Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.

Phi Phi Leh, the beautiful island

#Thailand

  Cambodia and Thailand - February 2011

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


Koh Phi Phi (pronounced pi-pi), it's actually two islands. The largest, Koh Phi Phi Don, where we live. And the smallest, Koh Phi Phi Leh, uninhabited. Who, despite the cargoes of tourists to land there, looks like a treasure island, a movie island.

Excursion in long-tail boat

Let's get one thing straight: this isn't an "adventure," is it? All tourists worthy of the name do the walk in Phi Phi Leh (tourists of which we are obviously a part, my traveling girlfriend and I, which we fully assume during this mini Thai trip in 2011).

The excursion is not an expedition. In short or long version, in speedboat or long-tail boat, chartered or private, in the morning or afternoon, it is sold by all agencies, all hotels and guesthouses of the island ...

Still. I love this landscape of spectacular karst cliffs ...

When, after walking along the cliffs of Phi Phi Don, we see Phi Phi Leh approaching, in the axis of the bow of long-tail boat, we have the impression of discovering a mysterious island, inaccessible, lost in the ocean ... An illusion that I savor with delight.

Excursion in long-tail boat. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, February 2011.
Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Excursion in long-tail boat. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, February 2011.

So beautiful on the skyline

And then she's beautiful, Phi Phi Leh. Even from a distance. Before and after the trip, I never tire of photographing its unique silhouette, looming on the blue, from the beaches of Phi Phi Don.

Beaches not so crowded, too, contrary to what I feared. It's quite a nice surprise. Even on those that are accessible on foot from Tonsai, the tourist "village" of Koh Phi Phi Don, you can still find a lot of places to relax and take pictures without fear of crowds.

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Long-tail boat in front of Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.

Ploufs in emerald water

So yes, I'm glad I did it again, the ride to Koh Phi Phi Leh. To have bathed again in the emerald water of its coves and plagues dominated by stunning cliffs. To have been able to observe some fish, already, in palms-mask-snorkel. And to have taken full eyes, again.

The rock faces plunging almost steeply into the water are dizzying. Their sight always gives me the same euphoric feeling, a little exhilarating. I have seen and reviewed many times in previous trips, it is not a discovery. But I am pleased to see that I am not jaded. The sensation does not become dull.

Of course, we are not alone. Of course, we jump when a group of Asian tourists, a few meters away, starts to shriek from his speedboat at the moment of the souvenir photo. Of course, we find it a little ridiculous, to have to wade in the water all at the same time, in the same places, on the order of boatman.

"Now, swimming and snorkeling. Fifteen minutes. One, five. » He wouldn't want his pronunciation to get us confused between 15 minutes and 50 minutes. Now we'd be prolonging our water frolic! Other than that, he's not much of a talker or a cheerleader, our guy. Well, it's true that he works... And as a tourist walker, it can't be a crazy job every day.

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.

Maya Bay, the beach neither secret nor deserted

The last stop before the sunset is Maya Bay, aka THE Beach.

Yes, it's the famous beach where the (bad) film was shot The beach, with Leonardo Di Caprio and Virginie Ledoyen.

Maya Bay is a beautiful white sand beach, at the bottom of a bay defended by impressive cliffs. A real movie beach, a Hollywood dream. Victim unfortunately of his success ...

This time, we are entitled to more than half an hour. So nice.

Okay, well, I had no illusions about what was waiting for us at the beach. It's confirmed: there are as many people in Maya Bay as there are during my last visit, in 2007. I had warned the other girl, so she was not too scared ... The crowd is dense on the tongue of sand flour, so soft underfoot.

Update 2019 : Maya Bay, suffocated by overtourism, was closed in 2018 by the Thai authorities, to allow corals and the seabed to regenerate ... The explosion of tourism from China, in particular, which now represents nearly a third of visitors to Thailand, has not helped matters. Thailand plans to reopen Maya Bay in 2021, limiting the number of people to 200 per day. To protect ecosystems, quotas are effective, we saw it in Sipadan in Malaysia. Rather a good initiative, then. Besides, two to three months after Maya Bay closed, the sharks came back: "We've gone from 5,000 tourists to about 60 sharks." sums up a Thai marine biologist, specialist of the issue, interviewed in a report for Correspondent on France 2. The association Ocean Quest has begun replanting coral "cuttings" in the area. by fixing them to the glue, with success.

Fortunately for my friend and me, we are at the end of the day and the speedboats come from Phuket start to leave. Soon remain only the long-tail boatswho one by one ends up leaving, too. The beach finds a semblance of calm.

It is in the shade, the setting sun only illuminates the cliffs at the entrance of the bay. It would probably have been better to come very early, at dawn, before the daily crowds. Another option: you can also camp at Maya Beach, which in principle allows you to enjoy it a little outside the busy hours.

Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.
Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.

At the end of the day, we find a more serene atmosphere, reminiscent of what was Maya Bay, before the movie The beach and the tourist frenzy.

When we leave, the Moon is already visible and the shaving sun gilds the cliff. Ultimate looks for a beautiful wooden sailboat that we cross the road ...

Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thailand, February 2011.

It is understood: Phi Phi Leh is neither a mysterious nor a secret island. But we can pretend it is, for the time of the crossing... before running into the other boats on the excursion!

And dream of the day, where, perhaps, Maya Bay will become as beautiful below the surface as above ...

😎

  Cambodia and Thailand - February 2011

71 Shares
Share57
Tweet13
Pin1
Share

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Phi Phi Leh, l’île belle

#Thaïlande

  Cambodge et Thaïlande - février 2011

Koh Phi Phi (prononcez pi-pi), c’est en fait deux îles. La plus grande, Koh Phi Phi Don, où on réside. Et la plus petite, Koh Phi Phi Leh, inhabitée. Qui garde, malgré les cargaisons de touristes à y débarquer, des allures d’île au trésor, d’île de cinéma.

Excursion en long-tail boat

Entendons-nous bien : ça n’a rien d’une « aventure », hein. Tous les touristes dignes de ce nom font la balade à Phi Phi Leh (touristes dont nous faisons évidemment partie, ma copine de voyage et moi, ce que nous assumons totalement durant ce mini-séjour thaïlandais de 2011).

L’excursion n’est pas une expédition. En version courte ou longue, en speed-boat ou long-tail boat, charterisée ou privée, le matin ou l’après-midi, elle est vendue par toutes les agences, tous les hôtels et guesthouses de l’île…

N’empêche. J’adore ce paysage de falaises karstiques spectaculaires…

Quand, après avoir longé les falaises de Phi Phi Don, on voit approcher Phi Phi Leh, dans l’axe de la proue du long-tail boat, on a un peu l’impression de découvrir une île mystérieuse, inaccessible, perdue dans l’océan… Une illusion que je savoure avec délice.

Excursion en long-tail boat. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, février 2011.

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Excursion en long-tail boat. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, février 2011.

Si belle sur la ligne d’horizon

Et puis elle est belle, Phi Phi Leh. Même de loin. Avant comme après l’excursion, je ne me lasse pas de photographier sa silhouette si singulière, qui se profile sur le bleu, depuis les plages de Phi Phi Don.

Des plages pas si gavées de monde, en plus, contrairement à ce que je craignais. C’est plutôt une bonne surprise. Même sur celles qui sont accessibles à pied depuis Tonsai, le « village » touristique de Koh Phi Phi Don, on peut encore trouver des coins peinards, faire des photos sans craindre la foule.

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Long-tail boat devant Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Ploufs dans l’eau émeraude

Alors oui, je suis bien contente de l’avoir refaite, la balade à Koh Phi Phi Leh. De m’être baignée à nouveau dans l’eau émeraude de ses criques et plagettes dominées par des falaises renversantes. D’avoir pu observer quelques poissons, déjà, en palmes-masque-tuba. Et d’en avoir pris plein les yeux, encore.

Les parois rocheuses plongeant presque à pic dans l’eau sont vertigineuses. Leur vue me procure toujours la même sensation euphorique, un peu grisante. Je les ai pourtant vues et revues bien des fois lors de précédents voyages, ce n’est pas une découverte. Mais je constate avec plaisir que je ne suis pas blasée. La sensation ne s’émousse pas.

Bien sûr, on n’est pas tout seul. Bien sûr, on sursaute quand un groupe de touristes asiatiques, à quelques mètres de là, se met à pousser des cris aigus depuis son speed-boat au moment de la photo-souvenir. Bien sûr, on trouve ça un peu ridicule, de devoir aller patauger dans l’eau tous en même temps, aux mêmes endroits, sur ordre du boatman.

« Now, swimming and snorkeling. Fifteen minutes. One, five. » Il ne voudrait pas que sa prononciation nous fasse confondre 15 minutes et 50 minutes. Il ne manquerait plus qu’on prolonge nos ébats aquatiques ! À part ça, ce n’est pas un bavard ni un jovial, notre gars. Bon, c’est vrai qu’il bosse, lui… Et promeneur de touristes, ça ne doit pas être folichon tous les jours, comme métier.

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Maya Bay, la plage ni secrète ni déserte

L’ultime escale, avant le sunset, c’est Maya Bay, alias THE Beach.

Oui, c’est la fameuse plage où a été tourné le (mauvais) film La Plage, avec Leonardo Di Caprio et Virginie Ledoyen.

Maya Bay, c’est une superbe plage de sable blanc, au fond d’une baie défendue par des falaises impressionnantes. Une vraie plage de cinéma, de rêve hollywoodien. Victime malheureusement de son succès…

Cette fois, on a droit à plus d’une demi-heure. Trop sympa.

Bon, ben, j’étais sans illusion sur ce qui nous attendait à LA plage. Ça se confirme : il y a autant de monde à Maya Bay que lors de mon dernier passage, en 2007. J’avais prévenu l’autre fille, pour qu’elle ne soit pas trop effrayée… La foule est dense sur la langue de sable farine, si doux sous les pieds.

Mise à jour : Maya Bay, asphyxiée par le surtourisme, a été fermée en 2018 par les autorités thaïlandaises, pour permettre aux coraux et aux fonds sous-marins de se régénérer… L’explosion du tourisme venu de Chine, notamment, qui représente désormais près d’un tiers des visiteurs en Thaïlande, n’a pas arrangé les choses. La Thaïlande compte rouvrir Maya Bay en 2021, en limitant le nombre de personnes à 200 par jour. Pour protéger les écosystèmes, les quotas sont efficaces, on l’a vu à Sipadan en Malaisie. Plutôt une bonne initiative, donc. D’ailleurs, deux à trois mois après la fermeture de Maya Bay, les requins sont revenus : « On est passés de 5 000 touristes à une soixantaine de requins », résume un biologiste marin thaïlandais, spécialiste de la question, interviewé dans un reportage pour Envoyé Spécial sur France 2. L’association Ocean Quest a commencé à replanter des « boutures » de corail dans la zone en les fixant à la glu, avec succès.

Heureusement pour ma pote et moi, nous sommes en fin de journée et les speed-boats venus de Phuket commencent à partir. Ne restent bientôt plus que les long-tail boats, qui un à un finissent par s’en aller, eux aussi. La plage retrouve un semblant de calme.

Elle est dans l’ombre, le soleil couchant n’illumine plus que les falaises à l’entrée de la baie. Il aurait sans doute mieux valu venir très tôt, à l’aube, avant la foule quotidienne. Autre option : on peut aussi camper à Maya Beach, ce qui permet, en principe, d’en profiter un peu en-dehors des horaires d’affluence.

Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

En cette fin de journée, on retrouve une ambiance plus sereine, qui rappelle ce qu’était Maya Bay, avant le film La Plage et la frénésie touristique.

Quand on repart, la Lune est déjà visible et le soleil rasant dore la falaise. Ultimes regards pour un beau voilier en bois dont nous croisons la route…

Maya Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh. Thaïlande, février 2011.

C’est entendu : Phi Phi Leh n’est ni une île mystérieuse ni une île secrète. Mais on peut faire comme si, le temps de la traversée… avant de tomber sur les autres bateaux en excursion !

Et rêver du jour, où, peut-être, Maya Bay redeviendra aussi belle sous la surface qu’au-dessus…

😎

  Cambodge et Thaïlande - février 2011

71 Partages
Partagez57
Tweetez13
Enregistrer1
Partagez