to what I love above all: diving and taking pictures underwater.

Since my return, I continue, day after day, to sort out my underwater pictures brought back from this lost archipelago - more than a thousand pictures!

On the screen of my computer, I rediscover the beauty of the reefs, full of huge sponges, coral tables, colored gorgonians... And I remember my dives there. Dives that were sometimes "sporty", as they say.

That's right, we had to swim hard... ????

Barrel sponge in Alor. Indonesia, July 2012.
Barrel sponge in Alor. (Indonesia, July 2012)

Strategy of the least effort

I knew, before I left, that there were strong currents in Alor. Having already tried those of Nusa Penida / Lembongan, of Komodo or of Raja Ampat, I'm starting to have some experience with this kind of diving.

But I know my physical limits and I'm also a little cluttered underwater by my 7D's bulky housing. Underwater photography involves a strategy of the least effort. Drift dives, where you just have to let yourself be carried by the current, without having to fight, suit me well. The dives where you hook yourself on the reef in the current, to enjoy the show without getting exhausted, suit me very well too. On the other hand, to swim against the current, or to follow a group that advances too fast for my taste, with big and energetic kicks, is much less my thing.

I readily admit it: I am aquatic, but not athletic. I am a contemplative (understand: slow) diver. I am sparing with my movements, I try to make the air last as long as possible...

Play of light on a delicate gorgonian, "flown" by a cloud of anthias. Alor, Indonesia, July 2012.
Play of light on a delicate gorgonian, "flown" by a cloud of anthias (Alor, Indonesia, July 2012)

Diving in Alor. Indonesia, July 2012.

Safety first

As a result, Alor's rather "sporty" dives do not always fit with my usual strategy of least effort, I must admit...

????

I often find myself lagging behind, because of my mania for taking pictures on the way (instead of going all the way like my little friends). Then, I'm totally unable, physically, to catch up with the others... (What do you mean, photographers are a pain in the ass? 😈 )

As a result, if I have to come back against the current at the end of the dive, I don't even try anymore, knowing that I risk getting out of breath. I don't need to. I might as well meet up at the surface instead. Safety first, huh.

In these cases, I prefer to let my little non-photographer buddies continue to kick furiously (after all, if they like it) and I go up to a shallow depth, a little above them, just to finish my dive at ease, to take some more pictures closer to the surface, where there is more light, and to degas quietly without risking to run out of air. A sign to Gilles or Jenny of Alor Divers – always vigilant – is all it takes.

Palmer or photograph? I chose!!!

Diving in Alor. Indonesia, July 2012.

Diving in Alor. Indonesia, July 2012.

Yellow and red crinoids. Alor, Indonesia, July 2012.

The Photos

Having said that, I don't regret at all these few "sport" dives in Alor. Nor to have often hung around behind the group for the pictures. It was worth it! The bottom of Alor is beautiful, full of fish, colorful...

A confirmation with the following pictures below. Click on the thumbnails to see them in large format.

👌

  Indonesia: Alor + Raja Ampat - July 2012

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. I look at these magnificent photos on my computer screen, it is an enchantment, a little "spoiled" however by a small technical problem; they take a certain time before appearing in full screen, and thus it breaks a little the charm of the underwater stroll.

    1. @Ysbilia: like underwater, "qui va piano va sano"... 😆
      The problem is either the server that hosts my blog, which is regularly slow, or your connection... The main thing is that the photos eventually appear!!!

  2. All the same! Not a fan of the current, and it doesn't like me either, it doesn't do anything to adapt to my pink fins in 36 girl! And it's not fun to take your time to observe, search, discover, photograph the little one.
    For the wide angle, I admire your photos! Superb!

    1. @Manta: I'm not kicking in the current, but I realize that it also depends a lot on the way the diving is organized ...

      As a comparison, in Raja Ampat, I sometimes had crazy currents, even more furious than in Alor, but there, everything was fine: I had a guide for myself almost every time, and we were always in a very small group, moving forward at the same quiet rhythm. And for the sites with a lot of juice, we tied up to the hook, to be able to film and photograph without getting tired or carried away.

  3. And again there you only have 1 flash, but when you go to buy the 2nd, try to see about a group buy with an underwater scooter!!! 😆 😆
    On the other hand, with all these pictures of sponges, barrels and casks, your readers will eventually suspect something. You won't be able to hide your atavistic addiction to alcoholic beverages and your multiple rehabs hidden under the guise of tourist trips for much longer ➡
    Again BRAVO for this beautiful series of photos of atmosphere and in the current...

  4. eh, I think I'll start drinking to do the same rehabs 😆
    Beautiful photos, very beautiful atmospheres, and for dives without effort I am 100% ok ❗ ❗

    1. @Laurence: hey, hey... I see that many of us like the same water and bubbles cures, and preferably without forced palming...
      😉

  5. Hello Corinne
    I agree with you about these groups where on one side we have the marathon runners, wedged behind their compasses and all the points of passage to be seen without exceptions, the stakhanovists of the palmage who always arrive first, and on the other side the photographers who are delighted by a color, a light of a bug whatever its size, who frolic on the left and on the right, who stay 1/4 of an hour on a shrimp and that all the group curses.
    Conclusion we must dive between us! and at our own pace! a point it is all! 😉

  6. Impressive your photos, it must be said that with a 7D...
    Bravo in any case, it leaves dreamer, especially in the fall or holiday memories are far.

    1. @Denis: thanks!!! Me too, it makes me feel good, to take them out of the hard drive, these pictures... Like a bubble of escape in this period of back to school... 😉
      As for the 7D, yes, I am very very happy with it, I must say. I'm getting used to playing with it at wide angle and getting a better handle on it - even when it's running!!!

  7. Hi Corinne,
    I just discovered your blog and... I am amazed at the quality of your photos. I've tried to take pictures underwater before but it was nowhere near this rendering! At the same time, you seem to have the necessary equipment 😉 Congratulations 😀

    1. @Benjamin: thanks for the compliments! It's not just about the camera, it's also about learning and experience... All the photos before 2010 on this blog were made with a modest compact. You can already get excellent results, especially in macro. But it is sure that for ambient photos, there is no photo as the other would say: when you switch to an SLR, with an adapted lens, the quality is of another level, necessarily.

  8. Between photographing or swimming against the current, my choice is the same as yours! On your good advice and by fear of the effects of the full moon for our dives in Komodo, we invested in a nice hook before the Mermaid 1 cruise. I'm very disappointed it was only used twice for fun on our 27 dives ???!!!! The DMs chose the right moment to dive and reassure the group....less current on sites like Takat Toko and Crystal Rock ?? The counterpart is the lack of action, few hunting scenes, but sharks and giant trevally are present. Crazy drift dive at Tatawa Besar...impossible to take pictures !!! My best memory in the current is in the company of MANTAS at Takat Makassar on 2 occasions, sensational, photos a little blurred so much the tank was vibrating, I had only one free hand to hold it!

    1. @Lisemet: my hook came in handy later, during my stays in Raja Ampat. It's very useful when everything vibrates in the "underwater wind", from the regulator to the camera housing...

      In Komodo, I used Crystal Rock, no way to do otherwise. On the other hand, I didn't need to take it out in Karang Makassar (magnificent, non-stop passage of manta rays). Well, you should know that you had good guides, who took care of safety by not sending the group to get into the strong currents... You will find the opportunity to use the hook again.

      For my part, I no longer hesitate to use it, even in moderate current, when I want to be "comfortable" to film or photograph.

  9. I have to say that your sentence "(What do you mean, photographers are balls? 😈 )" made me laugh a lot, I make videos and I have to say that the feeling of my "comrades" of palanque is the following one: "But what the hell is he doing, there is nothing on this coral branch". I love your site which inspires me a lot for the continuation of mine.

14 Shares
Share7
Tweet7
Share

Plongée à Alor. Indonésie, juillet 2012.

Photographier ou palmer

  Indonésie : Alor + Raja Ampat - juillet 2012

Faire des photos sous l’eau, j’adore. Mais palmer, beaucoup moins. Je m’en suis bien rendu compte en plongeant à Alor, en Indonésie.

Plongées sportives

Plus d’un mois a passé, déjà, depuis mon séjour à Alor, en juillet 2012. Un voyage lointain, aux confins de l’Indonésie, consacré à ce j’aime par-dessus tout : plonger et faire de la photo sous l’eau.

Depuis mon retour, je continue, jour après jour, de trier mes images sous-marines ramenées de cet archipel perdu – plus d’un millier de photos !

Sur l’écran de mon ordinateur, je redécouvre la beauté des récifs, pleins d’énormes éponges-barriques, de tables de corail, de gorgones colorées… Et je me remémore mes plongées là-bas. Des plongées parfois « sportives », comme on dit.

Eh oui, il a fallu palmer… 😆

Éponge barrique à Alor. Indonésie, juillet 2012.
Éponge barrique à Alor. (Indonésie, juillet 2012)

Stratégie du moindre effort

Je savais, avant de partir, qu’il y avait des courants forts à Alor. Ayant déjà tâté ceux de Nusa Penida / Lembongan, de Komodo ou de Raja Ampat, je commence à avoir une petite expérience de ce type de plongées.

Mais je connais mes limites physiques et je suis aussi un peu encombrée sous l’eau par le volumineux caisson de mon 7D. La photographie subaquatique implique une stratégie du moindre effort. Les plongées dérivantes, où il suffit de se laisser porter par le courant, sans avoir besoin de lutter, me vont bien. Les plongées où l’on se fixe au crochet sur le récif dans le courant, pour admirer le spectacle sans s’épuiser, me vont très bien aussi. En revanche, palmer à contre-courant, ou bien suivre un groupe qui avance trop vite à mon goût, à grands coups de palmes énergiques, c’est beaucoup moins mon truc.

Je l’admets volontiers : je suis aquatique, mais pas sportive. Je suis une plongeuse contemplative (comprendre : lente). Je suis économe de mes mouvements, je cherche à faire durer l’air le plus longtemps possible…

Jeux de lumière sur une gorgone délicate, "survolée" par une nuée d'anthias. Alor, Indonésie, juillet 2012.
Jeux de lumière sur une gorgone délicate, « survolée » par une nuée d’anthias. (Alor, Indonésie, juillet 2012)

Plongée à Alor. Indonésie, juillet 2012.

Safety first

Du coup, les plongées plutôt « sportives » d’Alor ne cadrent pas toujours avec mon habituelle stratégie du moindre effort, il faut bien l’avouer…

😁

Je me retrouve souvent à la traîne de la palanquée, à cause de ma manie de prendre des photos en route (au lieu de palmer à fond comme mes petits camarades). Ensuite, je suis totalement incapable, physiquement, de rattraper les autres… (Comment ça, les photographes sont des boulets ? :twisted :  )

Résultat, s’il faut revenir contre le courant en fin de plongée, je n’essaye même plus, sachant que je risque d’aller droit à l’essoufflement. Pas la peine. Autant se rejoindre à la surface, plutôt. Safety first, hein.

Dans ces cas-là, je préfère laisser mes petits camarades non-photographes continuer de palmer furieusement (après tout, s’ils aiment ça) et moi, je remonte à faible profondeur, un peu au-dessus d’eux, histoire d’achever ma plonger peinarde, de faire encore quelques images plus près de la surface, où il y a plus de lumière, et dégazer tranquillement sans risquer d’épuiser mon air. Un signe à Gilles ou Jenny d’Alor Divers – toujours vigilants – suffit.

Palmer ou photographier ? J’ai choisi ! ! !

Plongée à Alor. Indonésie, juillet 2012.

Plongée à Alor. Indonésie, juillet 2012.

Crinoïdes jaunes et rouges. Alor, Indonésiée, juillet 2012.

Les photos

Ceci dit, je ne regrette pas du tout ces quelques plongées « sportives » à Alor. Ni d’avoir souvent traîné derrière la palanquée pour les photos. Ça en valait la peine ! Les fonds d’Alor sont magnifiques, poissonneux, colorés…

La preuve avec la suite des photos ci-dessous. Cliquez sur les vignettes pour les voir en grand format.

👌

  Indonésie : Alor + Raja Ampat - juillet 2012

  1. Je regarde ces magnifiques photos sur mon écran d’ ordinateur, c’est un enchantement, un peu « gâché » toutefois par un petit problème technique; elles mettent un certain temps avant d’apparaître en plein-écran, et donc çà rompt un peu le charme de la balade sub-aquatique.

    1. @Ysbilia: comme sous l’eau, « qui va piano va sano »… 😆
      Le souci vient soit du serveur qui héberge mon blog, qui a régulièrement des lenteurs, soit de ta connexion… L’essentiel est que les photos finissent par apparaître !!!

  2. Tout pareil! Pas fan du courant, et lui non plus ne m’aime pas d’ailleurs, il ne fait rien pour s’adapter à mes palmes roses en 36 fillette! Pis c’est pas marrant pour prendre son temps à observer, chercher, découvrir, photographier le petit.
    Pour le grand angle, j’admire tes photos! Superbes!

    1. @Manta: je ne suis pas fortiche en palmage dans le courant, mais je me rends compte que ça dépend aussi beaucoup de la manière dont est organisée la plongée…

      À titre de comparaison, à Raja Ampat, ensuite, j’ai eu parfois des courants de folie, plus furieux encore qu’à Alor, mais là, tout allait bien : j’avais un guide pour moi toute seule presque à chaque fois, et nous étions toujours en très petite palanquée, à avancer au même rythme tranquille. Et pour les sites forts en jus on s’arrimait au crochet, pour pouvoir filmer et photographier sans se fatiguer ni se faire emporter.

  3. Et encore là tu n’as qu’1 flash, mais quand tu vas acheter le 2e, essaye de voir pour un achat groupé avec un scooter sous-marin !! 😆 😆
    D’autre part avec toutes ces photos d’éponges, de tonneaux et de barriques, tes lecteurs vont finir par se douter de quelque chose. Tu ne pourras pas leur dissimuler encore bien longtemps ta dépendance atavique vis à vis des boissons alcoolisées et tes multiples cures de désintoxication cachées sous couvert de voyages touristiques ➡
    Encore BRAVO pour cette belle série de photos d’ambiance et dans le courant…

  4. eh, je crois que je vais me mettre à boire pour faire les mêmes cures de désintox 😆
    Magnifiques photos, très belles ambiances, et pour ce qui est des plongées sans effort je suis ok à 100% ❗ ❗

    1. @Laurence: hé, hé… Je vois qu’on est plusieurs à apprécier les mêmes cures à base d’eau et de bulles, et de préférence sans palmage forcené…
      😉

  5. Bonjour Corinne
    Je te rejoins sur ces palanquées ou d’un côté nous avons les marathoniens, calés derrière leurs compas et tous les points de passage à voir sans exceptions.Les stakhanovistes du palmage qui arrivent toujours les premiers.Et de l’autre les photographes qui s’enchantent d’une couleur, d’une lumière d’une bestiole quelques soit sa taille qui batifolent à gauche puis à droite, qui restent 1/4 d’heure sur une crevette et que toute la palanquée maudit.
    Conclusion il faut plonger entre nous! et à notre rythme! un point c’est tout! 😉

    1. @Eric: c’est si bon de se sentir comprise… 😀 Mais « plonger entre nous » n’est pas si simple. Comme je voyage souvent en solo, il faut bien que je m’adapte aux palanquées auxquelles je me joins. L’idéal, c’est quand je me retrouve toute seule avec un guide, ou avec d’autres personnes qui font de la photo…

      Je m’étais amusée à écrire un mot là-dessus, pour Plongeur.com :
      « La loterie des binômes » –> http://petitesbullesdailleurs.fr/2010/05/10/la-loterie-des-binomes/

  6. Impressionnantes tes photos, il faut dire qu’avec un 7D…
    Bravo en tout cas, ça laisse rêveur, surtout à la rentrée ou les souvenirs de vacances sont loin.

    1. @Denis: merci !!! Moi aussi, ça me fait du bien, de les ressortir du disque dur, ces photos… Comme une bulle d’évasion en cette période de rentrée… 😉
      Quant au 7D, oui, j’en suis très très contente, je dois dire. Je commence à m’habituer à jouer avec en grand angle et à mieux le maîtriser – même quand il y a du courant !!!

  7. Salut Corinne,
    Je viens tout juste de découvrir ton blog et… j’en suis bouche bée vu la qualité de tes photos. J’ai déjà tenté de prendre des photos sous l’eau mais c’était loin d’avoir ce rendu ! En même temps, tu sembles avoir l’équipement nécessaire 😉 Félicitations. 😀

    1. @Benjamin: merci pour les compliments ! Ce n’est pas qu’une question d’appareil, il y a aussi l’apprentissage et l’expérience… Toutes les photos datant d’avant 2010, sur ce blog, ont été faites avec un modeste compact. On peut déjà obtenir d’excellents résultats, surtout en macro. Mais c’est sûr que pour les photos d’ambiance, y’a pas photo comme dirait l’autre : quand on passe au reflex, avec un objectif adapté, la qualité est d’un autre niveau, forcément.

  8. Entre photographier ou palmer à contre-courant mon choix est le même que le tien ! Sur tes bons conseils et par peur des effets de la pleine lune pour nos plongées à Komodo, nous avons investi dans un beau crochet avant la croisière Mermaid 1. Je suis bien déçue il ne nous a servi que 2 fois pour le fun sur nos 27 plongées ???!!! Les DM ont choisi le bon moment pour plonger et rassurer la palanquée….peu de courant sur des sites comme Takat Toko et Crystal Rock ?? La contrepartie c’est le manque d’action, peu de scène de chasse, mais requins et carangues géantes au RDV. Plongée dérivante de folie à Tatawa Besar…impossible de prendre des photos !!! Mon meilleur souvenir dans le courant c’est en compagnie des MANTAS à Takat Makassar à 2 reprises, sensationnel, photos un peu floues tellement le caisson vibrait, je n’avais qu’une main libre pour le tenir !

    1. @Lisemet: mon crochet m’a bien resservie par la suite, lors de mes séjours à Raja Ampat. Bien appréciable quand tout vibre, en effet, dans le « vent sous-marin », du détendeur au caisson de l’appareil-photo…

      À Komodo, je l’ai utilisé Crystal Rock, pas moyen de faire autrement. Par contre, pas eu besoin de le sortir à Karang Makassar (magnifique, passage non-stop de raies-mantas). Bah, dis-toi que vous avez eu de bons guides, qui ont veillé à la sécurité en n’envoyant pas la palanquée se mettre au moment des forts courants… Tu trouveras bien l’occasion de te resservir du crochet.

      Pour ma part, je n’hésite plus à l’utiliser, même dans du courant modéré, quand je veux être installée « confortablement » pour filmer ou photographier.

  9. Je dois dire que ta phrase « (Comment ça, les photographes sont des boulets ? 😈 ) » m’a beaucoup fait rire, je fais des vidéos et je dois dire que le sentiment de mes « camarades » de palanquée est le suivant : « Mais il fout quoi lui encore, y a rien sur cette branche de corail ». J’adore ton site qui m’inspire beaucoup pour la suite du mien.

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

15 Partages
Partagez7
Tweetez7
Enregistrer1
Partagez