Funeral Ceremony in Toraja Country.

Tana Toraja, it's stronger than you

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2007

Here I am in Toraja country (Tana Toraja) in Sulawesi. Here again, a very Christian population, and very attached to its traditions. I attended a funeral ceremony at the village of Rembon, near Rantepao. Spectacular introduction to the customs of the country ...

Everywhere, houses and rice granaries tongkonan, with this typical roof, curved like a boat hull or buffalo horns.

The Toraja village of Ke'te Kesu, south of Rantepao.
The Toraja village of Ke'te Kesu, south of Rantepao.

Funeral Toraja: the video

It is a kind of big country party, mixing animist and Christian beliefs, for an ultimate collective tribute to the deceased. A lavish ceremony, staggering, very interesting, which often lasts several days. And not at all the pure "tourist trap" that I feared a little.

In addition to the extended and close family, many outdoor guests are invited to the party. Because it's a party. Cheerful and colorful, spectacular, between animated fair and big meeting family friendly.

A funeral ceremony but festive

Funeral Ceremony in Toraja Country.Foreign tourists and other visitors are welcome. Just bring a small symbolic present (usually a cartridge of kretek, local cigarettes, does the trick).

I went there with a Dutch family, Suzanna, Johan and their three children, with whom I sympathized on the Makassar-Rantepao bus. Eight hours, it gives time to chat ...

To get to the ceremony, we chartered a model minibus "large family", with a guide, for this first day, although they like me appreciate the independence, question travel. But we did well.

The region being tourist, we find here people who speak English, and even French, and the explanations of the guide have enlightened us on the strangeness of this burial, far removed from our Western rites.

One of the deceased's granddaughters, who came for the occasion of Makassar, where she lives, very kindly welcomed us into excellent English and immediately put at ease.

The procession of women, all in black.
The procession of women, all in black.

Outside "guests" are invited to sit on mats under numbered awnings. We were served food and drink.

Funeral Ceremony in Toraja Country.

The young woman cordially invited us to take all the desired photos, to film, to circulate everywhere, among the crowd or the kids running in all directions, among the dancers in traditional costumes, shimmering silk shirt and black sarong, between the buffaloes with horns adorned with golden paper and pigs sprawled in slush.

We are a little uninitiated at first. Yet nothing constrained nor stared during this funeral ceremony. It's quite the opposite.

The Indonesian family and guests themselves, armed with camcorders and cameras, shoot. The three children of Suzanna and Johann, blond as the wheats, are the big attraction. Everyone wants to pose with them. Even the widow, who sits little Jelle, 7, in her palanquin next to her ...

It's a joyous, lively celebration. Speeches, songs, prayers, and dances follow one another in the clay court, where the bright red wooden coffin is enthroned, in which the body of the deceased will be transferred.

Funeral Ceremony in Toraja Country.

A deceased who has been waiting patiently for two years, embalmed and mummified in his temporary bamboo coffin, using medicinal plants and cloths ... "Our" death has been dead for a long time.

But not quite, according to the Toraja rites. As long as we keep him at home, while waiting for the money necessary for a funeral worthy of the name, he is considered as still belonging to the world of the living, just as we would be a person in the world. coma.

another funeral ceremony, less sumptuous than that of Rembon. Parade crossed during a motorcycle ride, the day after tomorrow, in a small village lost in the mountains and rice fields, north of Rantepao ...
another funeral ceremony, less sumptuous than that of Rembon. Parade crossed during a motorcycle ride, the day after tomorrow, in a small village lost in the mountains and rice fields, north of Rantepao ...

Summer, July-August, is the funeral season. There are everywhere, almost every day, in the Toraja villages around Rantepao, a big, dirty and unattractive town, but where people are super nice. For the ceremony of Rembon, where I was with the Dutch, it was the day of the procession.

Buffalo sacrifices

The coffin is placed in a kind of bamboo palanquin, with a roof tongkonan. The men hoist him on their shoulders and make him jump and dance, uttering shrill cries and screams of joy, preceded by the procession of women in black, holding over their heads a long strip of red cloth.

At the head of the parade are dancers, with spears and shields, who leap forward with huge bursts of laughter. The buffaloes that will be sacrificed close the march.

Funeral Ceremony in Toraja Country.

Everyone follows and accompanies the procession in a joyous scramble, running to the right and left to see better, to take another picture, to catch up with the rest of the family.

After, return to the funeral home, and sacrifice a first buffalo, followed by new songs and dances. Not very rude (I do not put the picture), but the guy knew exactly where to slice. "Clean" and fast, despite everything.

An impressive sheaf of blood gushes out, barely done. The beast collapses. In a minute or two it's over. Ultimate jolts, then the dancers reform their circle around the buffalo sacrificed.

There, we left. The Dutch had quickly removed their two daughters and their son, but the eldest, very sensitive, cried with hot tears on seeing the corpse of the buffalo on the ground ...

New trip in 2010

Small addition. Three years later, in 2010, I returned to Sulawesi, in the Toraja country, where I again attended an important funeral ceremony, almost in all respects, with the same rituals. See videos and photos at the end of these links:

→ Toraja country: the return
→ Funeral Toraja: the video

 

  Indonesia: Sulawesi - July 2007

  1. Hello!!!
    I keep saying it, but it's a treat to read you !!! I was impressed by the funeral; and at the same time delighted! Very interesting that elsewhere, we celebrate death with joy ...!
    Here, nothing new ... Job ... I kiss you. I can not wait to see your photos !!!

  2. Wow! Yo, the queen of bubbles!

    A treat, your stories of these last days. From the wonder of the bottom of the waters to the landscapes passing by this unusual visit to the country Toraja. It's not stronger than you but stronger than us. You take your fill the mirettes and the soul. What more???? Here this Friday in Rennes, the sun is finally back. Come on, it's time for the meeting. Hugs.

  3. Brrrrrrrr!
    Sunday in Rennes. Mortal of mortal home. Not an appointment on the agenda and not even a federation. To complete the picture, gray and heavy sky. What's new under your conditions? We are still waiting for the pictures ...
    See you soon on the net!

  4. Which holiday!
    The arrival by plane made me shudder, the funeral me scotche. Between the two, I admit that I did not have time to read everything well. Times are hard at work. Not a minute of respite. But the 25th is finally over, I will be able to plunge into the exciting story of your adventure, queen of bubbles and blogs! Bravo.
    See you soon

  5. Hello Corinne,

    it's been over a year, how are you? It's amazing what you did with your webpage. Really great! This summer we were in France, spending a holiday for 5 weeks. I would like to know if everything is fine.

    Perhaps soon!

    Suzanna
    Johan and the children say hello! 🙂

  6. Hello Suzanna,

    What a good surprise!!! As I am happy to hear from you !!!

    Yes, more than a year since we left in Sulawesi. I'm really glad you left me that little note, because I lost your email. Now, I will be able to give you more news in private.

    To make it fast: yes, I'm fine and everything is fine for me. I hope it's the same for you five. I have often thought of you and the children since this fabulous trip we did together in Indonesia. Besides, I often talk about you in my articles on Sulawesi.
    😉

    France is less exotic, of course, but I hope the holidays were beautiful. Many thanks for your compliments about my little blog.

    I write to you very quickly by email. See you soon and all kisses to all five.
    🙂

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Cérémonie funéraire en pays Toraja.

Tana Toraja, c’est plus fort que toi

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2007

Me voici en pays Toraja (Tana Toraja) à Sulawesi. Là encore, une population très chrétienne, et très accrochée à ses traditions. J’ai assisté à une cérémonie funéraire au village de Rembon, près de Rantepao. Spectaculaire introduction aux coutumes du pays…

Partout, des maisons et greniers à riz tongkonan, avec ce toit typique, incurvé comme une coque de bateau ou des cornes de buffle.

Le village toraja de Ke’te Kesu, au sud de Rantepao.
Le village toraja de Ke’te Kesu, au sud de Rantepao.

Funérailles Toraja : la vidéo

C’est une sorte de grande fête campagnarde, mêlant croyances animistes et chrétiennes, pour un ultime hommage collectif au défunt. Une cérémonie fastueuse, sidérante, très intéressante, qui dure souvent plusieurs jours. Et pas du tout le pur « piège à touristes » que je craignais un peu.

Outre la famille proche et élargie, quantité d’invités extérieurs sont conviés à la fête. Car c’est une fête. Gaie et colorée, spectaculaire, entre kermesse animée et grosse réunion de famille conviviale.

Une cérémonie funéraire mais festive

Cérémonie funéraire en pays Toraja.Les touristes étrangers comme les autres visiteurs sont les bienvenus. Il suffit d’apporter un petit présent symbolique (en général, une cartouche de Kretek, les cigarettes locales, fait l’affaire).

Je m’y suis rendue avec une famille de Hollandais, Suzanna, Johan et leurs trois enfants, avec qui j’ai sympathisé dans le bus Makassar-Rantepao. Huit heures de trajet, ça laisse le temps de faire la causette…

Pour se rendre à la cérémonie, on a affrété un minibus modèle “famille nombreuse”, avec un guide, pour ce premier jour, bien qu’eux comme moi apprécient l’indépendance, question voyage. Mais on a bien fait.

La région étant touristique, on trouve ici des gens qui parlent anglais, et même français, et les explications du guide nous ont bien éclairés sur l’étrangeté de cet enterrement, très éloigné de nos rites occidentaux.

L’une des petites-filles du défunt, venue pour l’occasion de Makassar, où elle habite, nous a très gentiment accueillis dans un excellent anglais et tout de suite mis à l’aise.

La procession des femmes, toutes en noir.
La procession des femmes, toutes en noir.

Les “invités” extérieurs sont conviés à s’asseoir sur des nattes, sous des espèces d’auvents numérotés. On nous a servi à boire et à manger.

Cérémonie funéraire en pays Toraja.

La jeune femme nous a cordialement invités à prendre toutes les photos souhaitées, à filmer, à circuler partout, parmi la foule ou les gamins courant en tous sens, au milieu des danseurs en costume tradi, chemise de soie chatoyante et sarong noir, entre les buffles aux cornes ornées de papier doré et les cochons vautrés dans la gadoue.

Nous sommes un peu intidimidés au début. Pourtant rien de contraint ni d’empesé durant cette cérémonie funèbre. C’est tout le contraire.

La famille et les invités indonésiens eux-mêmes, armés de camescopes et d’appareils-photos, mitraillent. Les trois enfants de Suzanna et Johann, blonds comme les blés, sont la grande attraction. Tout le monde veut poser avec eux. Même la veuve, qui fait asseoir le petit Jelle, 7 ans, dans son palanquin à côté d’elle…

C’est une célébration joyeuse, animée. Discours, chants, prières, danses se succèdent dans la cour en terre battue, où trône le cercueil en bois rouge vif, dans lequel va être transféré le corps du défunt.

Cérémonie funéraire en pays Toraja.

Défunt qui attend patiemment depuis deux ans, embaumé et momifié dans son cercueil de bambou provisoire, au moyen de plantes médicinales et de linges… “Notre” mort est donc mort depuis longtemps.

Mais pas tout à fait, selon les rites Toraja. Tant qu’on le garde à la maison, en attendant d’avoir réuni l’argent nécessaire pour des funérailles dignes de ce nom, il est considéré comme appartenant encore au monde des vivants, un peu comme le serait pour nous une personne dans le coma.

une autre cérémonie funéraire, moins fastueuse que celle de Rembon. Cortège croisé lors d'une balade à moto, le surlendemain, dans un petit village paumé dans les montagnes et les rizières, au nord de Rantepao...
une autre cérémonie funéraire, moins fastueuse que celle de Rembon. Cortège croisé lors d’une balade à moto, le surlendemain, dans un petit village paumé dans les montagnes et les rizières, au nord de Rantepao…

L’été, juillet-août, est la saison des funérailles. Il y en a partout, quasiment tous les jours, dans les villages Toraja autour de Rantepao, gros bourg sale et sans charme, mais où les gens sont super sympas. Pour la cérémonie de Rembon, où je me trouvais avec les Hollandais, c’était le jour de la procession.

Sacrifices de buffles

Le cercueil est déposé dans une sorte de palanquin de bambou, avec un toit tongkonan. Les hommes le hissent sur leurs épaules et le font sauter et danser, en poussant des cris stridents et des hurlements de joie, précédés par le cortège des femmes en noir, tenant au-dessus de leur tête une longue bande de tissu rouge.

En tête du défilé, des danseurs, avec lances et boucliers, qui bondissent en poussant d’énormes éclats de rire. Les buffles qui seront sacrifiés ferment la marche.

Cérémonie funéraire en pays Toraja.

Tout le monde suit et accompagne le cortège dans une joyeuse bousculade, courant à droite et à gauche pour mieux voir, pour prendre encore une photo, pour rattraper le reste de la famille.

Après, retour à la maison de funérailles, et sacrifice d’un premier buffle, suivi de nouveaux chants et danses. Pas très ragoûtant (je ne vous mets pas la photo), mais le gars savait précisément où trancher. “Propre” et rapide, malgré tout.

Une impressionnante gerbe de sang jaillit, à peine le geste achevé. La bête s’écroule. En une minute ou deux c’est fini. Ultimes soubresauts, puis les danseurs reforment leur cercle autour du buffle sacrifié.

Là, on est parti. Les Hollandais avaient vite éloigné leurs deux filles et leur fils, mais l’aînée, très sensible, a pleuré à chaudes larmes en apercevant le cadavre du buffle à terre…

Nouveau voyage en 2010

Petit ajout. Trois années plus tard, en 2010, je suis retournée à Sulawesi, en pays Toraja, où j’ai à nouveau assisté à une importante cérémonie funéraire, presque en tout point semblable, avec les mêmes rituels. Voir vidéos et photos au bout de ces liens :

→ Pays Toraja : le retour
→ Funérailles Toraja : la vidéo

 

  Indonésie : Sulawesi - juillet 2007

  1. Coucou!!!
    Je ne cesse de le dire, mais c’est un régal de te lire!!! J’ai été impressionnée par les funérailles; et en même temps enchantée! Très intéressant de constater que, ailleurs, on célèbre la mort avec joie…!
    Ici, rien de bien nouveau… Boulot… Je t’embrasse. J’ai hâte de voir tes photos!!!

  2. Whaou! Yo, la reine des bulles!

    Un petit régal, tes récits de ces derniers jours. De l’émerveillement du fond des eaux aux paysages en passant par cette visite insolite au pays Toraja. Ce n’est pas plus fort que toi mais plus fort que nous. Tu t’en prends plein les mirettes et l’âme. Que demander de plus???? Ici ce vendredi à Rennes, le soleil est enfin revenu. Allez, c’est l’heure de la réunion. Bises.

  3. Brrrrrrrr!
    Dimanche à Rennes. Mortel de chez mortel. Pas un rdv à l’agenda et même pas un fédiv. Pour compléter le tableau, ciel gris et lourd. Quoi de neuf sous tes lattitudes? On attend toujours les photos…
    A bientôt sur le net!

  4. Quelles vacances!
    L’arrivée en avion m’avait fait frémir, les funérailles m’ont scotchée. Entre les deux, j’avoue que je n’ai pas eu le temps de tout bien lire. Les temps sont durs au boulot. Pas une minute de répit. Mais le 25 c’est enfin fini, je vais pouvoir replonger dans le récit passionnant de ton aventure, reine des bulles et des blogs! Bravo.
    A bientôt

  5. Bonjour Corinne,

    ca fait deja plus d’un an, comment vas tu? C’est incroyable ce que tu as fait avec ton webpage. Vraiment super! Cette ete nous etions en France, passer des vacances pendant 5 semaines. J’aimerais bien savoir si tout te vas bien.

    Peut-etre a bientot!

    Suzanna
    Johan et les enfants te disent bonjour! 🙂

  6. Bonjour Suzanna,

    Quelle bonne surprise!!! Comme je suis heureuse d’avoir de tes nouvelles!!!

    Oui, plus d’un an, déjà, depuis que nous nous sommes quittés à Sulawesi. Je suis vraiment contente que tu m’aies laissé ce petit mot, parce que j’avais perdu votre email. Maintenant, je vais pouvoir te donner de plus amples nouvelles en privé.

    Pour faire rapide: oui, je vais très bien et tout va bien pour moi. J’espère qu’il en est de même pour vous cinq. J’ai souvent pensé à vous et aux enfants depuis ce fabuleux voyage que nous avons fait ensemble en Indonésie. D’ailleurs, je parle souvent de vous, dans mes articles sur Sulawesi.
    😉

    La France, c’est moins dépaysant, bien sûr, mais j’espère que les vacances ont été belles. Mille mercis pour tes compliments à propos de mon petit blog.

    Je t’écris très vite par email. À bientôt et tout plein de bises à tous les cinq.
    🙂

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez