Back to Island Retreat. (Togian Islands, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Back to Island Retreat. (Togian Islands, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2008.)

Earthquake underwater

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2007

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


This is one of the strangest dives I've done. Feel the earth tremble ... under water, it's really a funny thing. It was in Indonesia, in Sulawesi, in July 2007. In the Togian Islands, exactly.

Togian, a little paradise far from everything

I spent a whole week there, on a tiny beach of Batu Daka Island, near the village of Bomba, far from everything. Enjoy the pleasure of doing nothing. To contemplate the sea, to walk, to dive.

The bungalows of the Island Retreat Resort, in the Togian Islands. (Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2008.)
The bungalows of the Island Retreat Resort, in the Togian Islands. (Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2008.)

It's an incredible place, a miniature tropical paradise, beautiful. I stay at Island Retreat, a handful of wooden bungalows, all simple, facing the azure water.

That morning, Uwe, the German instructor who organizes the dives, takes us to a site not too far away, Bulu Tuko. My Dutch friends Suzanna and Johan dive with me. Their children accompany us, but will stay on the boat to snorkel. Fabian and Stefanie, a very nice young German couple, who have been scoting on the island for a fortnight, complete the team.

For the crossing, the diving equipment is piled up between us, in the middle of the boat ... (Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2008.)
For the crossing, the diving equipment is piled up between us, in the middle of the boat ... (Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2008.)

We huddle happily on the boat. Not really designed for diving, it is also used for shopping and long trips to Ampana, Sulawesi. The weather is nice, the sea is not too rough, we arrive quickly enough to the site. No other boat on the horizon.

Under water

It's a beautiful falling. The coral has suffered a little, it shows (the warming of the water, dynamite), but it is being reformed. Beautiful tubular sponges stand here and there. There are many caves and niches not too deep, in the 12-14 meters, to explore.

We are moving slowly. Uwe is ahead with Suzanna and Johan, Fabian and Stefanie are behind me. The usual tropical fauna is there. Nice processions of angelfish and butterflies, many small yellow and purple two-tone fishes, royal dottybacks in English, nudibranchs, anemone shrimps, giant clams ... I make some pictures.

nudibranch

And then, half dive (it's been almost 30 minutes that we are in the water), a dull roar invades everything. The sound is impressive, a little scary. It lasts a few seconds.

Underwater, you can never know which direction a sound comes from. The waves do not diffuse as in the air. This roar seems to come from nowhere. We raise our heads to the surface, we turn around, we look at each other, wide-eyed astonished behind our masks. It looks like the engine of a boat coming overhead.

But there is nothing. Our boat was moored. There is no other in the area. Everything seems normal. Uwe shrugs, checks our air conso, and we finish the dive quietly.

Back to Island Retreat

When we return to the surface, we remain perplexed. The guys on the boat and the kids did not notice anything special.

Back to Island Retreat. (Togian Islands, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2008.)
Back to Island Retreat. (Togian Islands, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2008.)

It is only once returned to the island that we will have the explanation. The earth trembled. A little shake, as it happens regularly, here.

A few days ago, already, on the beach of Lake Poso, I woke up in the middle of the night, with the strange sensation that my bungalow, hard, nevertheless, had vibrated. The next day our guide Ynus confirmed that I had not dreamed. He too perceived this slight night earthquake.

AT Island Retreatother customers confirm the time. It corresponds to the moment when we were under water. Everyone has felt the ground shudder, some say that even the pillars and roofs of the bungalows have moved a little.

The Indonesian archipelago is on the "belt of fire" Pacific. The island of Batu Daka is only about thirty kilometers from that of Una-Una and its volcano, always active, the Gunung Colo. The land is alive in the Togians.

On that day, it was only a slight tremor, of no consequence. But I never imagined I would feel the breath of the earth underwater!

😮

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2007

Share
Tweet
Pin
Share

Retour à Island Retreat. (Togian Islands, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Retour à Island Retreat. (Togian Islands, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)

Tremblement de terre sous l’eau

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2007

C’est l’une des plongées les plus étranges que j’ai faites. Sentir la terre trembler… sous l’eau, c’est vraiment un drôle de truc. C’était en Indonésie, à Sulawesi, en juillet 2007. Dans les îles Togian, exactement.

Togian, un petit paradis loin de tout

J’ai passé une semaine entière là-bas, sur une plage minuscule de l’île de Batu Daka, près du village de Bomba, loin de tout. À savourer le plaisir de ne rien faire. À contempler la mer, à me promener, à plonger.

Les bungalows du resort Island Retreat, aux îles Togian. (Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Les bungalows du resort Island Retreat, aux îles Togian. (Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)

C’est un endroit incroyable, un paradis tropical miniature, superbe. Je loge à Island Retreat, une poignée de bungalows en bois, tout simples, face à l’eau azur.

Ce matin-là, Uwe, l’instructeur allemand qui organise les plongées, nous emmène sur un site pas trop éloigné, Bulu Tuko. Mes amis hollandais Suzanna et Johan plongent avec moi. Leurs enfants nous accompagnent, mais resteront sur le bateau à faire du snorkeling. Fabian et Stefanie, un jeune couple d’Allemands très sympas, qui scotchent sur l’île depuis quinze jours, complètent la palanquée.

Pour la traversée, on entasse le matériel de plongée entre nous, au milieu du bateau... (Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Pour la traversée, on entasse le matériel de plongée entre nous, au milieu du bateau… (Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)

On s’entasse gaiement sur le bateau. Pas vraiment conçu pour la plongée, il sert aussi à faire les courses et les longues traversées jusqu’à Ampana, sur Sulawesi. Il fait beau, la mer n’est pas trop agitée, on arrive assez vite au site. Aucun autre bateau à l’horizon.

Sous l’eau

C’est un beau tombant. Le corail a un peu souffert, ça se voit (le réchauffement de l’eau, la dynamite), mais il est en cours de reformation. De belles éponges tubulaires se dressent çà et là. Il y a de nombreuses grottes et niches pas trop profondes, dans les 12-14 mètres, à explorer.

Nous évoluons tranquillement. Uwe est devant avec Suzanna et Johan, Fabian et Stefanie sont derrière moi. La faune tropicale habituelle est là. Jolis cortèges de poissons-anges et papillons, beaucoup de petits poissons bicolores jaune et mauve, royal dottybacks en anglais, des nudibranches, des crevettes d’anémone, des bénitiers… Je fais quelques images.

Nudibranche

Et puis, à mi-plongée (cela fait près de 30 minutes que nous sommes dans l’eau), un grondement sourd envahit tout. Le son est impressionnant, un peu effrayant. Ça dure quelques secondes.

Sous l’eau, on ne peut jamais savoir de quelle direction vient un son. Les ondes ne se diffusent pas comme dans l’air. Ce grondement semble venu de nulle part. On lève la tête vers la surface, on se retourne, on se regarde les uns les autres, en écarquillant des yeux étonnés derrière nos masques. Ça ressemble au moteur d’un bateau qui viendrait de se mettre en route au-dessus de nos têtes.

Mais il n’y a rien. Notre bateau est resté à l’amarre. Il n’y en a pas d’autre dans le coin. Tout semble normal. Uwe hausse les épaules, vérifie notre conso d’air, et on termine la plongée tranquillement.

Retour à Island Retreat

Au retour à la surface, on reste perplexes. Les gars du bateau et les enfants n’ont rien remarqué de particulier.

Retour à Island Retreat. (Togian Islands, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Retour à Island Retreat. (Togian Islands, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)

Ce n’est qu’une fois rentrés sur l’île que nous aurons l’explication. La terre a tremblé. Une petite secousse, comme il s’en produit régulièrement, ici.

Quelques jours plus tôt, déjà, sur la plage du lac Poso, je m’étais réveillée au milieu de la nuit, avec la sensation étrange que mon bungalow, en dur, pourtant, avait vibré. Le lendemain, notre guide Ynus m’a confirmé que je n’avais pas rêvé. Lui aussi a perçu ce léger tremblement de terre nocturne.

À Island Retreat, d’autres clients nous confirment l’heure. Ça correspond au moment où on était sous l’eau. Tous ont bien senti le sol frémir, certains disent que même les piliers et toitures des bungalows ont un peu bougé.

L’archipel indonésien est sur la “ceinture de feu” du Pacifique. L’île de Batu Daka n’est qu’à une trentaine de kilomètres de celle d’Una-Una et de son volcan, toujours actif, le Gunung Colo. La terre est vivante aux Togian.

Ce jour-là, il ne s’agissait que d’une légère secousse, sans conséquence. Mais jamais je n’aurais imaginé sentir le souffle de la terre sous l’eau !

 :-o

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2007

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez