In front of the monument to the dead of the attacks of 2002. (Kuta, Bali)
In front of the monument to the dead of the attacks of 2002. (Kuta, Bali)

Strange souvenir photo

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

In Bali, just walk up Legian Street, Kuta, to find the monument to the dead of the attacks of October 12, 2002. The two bombs that exploded that night at the bar paddy's and at the disco Sari Club killed 202 people. Today, we see people being photographed in front of the list of victims. Funny idea ...

All those whom I saw thus taking the pose, at the foot of the monument, were Asians. Tourists, no doubt.

In front of the monument to the dead of the attacks of 2002. (Kuta, Bali)
In front of the monument to the dead of the attacks of 2002. (Kuta, Bali)

In Paris, Japanese or Chinese tourist groups are well known, with their devices around their necks. It's cliché, but it's a bit true: Asian tourists love to take pictures.

Usually, this craze to always want to photograph everything amuses me a lot. As an Occidental, I am often asked, in tourist places in Asia, to be asked for the photo-souvenir: I am asked to pose, with someone or with a group, so much I am "Exotic" in these countries. The funniest are young people, boys and girls, who come to ask permission to photograph me with their mobile phone ...

But there, in front of the war memorial, it made me a little hallucinated, the ritual of the photo-souvenir. How to say ... even six years later, it's a macabre limit.

The perpetrator of the 2002 attacks is a commando of the Jemaah Islamiyah, Asian Islamist group. Australia paid the highest price with 88 victims. Among the dead, whose names are engraved in gold letters on black marble, 38 Indonesians, 22 British, 7 Americans and 4 French. On 1 October 2005, new attacks hit Bali's tourist spots, killing 22 people in Kuta and Jimbaran.

Thirty-three people were tried and sentenced for the Bali bombings of 2002. Three Indonesian Islamists, sentenced to death in 2003, are due to be executed soon. Maybe before Ramadan, in September.

The association Together Against the Death Penalty (ECPM) reminds us, in a statement of 18 July 2008, the appeal launched by the father of a young Australian killed in these attacks: he asks that the death sentence of the three men be commuted to life imprisonment.

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

  1. It's true that it's weird to take a picture in front of a war memorial ... maybe they do not know what it is.
    But for Asians they have the decency not to make a V of the hand in front of this monument!

  2. @ Marie-Net:

    Fortunately, yes, no V with your fingers as we see so often ... There, it would have been downright inappropriate. I think all the people I saw there knew what it was all about. Especially since it is written on it.

    But if they have taken the pose in front of the war memorial, it is mostly out of habit, I imagine. Because they do it in front of all the memorable places they visit. To remember, and to show that they came there. Without thinking of bad.

    It is a place of very sinister memory, in any case. I did not linger ...

  3. @ Denis: My faith is super-exotic, the table of departures from the station Saint-Lazare ... for a Japanese !!!
    😆

    In Bali, I had to intrigue and make quite a lot of people laugh, too, for example to photograph baskets of offerings on the ground, some stalls at the market or piles of seaweed close up.
    🙄

    But I'm still not to be photographed in front of a monument to the dead ...
    😕

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Devant le monument aux morts des attentats de 2002. (Kuta, Bali)
Devant le monument aux morts des attentats de 2002. (Kuta, Bali)

Étrange photo-souvenir

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

À Bali, il suffit de remonter Legian Street, à Kuta, pour tomber sur le monument aux morts des attentats du 12 octobre 2002. Les deux bombes qui ont explosé ce soir-là au bar Paddy’s et à la discothèque Sari Club ont tué 202 personnes. Aujourd’hui, on voit des gens se faire prendre en photo devant la liste des victimes. Drôle d’idée…

Tous ceux que j’ai vus ainsi prendre la pose, au pied du monument, étaient des Asiatiques. Des touristes, sans doute.

Devant le monument aux morts des attentats de 2002. (Kuta, Bali)
Devant le monument aux morts des attentats de 2002. (Kuta, Bali)

À Paris, on connaît bien les groupes de touristes japonais ou chinois, avec leurs appareils autour du cou. Ça fait cliché, mais c’est un peu vrai : les touristes asiatiques adorent prendre des photos.

D’ordinaire, cette manie de toujours vouloir tout photographier m’amuse beaucoup. En tant qu’Occidentale, il m’arrive même souvent, dans des lieux touristiques en Asie, d’être sollicitée pour la photo-souvenir : on me demande de prendre la pose, avec quelqu’un ou avec un groupe, tant je suis “exotique” en ces contrées. Les plus drôles, ce sont les jeunes, les garçons comme les filles, qui viennent demander la permission de me photographier avec leur téléphone portable…

Mais là, devant le monument aux morts, ça m’a un peu hallucinée, le rituel de la photo-souvenir. Comment dire… même six ans après, c’est limite macabre.

L’auteur des attentats de 2002 est un commando de la Jemaah Islamiyah, groupe islamiste asiatique. L’Australie a payé le plus lourd tribut, avec 88 victimes. Parmi les morts, dont les noms sont gravés en lettres d’or sur le marbre noir, 38 Indonésiens, 22 Britanniques, 7 Américains et 4 Français. Le 1er octobre 2005, de nouveaux attentats ont touché des lieux touristiques de Bali, faisant 22 morts à Kuta et Jimbaran.

Trente-trois personnes ont été jugées et condamnées pour les attentats de Bali de 2002. Trois islamistes indonésiens, condamnés à la peine capitale dès 2003, doivent être exécutés prochainement. Peut-être avant le Ramadan, en septembre.

L’association Ensemble contre la peine de mort (ECPM) nous rappelle, dans un communiqué du 18 juillet 2008, l’appel lancé par le père d’un jeune Australien tué dans ces attentats : il demande à ce que la condamnation à mort des trois hommes soit commuée en réclusion à perpétuité.

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

  1. C’est vrai que c’est bizarre de se prendre en photo devant un monument aux morts… peut-être qu’ils ne savent pas ce que c’est.
    Mais pour des asiatiques ils ont la décence de ne pas faire un V de la main devant ce monument !

  2. @ Marie-Net :

    Heureusement, oui, pas de V avec les doigts comme on le voit si souvent… Là, ça aurait été carrément déplacé. Je pense que tous ces gens que j’ai vus là savaient de quoi il s’agissait, quand même. D’autant que c’est écrit dessus.

    Mais s’ils ont cependant pris la pose devant le monument aux morts, c’est surtout par habitude, j’imagine. Parce qu’ils le font devant tous les lieux mémorables qu’ils visitent. Pour se rappeler, et pour montrer qu’ils sont venus là. Sans penser à mal.

    C’est un lieu de bien sinistre mémoire, en tout cas. Je ne me suis pas attardée…

  3. @ Denis : Ma foi, c’est super-exotique, le tableau des départs de la gare Saint-Lazare… pour un Japonais!!!
    😆

    À Bali, j’ai dû intriguer et faire rire pas mal de gens, moi aussi, à photographier par exemple les paniers d’offrandes par terre, certains étals au marché ou les tas d’algues en gros plan.
    🙄

    Mais je n’en suis quand même pas encore à me faire photographier devant un monument aux morts…
    😕

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez