Cyerce nigra is a rare species of nudibranch, much sought after by underwater photographers and can be seen in Romblon. (Philippines, March 2017)
Cyerce nigra is a rare species of nudibranch, much sought after by underwater photographers and can be seen in Romblon. (Philippines, March 2017)

Diving into another world in the Philippines

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Philippines: Anilao + Romblon - March 2017

Traveling light, I do not know what it is! In March, I went diving in the Philippines. With, in my luggage, a cumbersome paraphernalia to photograph the tiny wildlife that lives under water.

Immediate boarding

I spare you the tricks I had to deploy at the airport to give the impression that my cabin bag, containing all this precious photographic barda, weighed nothing at all ...

(This subject deserves a post all by itself, I'll come back to it, especially since for the first time in my life as a traveler-photographer-diver, I was grilled between two planes, at the stopover, in Dubai. , by a control unexpected balance establishing that my cabin bag weighed more than 7kg and it cost me the budget of several dives ... 😱)

As for my diving equipment, no problem, he goes on hold in the big bag with wheels. (And here I answer the question that often ask me non-divers friends, a little scared by my logistics: no, I do not carry bottles of diving or sinkers with me!!! They are provided on the spot by the diving centers.)

Short. The heavy baggage but the light heart, so I (still) flew to Asia! Head to the Philippines, this time, with a new toy, which I was very excited to try: a 100mm "macro" lens (for "Macro photography"), more powerful and more quilted than my old 60mm ...

The little bazaar that I steal on a trip to be able to take photos under water ... Right, my camera with its new lens 100mm macro. Only the most fragile elements, namely the camera and lenses, its box and portholes, remain in my cabin bag. I put everything else in the hold. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
The little bazaar that I steal on a trip to be able to take photos under water ... Right, my camera with its new lens 100mm macro. Only the most fragile elements, namely the camera and lenses, its box and portholes, remain in my cabin bag. I put everything else in the hold. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
There you go ! The device is ready to accompany me under the water! (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
There you go ! The device is ready to accompany me under the water! (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
My toy, at the bottom of the boat. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
My toy, at the bottom of the boat. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)

Without going into technical details, this lens works much like a big magnifying glass and allows you to shoot tiny animals, from a few centimeters to a few millimeters. On land, insect buffs use it to immortalize bees or ants. I took him underwater and pointed at tiny shrimp, pygmy seahorses and nudibranchs (which also bear the less than sea slugs)

Welcome to the extraordinary world of underwater macrophotography! 😍

A tiny shrimp on its coral branch. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
A tiny shrimp on its coral branch. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
A delicate pygmy seahorse bargibanti rose. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
A delicate pygmy seahorse bargibanti rose. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Nudibranch Cuthona yamasui. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Nudibranch Cuthona yamasui. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
My finger next to a tiny nudibranch ... It gives a better idea of the scale! (Romblon, Philippines, 2017)
My finger next to a tiny nudibranch ... It gives a better idea of the size of some critters! (Romblon, Philippines, 2017)

Anilao and Romblon

To release this new objective, after many hesitations, I selected two specific spots in the Philippines: Anilao and Romblon.

Anilao is a village located on a peninsula southwest of Luzon Island, 3-4 hours drive south of Manila, the capital. This part of the coast has become popular among divers and the name of Anilao today designates all of this coastal region, rich in submarine microfauna and suitable for underwater macrophotography, where developed a number of hotels and resorts dedicated to this activity.

The terrace of the Planet Dive center, in Anilao. (Philippines, March 2017)
The terrace of the Planet Dive center, in Anilao. (Philippines, March 2017)
Herbert, my guide "lynx eye" at Planet Dive. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Herbert, my guide "lynx eye" at Planet Dive. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Very nice, the morning view of my terrace! (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Very nice, the morning view of my terrace! (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Every evening, the sky of Anilao blazes for sumptuous sunsets. (Philippines, March 2017)
Every evening, the sky of Anilao blazes for sumptuous sunsets. (Philippines, March 2017)

Romblon is a small, peaceful island, located southeast of Anilao, about 8 hours by ferry, away from tourist routes. It is the capital of marble in the Philippines. It is also a dive spot still not very known, where underwater photographers addicted to the "super-macro" rave about rare species of translucent nudibranchs and hairy shrimp almost invisible to the naked eye!

Welcome to Romblon, the marble capital. (Philippines, March 2017)
Welcome to Romblon, the marble capital. (Philippines, March 2017)
The azure waters of Romblon. (Philippines, March 2017)
The azure waters of Romblon. (Philippines, March 2017)
While touring the island, there are wild beaches, deserted. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
While touring the island, there are wild beaches, deserted. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Return of the divers through the mangrove, at the end of the day. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Return of the divers through the mangrove at low tide at the end of the day. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)

Muck-dive

Anilao and Romblon are therefore very particular spots. I am often asked for advice on dive sites in Asia, so I make it clear that these two will not be suitable for all divers and probably not at all for snorkelers (swimmers in fins-mask-snorkel). Because the specialty of the corner, as in Lembeh Strait, Indonesia, it is rather the "Muck dive", which could be translated as "muddy diving".

In fact of vase, the term muck dives refers to dives on a background not really spectacular or very engaging at first glance. In Anilao and Romblon, it is most often a mixture of sand and dead coral debris, embellished here and there with some "groves" and coral potatoes.

We do observation dives, which require patience and passion. Because this substrate, which seems unattractive to novice eyes, is the habitat for many small crustaceans, molluscs and extraordinary fish. It's teeming with life! And in Anilao and Romblon, the diversity of species is remarkable. Scientists continue to discover new ones every year!

Note that there are still "normal" coral sites in Romblon and Anilao, where wriggle the usual underwater fauna of the tropical waters (not to be missed, the magnificent reef Beatrice, near Sombrero Island, off Anilao). But in general, we go there only once or twice during the stay, between two muck dives, to vary the pleasures ... The activity of the diving centers of the corner is mainly turned towards the observation of the microfauna and macro photography.

In the Philippines, the dives are made from bangkas, traditional boats with rockers. (Anilao, March 2017)
In the Philippines, the dives are made from bancas, these traditional boats with rockers. (Anilao, March 2017)
Near Sombrero Island, off Anilao, the Beatrice site offers an explosion of colors and coral life. (Philippines, March 2017)
Near Sombrero Island, off Anilao, the Beatrice site is an explosion of colors and coral life. (Philippines, March 2017)
The butterfly nudibranch Yerce elegans, with its translucent outgrowth, is one of the rarities coveted by underwater photographers. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
The butterfly nudibranch Cyerce elegans, with its translucent growths, is one of the rarities coveted by underwater photographers. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
In the same family, Cyerce nigra is a rare species of nudibranch, similarly much sought after by underwater photographers and can be seen in Romblon. (Philippines, March 2017)
In the same family, Cyerce nigra is a rare species of nudibranch, similarly much sought after by underwater photographers and can be seen in Romblon. (Philippines, March 2017)
This species of nudibranch is quite common, widespread in the area. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
This species of nudibranch is more common, widespread in the area. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
A small toad fish (antennal) clown. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
A small toad fish (antennal) clown. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
This nudibranch seems to carry a heart on his back. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
This nudibranch seems to carry a heart on his back. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
A flat worm straightens its "head" on a mound of grains of sand. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
A flat worm straightens its "head" on a mound of grains of sand. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Only by displaying the image of this hippocampus Denise on the screen of my computer that I noticed the tiny skeletal shrimps around ... And a reader of the blog teaches me that these "skeleton shrimps" are a favorite dish of greedy pygmy seahorses! In short, my pretty Denise red and white pose in the middle of his pantry. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Only by displaying the image of this hippocampus Denise on the screen of my computer that I noticed the tiny skeletal shrimps around ... And a reader of the blog teaches me that these "skeleton shrimps" are a enjoy the pygmy seahorses! In short, my pretty Denise red and white pose in the middle of his pantry. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
This little pipefish or sea needle is part of the same family of fish as seahorses. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
This little pipefish or sea needle is part of the same family of fish as seahorses. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)

An "eye of lynx" guide

Obviously, the muck dive It is only interesting if we can see these little creatures hiding among all the debris of the substratum or in the recesses of the reefs. As they are often very endowed in camouflage and able to take surprising forms, the dives turn then into treasure hunts, with a suspense worthy of a safari, but for miniature animals. And when we immerse ourselves with a camera, in "hunting pictures" mode, it's very simple, we do not see the time pass ...

Very important detail: without an "eye of lynx" guide by your side, you risk missing many things. Some species are very small, others know very well how to blend in with their environment, and you have to know where to look.

All the success of diving is therefore often based on the guide and his talent for "Spotter", his experience of the site, his knowledge of the environment and wildlife, his enthusiasm of course - as well as his ability to communicate well underwater, to draw your attention to a fascinating detail, that you would never have noticed without him.

Perched on a sea urchin, this crabmother protects her eggs. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Perched on a sea urchin, this crabmother protects her eggs. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
This little monster is called "dragon shrimp". (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
This little monster is called "dragon shrimp". (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Shot in night diving, this small octopus with blue cupping takes the pose in the gray sand. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Shot in night diving, this small octopus with blue cupping takes the pose in the gray sand. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
This small, very photogenic fish (Oxycirrhites typus) is beautifully called woodcock or long-tailed hawk. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
This small, very photogenic fish (Oxycirrhites typus) is beautifully called woodcock or long-tailed hawk. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
By the time I took the picture, I did not even notice that this shrimp had painted nails! (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017
By the time I took the picture, I did not even notice that this shrimp had painted nails! (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017
Without my guide Herbert, I would never have seen this beautiful rhinopias, a mauve yet bright on the gray background. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Without my guide Herbert, I would never have seen this beautiful rhinopias, a mauve yet bright on the gray background. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Nudibranch Aplysia parvula, family of "sea hares". (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Nudibranch Aplysia parvula, family of "sea hares". (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Each grain of sand is like a big piece for this nudibranch. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Each grain of sand is like a big stone for this nudibranch. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Yes, that too is a nudibranch! (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Yes, that too is a nudibranch! (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
A nudibranch more "classic", with its small gills at the back of the body. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
A more "classic" nudibranch, with its small gills at the back of the body. (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
A small flaming cuttlefish presents me its best profile in the gray sand. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
A small flaming cuttlefish presents me its best profile in the gray sand. (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)

Planet Dive and Three P Divers

Ah, the guides! As they are precious, as I am grateful to them ...

In Planet Dive in AnilaoI had recourse to the services of the adorable Herbert, always calm and benevolent. Native of the region, father of three teenagers, owner of his boats, he is of an infinite patience with the whims of the photographers and very attentive with the chilly divers, who are treated in princesses (nod to my partner Lise) . In particular, he introduced aboard his banca (The traditional Philippine boat with rockers), a service that is for me five stars, supreme luxury: the distribution of hot towels (yes, like those given by the hostesses on the plane) to warm these ladies refrigerated by 90 minutes Immersion (yes, I am refrigerated while diving in a sea at 26 ° C). A little hot water poured a thermos, a mini-cooler to keep everything at temperature, and voila!

With Herbert, my guide "eye of lynx". (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
With Herbert, my guide "eye of lynx". (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
Princess Lise takes the pose ... (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)
My friend and partner Lise takes her princess pose ... (Anilao, Philippines, March 2017)

In Three P Divers in RomblonI did not have an official guide, but I was surrounded by an enthusiastic and passionate German-Filipino team, who worked wonders ... During my stay, I was accompanied by the fantastic Joseph, aka "Erap", 50 kilos all wet and "find-all" of genius, who knows where live all the nudibranchs of the district (especially the very rare and the very young), as well as Philipp, Fabia and Kati, experts in marine biology, who know all the species and transform each dive into a captivating exploration worthy of National Geographic

With Joseph "Erap", the king of nudibranchs in Romblon. (Philippines, March 2017)
With Joseph "Erap", the king of nudibranchs in Romblon. (Philippines, March 2017)
Philipp and his three layers of combi ... (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)
Philipp (one of the three "P" of the Three P Divers center, founded with his brothers Patrick and Peter) never dive without three thicknesses of combi ... (Romblon, Philippines, March 2017)

In short, without them, I would not have had so much fun with my new toy. No wonder at every dive.

To say that was not returned to the Philippines, since my previous trip to Visayas in 2008! I come back delighted by this small special macrophotography stay, which I would have liked to have extended for a week or two, to add the big beasts of the reef. Tubbataha. This will be the pretext for a future trip ... 😎

Note that for once, I was not alone for the duration of the trip, a couple of Paris friends having joined me for a few days in Anilao (hello Lise and Thomas!). A big thank you also to Olivier du site Asiaqua.com (based right now in Anilao and I already had crossed in Thailand in 2009): at the time of stalling reservations, we opted for the ease my friend Lise and me, by delegating the organization (à la carte and small onions) of our respective stays ...

Here. I wanted to ask that in preamble to the other posts to come on this trip. For you to understand why, unlike my previous diving trip to Egypt, there will be almost only photos in macro mode, under water ... 😉

The more I dive, the more I am fascinated by the extraordinary wealth of the underwater world, whether XXL or Lilliputian. The more I am aware of the fragility of this ecosystem, where everything is linked, interdependent. And the more I measure the chance that I have been able, for almost twenty years, to observe so many animals in their natural marine environment. Not sure it's still possible in twenty years ...

  Philippines: Anilao + Romblon - March 2017

278 Shares
Share253
Tweet23
Pine1
Share1

Cyerce nigra est une espèce de nudibranche rare, très recherchée par les photographes sous-marins et que l'on peut observer à Romblon. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Cyerce nigra est une espèce de nudibranche rare, très recherchée par les photographes sous-marins et que l'on peut observer à Romblon. (Philippines, mars 2017)

Plonger dans un autre monde aux Philippines

  Philippines : Anilao + Romblon - mars 2017

Voyager léger, je ne sais plus ce que c’est ! En mars, je suis partie plonger aux Philippines. Avec, dans mes bagages, un encombrant attirail pour photographier la faune minuscule qui vit sous l’eau.

Embarquement immédiat

Je vous épargne les ruses que j’ai dû déployer à l’aéroport pour donner l’impression que mon sac cabine, renfermant tout ce précieux barda photographique, ne pesait rien du tout…

(Ce sujet mérite un post à lui tout seul, j’y reviendrai, d’autant que pour la première fois de ma vie de voyageuse-plongeuse-photographe, je me suis fait griller entre deux avions, à l’escale, à Dubaï, par un contrôle balance inopiné établissant que mon sac-cabine pesait plus de 7kg et ça m’a coûté le budget de plusieurs plongées… 😱 )

Quant à mon équipement de plongée, pas de souci, lui, il va en soute dans le gros sac à roulettes. (Et je réponds ici à la question que me posent souvent des amis non-plongeurs, un peu effarés par ma logistique : non, je ne transporte pas de bouteilles de plongée ni de plombs avec moi ! ! ! Ils sont fournis sur place par les centres de plongée.)

Bref. Les bagages lourds mais le cœur léger, je me suis donc (encore) envolée pour l’Asie ! Cap sur les Philippines, cette fois, avec un nouveau jouet, que j’étais très impatiente d’essayer : un objectif 100mm « macro » (pour « macrophotographie »), plus puissant et plus piqué que mon ancien 60mm…

Le petit bazar que je me coltine en voyage pour pouvoir faire des photos sous l'eau... À droite, mon appareil avec son nouvel objectif 100mm macro. Seuls les éléments les plus fragiles, à savoir l'appareil photo et les objectifs, son caisson et ses hublots, restent dans mon sac cabine. Je mets tout le reste en soute. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Le petit bazar que je me coltine en voyage pour pouvoir faire des photos sous l’eau… À droite, mon appareil avec son nouvel objectif 100mm macro. Seuls les éléments les plus fragiles, à savoir l’appareil photo et les objectifs, son caisson et ses hublots, restent dans mon sac cabine. Je mets tout le reste en soute. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Et voilà ! L'appareil est prêt à m'accompagner sous l'eau ! (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Et voilà ! L’appareil est prêt à m’accompagner sous l’eau ! (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Mon jouet, au fond du bateau. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Mon jouet, au fond du bateau. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)

Sans entrer dans les détails techniques, cet objectif fonctionne un peu comme une grosse loupe et permet de photographier de toutes petites bêtes, de quelques centimètres à quelques millimètres. Sur terre, les mordus d’insectes l’utilisent pour immortaliser les abeilles ou les fourmis. Moi, je l’ai emmené sous l’eau et braqué sur des crevettes minuscules, des hippocampes pygmées et des nudibranches (qui portent aussi le nom moins ragoûtant de limaces de mer)

Bienvenue dans le monde extraordinaire de la macrophotographie sous-marine ! 😍

Une minuscule crevette sur sa branche de corail. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Une minuscule crevette sur sa branche de corail. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Un délicat hippocampe pygmée bargibanti rose. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Un délicat hippocampe pygmée bargibanti rose. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Nudibranche Cuthona yamasui. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Nudibranche Cuthona yamasui. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Mon doigt à côté d'un minuscule nudibranche... Ça donne une meilleure idée de l'échelle ! (Romblon, Philippines, 2017)
Mon doigt à côté d’un minuscule nudibranche… Ça donne une meilleure idée de la taille de certaines bestioles ! (Romblon, Philippines, 2017)

Anilao et Romblon

Pour étrenner ce nouvel objectif, après bien des hésitations, j’ai sélectionné deux spots précis aux Philippines : Anilao et Romblon.

Anilao est un village situé sur une péninsule du sud-ouest de l’île de Luzon, à 3-4 heures de route au sud de Manille, la capitale. Cette partie du littoral est devenue populaire chez les plongeurs et le nom d’Anilao désigne aujourd’hui l’ensemble de cette région côtière, riche en microfaune sous-marine et propice à la macrophotographie subaquatique, où se sont développés quantité d’hôtels et resorts dédiés à cette activité.

La terrasse du centre Planet Dive, à Anilao. (Philippines, mars 2017)
La terrasse du centre Planet Dive, à Anilao. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Herbert, mon guide "œil de lynx" chez Planet Dive. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Herbert, mon guide « œil de lynx » chez Planet Dive. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Très sympa, la vue le matin, de ma terrasse ! (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Très sympa, la vue le matin, de ma terrasse ! (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Chaque soir, le ciel d'Anilao s'embrase pour des couchers de soleil somptueux. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Chaque soir, le ciel d’Anilao s’embrase pour des couchers de soleil somptueux. (Philippines, mars 2017)

Romblon est une petite île paisible, située au sud-est d’Anilao, à environ 8 heures de ferry, à l’écart des circuits touristiques. C’est la capitale du marbre aux Philippines. C’est aussi un spot de plongée encore pas très connu, où les photographes sous-marins accros à la « super-macro » s’extasient sur des espèces rares de nudibranches translucides et des crevettes chevelues presque invisibles à l’œil nu !

Bienvenue à Romblon, la capitale du marbre. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Bienvenue à Romblon, la capitale du marbre. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Les eaux azur de Romblon. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Les eaux azur de Romblon. (Philippines, mars 2017)
En faisant le tour de l'île, on trouve des plages sauvages, désertes. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
En faisant le tour de l’île, on trouve des plages sauvages, désertes. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Retour des plongeurs à travers la mangrove, en fin de journée. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Retour des plongeurs à travers la mangrove à marée basse, en fin de journée. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)

Muck-dive

Anilao et Romblon sont donc des spots bien particuliers. On me demande souvent des conseils sur les sites de plongée en Asie alors je précise d’emblée que ces deux-là ne conviendront pas à tous les plongeurs et sans doute pas du tout aux snorkelers (nageurs en palmes-masque-tuba). Car la spécialité du coin, comme dans le détroit de Lembeh, en Indonésie, c’est plutôt la « muck dive », qu’on pourrait traduire par « plongée vaseuse ».

En fait de vase, le terme muck dives désigne des plongées sur un fond pas vraiment spectaculaire ni très engageant de prime abord. À Anilao et Romblon, il s’agit le plus souvent d’un mélange de sable et de débris de coraux morts, agrémenté çà et là de quelques « bosquets » et patates de corail.

On y fait des plongées d’observation, qui demandent patience et passion. Car ce substrat qui semble sans attrait aux yeux novices constitue l’habitat de quantité de petits crustacés, mollusques et poissons extraordinaires. Ça grouille de vie ! Et à Anilao et Romblon, la diversité des espèces est remarquable. Les scientifiques continuent d’en découvrir de nouvelles chaque année !

Notez qu’il y a tout de même des sites coralliens « normaux » à Romblon et Anilao, où frétille l’habituelle faune sous-marine des eaux tropicales (à ne pas rater, le magnifique récif Beatrice, près de Sombrero Island, au large d’Anilao). Mais en général, on n’y va qu’une ou deux fois pendant le séjour, entre deux muck dives, pour varier les plaisirs… L’activité des centres de plongée du coin est principalement tournée vers l’observation de la microfaune et la macrophotographie.

Aux Philippines, les plongées se font depuis des bangkas, ces bateaux traditionnels à balanciers. (Anilao, mars 2017)
Aux Philippines, les plongées se font depuis des bancas, ces bateaux traditionnels à balanciers. (Anilao, mars 2017)
Près de Sombrero Island, au large d'Anilao, le site Beatrice offre une explosion de couleurs et de vie corallienne. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Près de Sombrero Island, au large d’Anilao, le site Beatrice est une explosion de couleurs et de vie corallienne. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Le nudibranche papillon Yerce elegans, avec ses excroissance translucides, fait partie des raretés convoitées par les photographes sous-marins. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Le nudibranche papillon Cyerce elegans, avec ses excroissances translucides, fait partie des raretés convoitées par les photographes sous-marins. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Dans la même famille, Cyerce nigra est une espèce de nudibranche rare, pareillement très recherchée par les photographes sous-marins et que l'on peut observer à Romblon. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Dans la même famille, Cyerce nigra est une espèce de nudibranche rare, pareillement très recherchée par les photographes sous-marins et que l’on peut observer à Romblon. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Cette espèce de nudibranche est assez commune, très répandue dans le secteur. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Cette espèce de nudibranche est plus commune, très répandue dans le secteur. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Un petit poisson-crapaud (antennaire) clown. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Un petit poisson-crapaud (antennaire) clown. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce nudibranche semble porter un cœur sur son dos. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce nudibranche semble porter un cœur sur son dos. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Un ver plat redresse sa "tête" sur un monticule de grains de sable. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Un ver plat redresse sa « tête » sur un monticule de grains de sable. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce n'est qu'en affichant l'image de cet hippocampe Denise sur l'écran de mon ordinateur que j'ai remarqué les minuscules crevettes squelettiques tout autour... Et une lectrice du blog m'apprend que ces « skeleton shrimps » sont un mets fort apprécié des hippocampes pygmées goulus ! Bref, mon joli Denise rouge et blanc pose au milieu de son garde-manger. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce n’est qu’en affichant l’image de cet hippocampe Denise sur l’écran de mon ordinateur que j’ai remarqué les minuscules crevettes squelettiques tout autour… Et une lectrice du blog m’apprend que ces « skeleton shrimps » sont un mets fort apprécié des hippocampes pygmées goulus ! Bref, mon joli Denise rouge et blanc pose au milieu de son garde-manger. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce petit syngnathe ou aiguille de mer fait partie de la même famille de poissons que les hippocampes. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce petit syngnathe ou aiguille de mer fait partie de la même famille de poissons que les hippocampes. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)

Un guide « œil de lynx »

Évidemment, la muck dive n’a d’intérêt que si l’on parvient à voir ces petites créatures qui se planquent parmi tous les débris du substrat ou dans les recoins des récifs. Comme elles sont souvent très douées en camouflage et capables de revêtir des formes surprenantes, les plongées se transforment alors en chasses au trésor, avec un suspense digne d’un safari, mais pour des animaux miniatures. Et quand on s’immerge avec un appareil photo, en mode « chasse aux images », c’est bien simple, on ne voit pas le temps passer…

Détail très important : sans un guide « œil de lynx » à vos côtés, vous risquez de passer à côté de beaucoup de choses. Certaines espèces sont très petites, d’autres savent très bien se confondre avec leur environnement, et puis il faut aussi savoir où chercher.

Toute la réussite de la plongée repose donc souvent sur le guide et son talent de « spotter », son expérience du site, sa connaissance du milieu et de la faune, son enthousiasme aussi bien sûr – ainsi que sur sa capacité à bien communiquer sous l’eau, pour attirer votre attention sur un détail fascinant, que jamais vous n’auriez remarqué sans lui.

Juchée sur un oursin, cette maman crabe protège ses œufs. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Juchée sur un oursin, cette maman crabe protège ses œufs. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce petit monstre se fait appeler "crevette dragon". (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce petit monstre se fait appeler « crevette dragon ». (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Photographié en plongée de nuit, ce petit poulpe aux ventouses bleu prend la pose dans le sable gris. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Photographié en plongée de nuit, ce petit poulpe aux ventouses bleues prend la pose dans le sable gris. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce petit poisson très photogénique (Oxycirrhites typus) est joliment appelé bécasse à carreaux ou épervier à nez long. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Ce petit poisson très photogénique (Oxycirrhites typus) est joliment appelé bécasse à carreaux ou épervier à nez long. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Au moment où j'ai pris la photo, je n'avais même pas remarqué que cette crevette avait les ongles peints ! (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017
Au moment où j’ai pris la photo, je n’avais même pas remarqué que cette crevette avait les ongles peints ! (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017
Sans mon guide Herbert, jamais je n'aurais vu ce beau rhinopias, d'un mauve pourtant éclatant sur le fond gris. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Sans mon guide Herbert, jamais je n’aurais vu ce beau rhinopias, d’un mauve pourtant éclatant sur le fond gris. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Nudibranche Aplysia parvula, de la famille des "lièvres de mer". (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Nudibranche Aplysia parvula, de la famille des « lièvres de mer ». (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Chaque grain de sable est comme une grosse pièce pour ce nudibranche. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Chaque grain de sable est comme une grosse pierre pour ce nudibranche. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Oui, ça aussi c'est un nudibranche ! (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Oui, ça aussi c’est un nudibranche ! (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Un nudibranche plus "classique", avec son petit toupet de branchies à l'arrière du corps. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Un nudibranche plus « classique », avec son petit toupet de branchies à l’arrière du corps. (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Une petite seiche flamboyante me présente son meilleur profil dans le sable gris. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Une petite seiche flamboyante me présente son meilleur profil dans le sable gris. (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)

Planet Dive et Three P Divers

Ah, les guides ! Comme ils sont précieux, comme je leur suis reconnaissante…

Chez Planet Dive à Anilao, j’ai eu recours aux services de l’adorable Herbert, toujours calme et bienveillant. Originaire de la région, père de trois ados, propriétaire de ses bateaux, il est d’une patience infinie avec les caprices des photographes et très prévenant avec les plongeuses frileuses, qui sont traitées en princesses (clin d’œil à ma binôme Lise). Il a notamment instauré à bord de sa banca (le bateau traditionnel philippin à balanciers), un service qui relève pour moi du cinq étoiles, du luxe suprême : la distribution de serviettes brûlantes (oui, comme celles que donnent les hôtesses dans l’avion) pour réchauffer ces dames frigorifiées par 90 minutes d’immersion (oui, je suis frigorifiée en plongée dans une mer à 26°C). Un peu d’eau chaude versée d’une thermos, une mini-glacière pour conserver le tout à température, et le tour est joué !

Avec Herbert, mon guide "œil de lynx". (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Avec Herbert, mon guide « œil de lynx ». (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
La princesse Lise prend la pose... (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)
Mon amie et binôme Lise prend sa pose de princesse… (Anilao, Philippines, mars 2017)

Chez Three P Divers à Romblon, je n’ai pas eu de guide attitré, mais j’ai été entourée d’une équipe germano-philippine enthousiaste et passionnée, qui fait merveille… Durant mon séjour, se sont succédé à mes côtés le fantastique Joseph alias « Erap », 50 kilos tout mouillé et « trouve-tout » de génie, qui sait où vivent tous les nudibranches du quartier (surtout les très rares et les tout petits), ainsi que Philipp, Fabia et Kati, experts en biologie marine, qui connaissent toutes les espèces et transforment chaque plongée en exploration captivante digne du National Geographic

Avec Joseph "Erap", le roi des nudibranches à Romblon. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Avec Joseph « Erap », le roi des nudibranches à Romblon. (Philippines, mars 2017)
Philipp et ses trois épaisseurs de combi... (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)
Philipp (l’un des trois « P » du centre Three P Divers, fondé avec ses frères Patrick et Peter) ne plonge jamais sans trois épaisseurs de combi… (Romblon, Philippines, mars 2017)

Bref, sans eux, je ne me serais pas autant amusée avec mon nouveau jouet. Ni émerveillée à chaque plongée.

Dire que n’étais pas retournée aux Philippines, depuis mon précédent voyage de 2008 aux Visayas ! Je reviens enchantée de ce petit séjour spécial macrophotographie, que j’aurais bien aimé prolonger d’une semaine ou deux, pour y ajouter les grosses bêtes du récif de Tubbataha. Ce sera le prétexte d’un prochain voyage… 😎

À noter que pour une fois, je n’étais pas en solo pour toute la durée du voyage, un couple d’amis parisiens m’ayant rejointe pour quelques jours à Anilao (coucou Lise et Thomas !). Un grand merci aussi à Olivier du site Asiaqua.com (basé en ce moment sur place, à Anilao et que j’avais déjà croisé en Thaïlande en 2009) : au moment de caler les réservations, on a opté pour la facilité mon amie Lise et moi, en lui déléguant l’organisation (à la carte et aux petits oignons) de nos séjours respectifs…

Voilà. Je voulais poser ça en préambule aux autres posts à venir sur ce voyage. Pour que vous compreniez pourquoi, à la différence de ma précédente escapade plongée en Égypte, il n’y aura quasiment que des photos en mode macro, sous l’eau… 😉

Plus je plonge, plus je suis fascinée par l’extraordinaire richesse du monde sous-marin, qu’il soit XXL ou lilliputien. Plus j’ai conscience aussi de la fragilité de cet écosystème, où tout est lié, interdépendant. Et plus je mesure la chance que j’ai d’avoir pu, depuis près d’une vingtaine d’années, observer tant d’animaux dans leur environnement marin naturel. Pas sûr que ce soit encore possible dans vingt ans…

  Philippines : Anilao + Romblon - mars 2017

278 Partages
Partagez253
Tweetez23
Enregistrer1
Partagez1