Rice granaries, with the roof "tongkonan", typical of the country Toraja. Sulawesi, July 2010.
Rice granaries, with the roof "tongkonan", typical of the country Toraja. Sulawesi, July 2010.

Tana Toraja, I'm back

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2010

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Rantepao, finally! The ideal place to visit for the villages and rice fields of the Toraja country, called here Tana Toraja. We are almost in the center of the island of Sulawesi.

Review the country Toraja

Since Makassar, it takes more eight hours by bus to arrive in Toraja country, called here Tana Toraja.

The area is so beautiful, and made me feel so strong when my first trip to Sulawesi in 2007Three years ago I decided to go back.

I am not disappointed. I spent four fantastic days in Toraja country! Just seeing the slender curve of the roofs again tongkonan, typical of the region, made me warm to the heart.

Rice granaries, with the roof "tongkonan", typical of the country Toraja. Sulawesi, July 2010.
Rice granaries, with the "tongkonan" roof, typical of the Toraja country.
A buffalo in the rice fields of Toraja country. Sulawesi, July 2010.
A buffalo in the rice fields of Toraja country.
A becak driver (pronounced "betchak") is waiting for the customer in a street in Rantepao. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 2010.
A becak (pronounced "betchak") driver is waiting for the customer on a street in Rantepao.

Arrival in Rantepao

When I get off the night bus at around 6.30 am, I train Sebastian, the young Norwegian who was traveling in the seat next to mine, to the restaurant. Rimanat the north end of town for a well deserved breakfast.

Very good plan. While chatting with the patron of the place, we learn that a funeral ceremony takes place the same day, in Bori, a village located a few kilometers north of Rantepao. He offers us his services as a guide, of course.

It's not that we really need him, actually. If we rent a scooter, we can go on our own like adults. But Sebastian doesn't feel much like riding a bike, and I'm used to these little motorbikes local, I still prefer to be alone on it ... With a passenger in the back, I feel less assured.

The day is organized quickly and easily: Sebastian will ride on the back of our guide's bike, and I will rent one on my side that I will keep for several days to ride as I wish. We'll put our little things in the guesthouse... Wisma Monton that I know, a stone's throw away (it was my drop point too, three years ago). Time for a shower, to change, and drive!

Ceremony in Bori

It's crowded in Bori. Amazing detail, in this village: there are... menhirs! Finally, standing stones, in the local style.

It's a big ceremony, lasting several days. The deceased is someone important and the family is obviously rich: about twenty buffaloes and more than a hundred pigs will be slaughtered and butchered during the festivities.

It smells like gravel, burnt flesh... Roasted pig atmosphere, Toraja style! The meat is then served to the guests. What's left over is distributed or preserved.

Funeral ceremony in Bori. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, July 2010.
Funeral ceremony in Bori: it's roast pig day.

In the Toraja country, the relationship to death is singular. The deceased is kept at home, embalmed, for long months if necessary (sometimes several years, it seems, time to raise enough money), until the day of the official funeral, which is always organized in July and August.

As long as the ceremony has not taken place, the dead continues to be part of the world of the living. A bit like a person in a coma.

I invite you to reread what I wrote in 2007 on the subject, three years ago, and to watch my little video of the time (while waiting to discover the new images I shot in Bori), by following the link below:
→ Tana Toraja, it's stronger than you

Updated on November 28, 2010 : That's it, the video made in Bori is online! It gives a good idea of the atmosphere that reigns during these traditional funeral ceremonies in Toraja country. To see it, just follow this link:
→ Funeral Toraja: the video 

Funeral ceremony in Bori. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, July 2010.
Funeral ceremony in Bori. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, July 2010.
Funeral ceremony in Bori. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, July 2010.
Funeral ceremony in Bori. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, July 2010.
Funeral ceremony in Bori. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, July 2010.

Graves

And then, we do not bury the dead among the Torajas.

The graves are dug in the rocks or in the cliffs. Or we put the coffins in natural caves. The highest possible. In some sites, such as those of Lemo or Londa, one can also see tau-tau, the statues representing the deceased. They watch the visitors from the top of their stone balcony.

In Ket'e Kesu, a traditional village near Rantepao, there is a funeral site with ancient tombs suspended. Worn away by weather and humidity, some wooden coffins have been unhooked.

They now lie on the ground, offering the bones of the deceased for viewing. Indonesian tourists, who love to take each other's pictures, smile at the lens in front of the skulls. We even take the opportunity to make a group portrait with the French tourist! Yes, the relationship of Indonesians to the photo-souvenir is really particular ...

Funeral site of Londa. The big game is to take a picture of yourself in front of the bones. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Funeral site of Londa. The "game" consists of taking a picture of yourself in front of the bones.
Look for the intruder ... Photo session with a group of Indonesian tourists at the Londa site. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Look for the intruder ... Photo session with a group of Indonesian tourists at the Londa site.
The tau-tau of Londa. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
The tau-tau of Londa.
The caves of Londa, which are also tombs, are visited. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
The caves of Londa, which are also tombs, are visited.
Ket'e Kesu. The hanging tombs on the ground reveal the bones they contain. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Ket'e Kesu. The hanging tombs on the ground reveal the bones they contain.

Nothing morbid or sinister about it. At least, that's how I felt. The burial sites around Rantepao are part of the landscape. They are not sad, enclosed places like our cemeteries. At the bend of a road, a path, at the entrance of a village, in the middle of a rice field, one can come across a big round rock, pierced with graves. Some are decorated with a buffalo head, the Christian cross, topped with a tongkonan roof.

This is how. Death is not hidden. She is part of life.

Falls. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Tombs by the roadside, in the Toraja countryside.

Return

My first day in Toraja country, with this spectacular funeral ceremony, followed by a visit to the sites of Ket'e Kesu and Londa, is very similar to the one I experienced three years ago. A "classic" of the sightseeing tours.

But I like this feeling of "déjà vu". Coming back, rediscovering, reliving... Coming back to places I loved is also part of the joys of travel. It's a bit like going back to the thread of the previous journey.

The visit of the sites is only a pretext to discover the surroundings. The walk in itself, in the middle of rice fields, is enough for my happiness. It's sunny in the early morning and I tell myself that I would not like to be in the place of these little laborious figures that I see bent in the mud rice paddy, in full sun.

Along the road, the peasants win the rice or spread it on tarpaulins to dry it. People greet us cheerfully, others look at us with astonished eyes, children make fun of us ...

I was right to come back. It's so beautiful.

Paddy fields. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Church in Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Paddy fields. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.
The rice fields of Lemo. Toraja Country, Sulawesi, Indonesia. July 2010.

🙄

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2010

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Even without fish, I like it! 😈
    I like this kind of story that makes you realize that there are still corners of our planet where everything is not "globalized", and where people maintain a way of life that is not modeled on the USA or Europe.
    And also, your way of telling account! It is clear that you do not go out of a tourist bus following a highly organized circuit and necessarily "a little" sanitized during which we see perhaps many things, but we see them a little like on TV, with a great distance between reality.
    So keep riding local buses, mob, sleeping in small pensions... but don't forget the fish! 😉

  2. magnificent!!
    they are amazing these roofs, the landscapes are super beautiful, I like when you can mix dives and ground!
    Keep on going!

  3. I discover with wonder the atypical form of the roofs of the houses of this region ... a functional reason or a symbolism peculiar to this architecture ❓

  4. Nice pictures. We want to go there. 🙂
    What you say about the "déjà-vu" is very true. The fact of rediscovering, reliving, that feeling of familiarity, that of reconnecting with another piece of yarn when all this could have remained just a parenthesis. Good point 😉 Especially since, in the end, all those threads make a nice scarf. 😆

  5. @Malene: The Toraja Country has remained rather authentic, it's true, but Europe and the USA are very much the dream of the young, and not so young, here. And even in the rice fields of Batutumonga, I was asked if I was on Facebook... 😆 Globalization is everywhere!!!
    That said, tourism is not too unpleasant in the region, even for groups or people who have stalled everything in advance with a tour operator. In fact, it is easy to meet people in the villages and rice paddies, who prefer to travel as "independent" or "organized". Local guides who explain the customs to foreign visitors, who support groups, do that very well, I find ...
    Finally, I'm currently in Lembeh, and I'm going to try to post some photos of pigeon by tomorrow, but I promise nothing, the internet reams and my computer too (I have lots and lots of images that should really please you). After, I return to Bangka, and there, I will not have internet for a few days ... It will still have to wait!
    🙄

    @Laurence: Ah, that, yes! The Toraja Country is really a beautiful region. I still have to tell my adventures on the road to Batutumonga, in the mountains with rice terraces ... In a next post!
    😉

    @auxBulles: There are two particular theories of the shape of the roof of houses here: it would evoke a boat, in memory of the people arrived by the sea, who then settled in the region; or else it would symbolize buffalo horns, a very important animal in peasant life. Finally, this special shape, consisting of a pile of bamboo, has the virtue of keeping the cool inside during the day, and the heat at night.
    🙂

    @Nathan: Thank you for the "pretty scarf" ... Yes, this feeling of familiarity is really nice.
    8)

  6. Facebook in Toraja country! 😮 but also access to the Internet, and therefore "updates" of your blog... 😀 And you have to live in your time and accept progress with its good and bad sides!

    For the photos of Lembeh, I think we are a few to expect a small sample of your meetings, but those who went there (at Divers Lodge) know that the wifi is rather slow ... (but again, we do not Will complain, the wifi in this isolated corner is miraculous!

  7. It's up to us to travel with you. And with what pleasure ... The empathy will not go until to have pain everywhere while thinking about the hours spent on the bus. Sublime photos ... Thank you, we start with a click find you in Lembeh with the reading of your next article.

  8. I was already a traveler and a diver before knowing your blog but you arouse in me new desires.
    You have the art of writing (it's good to be a journalist) and transmit emotions with the right words that are like you.
    Wow the country Toraja, 4 days to dry your skin before scales grow ... a culture apart, atypical rites in the middle of a postcard decor!
    I can not take as much leave as you, it is the good plan to work at Ouest France ... you have the time to vary the pleasures underwater and terrestrial discovery.
    The country Toraja, Lembeh and other corners of Sulawesi will be waiting ... .with you my next destination is BALI. I decided recently after being conquered by Malaysia!
    Good luck and pleasure to read the rest of your journey.

  9. Yes, that's what I had felt in the Toraja country, that odd relationship with death, a kind of familiarity all the time.
    At the least feast, we cut up buffaloes and pigs.
    Very small, we play in the middle of skulls and bones, like miniature Hamlet: in this photo http://www.pbase.com/luko/image/80582019 I even wondered if it was his great grandfather's. 😮
    To philosophize is to accustom oneself to my death .. hmmmh? Montaigne?

    There is certainly on the part of the Toraja, the misunderstanding of the feeling of "permanent loss" that we Westerners usually associate with death. I have the impression that this is valid on other levels as well, including for physical goods. ❓
    Being sensitive to primitive art, I bought in Toraja country almost 10 years ago, some real transportable pieces of tongkonan houses, wooden panels ... real painted wonders. Unlike other regions, the Toraja are not attached to them either, they sell them as one would get rid of them, just fall to the moment when every two years, the Toraja family home is completely shaved and rebuilt all new .
    Again, I feel like the sense of attachment to the physical real is missing. Imagine razing our house to the ground to rebuild it... 😡 ...complicated?
    Curiously, the painted wood panels I bought will probably have lasted longer than several generations of rebuilt homes. 8)

    I hope you have done some treks through the villages, especially on the side of Batutumonga at the foot of Mount Seasean. It is a great pleasure to arrive at a bend in a village and to go back and be offered a few bamboo papiggs filled with red rice. The gift to the traveler to support en route to his cravings.
    The advantage of the papiong compared to all the snacks is that it serves you at the same time as a guard, a walking stick and a repellent for the buffalos that you do not fail to meet in the rice fields 😉
    (Have you noticed the clear superiority of Toraja red rice nasi goreng, over the ordinary pale nasi putih... And if you're ever in Makassar again, take a trip to Kios Semarang, the best Nasi Goreng in the world... si,si!!!.. 😛 )

  10. Hello Ludovic ...

    I'm leaving for Sulawesi next Thursday!
    I see from your post that you know some 'good' addresses, if you have others to provide (sleep, eat, drink, diving ..), I'm taking ... My journey from south to north! 30 days to discover this island ..
    Thank you in advance!
    Agnes

  11. @ Malene: In fact, I had little problems with my computer, and then I came across nice people with whom I chatted at night instead of getting busy ... So I did not post that often that I thought to do it from there, despite the wifi. So, I'm going to catch up now that I'm back !!!
    😀

    @isa (etmarco): Thank you for your virtual company !!! It's a pleasure.
    🙂

    @Lisemet: I am very happy to awaken new travel desires in you !!! Good ride on my Bubbles Elsewhere and good bubbles in Bali ...
    🙄

    @ Wet & Sea / Ludovic: Thank you for this long testimony, which actually join my own impressions. As I'm not a big walker, I went back to Batutumonga like three years ago, but on a motorcycle ... an epic episode, with puncture, that I'll tell soon!
    😉

    @ Agnes Ludovic is not ironed in the corner ... But do not worry, you'll find your good addresses for yourself. Selamat jalan!
    8)

53 Shares
Share48
Tweet5
Share

Greniers à riz, avec le toit "tongkonan", typique du pays Toraja. Sulawesi, juillet 2010.
Greniers à riz, avec le toit "tongkonan", typique du pays Toraja. Sulawesi, juillet 2010.

Tana Toraja, le retour

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2010

Rantepao, enfin ! Point de chute idéal pour rayonner dans les villages et rizières du pays Toraja, appelé ici Tana Toraja. On est quasiment dans le centre de l’île de Sulawesi.

Revoir le pays Toraja

Depuis Makassar, il faut plus de huit heures de bus pour arriver en pays Toraja, appelé ici Tana Toraja.

La région est si belle, et m’avait fait si forte impression lors de mon premier périple à Sulawesi en 2007, il y a trois ans, que j’ai décidé d’y retourner.

Je ne suis pas déçue. J’y ai passé quatre jours fantastiques dans le pays Toraja ! Le seul fait de revoir la courbe élancée des toits tongkonan, typiques de la région, m’a fait chaud au cœur.

Greniers à riz, avec le toit "tongkonan", typique du pays Toraja. Sulawesi, juillet 2010.
Greniers à riz, avec le toit « tongkonan », typique du pays Toraja.
Un buffle dans les rizières du pays Toraja. Sulawesi, juillet 2010.
Un buffle dans les rizières du pays Toraja.
Un conducteur de becak (prononcer "betchak") attend le client dans une rue de Rantepao. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie, juillet 2010.
Un conducteur de becak (prononcer « betchak ») attend le client dans une rue de Rantepao.

Arrivée à Rantepao

En débarquant du bus de nuit, vers 6h30 du matin, j’entraîne Sebastian, le jeune Norvégien qui voyageait dans le siège voisin du mien, au resto Riman, à la sortie nord de la ville, pour un petit-déjeuner bien mérité.

Très bon plan. En papotant avec le patron de l’endroit, on apprend qu’une cérémonie funéraire a lieu le jour même, à Bori, un village situé à quelques kilomètres au nord de Rantepao. Il nous propose ses services comme guide, bien évidemment.

Ce n’est pas qu’on ait vraiment besoin de lui, en fait. En louant un scooter, on peut y aller tous seuls comme des grands. Mais Sebastian ne se sent pas trop de piloter une bécane, et moi qui ai l’habitude de ces petites motorbikes locales, je préfère quand même être seule dessus… Avec un passager à l’arrière, je me sens moins assurée.

La journée s’organise vite et facilement : Sebastian montera à l’arrière de la moto de notre guide, et j’en loue une de mon côté que je garderai plusieurs jours pour pouvoir me balader à ma guise. On va poser nos petites affaires à la guesthouse Wisma Monton que je connais, à deux pas de là (c’était mon point de chute aussi, il y a trois ans). Le temps d’une douche, de se changer, et roule !

Cérémonie à Bori

Il y a foule à Bori. Détail étonnant, dans ce village : il y a… des menhirs ! Enfin, des pierres dressées, dans le style local.

C’est une grosse cérémonie, qui dure plusieurs jours. Le défunt est quelqu’un d’important et la famille est riche visiblement : une vingtaine de buffles et plus d’une centaine de cochons seront égorgés et dépecés pendant les festivités.

Ça sent le graillon, la chair brûlée… Ambiance cochon grillé, à la mode Toraja ! La viande est ensuite servie aux invités. Ce qui reste est distribué ou conservé.

Cérémonie funéraire à Bori. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, juillet 2010.
Cérémonie funéraire à Bori : c’est la journée du cochon grillé.

Dans le pays Toraja, le rapport à la mort est singulier. On garde le défunt à la maison, embaumé, pendant de longs mois s’il le faut (parfois plusieurs années, paraît-il, le temps de réunir assez d’argent), jusqu’au jour des funérailles officielles, qui sont toujours organisées en juillet et août.

Tant que la cérémonie n’a pas eu lieu, le mort continue de faire partie du monde des vivants. Un peu comme le serait chez nous une personne dans le coma.

Je vous invite à relire ce que j’avais déjà écrit sur le sujet, il y a trois ans, et à visionner ma petite vidéo de l’époque (en attendant de découvrir les nouvelles images que j’ai tournées à Bori) :
→ Tana Toraja, c’est plus fort que toi

Mise à jour du 28 novembre 2010 : Ça y est, la vidéo faite à Bori est en ligne ! Elle donne une bonne idée de l’ambiance qui règne durant ces cérémonies funéraires traditionnelles en pays Toraja. Pour la voir, il suffit de suivre ce lien :
→ Funérailles Toraja : la vidéo 

Cérémonie funéraire à Bori. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, juillet 2010.

Cérémonie funéraire à Bori. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, juillet 2010.

Cérémonie funéraire à Bori. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, juillet 2010.

Cérémonie funéraire à Bori. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, juillet 2010.

Cérémonie funéraire à Bori. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, juillet 2010.

Tombes

Et puis, on n’enterre pas les morts chez les Torajas.

Les tombes sont creusées dans les rochers ou dans les falaises. Ou alors on place les cercueils dans des grottes naturelles. Le plus haut possible. En certains sites, comme ceux de Lemo ou de Londa, on peut aussi voir des tau-tau, les statues représentant les défunts. Ils surveillent les visiteurs, du haut de leur balcon de pierre.

À Ket’e Kesu, village traditionnel proche de Rantepao , il y a un site funéraire avec des tombes anciennes suspendues. Rongés par le temps et l’humidité, certains cercueils en bois se sont décrochés.

Ils gisent désormais au sol, offrant aux regards les ossements des défunts. Les touristes indonésiens, qui adorent se prendre mutuellement en photo, sourient à l’objectif devant les crânes. On en profite même pour faire une portrait de groupe avec la touriste française de passage !

Site funéraire de Londa. Le grand jeu consiste à se prendre en photo devant les ossements. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Site funéraire de Londa. Le “jeu” consiste à se prendre en photo devant les ossements.
Cherchez l'intruse... Séance photo avec un groupe de touristes indonésiens, au site de Londa. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Cherchez l’intruse… Séance photo avec un groupe de touristes indonésiens, au site de Londa.
Les tau-tau de Londa. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Les tau-tau de Londa.
Les grottes de Londa, qui sont aussi des tombes, se visitent. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Les grottes de Londa, qui sont aussi des tombes, se visitent.
Ket'e Kesu. Les tombes suspendues tombées au sol révèlent les ossements qu'elles contiennent. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Ket’e Kesu. Les tombes suspendues tombées au sol révèlent les ossements qu’elles contiennent.

Rien de morbide ni de sinistre dans tout ça. En tout cas, c’est ainsi que je l’ai ressenti. Les sites funéraires autour de Rantepao font partie du paysage. Ce ne sont pas des lieux tristes et clos comme nos cimetières. Au détour d’une route, d’un chemin, à l’entrée d’un village, au milieu d’une rizière, on peut tomber sur un gros rocher rond, percé de tombes. Certaines sont ornées d’une tête de buffle, de la croix chrétienne, coiffées d’un toit tongkonan.

C’est ainsi. La mort n’est pas cachée. Elle fait partie de la vie.

Tombe. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.
Tombes au bord de la route, dans la campagne toraja.

Revenir

Ma première journée en pays Toraja, avec cette spectaculaire cérémonie funéraire, puis la visite des sites de Ket’e Kesu et Londa, ressemble beaucoup à celle que j’avais vécue il y a trois ans. Un « classique » des circuits touristiques.

Mais cette sensation de « déjà-vu » me plaît. Revoir, redécouvrir, revivre… Revenir en des lieux que j’ai aimés fait aussi partie des joies du voyage. C’est un peu comme si je reprenais le fil du périple antérieur.

La visite des sites n’est finalement qu’un prétexte pour découvrir les alentours. La balade en elle-même, au milieu des rizières, suffit à mon bonheur. Il fait grand soleil en début de matinée et je me dis que je n’aimerais pas être à la place de ces petites silhouettes laborieuses que je vois courbées dans la boue des rizières, en plein cagnard.

Le long de la route, les paysans vannent le riz ou l’étalent sur des bâches pour le faire sécher. Les gens nous saluent gaiement, d’autre nous contemplent avec des yeux étonnés, des enfants se moquent de nous…

J’ai eu raison de revenir. C’est si beau !

Rizières. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Église en pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Rizières. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

Les rizières de Lemo. Pays Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonésie. Juillet 2010.

:roll :

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2010

  1. Même sans poissons, j’aime bien! 😈
    J’aime bien ce genre de récit qui fait se rendre compte qu’il y a encore des coins de notre planète où tout n’est pas « mondialisé », et où les gens conservent un mode de vie qui n’est pas calqué sur les USA ou l’Europe.
    Et aussi, ta manière de raconter compte! On voit bien que tu ne sors pas d’un car de touristes suivant un circuit hyper organisé et forcément « un peu » aseptisé pendant lequel on voit peut-être beaucoup de choses, mais on les voit un peu comme à la télé, avec une grande distance entre la réalité.
    Alors continue à te balader en bus locaux, mob, à dormir dans des petites pensions… mais n’oublie pas les poissons! 😉

  2. Chouettes photos. On a envie d’y aller. 🙂
    C’est très juste ce que tu dis sur le « déjà-vu ». Le fait de redécouvrir, revivre, cette sensation de familiarité, celle de renouer le fil avec un autre bout de fil alors que tout ça aurait pu ne rester qu’une parenthèse. Bien vu. 😉 D’autant qu’au final, tous ces fils font un joli foulard. 😆

  3. @Malene: Le Pays Toraja est resté plutôt authentique, c’est vrai, mais l’Europe et les USA font beaucoup rêver les jeunes, et moins jeunes, ici. Et jusque dans les rizières de Batutumonga, on m’a demandé si j’étais sur Facebook… 😆 La mondialisation est partout !!!
    Ceci dit, le tourisme n’a rien de trop déplaisant dans la région, même pour les groupes ou les gens qui ont tout calé à l’avance avec un tour-opérateur. En fait, il est facile d’aller à la rencontre des gens dans les villages et les rizières, que l’on préfère voyager en « indépendant » ou en formule « organisée ». Les guides locaux qui expliquent les coutumes aux visiteurs étrangers, qui prennent en charge des groupes, font ça très bien, je trouve…
    Enfin, je suis en ce moment à Lembeh, et je vais essayer de poster quelques photos de poiscaille d’ici demain, mais je ne promets rien, l’internet rame et mon ordi aussi (j’ai des tas et des tas d’images qui devraient beaucoup te plaire). Après, je retourne à Bangka, et là, je n’aurai plus l’internet pendant quelques jours… Il va encore falloir patienter!!!
    🙄

    @Laurence: Ah, ça, oui ! Le Pays Toraja est vraiment une région superbe. Il me reste encore à raconter mes péripéties sur la route de Batutumonga, dans les montagnes avec les rizières en terrasses… Dans un prochain billet !!!
    😉

    @auxBulles: Il y a deux théories pour la forme si particulières du toit des maisons, ici : elle évoquerait un bateau, en souvenir des populations arrivées par la mer, qui se sont ensuite installées dans la région ; ou bien, elle symboliserait des cornes de buffles, animal très important dans la vie des paysans. Enfin, cette forme si spéciale, constituée d’un empilage de bambous, a la vertu de garder la fraîcheur à l’intérieur pendant la journée, et la chaleur à la nuit tombée.
    🙂

    @Nathan: Merci pour le « joli foulard »… Oui, ce sentiment de familiarité est vraiment agréable.
    8)

  4. Facebook en pays Toraja! 😮 mais aussi des accès à Internet, et donc des « updates » de ton blog… 😀 Et il faut bien vivre à son temps et accepter le progrès avec ses bons et ses mauvais côtés!

    Pour les photos de Lembeh, je crois qu’on est quelques uns à attendre un petit échantillon de tes rencontres, mais ceux qui sont allé là bas (au Divers Lodge) savent que le wifi est plutôt lent… (mais à nouveau, on ne va se plaindre, le wifi dans ce coin isolé c’est miraculeux!

  5. A nous de voyager avec toi. Et avec quel plaisir… L’empathie n’ira pas jusqu’à avoir mal partout en pensant aux heures passées dans le bus. Sublimes photos… Merci, on part d’un clic te retrouver à Lembeh avec la lecture de ton prochain article.

  6. J’étais déjà voyageuse et plongeuse avant de connaître ton blog mais tu éveilles en moi de nouvelles envies.
    Tu as l’art d’écrire (ça a du bon d’être journaliste) et de transmettre des émotions avec les mots justes qui te ressemblent.
    Ouah le pays Toraja, 4 jours pour sécher ta peau avant que des écailles ne poussent…une culture à part, des rites atypiques au milieu d’un décor de carte postale !
    Je ne peux pas prendre autant de congé que toi, c’est le bon plan de travailler chez Ouest France…tu as le temps de varier les plaisirs sous marin et découverte terrestre.
    Le pays Toraja, Lembeh et autres coins de Sulawesi attendront….grâce à toi ma prochaine destination c’est BALI. Je l’ai décidé récemment après avoir été conquise par la Malaisie !
    Bonne continuation et au plaisir de lire la suite de ton périple.

  7. Oui, c’est bien ça que j’avais ressenti au pays Toraja, ce rapport bizarre avec la mort, une espèce de familiarité de tous les instants.
    A la moindre fête on découpe force buffles et cochons.
    Tout petit déjà, on joue au milieu des crânes et des ossements, tels des Hamlet miniature : sur cette photo http://www.pbase.com/luko/image/80582019 je m’étais même demandé si ce n’était pas celui de son arrière grand père. 😮
    Philosopher c’est s’accoutumer à ma mort.. hmmmh? Montaigne?

    Il y a certainement de la part des Toraja, l’incompréhension du sentiment de « perte définitive » que nous -occidentaux- associons usuellement à la mort. J’ai l’impression que ceci est valable sur d’autres plans également, y compris pour les biens physiques. ❓
    Etant sensible à l’art dit primitif, j’ai acheté en pays Toraja il y a près de 10 ans, quelques vrais morceaux transportables de maisons tongkonan, des panneaux de bois… de vraies merveilles peintes. Contrairement à d’autres régions, les Toraja ne leurs sont pas attachés non plus, ils les vendent comme on s’en débarrasserait, suffit de tomber au moment où tous les deux ans, la maison familiale Toraja est complètement rasée et reconstruite toute de neuf.
    Là aussi, j’ai l’impression que le sentiment d’attachement au réel physique est absent. Imaginons raser notre maison pour la reconstruire… 😡 …compliqué?
    Curieusement, les panneaux de bois peints que j’ai acheté auront probablement duré plus longtemps que plusieurs générations de maisons reconstruites. 8)

    J’espère que tu auras fait quelques treks au travers des villages, notamment du côté de Batutumonga au pied du mont Seasean. C’est un grand plaisir que d’arriver au détour d’un chemin dans un village et en repartant se voir offrir quelques papiongs de bambou, remplis de riz rouge. Le cadeau au voyageur pour subvenir en route à ses coups de fringale.
    L’avantage du papiong par rapport à tous les en-cas, c’est qu’il te sert à la fois de garde manger, de bâton de marche et de repoussoir pour les buffles que tu l’on ne manque pas de rencontrer dans les rizières. 😉
    (As-tu remarqué la nette supériorité du nasi goreng au riz rouge Toraja, par rapport aux pâles nasi putih ordinaires.. Et si jamais tu repasses à Makassar, fais un tour au Kios Semarang, le meilleur Nasi Goreng au moooonde… si,si!!!… 😛 )

  8. Bonjour Ludovic…

    Je pars pour la Sulawesi jeudi prochain!
    Je vois d’après ton billet que tu connais quelques ‘bonnes’ adresses, si tu en as d’autres à fournir (dormir, manger, boire, plongée..), je suis preneuse… Mon périple part du sud vers le Nord! 30 jours pour découvrir cette île..
    MErci d’avance!
    Agnès

  9. @Malène: En fait, j’ai eu des petits soucis avec mon ordi, et puis je suis tombée sur des gens sympas avec qui j’ai papoté le soir au lieu de m’atteler à la tâche… Donc je n’ai pas posté aussi souvent que je pensais le faire depuis là-bas, malgré le wifi. Du coup, je vais me rattraper maintenant que je suis rentrée !!!
    😀

    @isa(etmarco): Merci de votre virtuelle compagnie !!! Ça fait plaisir.
    🙂

    @Lisemet: Je suis bien contente d’éveiller de nouvelles envies de voyage en toi !!! Bonne balade sur mes Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs et bonnes bulles à Bali…
    🙄

    @Wet&Sea/Ludovic: Merci de ce long témoignage, qui rejoins effectivement mes propres impressions. Comme je ne suis pas une grande marcheuse, je suis retournée à Batutumonga comme il y a trois ans, mais en moto… un épisode épique, avec crevaison, que je raconterai bientôt !
    😉

    @Agnès: Ludovic n’est pas repassé dans le coin… Mais ne t’inquiète pas, tu trouveras par toi-même tes bonnes adresses. Selamat jalan !
    8)

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

37 Partages
Partagez32
Tweetez5
Enregistrer
Partagez